PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Hills(r) Science Diet(r) Adult Optimal Care(r) Original

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Hills(r) Science Diet(r) Adult Optimal Care(r) Original

Hills Science Diet Adult Optimal Care Original cat food provides Precisely balanced, easy-to-digest nutrition for a visible difference guaranteed or your money back. Taurine and controlled levels of phosphorus promote healthy vital organs. High quality lean protein helps promote a healthy weight.
Overall rating:
4.833 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(138 reviews) 138
133 of 136(98%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Hills(r) Science Diet(r) Adult Optimal Care(r) Original
Review 1 for Hills(r) Science Diet(r) Adult Optimal Care(r) Original
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 138 reviews

Worth the price

November 16, 2013
by Cathy11
fromAtlanta, GA
Science Diet food is best Cat food I have used for my 3 cats. They like the flavors and it seems to be absorbed better by them meaning less litter box activity.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Hills(r) Science Diet(r) Adult Optimal Care(r) Original
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 138 reviews

Excellent cat food

February 3, 2013
by Robbiet18
fromFowlerville, Michigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
My two cats really like this food. The thing that I love most about it is that it keeps them fuller longer so I don't end up over feeding them.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Hills(r) Science Diet(r) Adult Optimal Care(r) Original
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 138 reviews

great "multi cat" food

January 15, 2013
by allergycat
fromNEW JERSEY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have been giving my feline children Optimal Care for over a year now. I have several cats that are allergic to fish, and Optimal Care is one of the only foods that does not contain any fish, fish oil, or fish by product. It has taken awhile but their skin has cleared up and their fur is getting soft again. Great product. Best thing that happened for my babies. It is hard to find a food that is liked by all (19) but they do enjoy it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Hills(r) Science Diet(r) Adult Optimal Care(r) Original
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 138 reviews

My cat loves this food, she even asks for it. LOL

January 10, 2013
by conyon
fromBaileyville, KS
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My cat Snickers loves this cat food created by Science Diet. It's all I have fed her for the past six years since she began asking for it. She would always say, "round ones" if I put anything else in her bowl. Or it would sound like she was saying that. LOL. So I just stopped giving her anything else. Anyhow, this cat food is great for her. She has a shiny coat, and a sleek figure now. And she never seems to get tired of it. Only thing is she wakes me up in the mornings to get more of it. It keeps her healthy and happy. And for that I am grateful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Hills(r) Science Diet(r) Adult Optimal Care(r) Original
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 138 reviews

Great product..

December 1, 2012
by CatloverATL
fromAtlanta, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
We have been feeding our cats Science Diet for over 16 years. Our vetenarian recommended it to us for our long hair that had a sensitive stomach. She did great with it, she ate it for over 14yrs and she lived to be almost 20 years old. She had a very healthy life. I really believe her diet helped with her longevity. We now feed it to our two 1 1/2 yr old kittens (since day one). Their coats are shiny and they are incredibly strong, active, and healthy. I would recommend this product to any cat owner. The cost is a bit more.. but if you purchase it in the large size bags and take advantage of the manufaturer coupons, the cost is comparable to the lesser expensive brands.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Hills(r) Science Diet(r) Adult Optimal Care(r) Original
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 138 reviews

Used for the Soccer Ball...

November 12, 2012
by OwnedByTheCat
fromAtlanta, GA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
The cat that owns me came from my local animal control shelter, where they fed her Science Diet Optimal Care Adult cat food. When I adopted her they even supplied a small bag. Since she liked the flavor, when I first went shopping at PetsMart for EVERYTHING a first cat needs, I also bought a larger bag.
Subsequently I learned from her veterinarian that a wet diet would be better for her. It was hard to get her to transition from Science Diet's dry cat food -- the flavoring is great -- but we managed to do it.
The Science Diet now serves as a treat to fill her "soccer ball" which she bats around every other day. While it is one of the better dry foods, it is still a "candy" and not recommended for daily meals by her vet.
I do want to commend Hill's on supplying their Science Diet dry cat food to animal control shelters who can ill afford the cost to feed the animals under their care. The gentle reader should consider the extra cost of their wet cat food products as money well spent in avoiding the problems associated with a regular diet of dry cat food as their cat ages.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Hills(r) Science Diet(r) Adult Optimal Care(r) Original
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 138 reviews

Science Diet

June 6, 2012
by Stella63
fromMissouri
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have fed my cats Science Diet for almost 18 years now and have always been very happy with this food. They all have shiny coats, clear eyes healthy and happy. We started them out on the kitten formula as they became part of our family and are now on the Optima and Senior formulas. I would recommend this cat food for any cat owner. Definately healthy food for a long healthy life...........my senior guy is 18 and has eated Science Diet his whole life...........thanks for a great product!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Hills(r) Science Diet(r) Adult Optimal Care(r) Original
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 138 reviews

April 13, 2012
by KalyaKitty
fromGrandmother in Salinas CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The Humane Society where I adopted my two, one year old cats were giving away free ( 4lb) bags of Science Diet with each adoption. It was the Optimal Care Original for Adult cats 1-6 years.
I've had cats all my life. This is the first time I ever put them just on a dry diet of cat food. But they both loved it right away. Their coats are so shiny and they hardly shed at all. I've had them for 1 1/2 years and they're so beautiful;. Clear eyes, no health problems, just happy cats. I really believe this Science Diet is a complete food for them, along with fresh water.
I'm taking care of my son's cat , a long haired "Ragdoll" cat while he's on deployment for the Navy. The cat is 4 years old and this is his first experience with Science Diet and he loves it! He, too sheds less!
They only like the "Optimal Care" and not fish and rice or sensitive stomach. The rag doll loved the "Light" when it was made flatter, now that's it's the same shape as the Optimal, he won't eat it. I wonder if it tastes different to him.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Hills(r) Science Diet(r) Adult Optimal Care(r) Original
Based on the average of (130) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.8 / 5
4.8 / 5 138 reviews
126 out of 128 recommend this product