PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Petstages Flashing Firefly Mat

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Petstages Flashing Firefly Mat

Randomly flashing lights keep kitty engaged but quiet during nighttime!
Overall rating:
2.286 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
4 of 14(29%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Petstages Flashing Firefly Mat
Review 1 for Petstages Flashing Firefly Mat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

Not a good toy

January 30, 2013
by JThomas
fromPapillion, NE
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
My kitten loves chasing everything, but you have to literally bang the sensors for it to work. Although, I think it was more fun for my kitten to watch me bang on the mat. But if i was not there turning the lights on for him to chase, he just walked away from it. It's difficult for them and becomes boring very quickly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petstages Flashing Firefly Mat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

Cats didn't like it at all.

January 24, 2013
by Harkness
fromOrlando, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews
While I thought the product would be perfect for my 2 cats (age 4 months and 2 years at the time), neither one of my cats enjoyed the product. The lights didn't stimulate them at all and after owning the product for about a week neither one of them didn't give it more than 2 minutes of play time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petstages Flashing Firefly Mat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

Boring! A total waste of money!

January 14, 2013
by AllCatsAreCute
fromAmarillo, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 14 reviews
I thought this would be a captivating toy for my cats, since they all like pouncing on the laser light, but I couldn't have been more wrong. Not one of my cats, and I have several, even looked at it. I placed it in several locations, even next to their food bowls where they couldn't avoid it, but even when they walked on it, they were completely uninterested.
A total waste of money!
Pros: easy to wash
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petstages Flashing Firefly Mat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

Awesome!

June 1, 2012
by ChasingTwilight23
fromAustin, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Negative reviews on a toy can be misleading (unless you're talking about quality of construction) because not every toy fits every animal's personality. This firefly mat is well made, the lights are long-lived, and while it took our girl a little while to get used to how to interact with it, it quickly became one of her two absolute favourite toys, remaining so months later. She tears around the house like a fiend, slip-and-sliding and rolling and pouncing to get it to light up. Very happy with this purchase. I'd recommend it for those athletic playful pouncers (ninjas) in your family.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petstages Flashing Firefly Mat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews

she loves it

May 15, 2012
by AnnL
fromCopperas Cove, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
I have 2 cats, but only 1 seems to actually enjoy laser pointers. I figured she's LOVE this. It took her a day to decide she wanted to play with it, but now she loves it. She even carries it around with her. Great toy!
Pros: durable, Keeps Pet Entertained
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petstages Flashing Firefly Mat
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 14 reviews

Cat loves it but difficult to light up

April 28, 2012
by KeithForever
fromCoconut Creek, FL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 14 reviews
I am not sure if I have a bad unit but it is a little difficult for my cat to get it to light up. But when it does, he loves it. If it were more sensitive to touch, I think it would work better. He does not care for it when I light it up, it is when I am away from him where he really likes it at night.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petstages Flashing Firefly Mat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

Mat does not engage even hunt-loving cats.

March 15, 2012
by Mom4BerardAndRupert
fromDearborn, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This mat's flashing and light scrolling patterns are too fast to tease and interest either of my cats into interacting with it.
They both LOVE to hunt, but this mat fails to imitate the movement of an insect or any other prey.
Luckily "my boys" find occasional bugs for an experience that only nature can provide.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petstages Flashing Firefly Mat
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 14 reviews

OK

December 18, 2011
by Cleeo
fromChicago, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 14 reviews
Seems cool, but my two cats don't care for it :(
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petstages Flashing Firefly Mat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

GARBAGE!

May 31, 2011
by CMarie85
fromMiami, FL.
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I am so glad that I was able to return this! I have two cats; a 10 week old kitten and a 3 year old cat, both females, and both equally found this mat to be boring to say the least. They both enjoy the laser, so I thought that this would be a good buy, especially for my kitten who is still confused as to when it is day time and when it is night time. She didn’t even look twice at it. I love Petstages products, but this one is a major dud.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petstages Flashing Firefly Mat
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 14 reviews

Petstages Flashing Firefly Mat

March 4, 2011
by deni5280
fromMA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought this for my kitten when she turned 6 months. She is now 7 months. She played with this the first day but since just runs over it or lies on it. I think if she had this at 10 weeks she would have liked and played with it more. This is a high quality product and I would recommend trying it out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petstages Flashing Firefly Mat
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 14 reviews

Cute but disappointing

January 27, 2011
by MycatsMom
fromMidwest
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I bought this for my 2 cats that have seemed bored lately in the evenings. Thought they'd love it since they are fascinated by the laser light they have fun chasing. Thought this would be another great form of exercise for them. Put it down and they seemed much more entertained by sniffing it then by the lights flashing. Great idea but maybe a puppy would find it more appealing than my cats do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petstages Flashing Firefly Mat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

Toy barely works

September 20, 2010
by Char2Chlo
fromMinnesota
How many pets do you have?2
My cats seem fascinated by light up toys so I thought this would be perfect. The only problem is, the toy doesn't even light up unless you stomp on it really hard. My cats couldn't even get it to light up when they stepped on it which defeats the entire purpose of the toy. I took it back the next day because I knew it would never get used as a just a mat that doesn't do anything.
Cons: doesn't work unless it's stomped on
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petstages Flashing Firefly Mat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 14 reviews

Entertaining

July 30, 2010
by AshleeCat
fromNJ, NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have two cats & they both took turns the first night, then that was it. I thought I wasted my money, but then the next day when I got home from work I found it across the room. I moved it back to its original location. Next thing I see is my kitten running, jumping and landing right on it and took it for a slide across the floor. She then started playing with the lights, trying to catch them. It was fun to watch and fun for her. Although I have not seen my other cat play with the mat since the first evening, I still have to pick the mat up and move it back across the room everyday....and my kitten goes on attack.
Pros: lights - new fun play
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petstages Flashing Firefly Mat
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 14 reviews

Not a good toy

June 21, 2010
by wigglygirl
fromCalgary AB Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
This toy is completely inadequete. It takes quite a hard blow to make it start and then just as it starts to intrigue- it stops and the kitten gets bored. Our elderly cat didn't even look at it- nor did the mat light up when he walked across it (he's 13lbs).
Don't waste your money.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.