PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Whisker City Vintage Print Breakaway Cat Collars

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Whisker City Vintage Print Breakaway Cat Collars

Durable nylon collars with bell Safety buckle is designed to release when caught Choose from nine fashionable designs A PetSmart exclusive
Overall rating:
3.556 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
5 of 9(56%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Whisker City Vintage Print Breakaway Cat Collars
Review 1 for Whisker City Vintage Print Breakaway Cat Collars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Love this collar! Highly recommend

February 28, 2012
by clutchxp
fromDenver, CO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
I purchased two of these collars for my two cats and I am very pleased with the product. One of my cats, who has worn his for several months, is an indoor/outdoor cat and the collar has stayed on from day one. I purchased another one of these for my other cat who is indoors only and I'm very happy with it. I love the fasteners and how they seem to fit securely. I was able to put the collars on both of them without having to adjust them. I am very satisfied with this product and I highly recommend it.
Pros: durable, comfortable, looks great
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Whisker City Vintage Print Breakaway Cat Collars
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 9 reviews

Loved the collar.........LOST the collar.

January 30, 2012
by hotczech
fromDallas, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 9 reviews
I loved the look of the vintage collar, but after a couple of weeks, I found it in the driveway. Put it back on the cat, only to have her lose it again (this time permanently) a couple of weeks later. Yes, the price is right, but at $5.99 PLUS the cost of a new TAG each time, this can get expensive. The clasp is not secure enough. I bought another brand that stayed together when I applied a little pressure. If the manufacturer can improve upon the plastic clasp, they'll have a great product, but until then, I'll buy another brand.
Pros: comfortable, looks great
Cons: poor quality, fragile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Whisker City Vintage Print Breakaway Cat Collars
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews

They may be cute, but they aren't worth it.

August 3, 2011
by Winklerful
fromStockton, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
I bought one of these collars along with a name tag for one of my cats because he ran away for over a week without a collar (he is an indoor cat), and I wanted to make sure if it happened again people would know he had an owner and also know where he lived. What a waste of money! It stayed on him for a day or two until he figured out that it's SUPER EASY to remove! The collar spends most of it's time on the floor. The point of a break away collar is for when a cat gets caught on something and starts to struggle..then it will break. This collar breaks when he is playing with a toy. I wish I could return it, but I threw away the packaging and the bell it came with. It's worthless to me if it can't stay on. If he ever makes his way outside again, the collar won't even stay on long enough for it to be of any use (that's even if it was still on him if he sneaks out!) Bottom line: DO NOT BUY!!
Cons: fragile, poor quality
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Whisker City Vintage Print Breakaway Cat Collars
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 9 reviews

so cute, so lost

July 23, 2011
by Aliah
fromWest Lincoln, Ontario
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
The patterns on these collars are wonderful, but when they won't stay on my cats that seems kinda like a mute point. They satyed on the first day and by the third we were constantly trying to find them. The claps are too easy to get open, just scratching pulls them off. We still have the collars...someplace in the house, but we have giving up trying to find them. I love the designs, and the fabric, but I wish they would try a different kind of safety clasp. There used to be another style of release clasp, but I can't rem who made them, they still released, but it took a lot more. They have a more rectangle shape to them, they were great.
Pros: looks great
Cons: poor quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Whisker City Vintage Print Breakaway Cat Collars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

LOVE THEM

March 6, 2011
by Anonymous
fromCT
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
My cat Marie goes through collars like they're going out of style, which is fine with me. I like getting new colors and patterns for her with the changing seasons. When I first got her, I got the pirate ship collar, which we changed for Christmas (different company) with just a red collar. That collar just disintegrated. I hadn't realized how wonderfully these collars had stood up to her! When the red one finally became so bedraggled I had to throw it away, I got her another one from this company (white with brown branches) and my hope is that it stands up just as well to the scratching and the playing.
My only complaint (which really isn't a complaint) is that the clasp is very loose. This is a good thing, really, because if it wasn't so loose it wouldn't release when she needed it to. However, because it's so loose, she's learned how to take it off, so she'll come out first thing in the morning sans collar and initiates the "where's my collar, Mommy?" game.
Pros: durable, looks great
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Whisker City Vintage Print Breakaway Cat Collars
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews

Attractive collar

February 26, 2011
by cam92
fromDenver, CO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews
I bought the brown and white collar for one of my cats because I thought it would look great on him. Plus, I needed something for his tags. Well, he's been wearing it for about 6 months now and it really does look great. BUT, I really don't like the break-away feature. I know it serves a purpose but my cats are kept indoors and they rough house and rip them off each other constantly. I suppose I should be relieved they won't get caught on anything if they were to ever escape, but at the moment it can be a little irritating. However, I still really like the collars. They look great...when my cats will wear them!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Whisker City Vintage Print Breakaway Cat Collars
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 9 reviews

Disappointed

December 4, 2010
by StaceyR4
fromParis, TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I really wanted to like the two collars I bought. There was nothing wrong with the patterns or fit, but the quality was terrible. The orange duck one broke within a couple of weeks. The clasp cracked and wouldn't hold the collar on his neck. The other one, the blue owls, would eventually fall off his neck a few times a day. It wasn't cracked, it just wouldn't hold.
Pros: cute
Cons: wouldn't stay on
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Whisker City Vintage Print Breakaway Cat Collars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Great colors

July 25, 2010
by Jerrod
fromDayton, OH
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
I bought the orange duck collar for my domestic longhair Scribble, and he seems so proud with it on. His hair is quite long and gray, so this pop of color really makes him stand out. The only complaint I can think of is that the collar does break away easily, so you probably wouldn't want to use it with a leash. Other than that, enjoy these great colors!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Whisker City Vintage Print Breakaway Cat Collars
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Very pretty collars

June 14, 2010
by EmilyGrace
fromFenton, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
I bought the brown/floral and white/butterflies collars for my cats. The collars are very pretty. The bell jingles easily which warns small animals that they are around. The collar comes apart fairly easily, which allows the cat to get away if stuck and avoid strangulation. I really like these collars and am thinking about getting some manly ones from the same company for my male house cats. The only bad thing about them, is that now my house sounds like a never-ending chorus of "Jingle Bells"! :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.