PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Fancy Rat

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Fancy Rat

Very social Ideal for children 8 & up Will enjoy a cage mate Intelligent, can learn tricks Lives 3 to 5 years Note: Pet availability is seasonal. State and local regulations may vary. Pricing may vary by store location. PetSmart stores cannot match the price below for this pet. Ask a store associate for details.
Overall rating:
4.86 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(157 reviews) 152
154 of 157(98%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Fancy Rat
Review 61 for Fancy Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 157 reviews

such sweethearts!

December 2, 2012
by kyky2301
fromDixon, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
about a week ago i got 2 hooded fancey rats (names: hiedi, dakota/kota) i didnt get them from petsmart but i did get their huge cage and bed there. because where i live their supplier was out so they didnt have any sadly): but i still got my 2 sweethearts(: hiedi still doesnt like being handled to much. kota gently bites sometimes its kind of like a play bite i have owened tons of hamsters in my life i raised one from birth that died a week ago and i handled her alot but she did bite me once or twice. so i wanted to try something new and these guys are so freaking cute and each have their own personality i highly recomend getting 2 rats and a really nice sized cage for the both of them(:
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 62 for Fancy Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 157 reviews

Loving pet

December 1, 2012
by RatGirl10
fromNampa, ID
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My pet rat is very sweet and cuddly! Very sweet pets. Highly recommend!!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 63 for Fancy Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 157 reviews

The best pets i have ever owned!!!!

November 19, 2012
by ajdenfeld
fromOregon
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Okay so if you think hamsters(Rabbits, guinea pig, gerbils, and mice) are better then rats. Then YOUR WRONG!!! Rats are amazing pets! I got my first 2 for my birthday the year before last year . And i got another for my last birthday. There names are: Daila, Kirby and tinker. And they are the best pets i've ever owned! The reason why i got them: I had to move and couldn't bring my cat with me but, my mom said that when we got settled in, we could get a guinea pig or something like that, But Certainty not A rat!. Well i was on the way home from my friends house(After we moved in) with my friend next to me. And i was saying That my mom said we might get a guinea pig. And that i didn't know if that was what i wanted. But then my friend told me i should get a rat, and naturally i was like "Eww, no way", my friend said that she had a rat once and that there very friendly and smart. But i still said "no". Then one day i was looking on the humane society website, and i saw this rat. He was so cute. My mom had been trying to get me to go to school, and stop home schooling for a while(I've been home schooled my whole life) And i said that i would go to school if i could get a rat, at that time my birthday was coming up. She didn't give me a answer. But Since that day i had started reading about rats. And then the day before my birthday my sister and my mom went and got me a rat(Daila) On my birthday i woke up with my new rat(Daila) Sleeping in a little rat carrier(I hadn't gotten a cage yet, because that was one of the present i was to open later that night) At first i wanted to name her hermione(Yes after Hermione off of harry potter). Then the next day i wanted another rat(At that time i didn't know you Have to get two rats) So i used my money to buy Kirby, daila's sister. So I ended up getting 2 rats with out having to go to school XD. Now On to business. Rats are very friendly and social creatures so it is animal cruelty not to get 2 rats. My rats sit on my shoulder and love gummy bears too! I highly suggest Getting rats! and NOT any thing else :)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 64 for Fancy Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 157 reviews

LOVE MY RATTIE <3

November 18, 2012
by Mimi11
fromNew Brunswick, Canada
I have loved my rat Izzy since the day I got her ! Its funny because I was accually looking into buying a hamster. So one day it was time for me to get all of the supplies needed ( cage, food, water bottle, hideaway ect. ). So my mum and I had a cart full of hamster supplies, and we were just about to pick out the hamster. I had a hamster all picked out bu we wanted to ask some questions. So we got talking to an employee of petsmart about the product. But they said they tend to bite. And my mum and I both got worried. But then he recommended the fancy rat. At first we were like what!! But when we learned how sweet they are it definitely sealed the deal. So I looked at the selection of rats and when I saw her my eyes just lit up! That was definitely my rattie! When we went to pick her up I was so excited and since that day I have never looked back and said I shouldn't of gotten her, because man they are terrific pets! I'm leaning twards getting another! You will definitely love these little critters !!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 65 for Fancy Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 157 reviews

Blue n Spawn Besties for Life

November 1, 2012
by BLUENSPAWN2012
fromcastle rock, co
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I purchased 2 female fancy rats from petsmart in castle rock. They were my BEST FRIENDS and they were always there for me when I had no one and nothing else in the world. They were always by my side sneaking my macncheese lol:) spawn was like a dog always loved to be rubbed down especially on the ears haha. and Blue was a free spirit always wanting freedom but always knew she was welcome with me. I remember they both got sick at the same time and almost died but me and my boyfriend were by their side all through the night and they came through!! they had so much more love for us after that they were spoiled too lol:) very smart creatures too. but my boyfriends family adopted them out without my permission now i am either forced to get new ones or just live wit my sadness of knowing that they can not be replaced??
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 66 for Fancy Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 157 reviews

Get Two!

October 26, 2012
by Cavy
fromFountain Valley, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
If you don't have any decent breeders or rescues in your area, PetsMart is a surprisingly decent place to get a rat. They sell pets, not feeders. In fact, the rats are given vaccinations for health that would kill a snake that ate them (or so an employee told me).
Make sure you get two ratties; they'll be lonely if you don't and you'll miss out on soooo much! My boys Gnome and Kobold have very different personalities, and if I only had one I'd never see half of the behavior that makes them so endearing. For example, Gnome is a people rat and likes to ride around on my shoulder, and cuddle in my lap sometimes (briefly; he's still young and hyper!). Kobold is less cuddly, but fun in other ways. He can jump almost four feet from my bed . . . and land right back in his cage! Never misses! Watching him eat is extra fun, because he is such a savage, like a 3-year-old informed they could eat a whole cake in one go! Gnome is a little more dainty about it. Plus, if I only had one I'd never get to see them wrestle! They play kind of like dogs. If your rats are playing and you hear them squeaking, don't worry. It's only fighting if blood is drawn or one is keeping another from food and water.
Another bit of advice: When you first get your rats home, be mean! Don't give them anywhere to hide. Give them open yet comfortable places to sleep, like baskets and hammocks. This way, they will quickly learn they have no reason to hide. If they have a place to hide, they will never learn they have no reason to be scared. Also, force handling on them. Put them in a pillow case or backpack, and sit with them on your lap wile watching tv or working on the computer. You'll feel a little mean, but they will soon love you and you won't regret it. I recommend the fancyrats forum for more info. They're UK based, but very knowledgeable.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 67 for Fancy Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 157 reviews

I love my two fancy rats

October 15, 2012
by dmonkeyboo
fromGeorgia, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have two fancy rats the oldest her name is Fancy and the youngest is named Pants. Fancy had a bloody nose and so Pants took care of her and brought her food and now she is feeling better and Pants is happy about it. I am looking at them now cuddling together asleep.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 68 for Fancy Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 157 reviews

The best pet next to a cat or dog!!!

July 7, 2012
by Jeffrey4ever
fromLindale, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Okay, I got my fancy rat, Jeffrey, today at PetSmart. I was going to get two, but the attendant told me to just get one. So, I wanted to get the only dumbo rat they had left, but when I went to pick him up, he freaked and hid. But the other rat, a fancy rat, ran right up to me. When the attendant handed him to me, he ran right up to my neck and snuggled. So, i brought him home. He has already figured out how to ride on my shoulder, how to navigate the maze I built him, and how to run to me when he's scared. He almost knows his name! He comes whenever I snap my fingers and say, "Here Jeffrey! Here boy!" while making a clicking sound with my tongue. By far the best pet after a cat or dog. If you want a cool, loyal, unique, not-too-expensive pet, get a rat!! I love my little Jeffrey, and your rat will love you too!
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 69 for Fancy Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 157 reviews

With lots of love and good care?

July 4, 2012
by OiiwiiO
fromPA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Rats make very lovely and loving companions. I got two hooded rats about three years ago, and another one a few months ago. Tuzik is great, as were my other two. They are very social creatures, and should be kept in groups of two or more. Tuzik is currently alone, however he is a very rare case and is only compassionate toward people. I have tried introducing him to another rat for weeks, and he would just get aggressive. He is, though, very friendly toward me, my friends, and family. C:
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 70 for Fancy Rat
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 157 reviews

Nice but...

June 27, 2012
by Natasha123
fromI'm not supposed to give out this info! :)
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I'm not a big "rat" fan.
-121points
5of 131voted this as helpful.
Review 71 for Fancy Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 157 reviews

The little guys

June 22, 2012
by Valena
fromolympia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have had many rats befor but my 1st I got from petsmart his name was Bubbles he was so sweet he came to his name when u called him. he would play with with u it was so cool i loved that rat. But one day he just disappeared i was so sad :( but petsmart sells the best rats ever :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 72 for Fancy Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 157 reviews

Rats are the GREATEST pets!

May 27, 2012
by akr0429
fromGreenville, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got two male rats from Petsmart last september and I couldn't be happier with my decision to get them. I live alone so Reginald and Sebastian are my roommates. Within two months, they learned their names and could fetch a small hay ball and bring it back to me. They are so loving and playful. Reggie is a little more exuberant and Seb usually likes to stay close to me, but they love each other very much and keep each other company when I'm out. DO NOT get only one rat. Unless you can spend the majority of your time with them, get two. They need some company. The only con to getting them is that so many people have a poor and misguided opinion of them, and may judge you for it. Please don't pay attention to how they are shown in the movies as evil creatures. They are sweet and lovable and Reggie and Seb are the best decision I ever made. I love them more I could have ever imagined.
+32points
32of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 73 for Fancy Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 157 reviews

Rat's are by far the best small pet for kids.

May 22, 2012
by diana0509
fromOhio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have had pet rat's for over 17yrs now. My son was 3yrs old with our 1st one "Littlefoot", she went to pre-school with him every day weather permitting. She loved the kids & allowed them to pick her up all the time! She never once nipped or bit any of the kids or us. I have in all my years never been bit by 1 of these loveable little ones. They are very smart, love to be held, cuddled & played with. I now even have a hairless "Squeaker's" who is the love of our family. I cant express all the love & joy our little ones have given us over the years. I highly recomend for small children or for anyone of any age...I guarantee they will give you more unconditional love than you ever imagined. <3
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 74 for Fancy Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 157 reviews

I LOVE MY RATS <3

May 14, 2012
by teag
fromChicago
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
we bought two female fancy rats about 3 weeks ago, they are so sweet,cute,cuddley,trainable,fun,socail,funny,adorable,friendly,curious and nice. i would recomend this type of pet.I enjoy watching them.I'm in the middle of potty training them:)So far so good!Another thing I would recomend would be an aquarium.Cause they like to kick around the bedding and it gets every were!
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 75 for Fancy Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 157 reviews

May 10, 2012
by CookieLovesAron
fromWilson, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
it was my first time getting a rat and a first it had never crossed my mind to get one, I have had hamsters and cats and dogs and all kinds of other pets in the past ,but as I read more about how smart rats are the more I wanted one. At first my boyfriend Aron was scared to play with my rat ,Speedy. Now however Aron and Speedy are the best of friends and I'm so happy I got him. Speedy really is apart of the family :)
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 76 for Fancy Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 157 reviews

I love my rats!

April 22, 2012
by krissyboooo
fromOklahoma City, Oklahoma
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have purchased four rats from Petsmart.
I love them so much! You won't be disapointed. Very sweet and loving. Great pets (:
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 77 for Fancy Rat
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 157 reviews

Very social and fun

April 22, 2012
by BekahBoo
fromElbert, CO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I've had a few rats off and on over the past few years. My first rat was named Sylvester and he was very well mannered and nice. The rat I have now I purchased from Petsmart right before Christmas and her name is Missy. She's the first female rat I've owned so it's a new thing for me. She's got a lot of energy and curiosity which sometimes gets her in trouble.
Over all if you keep their cage clean and give them a place to hide they will be your best friend.
+14points
16of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 78 for Fancy Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 157 reviews

the best

April 15, 2012
by ratscats
frommn
How many pets do you have?5 or more
this is the best pet ever i have three 1 boy 2 girls and they are so great they give me kisses and come to there names there so great i cant beleave i didnt get one sooner i use to scream when i came even 5 feet but now im the only one in my house who crys when they say there was a nother rat in the trap iv been trying to get them to use live traps so we can let them free in the park or keep them if its a littel baby i tottly recommend this pet to any one they are the best i cant even push how much you need to get one so get one
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 79 for Fancy Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 157 reviews

You won't be sorry!

April 5, 2012
by Timsierramist
fromUpland, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Rats get a bad rap. From the great Mouse Detective to Despereaux. They're always doing bad things in popular fiction. Put aside those thoughts and take a lesson from an experienced owner. You won't be sorry.
Today my longtime rat, OREO, got to the point where his quality of life was to the point where I had to have him euthanize. To some it may just be a rat, but to me, Oreo may as well have been my dog.. I consider myself a tough guy, but the adventures we went on together and time we had made me upset to the point of tears.
And that is the relationship you will likely have with your rat. They can leave the cage to explore, you can take them to the park and they will run around and come back to you (they enjoy the outdoors but are scared of it as domestic animals. They feel safe and familiar with you so they won't run away). They will hang on your shoulders nibbling whatever you give them or curl up in your lap and sleep while you watch TV. The smartest of all rodents, they can be trained to perform a variety of tricks easily from coming when you call their name to being potty trained.
Most of all, if you choose to befriend one of these creatures, you will want to get a minimum of 2. They are highly social creatures, and when you can't play with them, need someone to play with and social groom. They are not made to be alone and need friends or they will develop social and mental disorders, so please don't make that all too common mistake. It's like solitary confinement.
All it takes to receive these results is time spent with them, and they will become your best friend equal to any dog or cat or pet you can find. The only negative aspect is they die far too soon. If your rat reaches 3 years it will be well into it's golden years. If you take care of it, this will be likely.
As everyone else says, I can't say enough about these amazing creatures. Befriend one today. Fun for the whole family, and be sure to pick up a good book at Petsmart or surf many of the excellent internet sites available for tips, tricks and good parenting information.
*Oreo in the picture, about 2 weeks before he died.
+25points
27of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 80 for Fancy Rat
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 157 reviews

Favorite pets ive had so far!

April 5, 2012
by DefyGravity987
fromTroy, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have three male rats: The Doctor, Captain Jack, and Mimsy. I LOVE these guys to death! They are cute, funny, sweet, mischievous, and lovable!
They are easy to entertain, as well as entertaining to watch. Its so funny how they all three have completely different personalities, yet get along so well!
My cat wasn't sure about them at first but now one of his favorite things to do is sit and watch their cage, and only one of my guys is afraid of kitty.
Its really easy to make lots of easy but fun homemade toys and shelters for these little guys.
PS If you get males, make sure your okay with them having fairly large "family jewels", they can get huge!
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8 next