PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Exo Terra Terrarium- 36x18x18

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Exo Terra Terrarium- 36x18x18

The Exo Terra Glass Terrarium is the ideal reptile or amphibian housing designed by European Herpetologists.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 11
11 of 12(92%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Exo Terra Terrarium- 36x18x18
Review 1 for Exo Terra Terrarium- 36x18x18
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews

Its An Okay Tank For The Price.

December 31, 2013
by Codaheart411
fromOklahoma City, OK
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
I got this tank about 6 months ago for my bearded dragon. It has held up great and i have had only one important problem. THE FOAM BACKGROUND. I recommend that as soon as you purchase this tank that you discard the foam back, no matter how nice it looks. Crickets hide behind it and under it, and if your beardie is a climber like mine, the foam will get EVERYWHERE. Throw away the background and you have a pretty good reptile tank.
Pros: sturdy, stylish
Cons: low quality
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Exo Terra Terrarium- 36x18x18
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Love it

November 6, 2013
by chichilady
fromNorth Adams,Ma
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I received a few months ago for my new 3 yr old blue tongued skink.He loves it I 'd like one for my bearded dragon but the only way to get the same terrarium this time is to go to the store which is way to far for me driving.The one I got for my blue tongued skink was delivered by truck to my home driver called we met on next street he couldn't make corner parked car in his way but not broken at all great delivery, driver was great.So will have to check another store for getting delivered to my home.petsmart did great job.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Exo Terra Terrarium- 36x18x18
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews

Nice Tank

August 29, 2013
by DLynn
fromCoon Rapids, MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I definitely like this tank so nice with the open front. Two things i found annoying but easily fixed. I didnt like the Styrofoam fake back thing just made a mess should of been cork if they were going to put in there like its a special feature. With the metal mesh lid I don't like how its separated with plastic dividers cant just put lights on top so if you purchase this item you will need to buy lamp holders. It is very functional and its nice that is wider but the open front you cant beat it for accessibility.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Exo Terra Terrarium- 36x18x18
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews

Great tank but could definetly be improved upon

April 12, 2013
by Angelpaws
fromUpstate, New York
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I've had this tank for 5 months now. Unfortunately, one of the reviewers hit the nail on the head about the top. It is constructed very weak. When I purchased my tank it appeared to be the last one in the store and the plastic is slightly bowed at the top from the pressure of the other tanks that rested on top. Still, this is not detrimental for a beardie who doesnt seek to climb to the top of the tank. Another downside that I've also had trouble with are the escapee crickets. I couldnt figure it out for the longest time but yes, they find the holes at the top. (they cling to the back of the foam rock wall to reach it). You can easily solve the problem by stuffing the holes with an old sock or even aluminum foil. On the flip side, the foam rock wall has openings on the bottom too so the crickets that do hide come out to eat from there. My beardie knows they live there and will sit waiting for the crickets to poke there heads out. Sort of like a built in cricket keeper! Salad is always provided overnight so the crickets go to that instead of buggin my boy! The front opening doors are really the best feature. It immeditely increased the trust between the beardie and myself (no more leering from above like a predator!) You'll need to be somewhat careful opening and closing the cage but not out of the ordinary. The cage is constructed with plastic and glass after-all!
Overall, the cage is perfect for an adult beardie and his furniture! I can keep it well heated (108F hot-side - 85F cool-side) using one 100w heat lamp and one small UVA/UVB strip light. Its easy to clean and looks great. Im very happy I made the purchase.
Pros: stylish, easy to clean
+19points
21of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Exo Terra Terrarium- 36x18x18
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

HUGE

February 1, 2013
by catsordogs342
fromLehi, Ut
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This tank is big and has great space for my lizard Lizzy
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Exo Terra Terrarium- 36x18x18
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

I personally, really like this tank.

January 6, 2013
by Freyja
fromBritish Columbia, Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
There is only one person that I see that hasn't given this product a five star review. I noticed some flaws in their post however, first of all, the tank isn't meant to have cats jump on it, so obviously the mesh lid wasn't designed to withstand such a weight pouncing onto it repetitively. Also, they wrote that the mesh lid does not fit with the foam background inside, I think however they most likely had the foam insert up-side-down. On one side, there is a tiny cut in the middle, which is the top and it fits into the little slat that is a part of the mesh lids framing. On the other end, there are two rectangular notches carved out on both the left and right side, and the foam piece has little alcove grooves leading up from those holes in the back to allow wiring to go up and through the back of the tank. They even added areas between the lid and the rim of the tank that has tiny sliding doors to close if you're not using them. It's rather smart actually, this allows things like pumps and heating cables and heat rocks to be placed inside without a messy look of cables. (However I do not recommend heat rocks, they can burn your lizards belly.) The front opening doors is super convenient for cleaning and moving things and fetching your lizard, I honestly can't imagine how the doors would break unless one was to lean on it as they were looking in, which again, isn't the fault of the manufacturer. I mean, it's an elaborate glass tank, it isn't meant to be rough-housed, it's like anything else, if you handle it carefully, it'll last longer ;3 Anyways, the added height of the tank is great, my bearded dragon loves to climb everywhere and with a foot and a half to go upwards and three feet to explore back and fourth, I have lots of room to add many different levels of sticks and other climbable objects. All in all, this is a great tank, if you can afford it I would highly recommend it, or just wait till christmas where it'll go on sale ^_~
+34points
35of 36voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Exo Terra Terrarium- 36x18x18
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews

Nice doors, if they would stay on.

December 1, 2012
by jerusha
frommd
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
The doors fell off within a year (tiny hinges) and the screen on top is flimsy, and didn't hold up to our cat jumping on it. It also lets small crickets escape when the foam backing is in it. The doors are a great idea, but lizards live a lot longer than this cage can hold up!
-55points
6of 67voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Exo Terra Terrarium- 36x18x18
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Awesome!!!

March 31, 2012
by vcrgirl
fromAB, Canada
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Absolutely LOVE this terrarium! I got it for my Rosy Boa and its perfect. Looks beautiful, easy to clean and I love how the top comes off and it has doors on the front.
Pros: easy to clean, sturdy, stylish
+17points
20of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Exo Terra Terrarium- 36x18x18
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Excellent terrarium!

January 6, 2011
by Corcas
fromHouston, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought this when it was on sale from the store for my Chinese Water Dragon. The best thing is that it's amazing for tropical reptiles because it can actually hold a few inches of water without leaking, and you can just open the dual doors to spray without having to take the stupid screen lid off of other terrariums. The only problem I had was keeping the humidity up since the screen is so large, but towels worked effectively. The rock background was well received by my dragon, who enjoyed climbing on it to get closer to the light. Excellent ventilation, too.
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Exo Terra Terrarium- 36x18x18
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Great Product

November 2, 2010
by Dan613
fromOttawa, ON
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
This product is great! I use it for my blue tongue skink and he loves it. The front opening doors make it easy to grap your pet, and to spot clean the tank. The only downside is the price but worth it in the end. All in all, this is a great product!!!
Pros: front opening doors, good ventilation
Cons: cost
+16points
21of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Exo Terra Terrarium- 36x18x18
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

May 30, 2010
by animalgal67
fromlakeville MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
i keep my fancy ball python in this terrarium, and he thinks its ok. its the biggest cage i could find but mellisa still is 2 big! she is 39 inches long and can barily slither throught this.
+2points
13of 24voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Exo Terra Terrarium- 36x18x18
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
1 out of 1 recommend this product