PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed

Chew Resistant Reversible Easy to clean
Overall rating:
2.351 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(57 reviews) 57
17 of 57(30%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed
Review 41 for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews

Not chew resistant!!!

April 29, 2010
by Vicky078
fromHampton, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 57 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 57 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews
I bought this bed for both of my German Shepherds who are almost 2. Within hours they had chewed through the cover and then the next day I woke up to fluff all over the place. I had high expectations and hopes as we found out one of the dogs has hip dysplasia and I want her to be comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews

Ripped open in 3 Hours

April 17, 2010
by Ampboy
fromMaryland
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 57 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 57 reviews
My dog has a habit of chewing pillows and such. My girlfriend had decided that my dog needed a bed in her crate. The product looked great and we had high expectations, but we ran an errand and was back in 3 hours and we had an explosion of fluff and a brown substance from inside of product.
We will be reutrning the remains to the store to get a refund as this product was not as promised.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews

Lasted 2 days....

April 14, 2010
by JMSDR
fromChesterfield, MO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 57 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 57 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews
Loved the bed, fit perfect in the kennel, pretty colors, looked oh, so comfy...
Our one year old puppy, who is mostly done with destroying things, was able to get through this "chew resistent" bed in two days.
Back to Petsmart for a refund.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews

April 14, 2010
by sjosie24
fromCollinsville, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 57 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews
I bought this dog bed for my dog. I bought it because it said it was chew resistant. In about 1 week it was shredded. I am not happy because it did cost alot. It did look nice before the dog chewed it up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews

NOT CHEW PROOF!

March 25, 2010
by cjosh0819
fromNew Jersey
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 57 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews
I purchased the large size for my german shepherd pup because he rips anything open that may have stuffing inside, including all the old comforters I have given him for bedding. I would never have spent $60 for a dog bed if it wasn't "chew resistant". He enjoyed it for 1 week before I came home one day to find him in the middle of a fluff pile. I wrote to Kong who claims no responsibility and gave me Petsmart's corporate number who told me to take it back to the store of purchase. I have not tried yet, but plan to. Please don't buy this if your pet rips things open with ease...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 57 reviews

Kong Chew Resistant Bed

March 22, 2010
by martman7
fromKennesaw, GA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 57 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 57 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 57 reviews
They advertise this product as very chew resistant, which is why i bought it.
It may be suitable for a small dog, but my lab/Shepard mix dog chewed through it in less than a week and had the filling all over the house.
I have not yet returned it to petsmart, so i do not know if they will refund the price or at least give me some kind of credit.
Bottom line is if you have a dog who is a moderate to strong chewer i would not recommend this product.
This product does not live up to the kong usual standards of quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews

NOT chew proof

March 16, 2010
by JDATX
fromAustin, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 57 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5 57 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews
Although this product is advertised as chew resisitant, it is definitely NOT chew proof. I really liked the color choices it came in, but all my puppy really liked was to chew on it. In a week he chewed off the handle and managed to destroy the zipper. Not really sure what about the product was supposed to help my dog resist from chewing on it. :(
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews

poor advertising

March 15, 2010
by charleysbed
fromvirginia beach
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 57 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
i got this bed for my dog because he out grew his old one and thought it would be a good idea to get chew resistant, see how he is a puppy. not even the next day and he had chewed threw it. not only that but i had to wash it because he piddled on it, and in the washer it ripped.!!! please dont buy!!!!
Pros: i liked the color though he didnt care
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 57 reviews

Lasted less than 24 hours

March 15, 2010
by Lalakika
fromRaleigh, NC
How many pets do you have?3
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 57 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 57 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 57 reviews
My dog loves to rip into anything with stuffing. I was reluctant to spend this much money on a dog bed, especially since it was only "chew resistant". However I decided to give it a try since satisfaction was guaranteed and hoped it would last a few weeks. I placed it in my dog's crate for her to sleep on that night with no problem, but it did not last through the next day while I was at work (despite having Kong toys accessible as well). The fabric itself held up fairly well, there was just a hole about the size of a dime in it. The weak point was the zipper...if it had had a stronger/better zipper, I think the bed would have lasted considerably longer.
Pros: satisfaction guaranteed
Cons: weak zipper
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 57 reviews

i love it

March 9, 2010
by brodysmom
fromohio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 57 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 57 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 57 reviews
This is the 3rd bed I purchased for my 8 month old puppy. I've had it for about 4 months now and he has not torn it up and he loves to sleep on it. He still chews our socks and paper towels, but not his new bed. I think one reason is because he can't find the zipper. He had 3 other beds and the zipper was exposed. I was hesitant to buy it because of the price, but I'm glad I did.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 57 reviews

Better than others, but still chewed

March 8, 2010
by JKMJKM
fromTN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 57 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 57 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 57 reviews
My dogs did manage to chew this bed up. Although, it did takes almost two months. Other beds were lasting less than 24 hours. I was able to return this and get a new one. It took about three months to chew up the second one.
The problem here is that it says chew resistant. So people with the worst chewers are going to buy it. If your dog isn't two bad at chewing, it will last.
Pros: the dogs loved sleeping on it
Cons: but they still chewed it up
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 57 reviews

Better than a blanket

March 7, 2010
by 1dog1cat
fromNC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 57 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 57 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 57 reviews
My 10 month old lab mix has torn up anything that has stuffing in it. The old blanket that we used in her kennel didn't stand a chance. We took this bed home and let her lay on it for a couple of days outside the kennel before placing it in the kennel. So far she hasn't torn into it. She sleeps on it at night and seems to like it well enough. However, I don't think that the canvas material would stop her if she really decided to tear into this bed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 57 reviews

Kong Chew Resistant pet bed

March 5, 2010
by Kia4ever
fromTexas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 57 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5 57 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 57 reviews
I bought this bed because my Lab puppy has chewed up other beds I've put in his kennel. I spent the extra money hoping he would like the bed better and he would not be able to chew it up easily and would just give up. Well after crating him for about an hour to run an errand, I came home to a hole in the new bed and stuffing and cedar chips everywhere. I flipped it over and within a couple of days there was another hole on the other side. Very disappointed. I know nothing is chew proof, but was hoping this would last awhile, especially for the price. He was happy with it for a day or so....he really enjoyed making a mess though! Would recommend if your dog is not a chewer...hope mine grown out of it!
Pros: looks nice
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 57 reviews

Chew resistant?

March 1, 2010
by Taffy10
fromSacramento, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 57 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 57 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 57 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I purchased this bed at my local store because it was labeled "chew resistant". Unfortunately it didn't last any longer than every other bed I've bought so far... about 36 hours. I rated it 4 stars on pet satisfaction only because he really enjoyed chewing it up! There's fluff & pine shavings inside too that were really fun to spread around everywhere. Kinda dissapointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 57 reviews

As tough as Kong toys

February 27, 2010
by cookiemonster5454
fromTampa, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 57 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 57 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 57 reviews
Nothing is absolutely chew resistant. My dog sometimes suffers from separation anxiety and went through several dog beds (some only lasted a few days) before I got this one. He did eventually get through this one as well, but it lasted much longer than anything else—six months (for him that is a long time). It is one of the least expensive "chew resistant" dog beds I have seen... affordable enough to replace if your dog does end up getting through it. If you have a chewer and don't want to spend a ton of money, I would definitely recommend this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 57 reviews

Great, but...

February 27, 2010
by Raconteur
fromCardiff by the Sea, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 57 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 57 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 57 reviews
Got this for my 3 month Heeler and he proceeded to chew off the handle and then a large hole into the chew-resistant cover. May be a function of his age, but we'll see. Easily exchanged at my local Petsmart for replacement. Bed looks nice and construction is good, even though dog got through cover. Dog loves to relax on the bed & the cedar chips reduce dog odor. Cedar fill not recommended for hunting dogs.
Pros: looks good; well constructed; great return policy.
Cons: cover may not be chew resistant for some dogs
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews

Rubbish!

February 26, 2010
by Anonymous
fromMcKinney, TX
How many pets do you have?4
Rubbish! Dog chewed it up the first day... AFTER taking him for an hour long walk. Bad dog + bad over priced product = one unhappy dog owner.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
prev 1 2 3