PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Zilla Critter Cages

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Zilla Critter Cages

Premium sliding metal top for increased durability Lockable front latch for permanent security Designed for water bottles, wired accessories
Overall rating:
4.581 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 29
29 of 31(94%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Zilla Critter Cages
Review 1 for Zilla Critter Cages
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 31 reviews

My Leo LOVES His 20 Gallon! (:

December 30, 2012
by LeoGirl54
fromAvon, ohio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My Leopard Gecko Skipper enjoys all of the space he has now. I see him out in the daytime often, slinking about. I can see his aditude has changed since I bought this cage.
I wish the price was lower. That's the only flaw with these cages. OVER PRICED! :(
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zilla Critter Cages
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 31 reviews

not meant for all or any aquatic turtle

December 13, 2012
by MyTrueReptiLove
fromScranton, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
this tank isnt really meant to hold water. i am too worried to fill this tank all the way up with water . i have the 20 gallon for my 2 RES they have out grown it very quickly which is why i am getting the 40 gallon tank that IS made for turtles at my local petsmart. i wouldnt recommed this tank for turtle lovers (especially not for deep water liking turtles) but it would be great for leo lovers or beardie believers:)...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zilla Critter Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 31 reviews

Awesome reptile terrariums, escape proof

December 12, 2012
by Alesia
fromTwin Falls, ID
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have two of these in about 30 gallon sizes ( I think ). So easy to control humidity. Fits most decor. Escape proof. PERFECT!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zilla Critter Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 31 reviews

Great tank

August 20, 2012
by turtleANDrabbit
fromIndiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought this tank 5 years ago and yes it does have a crack here and there but is still in one pice after five years and i have dropped it a bunch and it doesn't brake normally but over all i recommend it to any one!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zilla Critter Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 31 reviews

great home for mojo!

July 15, 2012
by arsenic451
fromst. robert, mo
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
i have the 20 gallon size for my baby ball python mojo. it provides enough room for him to move around and fully stretch out. there is also room to add in decor and hiding places as well as water and or food dishes if you have an animal that needs a food dish. i love the lockable sliding screen top since ball pythons are known as escape artists. the top is also sturdy enough to hold a heat lamp on top. i want to get the larger 40 gallon real soon because i have a few more things i want to add to mojo's home that are too tall for his current home. plus, i've run out of room. this is the only real downside to the 20 gallon size...it's only 12" high. of course it makes for easier access and ease of getting to your pet.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zilla Critter Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 31 reviews

GREAT BUY

July 6, 2012
by Shellatin
fromWest Des Moines, Iowa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My gerbils absolutely love their new habitat! They have so much space for all of their toys and food and still have plenty of space to run around. At the sale price this tank was a steal! THANK YOU PETSMART. :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zilla Critter Cages
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 31 reviews

good tank

July 3, 2012
by reptifanatic
fromokc, ok
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
my family originally got this for our RES but now its been in our attic collecting dust, so i came home from school and said," hey, can i get a lizard?" so we got it down and its all cloudy and has scratches. we cleaned it with vinegar and its a lot better! this tank will last you a long time! i highly recommend this, (but we picked ours up from a petsmart instead of ordering it.) great for reptiles!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zilla Critter Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 31 reviews

Great Tanks

May 29, 2012
by Justyne
fromRichland, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 31 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 31 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 31 reviews
I have been using the Zilla 20 gallon critter cages for years. They are currently houseing 3 leopard geckos, a euromastic, a corn snake and a columbian red tail boa. Never had a serious problem with them aside from a heat lamp being put too close to the plastic edges and now it is warped. (Does not effect the usability) The lock feature is great as I have a cat that has been known to jump on the edge of the tanks trying to get up. small piece of wire is used as a "lock" and all is well. Easy to clean, easy to maintain humidity, and I never worry about someone unlocking the tank.
In fact i love my 20's so much, tonight I'm going to pick up a new 40 Gallon since they are on sale!!!
Pros: easy to clean, sturdy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zilla Critter Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 31 reviews

Love this for my ball python

May 8, 2012
by Mandims
fromniles mi
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
My ball python loves this and so do i :) i got the 40gal long and i love the screen top im not afraid he will get lose and i have children so the pad lock option on this tank is AMAZING he has so much room with his water bowl and 2 hides plus the plants im even thinking of getting a water fall to replace his water bowl and to help with humidity :) if u have a snake get this tank it will ease ur mind of him getting lose :) again i love this tank so many ppl compliment me on it i included a pic of apollos new tank and video
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zilla Critter Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 31 reviews

best for my hamster

April 9, 2012
by animallover1234pets
fromtexas,tx
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 31 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 31 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 31 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
i love this tank,i have the 40 gallon tank for my hamster cleo there is tons of room for her wheel,house,food,water,and extras for her to play with.my friend also got this tank but it was 20 gallons the price i got it for was a little high but it was worth it.
Pros: stylish, easy to clean, sturdy
Cons: price
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zilla Critter Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 31 reviews

Great tank

March 26, 2012
by Rosanne
fromOntario Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I purchased a 40 gallon a couple of months ago for my beardie. I really like it. Pro's: Escape proof for a beardie, roomy, and well made. Con's: The screen top can sometimes be hard to open and close. It sticks. Other than that there is nothing that would stop me from purchasing this tank. My beardie loves all the space he has now. I have added a picture of Draco, my dragon, and his tank. :)
+12points
15of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zilla Critter Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 31 reviews

March 14, 2012
by Musclebabe
fromVegas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
LOVE these tanks! easy to clean and very attractive! I just wish they came in a larger size! My female ball python has reached 5 ft, and with the hides and climbs, she has outgrown it :(
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zilla Critter Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 31 reviews

Perfect for my Syrian

March 13, 2012
by Benji
fromSpring Lake, NC
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Let me start by saying, I love this tank. Previously, I had my hamster housed in a ten gallon tank that I had purchased from another major chain store. The tank held fine and was good quality, but was way too small. It was still bigger, though, than the Hartz Play City cage she'd come to me in. I like housing my small rodents (not my guinea pigs, of course, as tanks are terrible for them!) in tanks as the cages on the market in the US are so tiny that I hate even looking at them. Cleaned properly and with screen covers, ventilation is not a problem (contrary to popular belief) and a hamster, gerbil, or a mouse can live a long, healthy life in a tank. I do not like the ten gallons much because they get cramped fast, so I had been looking for a 20 gallon (long) for my Syrian. I saw this tank at PetSmart and decided to try it. I would LOVE the 40 gallon, but do not have the space (as I have gerbils in my room, too). The 20 gallon is a lot bigger than I thought it'd be. It's a little over twice the size of the ten gallon (it's shorter than it is tall, giving the pet more floor space - whereas the ten gallon I had, while a "long", was taller than the twenty gallon). It opens awkwardly, but that is not a problem. Simply remove the screen cover completely to access the pet (you have to do this with a great deal of screen covers, anyway). It looks nice, locks properly (even without a regular lock added to the front - though you can add one for extra protection), and offers a Syrian hamster a fair amount of room. I would recommend this for smaller rodents such as gerbils, hamsters, and mice. Bigger rodents, however, just keep them in barred cages (they produce more urine, so you'd have to clean a tank VERY frequently for say... a guinea pig or a rat). This tank would, also, be perfect for smaller reptiles. My only complaint is that the mesh seems to be made of cheap material. With certain animals, I'd be worried about chewing escape routes. (Gerbils might be able to, depending on how much bedding you offer) Still, I am - overall - pleased with my purchase. I can get her an 8" wheel now (which Syrians need) and not worry about it taking up too much floor space, AND I was able to buy her more toys (she did not have the tunnels or the pink igloo in her old tank). She seems to love the new space, as well. As soon as I put her in the new tank (with some bedding from the old, of course), she began running around happily, digging through the bedding.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zilla Critter Cages
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 31 reviews

Good product

February 12, 2012
by crotalid9
fromOhio
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 31 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 31 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 31 reviews
I can honestly say I rarely use any other caging for setting up non-venomous animals. They are thus far escape proof for snakes of all sizes as well as lizards of all sizes. They are your standard top access tank so very easy to clean. Flaws with the system is it is not stackable, and if you need humidity you're going to have to do some serious makeover on the lid as it holds none. This being said I would recommend the system for everyone. Another bonus is that you can put a lock on them which is great for people with children or if you are keeping hots in it.
Pros: easy to clean, sturdy
Cons: price
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Zilla Critter Cages
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 31 reviews

good product

February 4, 2012
by animallover5
fromtexas,tx
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 31 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 31 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 31 reviews
i got this tank for my hamster because i hate the wire cages cleo loves it she has lots of room to play, run,sleep its sorta hard to clean because im short and cant reach good but thats not a problem .
Pros: easy to clean, sturdy, stylish
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Zilla Critter Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 31 reviews

New tank for leo's!

January 10, 2012
by Bettaluver2
fromMiami, Florida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have 2 leopard geckos, and I bought them this 20 gallon tank. They live very well together. :) My first leopard gecko I bought about 7 months ago, and she lived in a 10 gallon tank. She was just a hatchling when I bought her. Then a few weeks ago I got my second leopard gecko, and decided to give a shared tank a try. So I bought them this. These few weeks have gone very well! The tank is spacious and large enough for various hides, and there is plenty of floor space. The lock on lid is great. I see that some people complain about the tank lid sliding toward you... it doesn't make much sense for it to go backward though. Most people I've seen have their tanks against a wall on a dresser or desk. You can't get the lid off at all if it slides toward the wall. The lock on is great, since my youngest gecko is an escape ninja. :D They both enjoy their new tank very much.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Zilla Critter Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 31 reviews

great

January 1, 2012
by magi
fromClearwater, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I got the 40 gallon tank and me and my bearded dragon love it, its a great product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Zilla Critter Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 31 reviews

Great for hamsters!

January 1, 2012
by Hamstersrock101
fromReno,NV
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got this for my teddy bear hamster, the 20 gallon, is very spacious. Ive had it for a few mounths, easy to clean, no cracks so far.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Zilla Critter Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 31 reviews

August 10, 2011
by JJSS
fromSouth Dakota
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
At this time we have the 20 gallon tank for our ball python! We love it! We plan on buying him the 40 gallon very soon! I love the lid on it! Its nice to have cage clips to take off and put on everytime we get our snake out. We have had no problems with glass breaking or cracking!! Love these cages!!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Zilla Critter Cages
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 31 reviews

Awesome Cage!!!!!!

June 17, 2011
by girbilzrock
fromorlando,FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have a 20 gallon for my ball python;Rajah, and it works great!I dont know what people mean about the glass breaking because i have a heat pad and not one crack.Im thinking about getting a 40 gallon for my two male gerbils;Thunder and Lightning.Since I already had the cage for my ball python I know that my cat won't be having a little snack while im gone.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
1 2 next