PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Long Haired Hamster

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Long Haired Hamster

Active at night Ideal for children 8 & up Solitary High energy level Lives 2 to 3 years Note: Pet availability is seasonal. State and local regulations may vary. Pricing may vary by store location. PetSmart stores cannot match the price below for this pet. Ask a store associate for details.
Overall rating:
4.674 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 49
46 of 49(94%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Long Haired Hamster
Review 1 for Long Haired Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

Do you love hamsters!

March 4, 2014
by kyli
fromeastmillinocket, MA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought a Syrian long haired hamster and I love her .And I named her Daphne and she is healthy ,fluffy and the funny thing is , have you ever heard of Scooby -doo well she acts kind of like a mystery solver and I got that from taking her wheel away.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Long Haired Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

Great pet!

December 11, 2013
by Redshinigami
fromBelleville, ON
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I got my hamster on November 30th, right from the start, she was very healthy. She ate and drank her water well and is very curious. She loves to run in her wheel as well. It is now December 11th and I still have had no problems with her. She very healthy and I love her! I would for sure recommend getting your hamster at Pet Smart!
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Long Haired Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

Love them

October 16, 2013
by shaggy1234
fromlondon
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I got one of these little guys in March and so far it has Ben the best purchase I have ever made. They are very active and are very flufy.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Long Haired Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

Best pet I ever had

May 9, 2013
by Angelita
fromPerth Amboy, NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought my first hamster about three-four years ago and I have fallen in love with the breed. Panda was a sweetheart and very calm. I felt like I had a best friend. He only pooped on me once but that is because he was scared. Unfortunately he died last year because they only live for like 3 years.
I now own my second hamster, Biscuit. He is also a long haired hamster. He is a sweetheart but much more active than Panda. I love this breed.
+28points
29of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Long Haired Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

They are one of the best pets.

April 30, 2013
by LongtimeHamsterOwner
fromSaratoga Springs,NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My hamsters Honney,Devill,Demon,Nite, and Angel have always been quite despite what people say as long as their wheel is good quality. They don't eat much but love yogurt bites and a few unsalted sunflower seeds. You can hold them and play with them teach them to come, recognize their name and jump from one cup the the other... carefull they are not to far apart!! i always buy from petsmart and they are well taken care of and worth the overall price for the supplies and hamster itself.
+23points
25of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Long Haired Hamster
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 49 reviews

Requires attention, but very cute.

April 22, 2013
by Azulon2
fromSan fran, California
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Long haired Syrian hamsters are the best kind of hamster. They are messy, and expensive (with the price of a cage, bedding, food, water and food bowls, toys and treats) but very cute. Worth it, depends, loveable, yes, sweet, yes, trainable, depends, cute, YES, cuddly, yes, fun, yes and no.
0points
9of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Long Haired Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

Panda is the best hamster ever!

April 21, 2013
by RockStar82
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I'm a first time hamster owner. I got my adorable, precious "Panda" over two months ago, not knowing what to expect since he's the first hamster I've ever owned! I knew I wanted a syrian hamster because they are the cutest in my opinion and the associates at petsmart said they were the friendliest! He was the only long haired syrian they had, he's grey and white! I don't think I could have asked for a better hamster! First off he's absolutely adorable. He's got tons of energy and is very content. He is so friendly and doesn't bite. I make sure that I hold/pet him everyday so he is use to me and he's so sweet. The week I got him I took him out, had him cuffed in my hands, all of a sudden he rolled over on his back, put his legs up in the air and wanted me to pet his tummy. I was shocked it was like a dog rolling over. It was a kodak moment. He actually does this a lot when I hold him or pet him, he really likes getting his tummy rubbed. He's such a good boy, and after a while of dedication he is potty trained. He's such a sweetheart! He is so fun to have and I just love watching him play. I brush his fur with a soft bristle toothbrush and he doesn't mind at all. I just got him some habitrail ovo tubing, he likes them and he can fit through them. Please anyone who gets one, make sure you get a cage big enough, I just ordered a new cage that's 32"x20"x14.5". Don't keep them couped up in a tiny cage, it's just cruel!
+19points
20of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Long Haired Hamster
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 49 reviews

Very, Very Bad...:(

February 23, 2013
by HamsterCouture
fromSewell, NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Long-Haired hamsters may LOOK cute, but looks can be deceiving. On Tuesday, I got my apricot-Long Haired. He was cool at first, but here are the reasons why he was very bad.
1. Bedding and feces get stuck to his fur
2. Very timid, he can't communicate with anyone else
3. Hisses
4. Poops EVERYWHERE! I tried to tame him today, he pooped about 20 times within five minutes. Peed, too
So, in conclusion, unless you are a ZOO-OLIGIST of some sort, I would NEVER suggest a Long-Haired Syrian to ANYONE. I plan to return him tomorrow. I'm a bit upset about this..I have been wanting a Long-Haired for quite some time now, and I'm disappointed with the outcome. I'm going to exchange him for another little pal, no use to waste an awesome cage. Just, please, I am BEGGING you, do NOT buy a long-haired.
Thanks.
-49points
4of 57voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Long Haired Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

Hamsters <3

February 3, 2013
by ILoveMyHamsterPengu1n
fromFlorida, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I bought a Winter White BOY Dwarf hamster, and I just want to say I LOVE HIM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! <33 If you're thinking about getting a hamster, get one. They are so cute and lovable<3 My hamster bit me when I first got him, only because he didn't know me, but it's normal. He's my second hamster and my first hamster did that too... Lol but like I said, If you're thinking about getting a hamster, get one :)
+15points
17of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Long Haired Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

Happiest hamster on earth

January 21, 2013
by Beckster35
fromYork,PA
My long haired hamster Tub-Tub is so cute! He's playful and always 100% excited all the time. But one thing is he eats a lot. I would recommend this hamster for a kid that's like 6 and up.
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Long Haired Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

great family ainimal

December 23, 2012
by Ainimallover
from----
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
these little hamsters are great, the have personality,they become apart of the family. be prepared to be cleaning there cage, spending money on bedding, food, cage,toys......overall a great pet(in memory of Sneak, R.I.P).
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Long Haired Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

AMAZING!

November 6, 2012
by AmazingFrogz
fromToronto
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I LOVE LOVE my little guy, and so does my little brother. He tells me how he goes to school and can't wait to get home to see him. They have awesome personalities and mine hasn't even bit me, and never did. New hamsters may bite in fear but mine has never.
They're inexpensive to care for, and I love them and shopping at petsmart makes it all a breeze.
Love my Male Hammy, Chip!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Long Haired Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

So Cute!!!!

July 3, 2012
by BellaDog4
fromMinnestoa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I just love these hamsters! i have 2 long haired hamsters and i just love them so much. they have opposite personalitys! i think that they are very easy to take care of and are PERFECT for first time pet owners!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Long Haired Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

Whats the best cage?

June 8, 2012
by LongHairHammyGirl
fromUtah
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Cage Question:
For this type of hamster, what is the appropriate sized habitat? (Crittertrail,All living things,etc..) I had one 6 years ago when i was 7 and i dont remember what cage i used and its LONG gone. Is crittertrail ok, like with all the tubes and stuff?
Hamster Review:
They are so sweet the one i had was gold and white and her name was Sugar. She never bit me or anything and they love treats!
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Long Haired Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

LOVE HER!!!!

June 6, 2012
by DaisyDaisy123456789
fromcalifornia
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
my new hamster daisy is so cute and loveable she doesn't bite me and I can barely hear her through the night. I think she runs until like midnight and then falls asleep after. if you are planing on getting one of these hamsters here are some tips:
. get a big enough cage so he/she can explore
. get good bedding so they won't get sick or the area wont smell that bad
. put a towel underneath the cage(they get bedding everywhere!)
. try to potty train them when they are babies buy a kit at pet smart
. let the hamster trust you, let them climb in your hand other than you directly picking them up the first few times
.clean their cage often 2x a week at most needed
.change their water often
. Love them
. KEEP THEM HEALTHY!!!!! take them to the vet or pet smart if things don't seem right.
buy them if you are ready for the responsibility of having a pet.
.recommended for years 10 and up
+21points
22of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Long Haired Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

Cute and worth my money and time

June 5, 2012
by noelb1998
fromKershaw,sc
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
i bought a long hair hamster who was a male we only got one b/c we herd they would fight. We had this certain one named Rufus for 3 years he went threw 2 cages b/c he got bigger. We spent i think about $15 on him plus about $50 for the cage and stuff(food,treats,toys,bedding,etc.) and he was loving and loved to be held and hand fed by people he loved to roll around in his ball all over the house and he loved to aggravate the cats and guinea pig by chasing them in the ball. So he was worth my time and money i was about 10 when we got him one Christmas and he dies when i was around 13 and i had grown attached to him so he was really old and could barely walk when he died the only thing i don't like about them is they can get stuck in the tube and we had to pull him out as he got older so we finally had to close the tube up so he couldn't go up to the top part of the cage. It's also very sad when they die if u keep them a long time like we did.so yes being 14 now we had gotten another one but it starved its self from being separated so we got another sibling of his but he still starved himself but if i had the heart to get another one i would.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Long Haired Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

long haired hamsters are awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

May 31, 2012
by 91braves91
fromtoronto
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
i love my cheeky i think everybody should get a long haired hamster as a pet there so much fun to play with and are very easy to tame and are very cuddly!!!!!!
GET ONE!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Long Haired Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

The best pet I've ever had!!!!!!

May 19, 2012
by TheDMan
fromCleveland,Oh
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
when i was 7 years old this was my first pet and i loved it so much i am 16 now and my house is now ifested wth these little guys i have 13 of them and they all have there own cages there is 2 in each cage accept for ginger her husband died a little while ago but any way if you ask me this is the best pet ive ever had there lovely and fun but I'd only let kids 6 and up have these type of pets they are really good beginners pets you should really listen to me when i say that yur hereing this from some one with 9 years of experience with these furry little little balls of fun
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Long Haired Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

Awesome first pet

May 10, 2012
by Awesomeman
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
I just got my first hamie her name is Carol she bit me once but it felt like nothing. She is white and brown she's so cute and soft I just want to squeeze her. She looooooves her wheel but you need to put vegetable oil on her wheel because it's not the silent spinner. She's awesome I highly recommend a long haired hamie. Their will hopefully be a nice lady/man to help you, I had a extremely nice lady help me. Caution they may scent you with their scent glands, other then that their awesome.!!!!
+19points
20of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Long Haired Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

very sweet, so adorable, and lots of fun!

April 28, 2012
by poodlewag
frommaryland
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I got my lovable hamster Caramel Latte on April Fools Day. I could hold her within the first day (as she was never very skittish) and I just love her to pieces! I would reccomend this hamster to mature younger children who have been told how to hold these fragile little pets properly. Latte enjoys being held and played with, and has only nipped when just woken up or not held properly. She's friendly, adorable, and is the #1 pocket pet!
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next