PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Fancy Bear Hamster

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Fancy Bear Hamster

Active at night Ideal for children 8 & up Solitary High energy level Lives 2 to 3 years Note: Pet availability is seasonal. State and local regulations may vary. Pricing may vary by store location. PetSmart stores cannot match the price below for this pet. Ask a store associate for details.
Overall rating:
4.796 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(93 reviews) 91
87 of 93(94%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Fancy Bear Hamster
Review 1 for Fancy Bear Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 93 reviews

EXCELLENT!

March 15, 2014
by softballgeek
fromSumerduck, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got my Fancy Bear Hammy a few weeks ago and he's a GREAT pet and a wonderful hamster. His name is Oreo, and he's my first hamster. Oreo is active at night, he loves to be picked upped and petted. But, I wouldn't recommend this product to any light sleeper-- they have the tendency to run at night, and of course, you can't take the wheel out because that's the only time they're active. But, they are always sleeping during the day also-- but Oreo, doesn't mind being woken up to play. I totally recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fancy Bear Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 93 reviews

Pet Specialist was amazing

March 14, 2014
by animalloverxoxo
fromSlidell , LA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I went in this evening to get a hamster. I expected the usual uneducated worker who would suggest the normal small crittertrails to get money but I was suprised when that wasn't the case. The specialist knew a lot about hamsters and even suggested that we buy a big cage. She even knew how to handle them. The hamsters were very taken care of and I am soo happy with the service. Also I am so happy with my purchase of my male brindle colored syrian(fancy bear) hamster.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fancy Bear Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 93 reviews

so if you ever said tHAT YOU CAN CHANGE IT

March 11, 2014
by pitukirock
fromalaska
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
so my hamster pituki is 2 years amd 8 months he is wonderful .I recommend this hamsters. people should deserve this wonderful gift from mother nature.also it is okay if they are timid .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fancy Bear Hamster
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 93 reviews

Cool pet!

January 28, 2014
by hammylover12
fromFlorida, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Ok! So I got a fancy bear hamster, 3 weeks ago about. Her name is piglet because her face looks like a piglet!! So this hamster is so cute!! Mine is chubby, which I personally think is super adorable. This hamster needs a good amount of space, not a critter trail cage I would not recommend that for this type of hamster. They are very easy to take care of as well. They do smell after 4 days without cleaning them though, which is fine you. Just clean them again, which is quite simple. He reason I don't give his hamster 5 stars is because she is skiddish. Don't get me wrong I love her soo much but I waited 3 days before touching her, and she was very scared. She still is, whenever I pet her she gets ready to nip and doesn't like to be held much. At first she was very uncalm while holding her. She practically ran out of my hands! Just know that when you first get them, you have to be patient with them, it takes a little longer for these hamsters to warm up to you. Now after 3 weeks she will let me hold her without being so fast, but still not very calm. Now I let her and she is less nervous. You just have to tame them well. They will warm up to you so give these little guys a chance!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fancy Bear Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 93 reviews

Amazing pet!

January 16, 2014
by puffysnowflake26
fromWA
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I really love my Syrian hamster, Peach! But always remember to do your research before you purchase your hamster. I am writing this review so that I can hopefully help people know the things they need before they bring their hamster home so your hamster can live a long, healthy life :D First you need a good amount of space for your hamster, my cage is 45 gallons (It's a diy cage :), and remember that cages such as critter trails are far to small for any hamster and the minimum cage size is 20 gallons. You will also need to be able to supply your hamster with chews, clean water, healthy food, treats, toys and a wheel. The wheel should not have mesh or metal bars because this can give your hamster bumble foot. I hope that if you read this it helped both you and your hamster if you didn't already know some of the information, and if you cannot supply your hamster with these things then I do not suggest you get one until you can do so. You can find me on youtube with hamster care videos, reviews and more! my username is puffysnowflake26! Thank You!!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fancy Bear Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 93 reviews

Amazing little guy

January 13, 2014
by Leiah
fromDiamond Bar, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
We bought a male fancy bear last week. Never owned a hamster. They let us hold him in the store(and other hamsters) to test them out before we bought on. He has a great demeanor and is very friendly and cuddly. Easy to handle and doesn't run away. Love him, will definitely shop at Petsmart for future hamsters
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fancy Bear Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 93 reviews

Great pet.

January 12, 2014
by Sunfun2002
fromSeattle, WA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got a black and white hamster recently. She is the best! Really easy to handle and almost never bites. Overall i think if you are getting a first pet a hamster is the right choice.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fancy Bear Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 93 reviews

5 Years and going

December 11, 2013
by turtletown
fromChattanooga, TN
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I had two female (still have one) they were in separate large cages and one died at the age of 2 and 3 years later Bright my other female is still alive she is very active has small stubs where her front teeth were. So we crush up her food for her and she loves it. So these are one of the best pets their is.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fancy Bear Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 93 reviews

Great pet! but do your research

November 25, 2013
by thecritterzoo
fromcalifornia
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I got A male fancy bear hamster aka Syrian hamster. Mine escaped after a day but caught it back after like 45 minutes i suggest when owning one you will have to do your research mine escaped due to having a platform i made and it climbed over the cage. This hamster also bit me but its due to me putting my finger in its mouth. Hamsters require 15-20 minutes of Playtime a day, 2 tablespoons of Food a day, Fresh water daily and chaning of the cages bedding weekly. If you have a Big cage then you should just change the Poops On the bedding and the corners. These HAmsters are nocturnal and sleep most of the time even at night! you must have chew toys for them to wear there teeth down, toys so they dont get bored, and for all syrians an 8" or larger wheel in diamater. HAmsters Dont like wheels with Bars or Mesh it can cause bumble foot a nasty disease and no PIne or Cedar Bedding HOpe this helps you ANd p.s Never leave this hamster out alone without any supervision last time i did for like 20 secconds it almost crawled into a hole i quicky saw it and grabbed it
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Fancy Bear Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 93 reviews

So easy to tame!!!!!!!!!

November 3, 2013
by TeddyLover
fromIowa, IA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
So I bought my Teddybear at 6 months old he is now 8 months and he is amazing. I think that all hamsters hove their own personalities and his is fun but shy he is also a little food lover! He takes after me he loves food but is thin. Anyways so i bought him and right when I bought him he already loved to be pet and picked up and was so sweet! He is an awesome pet and I definitely recommend a teddybear for any beginner.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Fancy Bear Hamster
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 93 reviews

Great hamsters

September 26, 2013
by Angelx77
fromOH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I've taken care of one of these hamsters, and my brother just bought another one. The first one lived for about three and a half years before he died of old age, so they can live for quite a long time if cared for properly. Now, there are some things to keep in mind when caring for a hamster. One is that they are indeed nocturnal, and so don't be surprised if they keep you at night while they run on their wheel and tunnel around their cage. They are nocturnal, after all, so it's just something to keep in mind and prepare for.
Also, our hamster turned out to be quite an escape artist. He managed to get out of several cages, and the ones at the store with ready made kits seemed to be the easiest for him to pry open. You'd be surprised what they can get out of. He even scaled down the top of a high dresser that his cage was on twice, which we thought was impossible for him to do.
Other than that, just make sure that you are gentle and patient and your hamster will get used to you. Interact with it slowly at first, and do not just try to grab it or pick it up without taming it. Trust me, after my hamster was finally tamed, he practically never left my side when i took him out. He would fall asleep in my hands and when i put him in his ball, would roll around the house and follow me. It's a great pet, and worth the care.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Fancy Bear Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 93 reviews

I love her

September 2, 2013
by Jen1994
fromMillville NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I got this hamster a couple days ago she is the sweetest thing ever but really lazy at times but its great for me she never bit me yet but she's still getting use to her surroundings
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Fancy Bear Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 93 reviews

Best pet ever!

August 24, 2013
by Seyah
fromI adore my Syrian hamster! And I love Petsmart!
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I got mine last week, and I absolutely adore him!!!!! He is scared of people, but not me, so easy to tame!!! His name is Cody by the way, he is so sweet! He loves to go in my sweatshirt pocket and hang out! Awesome pet for beginners! And all animal lovers!!! Enjoy your pet!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Fancy Bear Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 93 reviews

there good pets

July 30, 2013
by hermitcrabsrock12345678
fromoh,clevlend
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
my friend owns one and it rocks she hasn't trained it yet but it rocks.i do think they make good pets!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
-2points
5of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Fancy Bear Hamster
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 93 reviews

Good pets.

July 20, 2013
by tellitothefrogs
fromJensen Beach, FL
How many pets do you have?1
I got my hamster about ten years ago as a third grade present. She escaped her first night via pushing up the top of one of her tubs. (I do not recommend plastic cages AT ALL because of this reason). They can be very crafty! She was moderately friendly - she only bit me once in the two years I had her. She liked to be fed sunflower seeds from out hands. They can get a little nosy at night if they have a particularly squeaky wheel! Overall I recommend them as a pet if you're willing to take the time to pay attention to their needs (cage cleaning, water, food). They can be really cute little pets. ALSO, when it comes to socialization; I recommend that you do NOT have a "play date" with a friend's hamster (different breed). It resulted in a patch of hair on my girl's back that always looked shorter than the rest!
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Fancy Bear Hamster
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 93 reviews

July 10, 2013
by Sister2
fromCharleston, WV
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got a teddy bear hamster about 2 years ago from the petsmart in southridge. one day I played with him and he bit me. The next several days it happened over andover. Then one day we decided to take him back and get a new one and he was gone. He opened his cage and ran. It sounds impossible but he did it.
-7points
4of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Fancy Bear Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 93 reviews

SO ADORABLE!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE

May 6, 2013
by BabyGirlG
fromBrick Nj
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
my hamster butterscotch is so cute! she always stuffs her cheeks! she is so friendly! when i come in my room she goes to the door looking for me! and comes out at the same time every night for treats! she loves when i pet her fingers! a little hard to tame but a wonderful pet! Get from petsmart!
+15points
17of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Fancy Bear Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 93 reviews

April 15, 2013
by hamsterboss
fromkeedysvill,md
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
great little friends! i got one a year ago and it lived so far. make sure to give it lots of water and food for it to be healthy and grow big.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Fancy Bear Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 93 reviews

Sweet!

April 5, 2013
by SandraRS
fromCape Cod, MA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I got my hamster Darth Vader yesterday. Even though he's still adjusting to his new home, he's very sweet! He's super alert, energetic, and curious. Always comes over to sniff me when my hand is in the cage and never bites. A very nice hamster with a funny name. :)
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Fancy Bear Hamster
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 93 reviews

Perfect hamster

March 28, 2013
by Patchesthehamster
fromPeru,il
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got my fancy bear patchy from a local pet store after my robo died. He is very friendly, won't run away when I try to pick him up, and eats treats right out of my hand. Great choice for a starter pet.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next