PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Chinese Dwarf Hamster

Chinese Dwarf Hamster

UNKNOWN
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(7 reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Chinese Dwarf Hamster
Review 1 for Chinese Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 7 reviews

Cutest things ever!

August 16, 2014
by Jena1234
fromNY
I love my female dwarf! She was easy to tame and fun to watch. These little hammy's sure are noisy at night though, but I wouldn't trade my hamster for anything.
Pros: Cute and easy to tame
never bite
easy to maintain
Cons: VERY loud at night
only live 3 yrs.
run and hide very fast when trying to tame
These little guys are so cute and make great pets for kids. Good luck if you are planning to get one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Chinese Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 7 reviews

So cute, nice, and the best!

August 7, 2014
by Maya11111
fromCape may NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
So I got this lovely hamster for my 10 year old daughter. In the beginning she couldn't hold Cutey because she always will run away but now she doesn't. She still can't put her down on the ground but Cutey is OK with being held. She gets scared. My daughter has had her for a year now and we hope she
Lives much more. This hamster is really the best, and it's great for kids. I recommend this to kids who are 9+! Great pet, fun and just great!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Chinese Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 7 reviews

Best Pet Ever!!!!

July 31, 2014
by luckilady61
fromPittsburgh, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought this hamster for my 9 year old daughter as her first pet! It was the BEST pet ever!!!! We had her with us for 8 months when she passed away on Easter of last year! J was very patient, kind and docile..she even watched tv with my daughter!!! We had her trained to find her treats in a particular order!! She was VERY smart and just plain adorable for the size of a medium sized meatball.....LITERALLY! Highly recommended!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Chinese Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 7 reviews

Frisky, Friendly little hamsters!

June 27, 2014
by Claire123
fromSaint Joseph, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got a Chinese dwarf about 1-2 months ago. He is very friendly! I got him a Habitrail Ovo cage and he loves to run in his wheel! He loves to be held for a bit but gets squirmy and wants to run all over you. Overall, 5 stars because it is a quality pet.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Chinese Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 7 reviews

GREAT HAMMYS

May 4, 2014
by chocolatelover5
frommichigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have a little female chinese dwarf hamster named peanut and she is great. she loves to be petted and does not mind being awakened. she does not bite. I really recomend this hamster. But she does not like to be held she will run away and jump out of your hands.
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Chinese Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 7 reviews

My new favorite small pet!

April 8, 2014
by LMNJ
fromNJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Chinese Dwarf Hamsters are simply awesome! I am now the proud owner of a little female Chinese Dwarf Hamster named Rowyn. I have had her for about a week and a half and she is my absolute new favorite "pocket pet". She literally will hang out in my pocket or on my shoulder tucked inside my sweater for hours! I have had pet rats (really great pets) for about 10 years. Shortly before my last 2 beloved rats passed away I had gotten a puppy, so I decided to hold off on getting any rats for awhile and devote my time to the puppy. Well, it's been 3 1/2 years and I was finding myself gazing longingly at the rats whenever I take my dog to Pet Smart. I wasn't ready to commit to caring for 2+ rats right now though (their cages do require fairly extensive daily spot cleanings and at least a couple of hours outside of their cage to play everyday). Rats are very social animals and I've always had 3 or 4 at one time with 1 or 2 of the Critter Nation double unit cages in use. I figured I could easily care for 1 hamster though. I researched dwarf hamsters and thought I had made up my mind to get a Roborovski Hamster. While researching the Robos I came across information on the Chinese Dwarf Hamster and was intrigued and impressed by the many great reviews I read about them (the rat-like tail is a bonus!), but had never seen any available locally. I went to Pet Smart expecting to get a Robo until the sales associate that was helping me recommended the Chinese Dwarf Hamster. I was surprised to see that they carried them since I had never seen them before. There were five of them in the cage nestled together into one furry little ball. The first one that awoke was placed into my hands and promptly began to groom herself, so that's the one that came home with me! I've read that a hamster cage should offer at least 360 inches of living space, so I opted to make a bin style cage for my hamster out of a clear 30 3/4" x 22" x 17" bin with lid (I drilled lots of air holes in the lid and in all 4 sides!) which gives her almost double the recommended living space. I outfitted it with lots of fun things from Pet Smart to climb, chew and run on. I'm using Carefresh Natural in Rowyn's cage (I like it and have always used Carefresh Ultra for my rats.) and she loves to burrow and tunnel through it. I have owned other types of hamsters (Syrian and Russian Dwarf) and this is by far my favorite!
+20points
25of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Chinese Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 7 reviews

So sweet and gentle!

March 24, 2014
by Birdy7890
fromNew Albany, IN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
She is so sweet and so cute. She doesn't bite. She is very clam and very social. Great for little kids, of course with help from the parents.
+20points
23of 26voted this as helpful.