PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for 21st Century Protective Inflatable Collars

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

21st Century Protective Inflatable Collars

Premium collar protection for pets. These collars are washable and bite resistant. No more cones!
Overall rating:
3.256 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
21 of 39(54%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for 21st Century Protective Inflatable Collars
Review 1 for 21st Century Protective Inflatable Collars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 39 reviews

Thank God for this collar!!!

January 4, 2013
by Lulu2
fromLas Vegas, NV
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My dog would NOT wear the cone. He just sat in the middle of the room and wouldn't move. He refused to eat, play, or even lie down. If I didn't take it off him he would start crying after about 15 minutes. I was reading about alternative collars and came across a great review for this product. I put it on him and I could see how grateful he was immediately! Not only did he return right back to his happy self, but he seemed to like having a "built in pillow" when he was lying down. Best money I ever spent! Loaned it to a friend who just had her puppy neutered and he loves it too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for 21st Century Protective Inflatable Collars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 39 reviews

Shih Tzu - Bladder Stone Removal Surgery

December 20, 2012
by pketpket
fromChapel Hill, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This product is about twice the price of the cones available, but my little Shih tzu baby could not easily drink her water with the plastic cone. She has a heal time of two weeks before she can have her staples removed. Because I work during the day she must wear something to keep her from licking her stitches, but she also needs to drink plenty of water. This inflatable neck brace is easy to use and stays on great. I have often put sweaters on my Shih tzus and have never had a problem with either one ripping clothes or anything off and all of their toys are in pristine condition. For my Shih tzu I needed a medium and I recommend measuring the neck of your pet first before purchasing; I had to return the small and get a medium. Item works great and I consider the value to match the price. I wish it came in pink, or maybe black.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for 21st Century Protective Inflatable Collars
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 39 reviews

Dissatisfied

November 24, 2012
by Dissatisfiedcust
fromPhiladelphia, pa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have a golden who suffers from allergies. After months of being on expensive meds under the vets care and wearing a lampshade cone he still continues to lick his hotspots. I was excited to find this collar and hoped it would not allow him to lick (even with 2 lampshade cones connected to extend the length, he can still reach his spots and continues to lick). Wrong! He can still reach to his back side, hind legs,and belly. This collar was a huge disappointment for me. Hopefully others find it more beneficial.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for 21st Century Protective Inflatable Collars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 39 reviews

Finally!

September 24, 2012
by SRM18
fromVirginia
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have a cat who has been licking the fur, skin, and everything else off of her stomach for years. We've been through countless medicines, treatments, and nothing seems to stop her once she gets started. The traditional e-collar did NOT work for us because she was able to lick past the edge to her horribly infected stomach. With 2 collars stapled together she wasn't able to access the wounds, but she also couldn't eat or drink (making her life and mine miserable).
As a last resort, I picked this up last year. Within 2 weeks her infection and skin had cleared up because she was unable to lick it. She was also able to eat, drink, and sleep with ease. There was also no horrible adjustment period as we had in the past with the e-collar. I won't say that she loved it, but it wasn't making her life miserable!
I continue to use this every time she starts to show signs of wounds & infection. By far the BEST purchase I've made to help her (and me)!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for 21st Century Protective Inflatable Collars
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 39 reviews

Where there's a will there's a way

September 6, 2012
by pongo
fromReading, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My 6th month Rott was neutered and wearing the plastic cone. He managed to tear the plastic and get to the surgical site and lick. I purchased the Protective Inflatable Collar, spent a lot of money on this item, followed the directions explicitly and it still didn't work. If he moved his head side to side he couldn't reach anything however he figured he could sit and bend forward reaching his privates that way. I'm just going to eliminate the collars all together and let nature run its course. It's awesome that PetSmart has a return policy. This was a waste of time and money.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for 21st Century Protective Inflatable Collars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 39 reviews

Try this first

September 3, 2012
by Missilemonger
fromNebraska
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Let's face it. A LOT depends on the dog. Some (like our bullmastiff) will tolerate this better than the "cone of shame" and some will not. For us it was this or a 39" outside diameter cone to accomdate his 27" neck. The standerd width of a doorway is 34-36".
My knees are 22' off the ground. Get the picture?
It may or may not be the solution for your dog, but if it works, it is way easier on you, your house, and the dog.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for 21st Century Protective Inflatable Collars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 39 reviews

Much better than the CONE!

August 28, 2012
by Maxbeagleowner
fromRockford, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
No more collar of shame! He wears it all day long, I don't have to worry about him biting himself. He can walk, eat, sleep, and climb stairs in it. This product has made dealing with the poor guys itchy booboos a lot easier! And it is washable!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for 21st Century Protective Inflatable Collars
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 39 reviews

Not Adequate

June 24, 2012
by Helloseekers
fromJoliet, IL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I read the instructions carefully. I used the product correctly. My 60 pound Husky/Brittany mix was able to reach and remove the bandages from her upper foreleg. The nice thing is, that I can return the product to PetSmart within 60 days for a refund.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for 21st Century Protective Inflatable Collars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 39 reviews

Perfect Solution

June 23, 2012
by AngieJ
fromWylie, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
We had our almost three year old Cavalier neutered and he came home with one those big collars on. He is small and the collar would catch on the carpet as he was still woozy and had his head down. It caught on furniture and he could not get comfortable to lay down. The second day a coworker told my husband about these collars so I went to get one. It is perfect. Chopper can eat and drink, he can lay down and sleep with no problem...but he can't reach to lick himself on his incision. I take it off for a few minutes a couple times a day so he can shake his ears out and roll on the floor but he soon starts going for the incision and I put it right back on him.
His regular collar was opened out to it's full length and was very narrow so I bought the next size up to allow for running through the ring on the inflatable collar and also it is wider so I figured more comfortable.
We will be having out little female spayed soon and will use it for her too.
I just wish I would have known about these sooner because I would have had one waiting for him and not put him through a restless 24 hours of not being able to sleep or eat and having his vision obscured. We are on day five with the collar and have no complaints.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for 21st Century Protective Inflatable Collars
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 39 reviews

couldn't even try it

May 2, 2012
by rescuemomof5
fromTexas
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Just had our newly rescued 9 y.o. rottie spayed, not home 5 minutes and she was licking and trying to rip out her stitches. Ran out to the pet store to get something and gave this a try. I didn't even get it on her. She was so afraid of it she yelped and then she started attacking it and she's usually very calm. I just put a t-shirt on her with no trouble (did the trick with my cat previously so I thought I'd try it). So far so good.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for 21st Century Protective Inflatable Collars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 39 reviews

great product, worked well with my two chihuahuas

March 14, 2012
by CSSChihuahua
fromYork Springs, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 39 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 39 reviews
My two Chihuahua boys had neuter surgery. The collar that the vet gave them to wear was way to big and long. They were to wear them for two weeks. I saw these on line and stopped at local petsmart. They work great, boys got use to them quickly and are unable to reach scar or stitches. I would highly recommend these instead of the plastic ecollars
Pros: works great
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for 21st Century Protective Inflatable Collars
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 39 reviews

Completely ineffective!

February 21, 2012
by eli23
fromLos Angeles, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 39 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5 39 reviews
I bought this e-collar after my maltese got neutered and was hating life with the e-collar (lampshade)from the vet's office. At first, it seemed ok but a little heavy for my dog. After about an hour, though, I caught my dog licking his wound as if nothing at all were in his way. Save your money and skip this collar as well as those cheaply made, yet very expensive collars from the vet. The other e-collar cone that Petsmart sells is awesome.
Cons: didn't work
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for 21st Century Protective Inflatable Collars
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 39 reviews

Don't waste your money

February 14, 2012
by Boxerdogsrule
fromcalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5 39 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5 39 reviews
In a loving attempt to make my Boxer more comfortable after surgery I bought one of these to replace the hard plastic e-collar the vet gave me. I followed all directions and my large Boxer was able to remove this even with his collar tight. He chewed it and made it un-usable after only 2 days. A pure waste of 40 bucks.
Pros: easy to administer
Cons: price
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for 21st Century Protective Inflatable Collars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 39 reviews

I'm so relieved!

February 6, 2012
by Palikakitty
fromindiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My Maltese had surgery for a mast cell tumor on his side. He did great but had to wear the E collar and hated it. He frequently got "stuck" against a table leg etc and just seemed miserable. This collar did the job and he seems much more comfortable!
Pros: works great
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for 21st Century Protective Inflatable Collars
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 39 reviews

impossible to inflate

February 5, 2012
by Anonymous
fromCenter Valley Pa
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 39 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 39 reviews
I bought this hoping to give my dog a more comfortable cone
but upon bring it home I found it impossible to inflate....so we will be sticking with the comfy cone and I will be returning this one.
Cons: price, didn't work
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for 21st Century Protective Inflatable Collars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 39 reviews

Absolute Lifesaver

January 25, 2012
by Outrageous
fromOntario, Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 39 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 39 reviews
Seriously, anyone who says their dog can get this off either doesn't read the instructions, or doesn't know how to put a collar on properly. It has nothing to do with the intelligence of the dog! If your dog can get this off, then they should be able to get a cone off the same way.
There are inserts on the inside edge to thread a flat buckle collar through. Keep it snug, and your dog will not be able to remove it.
Our 7 month 51lb boxer was not adjusting to the cone at all after being spayed, she was freaking out and would have caused way more injury if not for this.
It does not 'prop' your dogs head up, as the piece at the bottom has a velcro strap, and when the dog lays it's head down, it is flat.
As with anything, you have to monitor you dog! This product will NOT work for a dog with a leg injury, as they will be able to reach their legs.
I also couldn't use it for my male dog, he could still reach his incision, but he's also quite a bit bigger at 62lbs.
There is no way my hyperactive female could have survived her post care without this. Even fully sedated, she would not allow anyone near her, and she was completely manic with the e-collar.
It is a little price-y, but if it doesn't work for you, it's fully returnable.
Pros: easy to administer, works great
Cons: price
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for 21st Century Protective Inflatable Collars
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 39 reviews

Don't waste your money!

January 22, 2012
by Clyka
fromMinneapolis
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 39 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 39 reviews
I have a 6 month old Golden Retriever Puppy. We wanted a "cone" of sorts for him to wear after his neuter while we were at work. He figured out how to get it off in the first 15 minutes. We re-tightened and adjusted he now is a pro and slips it in less than 3 minutes.
Cons: price, didn't work
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for 21st Century Protective Inflatable Collars
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 39 reviews

Wow, that was quick...

November 9, 2011
by Fudge
fromOttawa, ON
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 39 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 39 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
So as not to offend anyone, I won't talk about this not working for active and highly intelligent breeds, insinuating that if it worked for your dog then it's not active and/or intelligent.. But my particular Australian Cattle Dog (AKA Heeler) gets bored really easy and, like me, when he gets bored, he gets into mischief.
I bought the collar to prevent him from ripping off his belly band (he's incontinent from birth) while he was in his kennel.
Long story short, first time he wore it he got the collar off, popped it, ripped it open and pulled out the inflatable tube, then ripped that up too, as if to make a point. And yes, it was snug enough that I couldn't pull it off easily, but he could still breath. But let's face it, dogs are tenacious!
Luckily, Petsmart has a "no questions asked" return policy (at least the one near me does) so I'll return it and go with the old fashioned plastic e-collar. I was just hoping for something a little less clunky.
Great concept, unfortunately not very effective for my dog.
Pros: easy to administer
Cons: didn't work
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for 21st Century Protective Inflatable Collars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 39 reviews

We love this collar!

October 30, 2011
by 2labs
fromBaltimore, MD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 39 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 39 reviews
I was hesitant to purchase this type of collar because of the negative reviews I had read, but I am so glad that we gave it a try. We have 2 lab puppies who have just been spayed/neutered and this collar has worked great. One of our dogs has a padded e-collar and the other has this inflatable collar. I prefer the inflatable collar because it allows the dog to have their normal range of sight and is less restrictive. Our dog has had no difficulty sleeping or moving around, but isn't able to get to his incision.
Pros: works great, easy to administer
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for 21st Century Protective Inflatable Collars
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 39 reviews

Good idea BUT didn't work.

October 11, 2011
by RMeena6891
fromRichmond, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 39 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 39 reviews
I had read the review on Petsmart.com about this item. I have a Jack Russell Mix and he is suffering from hot spots. When I read the reviews, I read that other owners pets can still reach the wound, etc BUT I decided to give it a chance anyway. That same evening I purchased one from the store; size Small and put it on him right away to getting home. Low and behold, he can still reach his hot spots perfectly fine. Then when he tried to sleep, he was totally uncomfortable. His head was up high, he couldn't sleep, etc. I had to return the item the following morning and purchased a regular cone instead. It seemed like a better and more comfortable idea then your average cone, but believe me... GO WITH THE TRADITIONAL CONE!!!
Pros: easy to administer
Cons: didn't work, price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next