PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for African Dwarf Frog

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

African Dwarf Frog

Diet: Flake, Frozen, Freeze-dried Maximum size: 1.5" Water temperature: 72-82 degree F Swimming level: Bottom Experience level: Beginner Tank Setup: 1+ gallons Note: Pet availability is seasonal. State and local regulations may vary. Pricing may vary by store location. PetSmart stores cannot match the price below for this pet. Ask a store associate for details.
Overall rating:
4.702 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(124 reviews) 123
119 of 124(96%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for African Dwarf Frog
Review 1 for African Dwarf Frog
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 124 reviews

Adorable

February 28, 2014
by mom112
fromSilver Spring, MD
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
These frogs are awesome and so adorable. I only had mine for a day and already they are fun. They like to follow your finger. I have four and they like to stick together. There's only two in the pic though. My kids even love them. You should defiantly get some. They do funny things.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for African Dwarf Frog
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 124 reviews

The best pet, and hardy too!

February 22, 2014
by Lilfishies555
fromArlington,Tx
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I got these little frogs( Flip and Flop) for my 5.5 gallon tank. These were my only aquarium pets to last through when i got them until now. They survived really bad ich and very high ammonia. I have 2 of these along with 2 zebra danios (Dan and Killer) and 1 albino cory catfish( Kittty). I highly suggest getting these if you are a beginner (Like Me). So please, please , please don't just shove them in a glass vase with some bamboo! Take good care of your frog(s),And buy one today!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for African Dwarf Frog
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 124 reviews

Great Little Frog!

February 18, 2014
by olidoesfish
fromsuprise
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I got one yesterday for my 55 Gallon community tank.He is so small I named him Pebble the Frog.He is so small only an inch from head to rump. He is not a brown he is a really light gray.The clerk said that he would turn darker gray maybe to a light brown as he matures.Overall great product.But one flaw is that they have to eat blood worms as their diet and they never get any because the fish and blood worms are quiet expensive for a small cube.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for African Dwarf Frog
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 124 reviews

EPIC!

February 16, 2014
by 5mmyaaqm
fromusa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
These are one of the cutest frogs in the world! I used to have a few in a ten gallon. I named them fun names like happy and pancake.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for African Dwarf Frog
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 124 reviews

Very Cute!

February 2, 2014
by AshleyPauls
fromBelleville, Ontario
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Mine is still very small yet, but looks a lot darker than the one in the photo. The two I have are very peaceable and hide very well sometimes! I think they're a unique addition to a community tank!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for African Dwarf Frog
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 124 reviews

Super fun

January 19, 2014
by ChuckinPDX
fromPortland Oregon
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I get a real kick out of this little guy. He is very entertaining to watch... He is to cute.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for African Dwarf Frog
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 124 reviews

Super cute

January 10, 2014
by Animalfav786
fromFranklin, TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
They are cute! Mine would not eat her food so don't get
Zoo med Aquatic Frog and tadpole food. Oh and nothing on zoo med There other stuff is great :)!
Oh and if there are in a tank full of fish longer/wider not taller they need to swim up for air or they Will die!
hope it helps
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for African Dwarf Frog
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 124 reviews

easy care

December 31, 2013
by BettaSpoiler900
fromNew York, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
They are cute but just not my kind of pet. Easy to care for so that's good, but hard to keep them with fish. Mine stopped eating (when they were alone too) otherwise they are ok
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for African Dwarf Frog
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 124 reviews

awesome

December 29, 2013
by doggy101
fromgreeneville
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
These little guys are so cute and wonderful. I have 2 and one i have had for 2 years. As long as you take very good care of them they will live long and they are just awesome. The water in my tank gets really dirty almost cloudly so i have to clean it out once week. There dirty but amazing
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for African Dwarf Frog
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 124 reviews

Unique little guy

December 22, 2013
by BettaBettaBoy
fromAtlanta, Georgia
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
A while back ago a friend game me this frog because they could no longer take care of it. At first I didn't really want it because I was more of a fish person myself. But he started growing on me. He loves having tank mates! He likes to hide a lot but when he does come out he is curious. He will often follow my mystery snail around never hurting it just watching it. I feed him frog pellets and he seems to like those. These frogs are loads of joy. A unique and worth while addition to any fish tank.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for African Dwarf Frog
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 124 reviews

Awsome!

December 9, 2013
by Dave999999999999999999
fromMinnasota, MN
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I got a frog, and he's very cute. He likes to stand still, like he's playing statue. He also likes to hide, he discovered more hiding places than I did!
This is a good frog for beginners, but give them big food, so they can see it.
I feed my frog flakes, and bottom feeder pellets, and he likes them.
Also give them lots of hiding spots, I have a cave with a lot of holes.
I say buy this one, because they do good, at least mine is doing great so far.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for African Dwarf Frog
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 124 reviews

Wonderful pet

December 5, 2013
by Lizlovesfish
fromCharlotte, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My ADF is very happy in a filtered 10 gallon with 4 minnows, they will soon be upgraded to a 20 gallon tank soon, though. Doesn't need a heater. My tank has dark blue gravel, a hair-grass plant, and a fake jaguar skull. They get along great, no bullying or aggression from ether side. Lovely pet. will be getting another when I upgrade.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for African Dwarf Frog
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 124 reviews

cuties! and nice pets,

November 27, 2013
by Bettapaws
fromOH, PARMA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
i got one today at petsmart with my black molly, they were in the bag together and now in the same tank with the male dalmation lyretail :)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for African Dwarf Frog
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 124 reviews

frog

November 15, 2013
by fishluver1231
fromcolorado springs, colorado
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
my frog is cool because he has one arm and he is fine and swimming around.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for African Dwarf Frog
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 124 reviews

Cute and Cool!

November 2, 2013
by FISHLOVER1212
fromLincoln, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
The African Dwarf Frog is great! Mine is kind-of shy and does not bother my 6 Ghost Shrimp and 1 Betta.
If you have shells your frog will love it, when mine. was transferred to my 1.7 gallon tank it instantly took to the big shell in the corner and is a very energetic frog. If you are trying to find a pal for your Betta me and Mr. Jeremy Fisher (my frog) say a African Dwarf Frog is Great.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for African Dwarf Frog
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 124 reviews

Best Ever!!

November 1, 2013
by FrenchFroggie
fromWestern Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have 4 African Dwarf Frogs. Absolutely love them. Very fun and lively. They prefer Bloodworms over the pellets. These Frogs Can Not Get ICK!!! But if they start getting sick do your research. The pet stores do not know everything. Otherwise, I look forward to getting more.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for African Dwarf Frog
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 124 reviews

An excellent addition!!!

October 20, 2013
by Herpdude
fromLexington, Kentucky
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My African Dwarf Frogs are amazing! I have a 10 gallon ADF-only aquarium, with six of those little guys in there. They all get along great and stay quite active. They even come up to the front of the tank if I'm sitting there watching them. I've never had frogs pay attention to me like that before! I feed mine a diet of only frozen brine shrimp and bloodworms every day, and all get plenty to eat. There are even a few females who always look ready to pop with eggs. I've always wanted a small aquarium, but I've only kept herps (except for my Betta Fish). This was the perfect combination for me. Very amusing frogs!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for African Dwarf Frog
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 124 reviews

Awesome little guys

October 19, 2013
by Garrettnichols11
fromMoulton Al
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I got 1 African dwarf frog and they are very interesting to watch
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for African Dwarf Frog
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 124 reviews

Amazing little guys

October 15, 2013
by FaustEngelmar
fromNew York
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have had 4 of these little guys in a 5g tank by themselves and they are thriving. I have 2 pairs and one of thrm is getting ready to lay eggs soon. They are fun to watch and listen to, my males are always singing at night!
I highly recommend these guys if you want a cool pet that dont require much maintenance but i would avoid putting them with fish so that they can thrive and be outgoing.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for African Dwarf Frog
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 124 reviews

Cute!

September 18, 2013
by Angelx77
fromOH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought two of these frogs for my ten gallon tank. I love them to death, and they always manage to make me laugh. They get along well with my Mystery Snail and male Betta, as well as each other. In fact, they are pretty inseparable now, and like to follow each other around the tank.
The only problems I've had was that I was told I could keep two in a ten gallon tank with my other fish, only they aren't very strong swimmers, and I'm worried that that might be too much for them to get to the top. They struggle enough to swim around as it is and getting to the surfaces takes them at least five to six tries before they can finally get air. I would recommend getting a tank smaller than ten gallons, possibly 5 would be good just to make their lives easier. Also, feeding them is a bit of a pain. I have sinking frog pellets as well as frozen bloodworms as recommended, but I could never get them to eat it at first. I used a turkey baster and dropped it over their heads, and they never saw it and would wait until it sank, which by that time meant that it fell through the crevices of the marine rocks and could not be seen by them. I tried placing the food on a visible surface like a flat shell, and they acted like it didn't exist and never touched it. It took a good week before I finally managed to get them to understand that I was feeding them, and I did this by only placing food in the same section of the tank each time. Now, when they smell food, they automatically go to that corner and know to dig and scour around for dropped pieces. They are great pets now, but I rated it three stars because it wasn't as simple to take care of them as I had been led to believe, and I feel a bit misled on the tank size.
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next