PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Zilla Basic Desert Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Zilla Basic Desert Kit

Ideal starter kit for Juvenile Desert Animals.
Overall rating:
3.703 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 35
27 of 37(73%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Zilla Basic Desert Kit
Review 1 for Zilla Basic Desert Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 37 reviews

For the price, its great

October 13, 2013
by Becca6725
fromga
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 37 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
4 / 5
4 / 5 37 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 37 reviews
I bought this for a 2 month old baby bearded dragon.
it comes with a 10gal. tank, 2 lamps, a basking bulb and a night heating bulb, a screen cover (w/ screen clips), and tan reptile carpet. its pretty good for the price and ill be able to use the lamps and whatnot in her adult tank. although the night heating bulb worked once.. and it hasn't turned on since but it may just be the one bulb. over all its cheap and it works so buy it. ALSO be prepared to buy a house, a basking place, decor and food and water dishes
Pros: easy to clean
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Zilla Basic Desert Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 37 reviews

Awesome Kit

June 21, 2013
by 18efort
fromUtah
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 37 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 37 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 37 reviews
This is a great kit for a good price i bought this for my leopard gecko and he loves it it come with everything beside a cave, water and food bowl, food, and the gecko
Pros: stylish, easy to clean, sturdy
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Zilla Basic Desert Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 37 reviews

March 17, 2013
by wattwatt2011
fromma
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 37 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 37 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 37 reviews
i heard that this product stinks is it true
Cons: low quality
-30points
0of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Zilla Basic Desert Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 37 reviews

A good start

March 8, 2013
by AnimalMomma
fromBay Area, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I got this before I purchased my leopard gecko. It's good quality and a good start for any SMALL reptile. It doesn't come with everything you'll need so be prepared to buy other things as well. As for the size, 10 gallons can only house certain species. I got this for a leopard gecko and after about 6 months ended up getting a bigger aquarium. Will work for small lizards, some frogs, baby animals until they grow or for a temporary home. Overall thus is a good purchases and well worth the price, which isn't too bad either. I'm pleased!
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Zilla Basic Desert Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 37 reviews

best leopard gecko cage ever!

January 27, 2013
by leopardgeckolove3344
fromNashville TN
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 37 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 37 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 37 reviews
I purchased this kit a month ago for my leopard gecko and she absolutely loves it!It pretty much comes with everything you need to make a great leopard gecko habitat except for the decor and bowls.I totally recommend this kit anyone getting a leopard gecko!
Pros: stylish, easy to clean, sturdy
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Zilla Basic Desert Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 37 reviews

I love and enjoy this product from petsmart.

January 25, 2013
by Justy50
fromYuba City,CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 37 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 37 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 37 reviews
I recommend this for beginnerreptile owners.This product is very easy to clean and my leopard geckos love living in this habiat.So thanks alot petsmart for your help.One more thing is that this product was realy low-priced.Thank you!
Justice
Pros: stylish, easy to clean, sturdy
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Zilla Basic Desert Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 37 reviews

perfect for leopard geckos

January 19, 2013
by zman
fromwichita,ks
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 37 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 37 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 37 reviews
i love it it just what i need for my baby leopard gecko
Pros: stylish, easy to clean, sturdy
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Zilla Basic Desert Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 37 reviews

great for panther geckos

December 18, 2012
by panthergecko77
fromNorth Carolina
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 37 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
5 / 5
5 / 5 37 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 37 reviews
yesterday i got a panther gecko and got this cage for it it was perfect except it didn't come with a water dish or food or the little hide hut so i got those things it has been perfect i love it it has been the best i love it it came with everything the panther gecko needed except for a few thing over all i would recommend it to anyone
Pros: stylish, easy to clean, sturdy
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Zilla Basic Desert Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 37 reviews

An awesome quarentine cage

November 9, 2012
by Scribbles
fromSterling, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 37 reviews
Ease of Cleaning 
3 / 5
3 / 5 37 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 37 reviews
It happens to everyone, a lizard gets sick. Now a 10 gallon is too small for most things, but the ease of setting this up and putting it all together fast when you realize you need to quarentine something is priceless. One box, 5 minutes, and quarentine is set up. I don't think this would be a good tank to keep something in long term, but for the short term for quarentine or while something is growing larger for a bigger habitat. It's great. I did buy an undertank heater at the same time incase it didn't get warm enough but with a small tank you have to be careful with too warm too. So far in the day the basking light seems fine, going to see what the temp does at night to see if I need the undertank or not.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Zilla Basic Desert Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 37 reviews

Overall, pretty good.

October 21, 2012
by baconmaster1
fromGleandora,Ca
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
i bought this when i first got my leopard gecko. this is a good kit but lacked a few things. for one, the light only gave off 75F on the warm side, but it needs to be 95F. i also wish it offered a hide and food/water dishes, but that wasn't a deal breaker. this is a good beginner kit for a leopard gecko, however, just keep in mind that you will need to buy a few things.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Zilla Basic Desert Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 37 reviews

cheap

October 21, 2012
by wasup01200
fromhouston
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
the lights went out on the third day, i can pay 20 dollars and get a heating pad lights and a liner do not get
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Zilla Basic Desert Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 37 reviews

ok but problem with lights

October 11, 2012
by reptileenthusiast
fromMentor, OH
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have a leopard gecko, so when i saw this deal, i thought it was too good to be true. it turns out it was. within the first week, the black bulb went out. about a month later, the other bulb went out. but before the other bulb went out, it was too cold! i was forced to buy a heating pad. but after a while, leo(as i named him) liked it. overall, bulbs are bad, and if you have a leopard gecko (or basically any other type of lizard), you must buy a heating pad. i would reccomend buying all of the stuff separatley.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Zilla Basic Desert Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 37 reviews

love it!

September 9, 2012
by Dashacker4747
fromsugar hill, ga
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
It is a very good kit that has many things you will need to start exept decore.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Zilla Basic Desert Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 37 reviews

overall good product

August 13, 2012
by friedchicken
fromCalgary, AB
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
this product is fantastic if your looking into buying a leapord gecko or a cornsnake. But if you want to buy a bearded dragon or a mali uromaztyx you will have to buy a larger tank after about two or three months. and with a bearded dragon you will need to update the heat light dome and lightbulb as well as having to buy a uvb bulb and fixture.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Zilla Basic Desert Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 37 reviews

Very good!

July 31, 2012
by Jessica13
fromCalgary, AB
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought this for my leopard gecko. it is totally worth the money considering the fact that it's not even that expensive! It has amost everything I needed. I just needed to buy a hide, water dish and the gecko. It's totally amazing and everything in there is good quality.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Zilla Basic Desert Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 37 reviews

I absolutely love this product!

July 24, 2012
by aatomic124
fromUSA,kentucky
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I absolutely love this! it came with everything i needed. except a warm hide, a humid hide, and a water dish. i bought a food dish and some food. i am plannig on getting a leopard gecko soon. if it is a male,jimmy. if female,jimette. yup,i know they're wierd. i had saved a lot of money,so i plan on getting it soon as,next week soon. well there you have it. last week it was cheaper. like,3 or 4 dollars less but besides that,it is a totally awesome product! i would definitely recomend this to a person who is getting a leopard gecko.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Zilla Basic Desert Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 37 reviews

OK

July 23, 2012
by adelina105
fromGA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I liked it but my animals got out alot, but other than that it was sturdy and I love that it came with the domes and the lights and stuff. I think it would be great with beginners with small pets.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Zilla Basic Desert Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 37 reviews

bad

June 22, 2012
by light
fromfarmer city il
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
i bought this for my leopard gecko and the tank and the day light was good but it stuck to only have the night light for 24 hours
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Zilla Basic Desert Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 37 reviews

Awesome Product!!!!!!!!!!!

June 7, 2012
by Irishroses
fromPittsburgh,PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought this for my bearded dragon while is is so small and this cage is perfect!
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Zilla Basic Desert Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 37 reviews

LONG LASTING

June 6, 2012
by UltimateReptileLover
fromHouston Tx
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This product was great! I first I had a baby leoparded gecko, then after my gecko was gone I put in a baby Bearded Dragon in it, now my African Fat tailed still in it. The only I would like to change it the they would have a higher wattage lamps
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 next