PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Adult Dog Food

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Adult Dog Food

Blue Buffalo Large Breed Adult Fish and Oatmeal Recipe is holistically formulated to help meet the essential needs of large breed dogs.
Overall rating:
4.84 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
25 of 25(100%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Review 1 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Asher loves Fish and Oatmeal recipe

February 3, 2014
by AsherBasher
fromClarksville, MD
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 25 reviews
We have tried other flavors before where we have to add meat (chicken, beef, pork) before Asher starts eating, with Fish and Oatmeal, there is no need to add anything. He starts eating right away and he loves it.
Pros: high quality, digestible, taste
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Excellent

January 8, 2014
by Codin
fromTexas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
Smells good - gets gobbled up and produces a shiny coat and happy bark
Pros: high quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

My dogs love the flavor

January 5, 2014
by Barbidoll
fromHayward, WI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
All the Blue Buffalo food is good, but my dogs seem to prefer this flavor.
Pros: price, high quality, digestible, taste
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Love this service & product

January 2, 2014
by seismicred
fromDFW, Texas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
Its a great dog food, because its baked..not extruded. What does this mean? It means when it comes in contact with liquids, it does not become spongy like grocery store dog food. Spongy causes gas and sometimes potentially fatal gastric torsion in large breeds.
Also its delivered to my door so I dont waste gasoline and have to schlep a 30lb bag from the car park to the house. And my dog food is shipped for free.
Pros: price, high quality, digestible, taste
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

My dogs love Blue

December 31, 2013
by Raffie
fromAtlanta, GA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
I love everything about Blue except the price, but nothing you get what you pay for. Better coats, skin and overall health.
Pros: high quality, digestible, taste
Cons: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Dogs Love It

December 20, 2013
by NGW3
fromMaryland
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
We saw the adds for this dog food on TV. We have 4 rescue dogs. None of them are show dogs or even close, but we love them. This dog food is pretty pricy, but we bought it to see if the dogs would eat it. They love it!! They range in age from 2 - 15 years and they all like it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Blue Buffalo & PetSmart - a Winning team!

November 8, 2013
by BBYes
fromOconomowoc, WI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
We have been buying Blue Buffalo brand dog food since our dog was a puppy. The quality of ingredients is so much better than most brands and we want only the best for our dog, so we don't mind paying more. The large breed formulas offer the extra nutrients she needs to keep her joints healthy. Our dog loves the food! And we've always bought from PetSmart, we like the store, the staff, the selection, and the competitive prices. Shopping online and having food delivered right to your door is a very convenient option as well.
Pros: high quality, digestible, taste
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Great deal, good food

October 31, 2013
by magreen17
fromSyracuse, NY
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 25 reviews
Ozzy seems to like it so far! Thanks Petsmart for a great deal on this brand.
Pros: price, high quality, digestible, taste
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Awesome Food!

July 28, 2013
by RoeMommy
fromYork, SC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My dog loves this food! She is an American Bulldog and has always had skin issues, even on the "grain-free" food. This food keeps her weight in check, makes her skin and coat amazing, and you can tell that she feels great, too!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 25 reviews

Good product, great food

March 4, 2013
by kodiac
fromPA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
I've been feeding this to my 4 1/2 year old Yellow Lab for her entire life and just started my 1 year old Lab on this from Blue Puppy. Both dogs have a soft coat, no issues with ears/skin like my previous labs. They love the food. The only reason I give this four out of five stars is the occasional fish smell from the dogs rear end :) Other than that - I swear by Blue, the product, and the health of both our labs.
Pros: high quality
Cons: price, smell
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Blue Buffalo Fish and Oatmeal

February 27, 2013
by Leya
fromAlanta, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
We have had our labs (1.5 and 4.5 ages) on Blue Buffalo Fish and Oatmeal for years now and continue to feel it is the best dog food available. The fish oil keeps their fur shiny, and they are very healthy. Also I have a rat terrier who is 13 years old, and she has been able to digest it without any problems.
Pros: high quality, digestible, taste
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

My dogs love it !!!!!!!

January 6, 2013
by LuvMyHuskies
fromLynchburg VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
My shui-tzu loves this food. Once we started her on blue small breeds formula she was hooked. She won't even look at other brands of food. My 11 week old husky also loves blue puppy formula. Both of my dogs have the prettiest shiney coats. It is a bit pricey but it is totally worth it.
Pros: high quality, digestible, taste
Cons: price, smell
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

My Baby Loves This Food!

August 20, 2012
by PitBullAngel
fromYork, SC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have a 5 year old AmStaff/Boxer Mix. She has always had problems with diarrhea, skin infections, and weight gain. Up until the past three months I had been feeding her the typical popular dog food i.e. Purina, Iams, Eukanuba. I started researching popular dog food, and was DISGUSTED with myself for letting her eat such horrors! Anyhow, did my research on the higher end foods and chose Blue Buffalo, particularly the Fish and Oatmeal. A WEEK after feeding her this, the diarrhea cleared up. Within a month her shedding decreased and her skin and coat became shinier than I had ever seen it. Now, as the months go by, I see my plump pitty turning into muscular and lean dog! THANK YOU BLUE BUFFALO for saving my dog!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Best food out there

August 20, 2012
by nestrada
fromTexas
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have three large dogs; two with skin issues and one with joint problems. This food addresses both of those problems. My dogs absolutely love it and they practically run me over to get to their food. Their coats are shiny and healthy, and I no longer have to buy supplements for their food.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Great Quality Food

March 22, 2012
by SophiaGSD
fromOhio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 25 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
This food has done wonders for my 7 year old German Shepherd she has regular stools and digests this food better then her old corn based pet food. Her coat also looks amazing now. Only bad side is when she gets a little nervous sometimes she smells like fish.
Pros: high quality, digestible, taste
Cons: price, smell
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

We love Blue

March 21, 2012
by Cyber
fromGardiner ,ME
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
My dog loves Blue, we will never go back to the nast old dog food he used to eat... Blue is the way to go for a healthy, happy dog
Pros: high quality, digestible, taste
Cons: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Amazing health benefits!

February 16, 2012
by MadisonsMommy
fromDenver, CO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
I have a 2 year old yellow lab that has more energy than she knows what to do with it and so when she started losing her nails, it was really hard to watch her play so hard but be in pain. The doctors said she had lupus which causes her nails to break off easily. I tried everything, including fish oil, vitamins, and steroids. Nothing worked. My doctor suggested putting her on a fish diet food instead of the oil so I picked up the fish and oatmeal Blue Buffalo. Literally in one month, her nails got stronger and she has not had an incident since! She loves it and she is not on any meds since then. I would recommend this to anyone!!!It is so worth it.
Pros: high quality, digestible
Cons: price, smell
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Worth the price

January 14, 2012
by bcn111
fromPrinceton, NJ
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews
We have tried multiple brands of food for our 2 year old Great Dane Maggie, including the specialty brands such a Innova, Abady and Karma, and once we introduced her to Blue, she has thrived. Her coat is jet black and shiny, she has improved muscle tone, she is more energetic, and she all around seems happier and healthier. Blue dog food is all natural with no artificial chemical preservatives, which is also important to me. Overall, I would say that you cannot go wrong with Blue.
Pros: high quality, digestible, taste
Cons: price
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 25 reviews

Excellent Product

September 11, 2011
by chamane44
fromTupelo, Ms
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 25 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Tayla was raised on Blue and I have now changed her over to Fish and Oatmeal because of Glucosamine* 400 mg/kg min
Chondroitin* 300 mg/kg min. She recieves a supplement daily also and no more popping in the back hip area.
I have done alot of comparison and Blue rates at the top of the pack. Although I found a price increase yesterday when I went to Petsmart I will continue to use Blue. 50.00 for a 30 lb bag is a bit much!
Pros: high quality, digestible
Cons: price
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Blue Buffalo Life Protection Large Breed Adult Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 25 reviews

Great Job !

November 29, 2010
by mhorn
fromSan Dimas, Ca
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We have a Rott/Shep Mix. he is a Big Boy, and at 14 months still very active. Since we have had him on Blue only wet & dry he loves feeding time like he did when he was a puppy ! I am glad they came out with the Fish & Oatmeal for Large breed. Since he does have a sensitive tummy, and was itching a lot. Now no more. Of course his coat is like silk !!! our vet even comments on his coat..
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 next