PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Veiled Chameleon

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Veiled Chameleon

For experienced reptile Pet Parents Lives approximately 5 to 7 years Tree dwelling Insectivores Diurnal Note: Pet availability is seasonal. State and local regulations may vary. Pricing may vary by store location. PetSmart stores cannot below the price above for this pet. Ask a store associate for details.
Overall rating:
4.857 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 26
24 of 28(86%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Veiled Chameleon
Review 1 for Veiled Chameleon
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 28 reviews

Only recommended if you have mad building skills

March 14, 2014
by CactusKate
fromArizona
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
The veiled chameleon itself is a wonderful and interesting animal. Keep in mind, they are not the 'friendly' type and most of the time like to be left alone (you can't just walk around and hang out with a chameleon, and their nails dig in a bit so for kids, it does hurt). The reason for 3 stars is that everywhere you can purchase a chameleon, they neglect to tell you that NOBODY sells enclosures large enough to house one! They sell them, but after that you're on your own. I have my chameleon in a X-Large Zoomed ReptiBreeze, and he's only a little over a year old, and completely cramped at this point. I have been searching for almost a year now and the only thing left to do is either buy a $2500 cage online, or build one myself (which I can't do, not in my skillset.) You CANNOT KEEP A CHAMELEON IN A GLASS TANK.. You will kill your pet!!! So you need a screened cage, and the holes need to be small enough to keep the crickets from escaping.. The enclosure should be at least 5 feet tall, and 3 feet wide, if you want a happy pet. Veileds (males) can reach 18 to 24 inches long / about a foot not including the tail... females are a little smaller.
Otherwise, veiled chameleons are beautiful. I would just hate to see one living in a mini box like the reptibreeze or any other cage you can buy in a store, that's just cruel...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Veiled Chameleon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

George the Veiled Chameleon

March 12, 2014
by FutureHerpetologist
fromWinchester IN.
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
AWESOME! At first he was a little feisty , but now he is
a very nice pet. I named him George because of
Boy George's song Karma Chameleon. George, the
chameleon is very nice and is fascinating. I would recommend this lizard to any experienced herper.
#AWESOME!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Veiled Chameleon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Great for people that have experience with reptile

August 14, 2013
by Kgirl530
fromNorth carolina,charlotte
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My chameleon is so much fun and loves to climb every where she also loves crickets I would recommend these creatures to anyone who is experienced
+33points
46of 59voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Veiled Chameleon
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 28 reviews

love them!

April 20, 2013
by Pascal
fromDayton, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
im getting a chameleon tomorrow. I had about 6 when i was littler. Mine were really calm and never hissed or try to bite me, but my little sister scared it all the time so it would leave droppings. So dont scare them. I love them so much they are really good pets!!
+63points
76of 89voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Veiled Chameleon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Great pet for experienced people

April 4, 2013
by iBored91
fromBrooklyn New York
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is a FASCINATING pet.
After you do some research this reptiles are a sinch to care for.
These are great for viewing and fun to get creative when setting there tank up!
+38points
58of 78voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Veiled Chameleon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Awesome!!!

January 29, 2013
by MICHELAXALEXIS
fromLexington. Ma
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Awesome pet! So fun to handle and watch.
Pretty simple once you learn how to take care of them.
Definitely recommend them.
+93points
109of 125voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Veiled Chameleon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

great for experienced owners

January 27, 2013
by corbie227
fromsioux city,ia
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
i have had my chameleon now for 9 years not good although for first time owners if i were you i would get an anole if your a first time owner they are 10x cheaper and they are a lot easier to take care of over chameleon.
I hope my advice helps,
sincerely,
Corbie227 :)
-5points
47of 99voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Veiled Chameleon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

I LOVE HIM! <3

November 22, 2012
by Maichan23
fromDover, DE
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Wow. So yesterday I got my Veiled Chameleon and he's been great. I named him Leonardo (Leo). He always is egar to come out of his cage and play and clings to you. He's never hissed or threatened to bite. Amazing addition to the family! I absoluty love him ^_^
+26points
33of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Veiled Chameleon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Nice Male Veiled Chameleon :)

November 10, 2012
by Illegalstylez
fromBakersfield, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Great pets :) I recommend them to responsible owners. I own 2 of these great reptiles. One is really active & loves to eat a lot. I named one Rango & the other Reptar. Very healthy & green. Can't wait till they get older.
+10points
17of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Veiled Chameleon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Facinating reptile

September 25, 2012
by TMacCaull
fromOswego, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have had my female veiled chameleon for 7 months, she was bought as a tiny baby at PetSmart and I just love her. Her name is Bella and she is just awesome. Bella recognizes me and is always ready and willing to come out and play with me and my 6yr old daughter. I consider myself a seasoned reptile owner as I have a 9 yr old bearded dragon and 5 anoles, I did a ton of research on Chameleons before getting one and felt confident that I could care for sweet Bella. What I clearly missed in all the research I did was that female's lay eggs 2-3 times a year whether they are mated or not. This takes EVERYTHING out of them and scared the heck out of me. Once I realized she was egg bound I quickly set up a seperate tank with wet sand for her, but she was so weak that she couldn't dig her own hole. I took her on my honeymoon with me cage and all to care for her since I needed to give her daily feedings of calcium via childs syringe and make sure she didn't just fall to the bottom of the cage. Finally 2 weeks had passed and she still didn't lay her eggs or dig her hole and I could tell she was struggling so I finally dug her a hole in the sand and she went right into it. Bella ended up laying 25 eggs in the tank and 3 more on my lap while I was syringe feeding her. It was amazing and scary at the same time. I just want to let anyone thinking of getting a female Chameleon to REALLY think about it and make sure you have the time and resources to care for her.
+99points
102of 105voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Veiled Chameleon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Wonderful

July 27, 2012
by Bobby101
fromSullivan,IL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I got one for my at age 16 and I'm 21 and my little Herobrine is still with me. I would recommend a veiled Chameleon to any one who know has had a pet before.
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Veiled Chameleon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

love him!!!!!!!

July 23, 2012
by loyalwolf
fromMississippi
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I turned 13 yesterday and for my birthday i got a veled chameleon. We had gotton him about a week ago. It was quite expensive for his cage and vines and stuff like that but it was all worth it!He is so cool!! I love wathing him eat, sleep, and drink! and when I feed him in the morning its really funa to watch him chase the crickets!! I would HIGHLY recomend you get one!
+60points
71of 82voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Veiled Chameleon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Chameleons rule!

July 13, 2012
by Nakamura21
fromMesquite,Tx
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I own 2 now and they are very fun to watch who needs tv when you have chameleons.Its not true they are not for beginners they are lots of work but its totally worth it.
+3points
12of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Veiled Chameleon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

NOT 4 BEGINNERS!!!

July 12, 2012
by Dodobird13
fromOrlando,fl
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I've had a lot of reptiles and this was by far the hardest I've had. I've had corn snakes, anoles, green days,and newts. This definitely was the hardest out of all of them I definitely would not recommend this to a beginner
-21points
4of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Veiled Chameleon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

I love my little rango!!

July 2, 2012
by Anonymous
fromtucson az
My fiance and I bought our Chameleon yesterday and we named him Rango, the amount of money spent to buy what it takes to maintain him was about twice the cost of the animal himself but it was worth it. We read all over the place that they HATE to be held but the girl at the PetSmart we went to told us that all of the ones that they had in were unusually tolerant. So far if put my hand in the terrarium he immediately stretches out and climbs on. the way we look at it we never PULL him out if we offer him our hand and he climbs on then we hold him if he avoids it then he remains in his cage. He handles well i just let him climb on my arms and clothes. right now he is asleep on my wrist. (: generally i believe it just depends on the temperament of YOUR particular pet.
+27points
33of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Veiled Chameleon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Love Him!

June 7, 2012
by ChamLover
fromSyracuse, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I was nervous to get any kind of reptile, and my husband was all for it. We got our veiled chameleon as beginners, but he was very easy to learn how to take care of. You really do need to buy the proper equipment, and there's no way of getting around it. Instead of misting we bought the fogger, which works wonderfully and I never have to worry about the humidity if I am not home. The only problem I am having now is he has gotten to big for his cage, and I need to move him to my 55G fish tank. He has no problem reaching the top of the screen and pulling himself up with one arm. Another problem I have is he has been eating the soil lately, so I have switched to the carpet that came with the original tank. He is just like a child going through a growth spurt because I also feed him about 3 to 4 times daily switching between meal worms and crickets. He is part of the family now, and I cant believe I didn't do this sooner. I would defiantly recommend this to anyone who is pondering the idea of getting one.
+78points
89of 100voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Veiled Chameleon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

!!!!NOT 4 BEGGINERS BUT EASY TO LEARN !!!

May 10, 2012
by HoLeggoMyEggo
fromHaltom City , TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
First of all like most exotic pets they all require special care and different needs, before i even thought of purchasing this wonderful lil guy i researched up on him for about 2 weeks while setting up his habitat like i do all my reptiles and most hard problems can be easily avoided but some not as easy and u will run into to as mine is excreting calcium and salts from his nose from too much calcium/d3 and most local pet store do not sell the specific calcium feed for chameleons is a 2:1 ratio so u have to order online, be lucky and find or be very careful with your "for all reptile calcium dust" no ghosting and only use like twice a week while feeding them something in between with basic nutrients or at-least is what i have been reading mostly if the specific supplement is not available.. Anyway these creatures are wonderful and are mainly meant for magnificent observation and with the right care and responsibility make wonderful addition to your reptile family
+21points
35of 49voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Veiled Chameleon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

Love my chameleon<3!

May 7, 2012
by Aliciaxxx
fromNew York, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I absolutely LOVE my veiled Chameleon! These are one of the easiest ones to maintain. If you love to hold your pets alot this is not one for you! They do not like to be bothered much at all. To get mine out of her cage I let her come out by her self, and then she'll let me pick her up. They do hiss, and try to bite if they are scared. The girl's need a little more attention then boy's because at a certain age they do lay eggs, with or with out mating! You'll really need to look up alot about this reptile. If you do decide to get one you will not regret it :]!
+31points
46of 61voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Veiled Chameleon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

very interesting

May 6, 2012
by rumples
fromtx
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I recently started working at petsmart and as we were stocking I saw a little booklet on these little guys, I have had pets before cats, guinea pigs but never a reptile, my best friend has one of these and she loves him, I thought I would try something new as they are very cool pets, they do require a lot more care and research is a much but with a little time and effort they are a lot of fun, feeding him is going to be interesting
+6points
12of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Veiled Chameleon
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 28 reviews

mcarp3210813578

May 2, 2012
by mcarp3210813578
fromhc
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
they look so cool I wish there price was lower.have one later though
-13points
6of 25voted this as helpful.
1 2 next