PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed

Chew Resistant Reversible Easy to clean
Overall rating:
2.351 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(57 reviews) 57
17 of 57(30%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed
Review 1 for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 57 reviews

chew resistant for terrier

December 26, 2010
by strbcks
fromBoston, MA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have a Lakeland Terrier who loves to rip apart anything he can get into his mouth. He's been trying to take apart this bed for about a month now. The seams that he's been attacking has held up without any signs of wear. His only success was ripping off the sewn-on "Kong" decal, which worked out for me since I didn't really like it. The bed actually looks better now -- bonus!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 57 reviews

bully proof...

November 16, 2010
by kkdegirl
fromsanta fe, nm
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 57 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 57 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 57 reviews
well, thus far...my bulldog was a horrible bed bruiser as a little pup & he's revisiting this bad habit as an adolescent. this is the only bed that has lasted more than a few months as a free agent. the only other bed he doesn't destroy is the one that lives in his crate. it even stood up to the outdoors, as it spent the latter half of the summer in the courtyard. great bed for standing up to the periodic attack & moderate inclement weather. too bad it's not more attractive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 57 reviews

this is grr...

November 12, 2010
by Kumasmama
fromfresno, ca
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 57 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 57 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 57 reviews
I bought this for my three ridiculous chewing dogs, because they love chewing up their bed. This bed was supposed to be chew resistent...that's a lie...the dogs were able to put three holes in there already and taken out the cotton. I'm so frustrated because I spent about 30 something bucks on it and my dogs were still able to open it. Bummer :(
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews

Shredded in less than 2 hours

November 10, 2010
by CrazeNOK
fromOKC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 57 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 57 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews
I purchased two of these beds yesterday, in less than two hours both were destroyed. I will be returning these to Petsmart today. Hopefully they won't give me any grief since they advertise that the bed chew resistant and it didn't even resist for 2 hours. Very disappointed.
Pros: nice looking
Cons: not chew resistant at all
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews

Disappointing Bed

November 9, 2010
by Kisa
fromLexington, SC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 57 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews
I bought this bed because it was chew resistant. The first night all we heard was crunching noises as our dog tried to get comfortable. By the end of the week the bed was in pieces and a complete mess to clean up (just look at the picture!) Now I'm out the money for the bed and the return policy and warranty don't cover if your dog eats through the thing. I would not recommend this bed for any dog that chews.
Pros: none
Cons: noisy, not durable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 57 reviews

TOUGH ENOUGH FOR MY 2 BOXERS!

November 9, 2010
by FLAKDOG
fromRedlands, CA
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 57 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 57 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 57 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have 2 young, energetic, feisty boxers. This is the ONLY bed they have not been able to tear up (of 4). It is sturdy, comfortable (yes, I've tried it myself), and withstands not just the dogs but the weather too. Sometimes they like to pull it out of their dog mansion (it's more than a house) and take it out to their yard to lay down on. I'm going to be getting a second one soon. For those who say their dogs have chewed this one up, they must be the dogs that will manage no matter what. For me, this one works!
Pros: durable comfortable
Cons: can't think of any
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 57 reviews

kong bed

November 6, 2010
by floydotischelsea
frommartinsburg wv
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 57 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 57 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews
2 lab pups chewed through corners of two of these beds within a week of purchase. NOT CHEW RESISTANT!
Cons: false advertising
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 57 reviews

Not Chew resistant

October 25, 2010
by CaponesMom
fromNorth Dakota
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 57 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 57 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I purchased this bed for my Black Lab. Needless to say at 7 months old and 72 lbs later, this bed did not withstand him.
He chewed throught the zipper, then through the inner bed. I was cleaning up this mess for almost an hour.
I do not recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 57 reviews

Definitely NOT chew resistant.

October 24, 2010
by DogLvr514
fromNorth Charleston, SC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 57 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 57 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews
We have had this bed for almost a month and it's held up pretty well. It is a bit noisy especially if you have a restless dog that can't decide on a spot to lay on.
Also, it took about 30 mins for my dog to chew through one whole side of this bed. I paid the money for this bed because of the brand and the advertising that it was chew resistant....now I am out $40some and have no dog bed.
Pros: comfortable
Cons: noisy, not new resistant
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 57 reviews

Good Bed...but

October 21, 2010
by Peppersmama
fromAsheville, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 57 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 57 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 57 reviews
We decided to buy a large bed that our dogs could share instead of two smaller beds. This does the job. The only problem is that this is a very noisy bed. The material may be chew proof, but it makes for a sleepless night when you have a dog that can get comfortable. Hopefully in time this will break in, but for now- it is being moved to the living room.
Pros: durable
Cons: noisy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 57 reviews

Not holding up to the Kong reputation

October 18, 2010
by Kimber3
fromBoston, MA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 57 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews
I bought this bed for my beagle puppy, I was looking for a nice strong bed. I have thought the Kong products were high quality, until now. My puppy has chewed through 3 of these beds already. If you have a strong chewer, then dont get this bed. Other then that it is a nice soft bed, I just wish it held up better. Kong calling this bed "chew resistant" is misleading.
Pros: nice & soft
Cons: not chew resistant.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 57 reviews

still going...

October 7, 2010
by labluv2
fromFt. Bragg, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 57 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 57 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 57 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I bought this bed for our now 3 yr. old chocolate lab for Christmas of '08. She had chewed through 2 beds already. I bought this one because I figure why not and just try. Its still holding up. We now have a 5 month old male black lab who will chew through the toys but not this bed. We are actually going and getting another bed for the simple fact our male is almost the size of our female and is still growing fast and the bed is too small for the both of them to sleep on. I also love the material that the cover is made out. It was wash to clean when our little man decided he couldn't hold it anymore and peed on it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews

Don't let the "chew resistent" title fool you!

October 7, 2010
by WhoHa
fromLincoln, NE
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 57 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews
We bought this for our 6 month old German Shepherd. He isn't horrible about chewing on stuff but sometimes when he gets really bored will tug on stuff. The biggest problem with this bed is that it has a handle sewn on the side of it, perfect for a dog to start tugging on when laying on it. After a few days the handle was ripped off and the stuffing starting coming out. Then he decided to go ahead and finish it off! Major design flaw. The material isn't bad, it's just the handle that starts the tearing. Beware!
Pros: looks nice
Cons: design flaw with handle, filling broke down quickly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 57 reviews

Older version maybe?

October 4, 2010
by Margs
fromMilwaukee
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 57 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 57 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 57 reviews
I bought this bed because I have two dogs, one is a short-haired st. bernard and the other a blue heeler mix. The smaller one scratches and digs and that's why I bought this bed. However, I;m sad to hear that they have changed the bedding that is inside. I bought this bed probably over two years ago and in side is just like any other dog bed, it's cotton. It's just the durable outside that caught my eye and it has lasted me ever since I bought it. Im surprised they changed it to something such as microfiber and WOOD CHIPS? Mine doesn't smell and the dogs love it! I guess if I had any suggestions, I would say if you have a similar problem with your dog trying to dig or scratch the bed I would still recommend it but maybe even buy a different inside that would fit it.
Pros: durable and looks good
Cons: clumpy cotton no cons really
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews

Wood Chip Mess!!

October 4, 2010
by Lovemymastiffs
fromDardenne Prairie, MO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 57 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I fell victim to the "chew resistant" tag!! Bought 2 beds for my Bullmastiffs. Our 9 month old chewed through it in less than 24 hours. Our 16 month old didn't even chew on his, he was just nesting and it came apart at the zipper. The only postive thing about the beds was that our dogs came out smelling like wood chip perfume. So that was nice. But don't waste your time, you will just end up with a big mess.
Pros: smells good
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 57 reviews

super large bed not as pictured

September 24, 2010
by apitbullandaboston
fromPlainwell, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 57 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 57 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 57 reviews
The ones in the store are not walled on the side, but it is basically the same product. I love this huge bed, one bed for two dogs as long as they will share. They do not seem to mind the noiseyness of the material or that is smells like hamster bedding. This will be the living room bed and their old beds will be bedroom/crate beds (although the zipper is hidden well, I have a zipper chewer if left unattended too long).
Pros: size, colors, material, odor absorbing, machine washable
Cons: smells like hamster bedding
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews

This beds made of WOOD CHIPS and stuffing.

September 24, 2010
by Jimmifab
fromsanta ana
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews
If you fell for this bed because it said "chew resistant", your dog is probably a bed chewer. Well don't plan on this bed holding up! I got home after the 1st day of my doggy being alone with it and found a great mound of wood chips (the kind they use in guinea pig cages) and stuffing all over outside of her cage. I'm guessing that the nice woody smell is what drove her to eat the bed! this bed is no stronger than your average cloth bed, plus you get the perks of cleaning up thousands of little wood chips if your dog eats through it. If your dog isn't a chewer or isn't young, maybe it's a good bed.
Pros: i bought a different bed
Cons: 1 hour clean up time! :(
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews

"Chew Resistant" my foot!

September 5, 2010
by MaligatorMom
fromCanton, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 57 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
We bought this bed for our 5 month old Malinois. In less than one week, she had torn two holes in it and the stuffing (which consists of a fiberglass looking material and wood chips) was all over our living room! I would say that this is not the bed for any dog that has teeth! I have contacted Kong in hopes that they will offer some kind of explanation as to why this occurred with their product.
Pros: pretty to look at
Cons: not worth spending money on
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 57 reviews

Definitely not chew resistant

September 4, 2010
by GLFMW
fromNorwich, CT
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 57 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews
My dog made little work of this bed ... $60 in the trash - it's stuffed with cedar which dogs are extremely attracted to ...
Pros: nice material
Cons: weak fabric
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for KONG Chew Resistant Dog Bed
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 57 reviews

Zipper ripped off, inside filling all over house:(

September 2, 2010
by pittlelover
fromSayreville, NJ
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 57 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 57 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 57 reviews
Not suitable for TOUGH dogs! 10 month old Pitbull ripped off the side zipper in 2 days. The inside filling is made of fluff and cedar chips. All over my house!!! Still in search of any toy or bed that he can not destroy :(
Cons: no good for tough dogs
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next