PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Red Belly Pacu

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Red Belly Pacu

Diet: Algae Wafers, Fresh Vegetables Maximum size: 24" Water temperature: 72-82 degree F Swimming level: Middle Experience level: Advanced Tank Setup: 75+ gallons Note: Pet availability is seasonal. State and local regulations may vary. Pricing may vary by store location. PetSmart stores cannot match the price above for this pet. Ask a store associate for details.
Overall rating:
3.611 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 16
10 of 18(56%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Red Belly Pacu
Review 1 for Red Belly Pacu
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 18 reviews

VERY HARD

September 23, 2011
by Chris3516546512343545335
fromLatham, ny
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
cool fish, but you NEED A HUGE TANK!!!! AT LEAST 100 gallons. Mine, RedHead, died in a 50 gallon because it was too big for the aquarium. Be VERY careful
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Red Belly Pacu
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews

24" really? try 36"

June 11, 2011
by JaneyGurl
fromHoquiam, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
this pet store under estimates the size that these fish get. they will get to around 36" with proper care. anything under a 200 gallon tank is just too small, and that is for a single fish. i have owned them for years. i think it is okay to keep a baby in a 120 gallon tank, keeping in mind these fish grow very fast. i have noticed lots of splashing, and they require a lot of cleaning of your tank especially when they are large. save yourself some heart break of having to rehome your fish, if you do not have the correct size tank.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Red Belly Pacu
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews

January 8, 2011
by KKHelper
fromRochester, MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have a pacu in my 90 gallon tank with silver dollars, angel fish, tetras, bloody parrots, and a bala shark. He seems to get along with with all the fish. Pacus are related to piranhas. I got the pacu manly for my piranha so he could have a friend but, that was a mistake. The piranah nipped at him. So thats when I moved him to the 90 gallon.
Pacus are vegetarians so if you have any alive plants your tank you might see them becoming a stub after awhile.
They are a great fish to have.
Pros: pretty, active, not overly aggresive
Cons: get really big
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Red Belly Pacu
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Great fish for big tanks only

January 6, 2011
by SHinLINY
fromSyosset, New York
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I've had my 2 pacus for about 2 months. I had a pair before that in my 37g tank but they caught cotton-eyes and died shortly after. Now this pair is in my 72g bow tank together with a clown loach, 2 shark cats, 2 other sharks and a catfish. I also had 2 algae eaters but they seem to have vanished.
Anyway, the pacus started at about 3 inches and have grown to about 8 inches in length in the 2 months. They love to eat. I feed them flakes, dried krill, shrimp pellets and frozen peas. I also feed them frozen cubes every other day (I vary between bloodworms, beefheart, emerald entree, white mosquito larvae and brine shrimp). I've tried some other things like banana and celery but they didn't go for it.
My tank stays relatively clean - I have the big Fluval FX5 canister filter and I also have a Fluval 405 submersible in the tank. My substrate is sand so when the pacus get skittish, they stir up the sand and waste that's in it which gets filtered out by the 405 pretty quickly.
My recommendation is the same as most people's - do your research and know what to expect with these fish. I hope they will last for many years but I'm already on the lookout for a bigger tank because I know I'll be needing it in another 8-12 months from now. I've had some amazing fish over the years (my 72g was previously for african cichlids) and it's always interesting to watch the pacus as they mature. Just be ready for the "next step up" with the tank and they can be wonderful fish to have.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Red Belly Pacu
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

I luv these fish

December 20, 2010
by Bassist1
fromMN
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
These are wonderful fish with great personality and I just love watching them,they are a bit skidesh and tend to run in to things,very peacful.
and just for the record the people that just buy fish on a whim and then get frustrated when te fish turns out to be a little bit more then they bargained for...
THESE FISH GET BIG JUST LIKE EVERY OTHER CICHILD YOU CAN BUY AND THEY ARE ALL AGGRESSIVE AND TERRITORIAL AND NEED EXTRA CARE THESE ARE NOT GOLD FISH SO RESEARCH ANY AND EVERY FISH YOU GOING TO BUY BEFORE YOU DO SO!!!!!!!!
Pros: very netertaing fish with asom personality, brillant colors
Cons: they get big, they luv they're food, they are very skidesh so they run into things
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Red Belly Pacu
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Lovable fishes

November 18, 2010
by PacuLover
fromHoffman estates, IL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought a pair of these fishes at pet smart 4 months ago, they were just 5 inches in length now they are 12 inches in length and still growing, they eat everything I feed them , very playful and peaceful with my 2 Parrot cichlid , 7 inches dinosaur bircher and jack dempsey @ my 75 gallon water tank.
Pros: dedicated pet owner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Red Belly Pacu
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews

too big

November 3, 2010
by zensmama
fromBuford, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
While the babies are cute, these fish grow too big for the vast majority of home aquariums. This fish can grow to 3 feet in length and is a schooling fish. To keep this fish happy and healthy, you'd need a tank the size of a swimming pool to keep a small school. PetSmart does not sell a tank large enough for an adult pacu to turn around in, much less actually swim. Get silver dollars if you want piranha-like fish.
Cons: too big, too messy
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Red Belly Pacu
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Awesome

August 31, 2010
by Trevor08
fromnd
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pacu are some really amazing and enjoyable fish. You must understand these creatures before you buy them. I'm tired of seeing so many reviews about complaining of the size of these fish. Yes they do grow huge and do have lots of requirements but you shoulda known this before buying. But if your a true enthusiast you'll love these guys and there South American blackwater bio tropes!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Red Belly Pacu
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews

Dont buy this fish unless you reaseach!!!!!!!!!!!!

June 28, 2010
by Poogymonster
fromBay area, ca
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
If you buy this fish on a whim and just think ohh its so small and cute. You are wrong. They are beautiful fish with great personalitys an ddont get me wrong i love them but they are huge!!! they get to 80 pounds!! thats as big as me! So do you want a fish as big as a teenager??
Pros: beautiful awesome fish
Cons: huge evil fish, will eat everything
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Red Belly Pacu
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Great

June 18, 2010
by Brazile
fromHouston,tx
What is your gender?F
I loved these fish. We had 2 and I was amazed at how much they use to grow. They made my tank look lovely! We are getting two more next month. I am gonna get real small ones so my kids can watch them grow with them!
Pros: grows real fast, silver and pretty
Cons: loves to eat
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Red Belly Pacu
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Love them!

June 13, 2010
by Ferretmom
fromMS
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
After reading some of the reviews, it's dissapointed me. I cannot stress to you enough, that when your getting a new pet, you HAVE to research it!! they can get to be Over 2 feet long, need a HUGE tank, and they Will eat other fish smaller than them. They need special tank filters and everything. Also keep in mind that they have to have warmer waters, since their native to south america. And yes, i was reading someone's review, it's a type of pirannah. If you cannot care for this amazing, beautiful fish i don't reccomend you get one. They are expensive, but no more than any other tropical fish or small pet. They make wonderful pets if your ready for them. My big one, rocky, died after 13 years recently :( i would reccomend these, but DO reasearch them first.
Pros: beautiful
Cons: research them first!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Red Belly Pacu
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews

pacu

June 8, 2010
by fish24
frommidland,mi
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
it gets way to big
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Red Belly Pacu
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews

Avoid these Fish

May 16, 2010
by TheBichirMan
fromSLC, Utah
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Simply put these fish grow larger than 24" long and a foot in diameter a tank of 10 feet long and 4 feet wide is the minimum for these fish and they need to be in small schools....Just don't buy these fish
Pros: live 20 years
Cons: grow over 24"(2 feet)
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Red Belly Pacu
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews

Vicious!

April 2, 2010
by PianoPlayer
fromLos Angeles, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got two of these fish a couple of months ago when they were quite small. They were always hungry and gobbled up the food in seconds. Then they grew to about 5 inches in a manner of weeks and I noticed that one of my large cichlids had vanished. A week later, another one went missing too! One day when I got home from school, and I saw that the red belly pacu was getting into huge fights and saw that one had totally ripped off my parrot fish's tail fin. The next day we returned them and learned that they were part Paraná :(
Pros: active
Cons: grew to fast, ate other fish, tearing apart other fish
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Red Belly Pacu
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 18 reviews

March 14, 2010
by Experiment397
fromSalt Lake City, Ut.
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
these are nice fish who know who their owner is but first you must know what you are dealing with. First of all you must be prepared for the size these guys can grow to be, over 2 feet, occasionally you will get one over three feet but that is slightly rare. they will eat only the foods the where raised on so find out from the store or else they can starve!!! third they are very prone to ich or whitespot, mine gets it every time there is the slightest outbreak in the tank, and they are considered a soft scaled fish so treat them like a catfish with medication. Also they they are not cichlids even though they are listed as cihlids they are actually related to tetras and silver dollars. with this in mind they might be a good choice for and advanced aquarist but only after much thought.
Pros: cool looking, live a long time, friendly
Cons: huge, can be stubborn to feed, live forever, need huge tanks min 100 gallons, prone to ich
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Red Belly Pacu
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Excellent fish! Fun to watch!

March 6, 2010
by Zach8131
fromOrange, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My girlfriend bought me two more Pacu for Valentines Day, because she knows how much I love these fish! I received them at only 4" just a few weeks ago, and now they are 7"-8" each! They are so affectionate to one another, always rubbing up against each other and chasing each other around the tank! These guys eat like there is no tomorrow... unlike goldfish, Pacu are VERY VERY VERY intelligent and know WHEN to stop eating... but they have such a high matabolism that they seem to be bottomless pits. I literally feed them half a canister of fish flakes every week, and whole cucumbers on top of that! They live with my 11" plecostomus, and think it's funny to make her spur up her dorsal fin!
These fish know who is stranger and who is not. They will allow me to feed them directly into their mouthes... but nobody else! They easily attach to their owners. While eating, Lillian and Jakal (my two 8" Pacu) let me pet the top of their backs from head to tail-fin almost like as if they were both dogs!
My last Pacu grew to be 14" in only 2 months of owning him, and my friend has a 39" one in a 400 gallon tank! These guys are monsters and will continue growing, regardless of the size of their tank! You can have a 2 foot long 30 pound Pacu in a 10 gallon tank, and it won't care one bit! It'll keep on growing!
All in all, these are amazing fish, and will last you a lifetime if taken care of properly! My friend had a Pacu named Phillis for over 30 years!
Pros: easily attaches to owner, beautiful, interesting, loving to one another
Cons: monsterous fish!, grow up to 48" (4')
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Red Belly Pacu
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5 18 reviews
2 out of 2 recommend this product