PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Gerbils

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Gerbils

Active during the day Ideal for children 8 & up Loves to tunnel Social within the same family group Lives up to 3 years Note: Pet availability is seasonal. State and local regulations may vary. Pricing may vary by store location. PetSmart stores cannot match the price below for this pet. Ask a store associate for details.
Overall rating:
4.671 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(143 reviews) 136
135 of 143(94%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Gerbils
Review 1 for Gerbils
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 143 reviews

This is my first gerbil I used to have a hampster

March 15, 2014
by Mike53
fromRiva, MD
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I am calling her whisker's. My hamster was named Faith she passed away about 2 weeks ago
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Gerbils
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 143 reviews

Not what I expected...

March 10, 2014
by XSqueeksX
fromMuncie, IN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got my gerbils a few days ago. They are adorable, but terrified of people. If I so much as move my hand when they are out in their tank, they fly back to their hide house. They also bite. I read several reviews saying that they didn't bite, but that is not true at all. I still suggest these critters, but do expect to need patience in getting them to not run away from you or to not bite you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Gerbils
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 143 reviews

Amazing pets!

January 6, 2014
by a7chocolate
fromToronto,ON
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought my gerbil recently. So far I think they are amazing pets, they are friendly, adorable, and they don't smell a lot unless of course you sniff the cage! I have mine in my room and he is no problems at all! And you might think they don't live long but if you look up on the internet it says if you take good care of it it might live for six years! Some people think that they should not buy a gerbil because it does not live long, even if it might live 2-3 years, would you rather it die in the store where people are knocking on their windows or know that they lived a happy life at your house? Anyways I would recommend this pet for anyone, it never bites unless you smell like food but over all they are an excellent pet for children and adults!
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Gerbils
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 143 reviews

Very Cool Curious Little Furballs

December 16, 2013
by Violetheart
fromChesapeake, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Hi, I got two of these little guys and they are great pets though they love to chew on anything including clothes! Theyve never bitten me or anyone whos held them and one got out one time, all I had to do was make kissy sounds and he came up to me curious! Way different from having rats or hampsters! Its said that they are only up during the day but I found if you dont play with them occasionally they get hyper at night! Have them for 2 years so far!
+18points
21of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Gerbils
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 143 reviews

There perfect pets!

December 8, 2013
by Shanaynay
fromOntario
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
There sweet pets! There amazing amazing amazzzziing creatures! I 100% recommend this pet to everyone!!!!!! It's awesome.
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Gerbils
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 143 reviews

Awesome!

November 10, 2013
by DragonFire
fromCary, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I love my gerbils! My little boys are the sweetest little things. I have a Gryffindor (that means brave and daring for you non Harry Potter fans) and a Ravenclaw (loyal and obedient). They are opposites! But, opposites attract. I love my boys and I've had them for two years. They're very tame and friendly and they just love grapes! Buy two of these if you want a small pet and you won't be disappointed as long as you tame them and care for them properly.
+16points
19of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Gerbils
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 143 reviews

The best small pet!

November 9, 2013
by britdexm5hailcuteness
fromnw
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
gerbils are the best pet,,i highly reccemomd them so cheap last 2-3 years so quite not smelly at all...Get one I totally say yes.soooo soft.dont bite at all
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Gerbils
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 143 reviews

I Love this pet!!

September 20, 2013
by Callie27
fromCalifornia, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I love gerbils! They have their own personality. I recommend getting anything but pine or cedar. Also if they are in a wire cage then don't get aspen. Aspen seems to stick to everything. Get paper or wood pulp bedding. I love my gerbils.
+15points
18of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Gerbils
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 143 reviews

Gerbils are great pets

September 6, 2013
by Tarra
fromPeru, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have had my baby for a year now and he is just the silliest guy. He has an amazing personality and you know when he is mad at you for something. Interesting fact I feel I have to share about gerbils. They are the one rodent that you can train easily like you would with a dog. They can play, rollover, etc.. Very interesting animals they each got their own way of things and enjoy life all around. Great company when you seriously need it they know when you are upset and when you are happy. I would recommend a gerbil to someone if they couldn't have a dog in their home. I would say though you should get two of them because they do get lonely. Also make sure the two you get are same gender and from same cage or litter, because they can get very mean with other gerbils.
+25points
25of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Gerbils
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 143 reviews

September 2, 2013
by Sparkles10
fromVille Platte ,Louisiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I'm 10 and I got my very first gerbil today .I named her smokey because she is grey and white. I have only had her for a few hours but from the first time I saw her it was love at first sight .i would definitely recommend a gerbil to anyone who is interested in buying a small pet.
+18points
22of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Gerbils
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 143 reviews

best small pet

September 1, 2013
by gerbils365
fromgreer sc
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
gerbils are the best small pet ever. i have had pets since i was 5 and with 25 pets in total my two gerbils are the best they even understand some human words.i have also had hamsters and mice and let me say this 'never ever again'they smell unlike gerbils because gerbils are from the desert the drink little water so then they use the bathroom as much and they are a lot nicer and energetic
+11points
15of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Gerbils
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 143 reviews

Excellent Pets

August 21, 2013
by Sophos
fromCanada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Gerbils are great starter pets, as long as the owner is devoted to the gerbil for the duration of its lifetime. Every time I visit Petsmart, the gerbils look extremely healthy (clean bottoms, fur, eyes, and noses) and are alert. Whether the gerbil likes human interaction depends on its personality, so be sure to watch the gerbil for some time before purchasing. I currently have 5 gerbils from Petsmart and have had zero health problems to date.
+14points
17of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Gerbils
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 143 reviews

Good pets

August 2, 2013
by Maddie2716
fromMN
I have 4 gerbils (2 boys 2 girls). The boys and girls live in separate cages. They are fun pets. Only one of the 4 likes to be held and doesn't squirm and try to bite me. People will tell you they don't smell as much as hampsters, but they do. Mine are litter box trained and we clean it out 1-2 times a day but they still smell.
+14points
18of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Gerbils
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 143 reviews

best pet in the world

August 2, 2013
by Anonymous
fromontario canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
i have 2 males they absaloutly love each other so make sure to buy 2 from the same family.mine are very well loved and they are turning 4 years in october. make sure to have lots of things to chew on and a house to sleep in at night. DO NOT putthem in a cage with wire bars because they will chew through them. i recomend a 10 gallon aquarium, with cage bar tops. also put there sand batth bowl on top of the door on the cage because they will jump up and open the door unless something heavy is on it. i love gerbils.
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Gerbils
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 143 reviews

Great Purchase!

July 6, 2013
by MegLovesAnimals
fromMichigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I really love the PetSmart Gerbils! I have had mine for a little over a year now, and it is doing great! She is very active and loves to play around. Most often she is easy to handle, and she loves to run around! Also, when I was at the store, they let me pick which gerbil I wanted which was great!
+28points
33of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Gerbils
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 143 reviews

Amazing!

July 6, 2013
by KatieLovesAnimals
fromMichigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I really love PetSmarts Gerbils! When I went to the store the people that worked there were so helpful! My sister and I got to pick which ones we wanted! The gerbils are kind and they do not bite, they are really easy to handle also! They are really easy to care for and I would reccomend this to anyone!
+31points
31of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Gerbils
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 143 reviews

Great pet for begginers

June 22, 2013
by sixbunniekewl
fromArkansas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is a great starter pet for people who have never had small pets before. They are easy to care for, but are also fun to play with and watch. My gerbil, Alexander Stripes, loves to run around on my bed and play while I clean his cage.
+17points
20of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Gerbils
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 143 reviews

Gerbils are the best pets!

June 22, 2013
by ash98
fromMobile, AL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My gerbil Gabber died just last night. He lived for 5 and a half years. He was the best pet that I've ever had. He loved to be held and played with and wasn't a picky eater at all. He loved pumpkin seeds. I would definitely recommend gerbils as pets. If you get one, you won't regret it
+32points
35of 38voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Gerbils
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 143 reviews

Amazing Pet, Great Store

June 19, 2013
by fitz1021
fromChicago, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
The gerbil I bought from PetSmart was great!! The staff was very kind and patient when I was deciding. GREAT STAFF! The gerbil is healthy and happy. All pets look happy at PetSmart. Great animal!
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Gerbils
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 143 reviews

KILLED AND EATEN

June 19, 2013
by dderftgyhj
fromCOrpus christi, texas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
i bought 2gerbils an within a week, one had killed, and strated eating the other, it wasnt the size of the tanks, I had 4 10 gallon tanks and a small hamster cage all connected and they went all through it
-62points
3of 68voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next