PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Chinese Water Dragon

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Chinese Water Dragon

For ages 14 & up Lives approximately 15 years Solitary Omnivore Diurnal Note: Pet availability is seasonal. State and local regulations may vary. Pricing may vary by store location. PetSmart stores cannot match the price below for this pet. Ask a store associate for details.
Overall rating:
4.673 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 47
48 of 52(92%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Chinese Water Dragon
Review 1 for Chinese Water Dragon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews

Fun

February 18, 2014
by Iheartdragon506
fromChicago,Il
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Water dragons are very fun and nice. Even though its
that, it is hard to take care of
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Chinese Water Dragon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews

nicest lizard ever

December 15, 2013
by Bernie4
fromsalisbury new york
ive had three dragons and there super nice and very tamed. the love attention and love to swim
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Chinese Water Dragon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews

Very Sweet Pets

July 17, 2013
by LinR
fromPA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Bought our dragon during the winter and did not pay great attention to the humidity. He could not shed correctly and lost some of his tail because of this. Very gentle with being handled. Would recommend for any one mature enough to have as a pet.
+13points
18of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Chinese Water Dragon
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 52 reviews

AWSOME!!!!!!!!! PETS

July 15, 2013
by billybob10
fromindana
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
they are so cool fast and fun
-15points
4of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Chinese Water Dragon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews

Very fun pets to have

June 21, 2013
by WolfieLovesRatties
fromOhio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My Chinese Water Dragon is my first and he is absolutely awsome. He is very cool to watch and feed. They can also get pretty large, mine is a year old and is already a foot long, by the time he gets to be two years old, he will be two feet long. A big tank is required for this lizard and with a big lizard comes a big appetite. They can eat crickets, wax worms, super worms, meal worms, horned worms, raw chicken fillet pieces, pinkie mice, feeder fish, and even live mice but they are not allowed to eat live rodents and if you do feed them live rodents, they must be under very good supervision. Over all, this is a very fun pet to have and I love mine so much
+30points
34of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Chinese Water Dragon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews

Adorable and Lovely Reptiles

June 17, 2013
by Luzzy
fromAustin, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have had them for a while and i'm already attached to them. Their name is Tan & Tatsua and they are approximately 4-5 months old. They are so active in the day, but God the sleep like babies at night, just like i do. Tatsoa is older than Tan and he hates being separated from Tan and he doesn't eat until he/she is with him. In the day, they are free all over the house and when i call their name, they come out from wherever they are at. For the price i paid, is just incomparable because friendship and love has no price, and that is exactly what i feel towards them. If you buy these kind of pets or any other kind, PLEASE take well care of them and just give them all your love.
Chinese Water Dragon are: <3
=Awesome
=Cute
=Nice
=Lovely
=Adorable
=A Great Companion
+18points
26of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Chinese Water Dragon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews

AWESOME PETS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

May 28, 2013
by lizardlover27
fromWilmington, DE
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have a juvenile water dragon named Harold. He needs to be misted quite often. He loves large spaces so I got him a 56-gal. terrarium. He eats earthworms, rolly-pollies ,superworms, mealworms, spiders, insect larvae,and butterflies. He loves the outside.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Chinese Water Dragon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews

Great pet but no for inexperienced owners

April 3, 2013
by RJC91
fromDeptford,NJ
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have two water dragons that were purchased from petsmart a few months ago. They are both doing great,hoping for male and female. These lizards are very active and can become quite tame with time. They need a very large enclosure, I have mine in 5'x3'x3' and I'm building a 6'x4'x4' for them when they are adults.My enclosure a digital hydrometer and thermometer also i have a monsoon rain fall system to keep humidity high. They love to climb so a lot of branches and plants are a must. Water dragons need high humidity around 80% and should have a basking spot of around 100 and ambient temp of 80. They need to eat gut loaded dusted insects dust with calcium and reptile vitamins. I feed mine dubia roaches (best feeder insect in my opinion),meal worms,crickets and occasional pinky mouse also offer greens and non citrus fruit. Just do your research and you will be fine. KEEP in mind these animals get 3ft+
+22points
24of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Chinese Water Dragon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews

Perfect nine year-old pet

March 19, 2013
by cupcak3baker42
fromNew York,NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I didn't like reptiles but my nine year old son finally perswade me to get one. I constanly sneaking his cwd out of it's cage. I like to cuddle it. It's more like a cat. Very easy to care for. Perfect for a nine year old.
+18points
21of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Chinese Water Dragon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews

Great pet

January 28, 2013
by Reptarskeeper
fromLouisville, KY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Even though it can be a challenge to set up the tank for the water dragon (to maintain temps and humidity) They are awesome pets. My little guy is friendly and a joy to have. I do recommend getting one but make sure to get everything on petsmarts shopping list plus a reptile fogger for your tank. It will prove to be very handy. You may also want an extra therometer so that you have one on both sides on the tank depending on the size tank you get.
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Chinese Water Dragon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews

Great creatures!

January 23, 2013
by ChristaMarie18
fromPennsylvania
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Chinese water dragons are gorgeous animals! The colors are very bright and he is very healthy. We mist him a few times during the day and he enjoys taking baths! Intermediate to take care of but worth it!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Chinese Water Dragon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews

Great Pet For Starter's

January 20, 2013
by NightFury
fromLove's Animals
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
The Chinese water dragon make's a great pet i got my male water dragon a 10 gallon terrarium and installed UVB basking Light so he can heat up in the warm light. I spray around his tank with warm water to keep it humid and he seem's like he is happy he is active,healthy and is not having much health issue's
+4points
10of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Chinese Water Dragon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews

two best friends!

December 24, 2012
by viejon
fromTexas,Euless
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I really like this lizard because its really friendly with my Green Iguana and my 5 Red Eyed Tree Frogs.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Chinese Water Dragon
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 52 reviews

Get the Facts

December 16, 2012
by BiologyTeacher
fromIndiana
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Nothing wrong with the water dragons, but PetSmart should include in their online advertising the very important fact that these animals will grow to 3+ feet in length. Would you buy a 3 foot long reptile today? Do you want to own a VERY large habitat? Depending on where you live, you may need to buy a fogger to maintain humidity at the proper levels (another $65). Please research carefully before buying any exotic pet.
+10points
29of 48voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Chinese Water Dragon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews

Amazing Pet!

October 24, 2012
by nickname19475
fromOntario, NY
I just adopted a chinese water dragon that had a broken leg that healed weird and left a bump on his leg. That doesn't stop him though, he is an amazing pet and if you know what you are doing it is very easy to take care of them. Just make sure you handle them a lot, mine loves to be taken out of his enclosure and be held.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Chinese Water Dragon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews

July 10, 2012
by Chomper
fromCA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Hi.I got a chinese water dragon that named Chomper 2 months ago we go every were together. I cant wait till he gets to be 3ft long. I got a blue belly fence lizard and chomped started breeding with it hope someone can help me find out what that will make?
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Chinese Water Dragon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews

Lilith-Hades

July 8, 2012
by OceanMystic
fromSouth Florida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I got my Chinese Water Dragon yesterday (After seeing one in store a few days before and falling in love) as an early birthday gift. I believe it's a female (just from the MASSIVE research I've done for the last few days) but it could turn out to be a male, it's about 8 months old (Pet store employee guess), It's so small! and absolutely gorgeous, the tail is well over a foot long. I named her/him Lilith-Hades, when it's old enough to properly identify the gender, It'll keep one of those names, Lilith if it's a female, Hades if a male. It's very very curious, and extremely affectionate, his head will follow mine, and he'll just stare at me for hours. I've been told to let him get used to his new environment for a few days before I start holding him and such, but I did hold him in the petstore, he didn't want to let go of me, two pet store employee's had to help me get him off of my finger/hand so they could put him in the cardboard carrier. It already has a personality. These guys are awesome! I already have a cuban tree frog (Apollo), and a green tree frog (Horus) in a 30 gallon, and I plan on adding a green anole, and I have 2 Fire Belly toads (Artemis and Belial) in a more water setup (They HATE being on land, they prefer to stay in the water, so I redid their habitat to suit them). I plan on getting 2 bearded dragons (Also awesome, but I still think the CWD are better) in a 75 gallon setup.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Chinese Water Dragon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews

Great Pet

June 20, 2012
by BradJ
fromSierra Vista, AZ
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got my water dragon about a month ago, he is going through a shed right now... He is easy to take care and absolutely loves being out of his cage. At first he ran away a lot but he is now just relaxing on my shoulders or in my hand, sometimes he will cling to the front of my shirt and hang out. He loves eating meal worms, and crickets. I haven't tried any fruit or veggies yet. I love my dragon, I named him Midas.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Chinese Water Dragon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews

Ideal lizard pets

June 9, 2012
by TheReptiGuru
fromAurora, OH
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Chinese water dragons are just so amazing. I personally love large lizards (ergo I have a green iguana, frilled lizard, CWD and a bearded dragon) and these guys are one of the best. They are incredibly tame, and learn to really love you. Whenever I walk into my room he perks up and won't sit still until i hold him. He falls asleep on me, eats his mealworms on me, sits on the couch next to me and so on. If i try to put him back in his cage he won't want to leave me. Best of lizards there guys (frilled dragons are great, too). If you want a true friend out of your pet, buy one of these guys.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Chinese Water Dragon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 52 reviews

AWESOME!

May 27, 2012
by LoveMyWaterDragon
fromWest Palm Beach, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have a Chinese Water Dragon named Squishy, he is only a baby and I already love him, I have had him for about 2 - 3 months and he is about 5 - 9 months old someone told me. I really enjoy having him. You should definitely get one! (: <3
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next