PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Chinese Dwarf Hamster

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Chinese Dwarf Hamster

Active at night Ideal for children 10 & up Social within the same family High energy level Lives up to 3 years Note: Pet availability is seasonal. State and local regulations may vary. Pricing may vary by store location. PetSmart stores cannot match the price below for this pet. Ask a store associate for details.
Overall rating:
4.777 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(170 reviews) 169
161 of 170(95%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Chinese Dwarf Hamster
Review 1 for Chinese Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 170 reviews

Not A dwarf…

March 16, 2014
by MsHammyExpert
fromAL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ermm Chinese Hamsters are not dwarfs… -_- they are just small.. and yes people there is a different between hamsters and dwarf hamsters and no its not just their size.. but over all chinese hamsters are really sweet in most cases.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Chinese Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 170 reviews

Our dwarf hampster Zebo

March 7, 2014
by Zebo
fromHarlingen, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We love our Dwarf hamster. She is very excited when you come to the cage and talk with her. I wake her up and sing to her and you can tell she loves it, she climbs up the cage and greets me. Our dwarf hampster loves her wheel, she would spin it for a long time. I would recommend this Dwarf hamster for teens.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Chinese Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 170 reviews

Eddie is Åwśømę

February 2, 2014
by lammyluke227
fromMA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Get this hamster , they are very nice ! I named mine Eddie , and I've only had him for 4 weeks ! The Males do have a big rear end , but they are just fine . He likes toilet paper and sunflower seeds . The are nocturnal and can keep you up , so get a silent wheel . They also like to dig and hide .
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Chinese Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 170 reviews

Hands down, best dwarf for kids

January 27, 2014
by nikkichan
fromSunrise, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Chinese are the slowest and gentlest of all the dwarves. The only turn-off really is the tails and on the males, you can clearly (very very clearly) see their testes. However they are perfect for children due to their calm nature. I love this breed, so sweet and perfect!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Chinese Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 170 reviews

January 26, 2014
by happypetsmartcustomer
fromVirginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I loved my hamster so much. He was my first real pet. He was the sweetest little guy and loved curling up in my hand. He never bit me and loved eating out of my hand. My friends always wanted to hold him when they came over and everyone loved him. I never knew that something so small could provide so much happiness. He died last week (I miss him so much). I had him for 5 years! He was very old and died peacefully. I did some research and have not heard of any hamster living so long. Petsmart provides quality pets that will bring a smile to anyone's day. I am sure your hamster will bring you as much joy as my hamster did to me.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Chinese Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 170 reviews

Please do A LOT of research before buying this pet

January 25, 2014
by HamsterAlert
fromMaryland
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This is a great pet for those who are willing to give up 15 minutes or more each night to feed a pet and make sure that it is healthy. Plus, you must clean the cage every week. I have only had males, and they are great! I LOVE HAMSTERS!!!
This breed of hamster is a usually is a very good pet. They don't usually bite very hard. I have had two so far and just got my third today!!! :)!!!
This review is dedicated to my hamsters, Speedy, Starbrite, and my 3rd hamster who doesn't have a name yet.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Chinese Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 170 reviews

Great pets

January 18, 2014
by Benjamen
fromchicagp
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought a Chinese dwarf hamster about six months ago. While i was looking at pet smart for the right one. the lady said that the dwarf hamster bite a lot. But this was not the case with mine. as soon as i picked him up i loved him right away. when i brought him home he loved his new cage, I am currently keeping him on my shoulder as i write this. Oh and just make sure that when you pick him up be very gentle and make sure that their paws aren't stuck to anything, like a shirt, Or fabric of some sort. they are very clingy to things and tend to shiver a lot.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Chinese Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 170 reviews

OMG I LOVE THEM!

January 12, 2014
by turtletortoiselover
fromSomewhere over the rainbow
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have two Chinese dwarf hamsters and they are the sweetest things! Their names are Charlotte and Nibbles. (Nibbles never bites I named her that because she makes a little nibbling sound when she's happy.) They never bite and are super friendly. They are very easy to handle and are so cute. The only thing I don't like is that they don't live too long. I would like to have Charlotte and Nibbles forever! These are the best pets for beginners. They are easy to take care of and are SO loving. I really recommend one!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Chinese Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 170 reviews

I have a new best friend!!!!!

January 11, 2014
by hammylover12
fromFlorida, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This hamster is an amazing pet! Mine's named Ginger and she is the sweetest, most adorable thing! At first, she did nip a little bit but now that she is used to me, were best friends! Right now, as I'm writing this, she is sitting on my lap sleeping. This hamster couldn't be more great for children as it also shows them how to take care of an animal, but easily. I only need to clean her every 1-2 weeks, which isn't bad at all. This hamster is small so that's why you don't need to clean her as often as other hammy's. She loves running around in her little ball, and the ball is very safe for her as well. Her habitat doesn't have to be HUGE and expensive either because they are quite small. This hamster will give you all her love if you give her all your love. I have a new best friend!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Chinese Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 170 reviews

Wonderful pet

December 10, 2013
by DwarfHammymommy
fromPittsburgh, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I love my Chinese Dwarf Hammy. He was so friendly, and I even trained him to give me kisses (touching his nose to mine). He was smart and sweet, and he lived to almost 4 years. Cleaning his cage was easy. and well worth it.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Chinese Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 170 reviews

BAD BAD BAD PET

December 8, 2013
by martyandme2013
fromAUSTIN TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
first off they bite like fleas. next, they are loud little beasts. they cost way to much to care for. NOT FOR KIDS. THEY ARE NOT GOOD AROUND KIDS. and most of the thing that really made me say no was that they have freakish little butts. in the end I got my money back. so remember this before you buy one...bad pet. lot of money. bite like fleas and most of all NOT A PET FOR KIDS!!!!!
-39points
0of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Chinese Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 170 reviews

I AM IN LOVE WITH THIS THING

November 30, 2013
by molly2988
fromNew York
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have a Chinese dwarf named Eddie and he is SO CUTE!!!! These hamsters are so nice and ABSOLUTELY NEVER BITE :) They are so calm that I can lay on the couch for two hours and Eddie sitting still and not jumping around like the Syrian hamsters.; I absolutely recommend these hamsters to ALL kids starting from 7 years old.
+10points
13of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Chinese Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 170 reviews

EXCELLENT!

November 23, 2013
by Ashley4371
fromOhio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
These adorable little creatures are so fun! I own 2 and the oldest one is 7yrs old. they are so fun and easy to take care of. I highly reccomend these for a family who wants a pet but doesnt have alot of time.
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Chinese Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 170 reviews

Great with Children

November 21, 2013
by Amberose
fromMassachusetts
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I had a Chinese dwarf hamster and it was the cutest thing. It NEVER bit ever even when scared. My cousin is five and she loved to hold he and he loved to be held. Overall the best hamster for kids. I also had Russian dwarfs and let me say the Chinese are MUCH nicer :) a great starter pet.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Chinese Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 170 reviews

Amazing

November 9, 2013
by kenzie496
fromny
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I had a chinese dwarf hamster named morsel and she was the best pet ever she never bit anyone and she loved when people came to play with her
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Chinese Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 170 reviews

Best Hamster I Know

November 7, 2013
by PuppyHamster8
fromEastern Shore,VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This I The Best Behaved Hamster I Know Of. I Love My Hammie, Caspian . He Has Never Bitten And Is Well Trained. He Won't Refuse To Go In My Hand, And He Is Not Picky. I Just Wish You All Could Sell Females In All Stores.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Chinese Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 170 reviews

Super Friendly Hamster

October 5, 2013
by Mel1206
fromAugusta, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This is one of the best hamster, and small pets, we have owned in our home. She is so sweet, and really is a part of the family. I purchased ours for our mature 8 year old daughter, and I like her so much, I plan on getting another for me. If you are looking for a non-aggressive small pet, you should seriously look at bringing one of these in your home.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Chinese Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 170 reviews

Awesome pet

September 7, 2013
by anna43123
fromGrove City Ohio USA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This hamster was amazing for me I had a young female Chinese Dwarf hamster. She was very friendly,but was only friendly towards me. Anyone that held her other than me she bit. I loved her to death. I recommend for anyone any age, but not for young children who are rough. And of course supervision always.
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Chinese Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 170 reviews

The sweetest of all the little pets

September 2, 2013
by ChineseHamsterConvereter
fromDE
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have owned rats, mice, Syrian hamsters, various dwarf hamsters, and finally yesterday, bought a Chinese Dwarf hamster for my daughter (she's 9). The store employee said this was the sweetest breed, and I wanted something my daughter didn't have to spend a long time taming. I was able to tame all the little animals I have owned, but they all took time and patience. This Chinese Dwarf hamster, though, was tame from the get-go. We brought her home and my daughter picked her up and was petting her and rubbing her head, and the hamster loved it and just sat in her hand for a long time. She did it again today too. She kind of snuggles there, and gets warm, cuddles up, and closes her eyes. She is so adorable and sweet and calm, and absolutely lovable. I would recommend this pet over all the other ones. I don't think I'll be trying any others, but will just stick with this breed from now on.
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Chinese Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 170 reviews

super nice!

August 13, 2013
by ak12hamster
frombostom mass
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
These hamsters are very friendly and play. Not very shy and love to be held but you should let him get accustomed to his new home before playing wih him. These are a lovely breed of hamster and. I recommend them to anyone of any age.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next