PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Whisker City Extra-Large Hooded Cat Pans

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Whisker City Extra-Large Hooded Cat Pans

Extra- Large Hooded Cat Pan features a two-way access door to minimize odors and litter scatter in an affordable and stylish design. Made exclusively for PetSmart.
Overall rating:
3.606 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
24 of 33(73%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Whisker City Extra-Large Hooded Cat Pans
Review 1 for Whisker City Extra-Large Hooded Cat Pans
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 33 reviews

Whisker City Extra-Large Hooded Litter Box

February 20, 2014
by 14U2C
fromSanta Rosa, California
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I purchased 2 of these Litter Boxes on-line. The box would have been great as far as size and shape. The material that it was made of was worse than bad. The price for such bad quality is outrageous. The only comparison would be to say that it was a step-up from paper. In fact a cardboard box would have been 100% more serviceable. I definitely would not recommend this item. I bought two and returned two. When they arrived they were cracked and literally in pieces.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Whisker City Extra-Large Hooded Cat Pans
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 33 reviews

Good for tall cats

December 30, 2013
by Delcogirl
fromGarnet Valley, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Purchased this box for our cat right before Christmas. He is tall and I wanted a box with a high back to eliminate urine running out the back. This seems to have done the trick. He is very happy with it. I like the hinged lid; it is easy to lift the lid and clean up. Would rate higher in 6 months if still achieving the same result.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Whisker City Extra-Large Hooded Cat Pans
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 33 reviews

Returned

December 30, 2013
by Cruella
fromTulsa, OK
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
The litter box door was broken when it arrived. It looked great but the plastic was very brittle and I returned it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Whisker City Extra-Large Hooded Cat Pans
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 33 reviews

Great litter box

November 27, 2013
by JaneMc
fromNew York
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Every time my cat used the litter box I had to wash the floor because he was peeing over the side. I tried buying one with higher sides, but that didn't solve the problem. This covered box is terrific. Everything stays inside the box including the litter. I removed the door because I didn't think he would like it, and the area around the litter box is still always clean. It's made well, and I highly recommend it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Whisker City Extra-Large Hooded Cat Pans
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 33 reviews

Cracks easily

November 19, 2013
by twizdangel
fromMantua, NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I orginally bought this litter box because of the large size. It was great until I went to go clean it out. As soon as I picked up the litter box to dump the old litter, it cracked in several places. It's very flimsy and now I wish I spent a bit more money to get a better quality one.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Whisker City Extra-Large Hooded Cat Pans
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 33 reviews

November 16, 2013
by kittiepal
fromphiladelphia, pa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
We have adopted cats and they lover their litter boxes. They are roomy and have a lid for privacy and keep the litter contained nicely. They are easy to clean and maintain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Whisker City Extra-Large Hooded Cat Pans
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 33 reviews

November 1, 2013
by Kittygirlie
fromClearwater, FL
This litter box is great and price is good. It is easy to clean as all sides slope with no corners. The front opens up to also make it easy to clean. The opening for the cat is low so it accommodates an older cat. I removed the flap door.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Whisker City Extra-Large Hooded Cat Pans
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 33 reviews

great design

October 11, 2013
by catmama1
fromCentral Fl
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
this pan feels a little flimsy when putting it together but once it is together it is sturdy and fine. love the design where the back part opens for easy access to clean or add litter. i have two cats and since it is recommended to have one pan for each cat i got this one. the design of it is awesome compared to the other one. if i have to ever replace the first one (it already has one broken snap tab) i will get another of these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Whisker City Extra-Large Hooded Cat Pans
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 33 reviews

Great litter box

August 18, 2013
by Woofwoofmeow
fromSacramento, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My kitten has grown so much that he needed a larger litter box and I needed it to have a hood to keep my kitten from kicking litter across the room and my dogs out of it.
At first I was concerned about this litter box because the lid felt a bit flimsy but I've had it for 2 months and haven't had any problems. Once the hood is securely snapped on, it is strong enough for me to carry a full litter box downstairs and outside to be cleaned without the top and bottom separating and litter spilling everywhere. The squared shape makes it easy to put along the wall and the lack of corners make it very easy to clean. I liked this litter box so much I bought a second one to replace our downstairs litter.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Whisker City Extra-Large Hooded Cat Pans
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 33 reviews

Does what I need, but..

August 4, 2013
by CollegeCatLady
fromFlorida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I needed a high-sided (and backed!) litter box because my senior cat does not squat when she pees and my adult cat enjoys peeing as close to the side of the box as she can. This combination has resulted in a few misses and accidents that normal cat pans were just ill-equipped for.
This box is easy for my senior cat, who occasionally has leg problems, to get in and out of. I was worried about the opening but she doesn't seem to have a problem with it. This box actually had one of the lower entrance opening heights when I compared brands, so this was a HUGE plus for me since I was worried about her legs. She took to it right away, no transitioning needed. It doesn't matter how or where she pees, there's always a side to catch any accidents. For my adult cat, I think the tall sides help her realize when she's reached an edge, so she's had no accidents at all. Another plus is the sides catch tons of extra litter from kicking and scratching.
My only true critique is that the sides of the pan are very easy to get litter stuck to when my cats urinate, making scooping sometimes a hassle. But, in the grand scheme, I'm more than willing to deal with a bit of sticky litter versus accidents on the floor. Would recommend!
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Whisker City Extra-Large Hooded Cat Pans
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 33 reviews

Love it!

July 16, 2013
by Elsie
fromColumbus, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
One of my cats sometimes does her business a little high up in the back of the box, so this design is perfect. There's never any leakage with the gap between the base and lid. I've never used liners in a littler box, I scoop out twice a day, so the fact that it needs special liners isn't a problem for me. I wash it out once a month with soap and water, it's easy to clean, and just add fresh littler as needed throughout the month. The lid does come off, it just secures very nicely, which I also like. My cats don't like the door, so I removed it. I would buy this again and recommend - as long as you don't use liners.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Whisker City Extra-Large Hooded Cat Pans
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 33 reviews

Terrible Litter Box

June 18, 2013
by ATLMark
fromAtlanta, GA
I hate this litter box. The front sits so low and allows for urine to leak under the front of the hood. You also have to purchase special liners for use with this since the dimensions are so different. I don't recommend this box.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Whisker City Extra-Large Hooded Cat Pans
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 33 reviews

Great Design

March 26, 2013
by DHAMM
fromSC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This a really good design, but the door broke off after the third day. The lid is not sturdy enough. It comes apart easily. I will continue using it because it is the best box I have come across. I wish they would make a sturdier top and better door.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Whisker City Extra-Large Hooded Cat Pans
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 33 reviews

Good product/easy clean

January 9, 2013
by lovemy10cats
fromAtlanta, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I purchased these litter boxes after my old ones needed to be thrown out. The style, design and easy clean of this litter box makes it nicer to have in my home. There are two sizes also. I like the color too because it blends in with my home decor.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Whisker City Extra-Large Hooded Cat Pans
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 33 reviews

October 6, 2012
by leeeeeza
fromSycamore, Illinois
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this liter box because my 17 yr old cat was having urine leakage problems with a traditional box, despite an attached hood. This box is fantastic! Not a hassle to clean and she took to it immediately. The downside... No bags. This is new to me because I used them faithfully, but Im getting use to it. Im also happy with the rubber feet on the bottom. Doesn't move around at all. The front snaps are a bit hard to close at times, but other than that, its a great box and a God send! :)
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Whisker City Extra-Large Hooded Cat Pans
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 33 reviews

Nice Design

September 23, 2012
by Cramelle
fromNYC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I love the design of this litter box. The front end opens for easy access to quickly clean the box. And the sloped ends make this the easiest box I've had to clean. But...I can't use the door with my 2 cats. And I have one messy male cat so the only improvement they would need to make for the perfect litter box is to move the door up higher and possibly make it a little smaller. Other then the additional clean up, this is the best litter box I've had!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Whisker City Extra-Large Hooded Cat Pans
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 33 reviews

Loved it at first

August 9, 2012
by marynick
fromSC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This seemed to answer all of my problems for 2 cats. Then when I clean it the top falls apart and I have to wrangle it back together. This morning, I found the door had broken off. now these are still pretty playful 11 month old kittens but they aren't that strong. Plus the top was apart. I may have to buy a new lettter box because I can't find a replacement for this simple little door.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Whisker City Extra-Large Hooded Cat Pans
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 33 reviews

Great size, but what with no liner?

June 17, 2012
by bdirect
fromAtlanta
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We have a 16 lb Siamese who needs the space and the hood is a requirement for us, but we have always used liners. Other reviewers are right, sometimes there are some tears in the bottom, but that still beats handling all that litter.
We use yard bags and cut them on one side. Not a very good solution, but it beats cleaning up the pan.
Overall, we satisfied with this product and don't have any issue with it construction, but probably would not have purchased it because of the liner issue.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Whisker City Extra-Large Hooded Cat Pans
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 33 reviews

LARGE WHISKER CITY LITTER PAN

June 15, 2012
by SAMBO
fromSCOTTSDALE, AZ.
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
THIS LARGE LITTER PAN IS FLIMSY AND HOOD DOES NOT STAY LCKED. LITTER COMES OUT UNDER THE UNLOCKED COVER. LINERS BARELY FIT. SO FLIMSY CAN NOT CARRY WITH ANY LITER IN IT. DEFINETLY A DOUBLE TUMBS DOWN!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Whisker City Extra-Large Hooded Cat Pans
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 33 reviews

Door Doesn't close completely

June 12, 2012
by TWNZMOME
fromSouth Philly
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got this litter box because I love that it has a door on it. I had to get a bigger litter box because the one I had wasn't large enough. But my one true complaint is that the door doesn't close all the way. I've tried to switch the direction of the door, and it's still open. I HATE THAT!!! I don't want to look..let alone smell liter. Yes I have a charcoal filter but there still is a hint of liter smell that I don't like.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next