PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Fancy Russian Dwarf Hamster

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Fancy Russian Dwarf Hamster

Active at night Ideal for children 10 & up Social within the same family High energy level Lives up to 3 years Note: Pet availability is seasonal. State and local regulations may vary. Pricing may vary by store location. PetSmart stores cannot match the price below for this pet. Ask a store associate for details.
Overall rating:
4.561 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(82 reviews) 80
74 of 82(90%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Fancy Russian Dwarf Hamster
Review 1 for Fancy Russian Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 82 reviews

He's the perfect little guy! <3

March 17, 2014
by xxGottabeyoutifulxx
fromAustin, Texas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I got my little buddy about a week ago and he opened up to me the 1st day I got him and hasn't bitten yet, just kisses! Great for beginners. Recommend asking the store clerk to hold the little guy in the store to see if he likes you! Perfect, love my hamster. His name is Harry. Love love love!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fancy Russian Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 82 reviews

Great, perfect for beginners.

February 15, 2014
by HamsterHugs
fromNot telling..
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I just want to say, thecritterzoo is sort of wrong. My fancy Russian dwarf loves me. The clerk suggested I feed him a carrot every day. The clerk is professional. I am a beginner, and I tamed my fancy Russian dwarf hamster with ease! He never bites now. He was even comfy with my friend, who is an entire stranger, to my furry friend. He climbed my friend and enjoyed playing. To think I've only owned him for a few months, and he's only a few months old. (Also, hamster bites don't hurt!) I suggest you feed your pet Fancy Russian Dwarf a carrot every day, a nice sweet slice of fruit or berry each week, and once a month, a delicious slice of bread!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fancy Russian Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 82 reviews

BEST PET FOR PROS

January 13, 2014
by thecritterzoo
fromcalifornia
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
i got this on 1/11/2014 it was the last russian at my petsmart. it bit me when i touched it at the petsotre. i only recommend dwarfs for more advanced owners who do there research syrians are for beginners. dwarfs are much to fast for kids as syrians are larger and slower. winter whites, russians, and chinese and hybrids of them are prone to diabetes. so make sure to pick out the corn and peas and sugary food in there diet. never give them any fruits or carrots. also robos are dwarfs but arent prone to diabetes i think robos are more super advanced due to there size. just remember all hamsters need a minimum of 360 sq inches or more
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fancy Russian Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 82 reviews

Bundles of cuteness!

January 11, 2014
by EAB2335
fromMissouri
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My robo hamster passed recently:(... So we got a fancy Russian dwarf hamster to replace her... Cinder is a great hamster he is cute and doesn't bite ( if dwarf hamster bite you it doesn't drawl blood)..l fancy dwarf hamsters are sweet, lovable, and adventurous hamster I recommend this breed of hamster to anyone! Love them!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fancy Russian Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 82 reviews

So far the best

October 14, 2013
by Sammy2013
fromGreeneville. Tn
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I just got my hamster(Sam) a week ago and he is the sweetest hamster i have ever had. He lets my brothers 2 kids, 5 and 8 years old hold him and he doesnt bite. He is very fast and very spoiled he has 2 cages connected together. I would reccomend this hamster for kids or adults.
+14points
16of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fancy Russian Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 82 reviews

Love them

September 14, 2013
by censealea
fromMissouri
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My dad is allergic to cats and dogs, so my family gets hamsters! One thing people never really acknowledge is that hamsters have they're own personality just like a dog or a cat does. I once had a hamster who was a sweety pie! He would sit there and let you pet him. Currently I have a hamster who is kind of a brat, but still adorable. When I'm near he begs for food by biting on the bars or sticking his nose through the bars. I've always enjoyed having a pet hamster, they make a great pet. P.S. pretty sure the mostly white hamster on the picture for the fancy russian dwarf hamster is a picture of my sister's, now dead, hamster. When he was alive we held him by the picture and they had the same markings, his name was pipy :)
+9points
13of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fancy Russian Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 82 reviews

AMAZING AND LOVABLE!!!

June 22, 2013
by Skie
fromMinnesota
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
When i was 8 i saved up all of my allowance and birthday money and bought a hamster. At first it didnt like me but when i gave scit (the hamster) treats, like certain fruits and vegetables, she got used to me. She would play dead and if i took her outside she would follow me around the yard. I had her for 3 years, but she got hurt and died. She was always very healthy and active, and i think she would have lived another two years if she had not gotten hurt. I highly recommend this pet for any one, they make great first-time pets and are great company.
+32points
36of 40voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fancy Russian Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 82 reviews

LOVE HER!!

May 18, 2013
by Pascal
fromDayton, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Personally im more of a reptile person..But my little hamster Oreo is awesome! She didnt take longer than an hour to adjust to her new home. May i remind you that Oreo is super sweet and lovable. Although if she bites its only because she is scared. I let her out around my room onto my desk. She is very smart and has never jumped off or fallen. She checks to see how far down it would be. Bottom line i love her very much and is making a great new addition to our leopard gecko, bird, and 3 dogs:)
+33points
36of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fancy Russian Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 82 reviews

April 30, 2013
by abby18
fromin
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
they are so good. cute and fun
+3points
19of 35voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fancy Russian Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 82 reviews

A good small pet!

April 13, 2013
by MistyandStormyLover
fromMuskegon, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have a horse named Misty so I decided to name my dark gray hamster Stormy. She loves to burrow in her bedding so I returned her igloo. She loves seeds and leaves the pellets in her dish. She doesn't chew on her wood toys. She doesn't use her wheel during the day, only at night. Sometimes I have a hard time falling asleep or staying asleep cause her wheel gets noisy and she drinks loudly. She is not a biter if you're careful with her (try not to scare or be rough with them). Give them a couple days to get used to their new suroundings and then let them get used to you. I do miss my guinea pig that died of old age though, RIP Flicka.
+8points
16of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fancy Russian Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 82 reviews

Love them!!

March 23, 2013
by BarkinDwarfKitteh
fromSouthern VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have four dwarf hamsters; Rascal, Paisley, Perry, and Pioneer. Rascal & Pioneer are Fancy Russian Dwarfs. They are the sweetest things in the world! Rascal is a little over a year old and is grey with tuxedo markings. Pioneer is just a baby and is peach colored with a white chest. People say bad things about them because they don't know how to tame them. I've had many dwarfs over the years & have always had them tamed within two weeks. No biting at all! Read below if you need help!
**Tips on taming them: When you first bring home a dwarf hamster, you have to leave it alone the first three days. Before you put them in their cage, rub your hands in the bedding so they can get used to their scent. Don't try to scoop them up when you put him/her in the cage - offer the hamster a tube or something and let him walk into the cage on his own. Offer him treats when you see him awake, but don't wake him up! After three days, begin offering him your hand. Make sure you wash your hands so they don't smell food! I usually tap the door and try to coax him onto my hand - don't try to force it though or scoop him up. It takes most of my hammies 1-2 days to walk onto my hands. Once they are on your hands, let them move around and get used to you. They may nip once, but they will realize you don't taste good and not do it again. Try to keep coaxing him onto your hands when you see he is awake. When he seems to be more comfortable with being handled, try stroking him with a finger. If he flinches, try waiting another day, but if he is okay with it, you can try again but don't overdo it. Eventually, you will be able to pick him up with no problems! Three of my four hamsters never nipped during this process and still haven't. The one only nipped me twice during the taming process. Now, my hamsters all come out of their igloos and start biting on the bars of the cages when I walk into a room- that is their way of begging to be held. Haha! I hope this helps! :)
+43points
43of 43voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Fancy Russian Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 82 reviews

My husband and I got two of these kind of hamsters

March 11, 2013
by Horsedream0628
fromwisconsin, WI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
My kids both have been buggy us for months to get them each a hamster so we went to petsmart and looked at all of the breeds they had in a hamster and when we saw the white with red eyes that was gonna be for our 5 year old boy cause he wanted white and named his hammi and when we saw the black with some gray and white we knew we found the one for our 8 year old daughter and has of recently there hamster cage got broken into by one of the cats and she got them both; so I learn to check and recheck everything before going to bed.
+3points
12of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Fancy Russian Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 82 reviews

great hamster

February 14, 2013
by bigsexy
fromarkansas
ok so my wife and i got this cute adorable little hamster and this is my first hamster she has had previous so she knows how to take good care of them he is very active mostly at night ( nocturnal creature) and he is just the cutest im learning but one tip to the beginners like myself dont pick them up by there side it will spook him and then you know he nips lol it didnt hurt he was warning me not to cause there so small i imagine it can kinda hurt even if you pick them up lightly cup the hands and make sure your hands dont smell like food
1 great animal very active and fun
2 i love this little guy id recommend this to anyone who can afford to spend time with them
3 they are very smart ( or at least my little guy is )
i love my little hamster
+8points
11of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Fancy Russian Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 82 reviews

The Russian Dwarf Hampster

February 2, 2013
by Anonymous
fromNew Mexico Rio Rancho
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
The russian dwarf hampster is amazing I once got one from critters but it and all of its food had worms!this product and all of its needs are amazing the cadge stays closed and it is out in the living room and my cat has never got to it! the weel is sturdy and never fell on top of my hampster the water bottle is easy to fill and my hapster is very heathy from the food and chew toys the cadge is so big and has a slide spinny weel you get to that by another slide so she gets all of her energy plus the ball never opens!!
-3points
4of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Fancy Russian Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 82 reviews

My kids love their hamsters.

January 30, 2013
by aminalgirl3100
fromMalvern, Oh
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My kids play with them before they go to bed everynight. They take care of the hamsters by them selves which gives me more time to work on other things. The hamsters are so friendly and don't mind you doing anything.
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Fancy Russian Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 82 reviews

I Love Fancy Russians!!

January 9, 2013
by SweetE
fromLafayette, IN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I Love my new hamster, Spike! I got him 2 days ago at Pet Smart. We were going get a regular Russian dwarf hamster, but when we got to PetSmart, there weren’t any! We asked an employee to show us all the hamsters. And when she showed us Spike, he looked directly up at us! I picked him out and we took him home. I’ve learned a lot of stuff about Spike. He loves to burrow down in his new cage! I love Spike and I love Fancy Russian Dwarf Hamsters! If you’re thinking of getting a Hamster, get a Fancy Russian!!!
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Fancy Russian Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 82 reviews

Great Pet!

January 1, 2013
by LovinMyAnimals
fromAtlanta, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This pet is wonderful! I got a male. His fur is Black with a White stripe down his neck and white "socks". When I first brought him home, He was scared. What probley scared him more was that I had him in his ball and the cats came up to him. He quickly recovered and when we put him into his cage he became very active and made burrous. Though, when I tryed to hold him, he did nip. But nipping is normal, for the hamster is just scared. I did glove training which is where you hold them with the glove then I took off the glove on one hand and he did not nip. I took of the gloves on both hands and he was tame. Though for the next few weeks I will contine to pick him up with the gloves then remove him because he will get teritorial. I would not reccomend this as a first hamster. Maybe a second or third.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Fancy Russian Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 82 reviews

Awesomest Hamster Ever!

December 26, 2012
by nibblesrocks
fromRainbowville,KY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
My hamsters name is nibbles. He is light brown with white on his belly and has a brown stripe down his back. His face is so cute and his whiskers are adorable. When I got him he was in a cardboard pet carrier, and he stuck his nose out of the hole and sniffed my finger. We put him in the cage and I right away noticed he started scratching really hard. He has been tired I guess because he hasn't really messed with his wheel, just slept in it. He loves the bedding and is cuddling in it! He's a really sociable hamster and I love him!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Fancy Russian Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 82 reviews

thier awsome

November 24, 2012
by loonermoon639
fromemerald ile, nc
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
i have 2 of them. so cute. spent $500. worth every pennie. :p
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Fancy Russian Dwarf Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 82 reviews

Mr.Snugglez R.I.P

November 23, 2012
by Huskylover625
fromIN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
He was the best hamster i have ever had, he would run around my room and have my do follow him, he would burrow in my hair, and lick my nose and snuggle on my arm :,) i miss that little fuzz ball :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next