PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for BarkOff Ultrasonic Training Aid- As Seen on TV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

BarkOff Ultrasonic Training Aid- As Seen on TV

Stop annoying barking! This product is safe, effective and humane. Works up to 20 ft away!
Overall rating:
1.716 / 5
1.7
 / 
5
(134 reviews) 127
26 of 134(19%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for BarkOff Ultrasonic Training Aid- As Seen on TV
Review 1 for BarkOff Ultrasonic Training Aid- As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 134 reviews

BarkOff Ultrasonic Training Aid- As Seen on TV

November 11, 2013
by mommat423
fromohio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Im so happy with this product, my little dog was always barking non stop and after only a few days of using this product, he has stopped barking, i will recommend this product to family and friends
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for BarkOff Ultrasonic Training Aid- As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 134 reviews

it doesnt work

November 4, 2013
by chugger
frompa.
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
bark off is a waste.. it does work at all dont waste your money or time. i have the one i ordered and 2 others that i bought save your money..,chugger.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for BarkOff Ultrasonic Training Aid- As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 134 reviews

Bark off!

October 24, 2013
by Texy
fromTexas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I am now a believer in thi product... I turned it on as someone was knocking on my door ... Pointed it at my barking doggies and said SHHHH! They got quiet quickly.
I leave it off.....I only turn it on and
hold it towards them as I catch them in the ACTION of barking. They settle down quickly....
I've only had it a few days,, but am very encouraged.. My cousin used it with her Yapper. Within several weeks. She stopped,,,,, now my cousin only has to hold it in her hand without even turning it on and she is QUIET!! Amazing!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for BarkOff Ultrasonic Training Aid- As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 134 reviews

Deterred loud barking!

October 23, 2013
by ThyN
fromLas Vegas, NV
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
It works!
I noticed that my 10 pound terrier mix would bark, hear the noise that is inaudible to me, and would stop barking. When she wants to be persistent, she will bark about once every 10 minutes...but after 30 minutes, she will give up. I guess that high frequency sound really does the trick! I'm able to complete my work now that it's quiet in the house. I leave it on only when I'm trying to do work, then leave it off the rest of the time. One person said to use it manually to let the dog know when barking is not appropriate. Also, make sure that when you use it the first few times, praise the dog when it quiets down!
It's also worth noting that ANY NOISE can trigger this device. So do not slam doors, do not leave the tv on...it would be cruel to do so by setting this device off on your dog incessantly. This would also make it ineffective in training your dog.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for BarkOff Ultrasonic Training Aid- As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 134 reviews

It does ok

October 7, 2013
by Xavier1
fromIL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
We have 3 dogs. It worked on our Papillion. My corgi mix is terrified of it and will try to escape the room that the barkoff is in. And the our shiba inu is totally unaffected like as if nothing even happened (oblivious to the sound). Oh side note our rabbits and rats hate the ultrasonic sound.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for BarkOff Ultrasonic Training Aid- As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 134 reviews

WASTE OF MONEY

October 6, 2013
by kc420
fromCharlottesville, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This item is a JOKE. It DID NOT deter my dog from barking at all. I even tried new batteries twice to make sure. It was such a waste of money. I didn't want to even give it any stars, but that wasn't an option. I had to rate it 1star, but if there was an option for ZERO STARS, that's what I'd click! If there was a negative star option, I'd be clicking the most stars possible
*DO NOT BUY THIS ITEM*
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for BarkOff Ultrasonic Training Aid- As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 134 reviews

Do not buy

October 2, 2013
by cycles
fromSan Augustine, Texas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Total waste of money, do not buy. Does not work, also advertised to be for outdoor use yet when you open it you read should not be left out in bad weather. What a joke. Never stopped any barking even when dogs were right beside unit!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for BarkOff Ultrasonic Training Aid- As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 134 reviews

Doesn't Work...

August 27, 2013
by Ravens
fromOntario, Canada
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought two. One makes out a high pitched squeal every time someone speaks, and only every other time when my puppy barks. It defeats the purpose if it's going off every time we speak (as it doesn't teach her to associate barking with the sound). The other one doesn't work at all. Once it started to squeal when no one was in the room, but otherwise makes no sound. It doesn't seem to bother my pup at all, the sound is something she hardly even acknowledges and keeps on barking. We tried it for two full weeks (the package says to try it for at least one week) and she still isn't bothered by it. It doesn't work, essentially.
Also, the packaging says "inaudible to human ears" which is NOT true as both my husband and I can hear it, and so can anyone who's over when it goes off. It's ear piercing for us, but my pup doesn't seem to even hear it.
I'm not too upset because it was cheap - $7.50 each...but if you haven't bought one yet - don't waste your money. Buy a higher, better quality product and hopefully it will work for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for BarkOff Ultrasonic Training Aid- As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 134 reviews

Lousy item

August 7, 2013
by aj32174
fromFL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This Bark Off product is terrible. It has never worked and I purchased many new batteries for it. I do not recommend it to anyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for BarkOff Ultrasonic Training Aid- As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 134 reviews

Does Not Work

July 17, 2013
by MMarina
fromIrvine, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Very disappointed. It didn’t even seem to phase my puppy. She kept right on barking. It also makes an annoying beeping noises that is audible to the human ear.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for BarkOff Ultrasonic Training Aid- As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 134 reviews

Worked like a charm

July 2, 2013
by Octwin
fromOlathe, KS
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
I was a bit skeptical when my husband brought this home to try. We have two dogs who love to bark and annoy everyone with hearing distance. Not only did it work on our dogs but it worked on the dogs next door as well.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for BarkOff Ultrasonic Training Aid- As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 134 reviews

Waste of cash

May 17, 2013
by BitBitMom
fromHuntsville, AL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
They really need to pay you to use this thing. Never worked... Was a waste of money. I have to go write a review for the Sonic Egg... I doesn't work either...
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for BarkOff Ultrasonic Training Aid- As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 134 reviews

NEVER WORKED

April 17, 2013
by Samie
fromWaterville, Oh
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
From the moment I put the battery in it never worked. So annoyed.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for BarkOff Ultrasonic Training Aid- As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 134 reviews

Works fine

April 3, 2013
by dcoop
fromCentral Ohio
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Worked immediately with our 2 boisterous JRTs. After a couple of uses it now only needs to be picked up to achieve control. No need to turn it "on" .
Could the dogs of the naysayers perhaps be deaf?
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for BarkOff Ultrasonic Training Aid- As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 134 reviews

Works for Us!

March 30, 2013
by JCrewGirl
fromPacific NW
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We bought this on a whim - at that price, we had to give it a shot. Our dog loves to bark at dogs passing by our front window, and we needed to put a stop to it (we have a home office, etc.). We put this between the front windows, and it has worked like a charm! She can't stand the sound it emits. I hope it continues to work, because it has been a HUGE help!
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for BarkOff Ultrasonic Training Aid- As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 134 reviews

Don't bother!

February 28, 2013
by TLC1964
fromMesa, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This sounded like a good idea but I bought two of them thinking that the first one was just defective but it wasn't. They work once and then stop working. Buy something else because this product does not do what it says.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for BarkOff Ultrasonic Training Aid- As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 134 reviews

get what you pay for

February 24, 2013
by laurel1269
fromMontague, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Bought this and one other as seen on tv bark control and they never phased my dogs...they just kept right on barking...bought new batteries and changed them still the same result...save your money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for BarkOff Ultrasonic Training Aid- As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 134 reviews

Ineffective

February 20, 2013
by Laila815
fromVirginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
You get what you pay for. This product is cheap, plastic, and useless. Not only does it not seem to phase a barking dog, it makes annoying beeping noises (even when the dog isn't barking) that are audible to the human ear. Clearly it does not work as advertised.
This product is not worth your money. Invest in a good bark collar or professional dog training to stop your dog's barking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for BarkOff Ultrasonic Training Aid- As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 134 reviews

Useless item

February 11, 2013
by therock71
fromKingston ont
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this item just to find it to be a waste of money . put brand new batteries in it and it does not work what so ever. My dog still barks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for BarkOff Ultrasonic Training Aid- As Seen on TV
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 134 reviews

Battery Operated Paper Weight...

February 7, 2013
by Star69
fromGaithersburg, MD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We have a 5 year old puggle which we adopted about 6 months ago. He really is a great dog however he has severe separation anxiety. Whenever he is left alone for any period of time, he howls/barks immensely. Music, TV, rawhides, and toys are of no help. The neighbors have begun complaining so, we are forced to try more stringent measures. Before trying a bark collar, we wanted to see if ultra sonic devices would silence his ruckus.
This product is an epic fail, total waste of money and time we spent “testing” it. He is still barking and howling just as much as before.
When you turn the product on, there is no light to indicate that it is activated and the batteries aren’t dead. The description indicates, the noises are inaudible to humans but, I could intermittently hear a faint noise which sounds similar to squealing brakes with busted calipers.
We are going with a collar in conjuction with some behavior classes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next