PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Grreat Choice(tm) Dome Top Cage

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Grreat Choice(tm) Dome Top Cage

Ideal size for Parakeets, Finches and Canaries. Made exclusively for PetSmart.
Overall rating:
2.3 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
3 of 10(30%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Grreat Choice(tm) Dome Top Cage
Review 1 for Grreat Choice(tm) Dome Top Cage
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 10 reviews

This cage is sturdily built and very functional.

May 9, 2013
by RobnRic
fromRichmond, Va
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews
This cage is very well built and simple to put together with very clear photographic pictorial instructions and tips, total assembly time should be around 5 minutes. There is ample room for a small bird or even two. They thought of everything to make this an enjoyable experience: easily removed trays for cleaning, extra large access doors to get at the two food and water bins, double perches, you have the option of hanging it by the built-in hook at the top or setting it on a table top, the cage is very stable either way, and the overall design has a very pleasing appearance.
Unfortunately, the plastic disk that secures the top hook from inside the cage was missing from the box. It was simple matter to improvise a replacement with a rigid plastic top from a vitamin bottle and a plastic nut, not worth the drive back to the store for a replacement.
Pros: easy to assemble, easy to clean, sturdy, price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Grreat Choice(tm) Dome Top Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews

Cute, but poorly designed

August 12, 2012
by Gvillemama1
fromGreenville, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I had a couple of small finches in this cage. While the enjoyed flying up and down, there isn't enough horizontal room for them. When I try to get in to clean the cage and perches, the top collapses and/or the sides that are only pinch seamed together, disconnect. Not very sturdy construction.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Grreat Choice(tm) Dome Top Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews

Please do not buy this for your bird!!!

July 30, 2012
by ilovereptiles
fromPA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Please do not buy this product. Birds fly, right? So this size cage prevents the bird from stretching their wings. I experienced using this cage and it is not durable, it is a little confusing to clean, and it shouldn't even be on the market because it is to small for a bird to fly and stretch their wings. I definitely don't recommend.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Grreat Choice(tm) Dome Top Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

Perfect Little Cage

July 13, 2012
by missionaryma
fromKansas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I love this cage. It has been a perfect fit for my little lady canary. She is very happy in here. She swings on her swing at the top and trots around on the perches. My FAVORITE part about this cage is the genius who decided to put covers on the food and water dishes. No more messes on the floor under the cage! I don't miss cleaning up bird seed shells... It put together in minutes and has been a perfect home for a happy little canary.
-3points
4of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Grreat Choice(tm) Dome Top Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews

Bird cage is too small even for finches!

July 9, 2011
by Susan39
fromOswego, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This bird cage is too small even for one finch! First of all,, there is no room for the bird to spread their wings. Also, because the top of the bird cage is round, this makes the top of the cage useless. You can not hang toys from the top. The bird can not use any space at the top of the cage. And, because the bars become too narrow at the top, this is a safety hazard for small birds because they will get their feet caught between the narrow bars. I would not recommend this cage at all. It would be cruel to keep a finch, canary or parakeet in this cage.
A square or rectangular cage would be much better for the bird. I would not buy a cage that was smaller than 18X18X20 inches.
+18points
20of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Grreat Choice(tm) Dome Top Cage
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 10 reviews

Temp only cage is my recommendation

June 7, 2011
by KytW
fromNE
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
While in the Looney Toons cartoons, Tweety seemed just fine in a cage like this, I feel it is much too flimsy. After only a short while, the plastic disk at the top of the cage cracked, which loosened the hook at the top. Over time, the hook was held in place with little bars to ensure the cage could still be hung up. The base also cracked fairly soon. I would recommend this cage when moving or traveling, but as a permanent fixture, no.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Grreat Choice(tm) Dome Top Cage
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 10 reviews

Too small

March 21, 2011
by BirdLover36
fromNC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I wouldn't want to put my bird in a cage this small. It might would work for a finch or 2, but not anything bigger than that!!!I'd advise you to save your money up and buy a bigger cage.
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Grreat Choice(tm) Dome Top Cage
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 10 reviews

it's grrrreat!!!

March 17, 2011
by animallover1230
fromNew York, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
i have a small and i mean small finch and she loves this cage it is great and not that expensive
-10points
3of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Grreat Choice(tm) Dome Top Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews

Not Suitable For Any Bird.

February 13, 2011
by RhondaSS
fromToronto, ON
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This is not a good cage for any bird, big or small. Birds like to feel safe, round cages give them no place to 'hide'.
Also far too small for active animals like birds, wouldn't suggest this to anyone. Not even for travel.
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Grreat Choice(tm) Dome Top Cage
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 10 reviews

Bad cage.

October 18, 2010
by Keetbirds4
fromMN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this cage to keep a new keet in before introducing him to my other keets. The new keet was behaving extremely oddly. I've had keets off and on for years, and had never seen the behavior. I did some research, and found that keets hate round cages. (Some other bird breeds as well.) They do not feel safe in round cages. As there is no where for them to 'nestle' in corners, they like to pace back and forth, and climbing is extremely difficult. After reading that I put the new keet in a square cage, wow, big difference. He settled down quickly, and was obviously much happier. (And nicer to me.) Making the intro to the other keets easier. Guess I learned my lesson, no round cages. Lol.
Pros: none
Cons: round shape, scary to keets, flimsy
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.