PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Fire Belly Toad

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Fire Belly Toad

Diet: Crickets & waxworms Maximum size: 3" Water temperature: 72-82 degree F Experience level: Beginner Tank Setup: Amphibian setup. Wash hands if touched, skin has toxins. Note: Pet availability is seasonal. State and local regulations may vary. Pricing may vary by store location. PetSmart stores cannot match the price below for this pet. Ask a store associate for details.
Overall rating:
4.697 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
33 of 33(100%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Fire Belly Toad
Review 1 for Fire Belly Toad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 33 reviews

colorful and easy

January 26, 2014
by FarmCrazy
fromCharlotte, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have had my toad, Chamomile, for a year and I love her. Most people say they are noisy but Chamomile hardly makes any noise at all except for splashing around. It is easy for me to give her four crickets three times a week. I love her colors and she is so energetic. Hoping to get her a boyfriend!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fire Belly Toad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 33 reviews

Very cute but escape artists!!!

December 31, 2013
by Weirdfriendlykid
fromPA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I bought 2 fire belly toads and named them strawberry and opal. Opal somehow escaped out of the tank during the night out of a hole in the top of the tank. I had no idea they could climb up the corners of the tank! I couldn't find Opal until about a week later. They are VERY cute and VERY friendly! Strawberry follows me around my room from inside his tank. Just be sure that the lid is secure and that all of the holes in the lid are covered or your frog WILL get out of the tank!!!!!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fire Belly Toad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 33 reviews

Terrfic pets!!!!!!!!!!!

December 17, 2013
by frog101
fromOhio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This little amphibians are so adorable and are very sweet to each other. They crock\bark sometime and sorta sound like a dog! They are wonderful pets and care about you just as much as you care about them :)
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fire Belly Toad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 33 reviews

So Cute ^.^

December 3, 2013
by GMH041802
fromNorth Richland Hills, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My fire belly toad, Tilli (or Lil' T) , is absolutely so adorable and fascinating to watch. Fire Bellies make great pets and I totally recommend them. -- But be sure to have a very secure tank because the are escape artists....
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fire Belly Toad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 33 reviews

amazing!!!

November 16, 2013
by thefirebellytoad
fromtoronto
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
These are amazing pets I have two and they live perfectly well with each other and my green tree frog. There tnk is 10 gallons and they live together perfectly...
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fire Belly Toad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 33 reviews

Awesome Pets

August 12, 2013
by petdude
fromKanata
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My fire bellied toads are awesome! I have four in a ten gallon aquarium (heavily planted) with lots of hiding places. They are very social frogs and love to be petted or taken out. If you are afraid of toads, keep in mind that they are actually frogs and were named wrong when they were discovered. I totally recommend these pets and hope that you enjoy them too!
+22points
24of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fire Belly Toad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 33 reviews

get a secure tank or this will happen

August 5, 2013
by pet7lover
fromIL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is not your average frog this is a genus frog this is a frog that escaped out of its cage in the middle of the night went down 15 seps of stairs went past the ketchin in to the coat closet. unfontinall i was on vaction that week and when i got back especting to see my two frogs in my tank i only see one. 5 years later we had found the frog in the coat closet. my other frog to had many ascapes but we managed to get her back to her home all of them had 15 steeps of stairs written allover her. i will never forget these guys and plan to see them in heven. they are really characters. AMAZING ANMAILS
+3points
15of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fire Belly Toad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 33 reviews

i would definitly recommend this toad! :D

July 30, 2013
by XxFrogsAreAwesomexX
fromSouth Caronlina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I Bought a Fire belly toad last year and i named him frip and i still have him :D he is the best pet ever! i do recommend him to any one who loves frogs and toads as much as me :DDDD
+13points
17of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fire Belly Toad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 33 reviews

great!

July 29, 2013
by baileyh
fromfall branch,tn
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
these pets are great. I got 4 fbts and when I got home they ate right a way! I cant believe that there so cheap! if your thinking about getting 1.........do it.
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fire Belly Toad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 33 reviews

Great pets

July 23, 2013
by GavinR
fromPA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Amazing very cheap easy to take care of
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fire Belly Toad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 33 reviews

Blaze

July 17, 2013
by AnimalLover9224
fromLaverne California
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My fbt is great!!! He is only about a month out of the tadpole stage, so he is still small. He happily eats any thing from fruit flies to mosquito larvae. Blaze, that's his name, loves to swim in his water dish, hunt flies, and just hop around his terrarium!!! I highly suggest getting a fbt!!!!! ( :
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Fire Belly Toad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 33 reviews

Wonderful pets!!!

July 16, 2013
by Nicodemus
fromNY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I've had several Firebelly Toads, and most of mine lived to be over 10 years old. They are pretty easy to take care of, just make sure they have a good mix of dry land + water to roam around in, and it's also a good idea to give them a nice place to hide as well. They don't require much, mine were ok during the winter but sometimes would hibernate, so make sure that you keep the heat in your house at a good temp during the winter. They don't really use heat lamps or anything, although if your house gets too cold in the winter you may need a very low-level heat lamp but not too hot or bright, because they don't like really bright lights or too high of a temp.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Fire Belly Toad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 33 reviews

July 8, 2013
by ShelbyB
fromIndianapolis, IN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
i had a fire bellied toad awhile back. i loved watching him eat his crickets. he would chase them around his cage. he swam under the bridge and sat under there untill i put another cricket in, then he'd hop out and chase them.i loved him! he escaped one day and died.
-1point
5of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Fire Belly Toad
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 33 reviews

good for begginer herps

May 29, 2013
by fishbaby
fromgeorgia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I had three fbt(Chris, muscleman, and tinkerbell) a few years back. They are great pets but I would not recommend them if you want a very lively, touchable pet. Perfect for begginers,though. Very little maintaining to be done. Some are more active than others. I am definatley going to get more!
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Fire Belly Toad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 33 reviews

GREAT PET

April 17, 2013
by Blaze20
fromArizona
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have one of these. She is a female and her name is Blaze. I hope to get an other one too! You should get one of these little critters. They are easy to care for, good for beginers, and full of life. They have an incredible life span! 10-30 years!
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Fire Belly Toad
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 33 reviews

Awesome Pets

March 11, 2013
by ZoologyGirl
fromLayton, Utah
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
These little guys are so cool to watch. They are vocal when put in groups of 2+. When not stressed they are a wonderful green color and have bright red stomachs. These two are little pigs. My female (left) is a lot less active than my male (right). Its wonderful to hear these guys "barking" at night. Absolutely love these animals. :)
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Fire Belly Toad
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 33 reviews

very good pet to have as a friend

February 12, 2013
by kkslida779
fromcarthage, tx
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
fire bellied toads are really fun and cool pets to have they are jumpy and friendly but dont like to be handled normally but overall i give it a 4 :) enjoy it while it lasts!
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Fire Belly Toad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 33 reviews

Love our Fire Belly Toad

January 31, 2013
by BJ2013
fromMoncton , NB
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My three year old son has been asking for a frog. So we went down to our local Petsmart, and got him 2 Fire Belly Toads. They are so interesting and fun to watch. The whole family loves them. Very easy to care for. I would recommend them to anyone. Great beginner pet.
+10points
15of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Fire Belly Toad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 33 reviews

INTENSE!!

January 13, 2013
by Fireonyourbelly
fromHalifax, ns
these little guys do allot more then what you would think. There easy to take care of and very fun to watch and even to listen to. They eat crickets in pretty much 2 bites. But 1 problem that i have is that the crickets seem to jump in the water allot and die so it makes it hard to keep up on the frogs food requirements.
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Fire Belly Toad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 33 reviews

awesome pets

January 6, 2013
by taytay1234567890
fromkennewick ,washington
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have one es been alive fo 3 yrs mow great pets I would reccamend these for childen 6 and up
-8points
3of 14voted this as helpful.
1 2 next