PetSmart Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at PetSmart

Customer reviews for Honey Sunset Gourami

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Honey Sunset Gourami

Diet: Flake, Frozen, Freeze-dried Maximum size: 4" Water temperature: 72-82 degree F Swimming level: Bottom Experience level: Beginner Tank Setup: 10+ gallons, lightly planted Note: Pet availability is seasonal. State and local regulations may vary. Pricing may vary by store location. PetSmart stores cannot match the price above for this pet. Ask a store associate for details.
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
13 of 13(100%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Honey Sunset Gourami
Review 1 for Honey Sunset Gourami
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Very nice fish

June 22, 2012
by jigabodo
fromLouisville Ky
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Honey sunset gourami stay pretty small for a gourami, maxing out at around 2 inches. They are a little bit smaller in size compared to the dwarf gouramis. They make great addition to a community tank.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Honey Sunset Gourami
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

I love these fish!

March 25, 2012
by PurpleFishie
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I recently got rid of one of my fish, and was looking for another. I saw these online, and fell in love! I bought two, and love them! They are so energetic, and fun to watch. Plus, they are so cute.
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Honey Sunset Gourami
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

I heart my gourami

February 9, 2012
by Smarah
fromIL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have one of these guys in a tank w/ a school of glo/zebra danios. I'm quite pleased with him. I was worried about a larger fish picking on my tiny danios but this gourami is very peaceful. He's also quite pretty. I was a little concerned about him not going after food but it's been a while and he's not dead yet so he must be eating off the bottom when I'm not looking.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Honey Sunset Gourami
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Wonderful fish.

June 28, 2011
by meow1981
fromFL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My young son loves gouramis, but we've had issues with aggression with certain types. The Honey Sunset gourami is so peaceful. Very easy to care for. I have a pair - one male and one female. They stay small, too, so we don't have to worry about them outgrowing the 20 gallon tank. I can actually say they are very "cute" fish!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Honey Sunset Gourami
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Gourami

May 9, 2011
by Brandipickerill
fromNewport ky
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My husband just had to have him! We added one of these to our 60 gallon tank and it always keeps to himself! Sometimes he will hang out with the Dwarf Gourami.
He is a bottom feeder. He waits for the food to fall before he eats it. I put the food infront of the filter so that it pushes the food down to it!
He is a very very pretty fish i would recommend this to anyone! I love it!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Honey Sunset Gourami
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

I love Gouramis

March 20, 2011
by Tinafairy
fromFlorida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ever since I first got them in my old tank I FELL IN LOVE!!1 So now they are one of my favorites for Tropicla Fishy tanks
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Honey Sunset Gourami
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Great fish

March 20, 2011
by zoogrl
fromSouth Dakota
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I got a Honey Sunset because I wanted a larger community fish. I love the bright orange color and personality of these fish. I put a honey sunset in a 10 gallon tank with a male betta, 3 zebra danios, and 2 otocinclus. They all got along really well, and the gourami usually keeps to himself. It took a while before he started to figure out that food comes from the top. He was a bottom feeder for a couple weeks!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Honey Sunset Gourami
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Beautiful and Energetic Fish

March 16, 2011
by PinkMolly
fromMI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I purchased a female honey sunset gourami for my 10 gallon tank and I couldn't be more pleased!
I was reluctant to add a gourami as some of them can be territorial, but honey sunsets are very friendly and do just fine in community tanks (alone or with a friend or two). They're beautifully colored, very cute and full of energy. They're also a little smaller than your average gourami. Males have a slightly pointed dorsal fin whereas a female's is a bit rounder.
If you've got at least a 10 gallon tank with some live or fake plants and you're looking for a noticeable and well mannered fish, these are a great buy!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Honey Sunset Gourami
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

BEAUTIFUL Gourami

March 5, 2011
by StarCityPA
fromHarrisburg, PA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My Honey Sunset Gourami is amazing! Mine isn't the color thats in the picture; mine is like a light reddish maroon. He's really great looking, and gets along with all of my other tropical fish. Honey Sunsets are the smallest gouramis available, and go great in a smaller tank! If you want a beautiful, calm, all around great fish, get this one! But if you want a gourami that is a little bigger, get a Dwarf Gourami!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Honey Sunset Gourami
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Cool looking

February 8, 2011
by Loaches
fromNY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Not many fish have the look of this one. This fish can go in community and semi-aggressive aquariums, and it is very friendly.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Honey Sunset Gourami
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Wonderful Community Fish......:)

September 18, 2010
by Britini
fromEast Coast, NC
I bought one of these about four months ago, it was about 1.25" long, now it pushing 3.5". The color of these add so much life to an aquarium. Would highly recommend these as a beginner aquarist. They are easy to care for: they will eat pretty much anything from flake food to bloodworms. Add a few small aquarium plants as cover, and you will have yourself one happy Gourami.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Honey Sunset Gourami
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

great fish

August 28, 2010
by superman18
fromMcDonough GA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
These fish are awsome!! there very easy to care for and are very neat fish!! Some of my other fish got sick and died but these are still healthy!! They are fun to watch when they feel things with there little antenna like feet things!! would reccomend them to anyone, if you are starting an aquarium or have had one for a long time!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Honey Sunset Gourami
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 13 reviews

Amazing fish!

July 15, 2010
by pearlia
fromElk grove Village, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought one Gourami for my 20 gallon freshwater tank. She lives happily with all of the other fish. Sunset Gourami's are so beautiful under flourescent lights, easy to care for, and just a pleasure to have in your aquarium.
Pros: easy to care for, pretty, gets along with other fish
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.