PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Blue Parakeet

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Blue Parakeet

Ideal for children 14 & up Easy to tame; natural clowns Smart and easily trained Lives 10 to 15 years Note: Pet availability is seasonal. State and local regulations may vary. Pricing may vary by store location. PetSmart stores cannot match the price below for this pet. Ask a store associate for details.
Overall rating:
4.742 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(97 reviews) 95
94 of 97(97%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Blue Parakeet
Review 1 for Blue Parakeet
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 97 reviews

Very noisy but cute

March 4, 2014
by Illoveanimals
fromEastern shore,VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
These are adorable animals,and they are fun.But mine,Miley,Would squawk all night so we had to put a towel over her cage.Not good for people who like peacefulness or live in apartments (might annoy the neighbors).Overall,a bit needy and messy but lots of fun if you're ready for some work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Blue Parakeet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 97 reviews

Great Pet

February 1, 2014
by Kim615
fromNew Jersey
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
After my hamster died:(, I was looking for another pet. With some quick research I knew that I wanted a parakeet. I just got my blue Parakeet recently and I LOVE him. I named him Harley and within a week he was able to step up on my finger and be taken out of the cage! He never once tried to bite me and is the sweetest little bird. Even though its easier to tame them, I don't recommend getting their wings clipped because its not very good for them. They won't be able to fly and can lose muscle in their wings from not using them. I love my new bird and take him out of my cage everyday when I get home from school! Highly Recommend parakeet for anyone looking for a bird that not that high maintenance but is smart and fun to play with!!!!
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Blue Parakeet
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 97 reviews

Too loud

January 17, 2014
by Gemm
fromBrampton, Ontario
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
They are very cute but only get this bird if you are willing to hear endless chirping all day long, especially very early in the morning. Do not keep them close to your TV because you will never be able to hear your shows over their loud chirping. I could not handle my 2 budgies & their loudness so I kept them outside in the summer and unfortunately in my basement in the winter. Finally after almost 1 year someone bought them from me. I couldn't take it anymore!!
-23points
3of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Blue Parakeet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 97 reviews

Best pet ever

January 6, 2014
by Angel16
fromOakland CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
i had lot of parakeets when i was a child they all died after many years..they are fun to watch and play i recommend to buy a male if you are a new bird owner cause females are not so social and they need more time to tame.!
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Blue Parakeet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 97 reviews

love our spunky

December 30, 2013
by keetfan
fromBroome County, NY
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
this is our handsome lil spunky. He's smart & a noisy lil guy esp when I've worked 3rd shinft & want to sleep, but love him wouldn't trade him in for anything in the world.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Blue Parakeet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 97 reviews

My little sweetheart!

December 27, 2013
by budgiebhatti123
fromNiagara Falls, ON
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I love this bird too death! It took me like a week to tame her and now whenever I get home from school she plays with me for hours. It is soooo easy to entertain her and when she falls asleep sitting on my knee it's literally the cutest thing ever! The only bad thing about her is that she is a bit messy (expected) and she is the clumsiest little thing! I wouldn't suggest a parakeet as a first pet for a young child just because there are a few rules you need to follow and you have to be very gentle. Other than that I recommend this bird 100%. What are you waiting for? Go buy one!
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Blue Parakeet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 97 reviews

My Best Friend

December 13, 2013
by BlackChis3
fromVirginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have a little blue boy who is now about 4 yrs old. He has become hand tamed and talks. I also have two others who aren't tamed and they are still amazing. They are beautiful and loving I think they are extremely underrated. A wonderful pet.
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Blue Parakeet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 97 reviews

Such a Beautiful Guy

November 26, 2013
by SassyGirls
fromNebraska
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got my blue parakeet about a month ago. He has the beautiful markings of strips of white and blue with thick black markings. I decided on the name Bane, he is such a big bird compared to my green one. He is the bit more dominant one, but barely. He was able to get my other budgie out of its shell. Because of that they are both very outgoing and love to chatter to each other. He is a bit of a food hog though, but I have a few cups of food throughout the cage.
Side note, if you're looking for a boy it's not easy to tell when they're young. Boys - BLUE or BLUE-VIOLET (Unless albino or all yellow...big gamble there) Girls - BROWN or PINK (Tricky when a bird my have blue-violet with hints of pink could go either way).
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Blue Parakeet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 97 reviews

Captain Jack Harkness The Budgie

November 26, 2013
by Oscaror
fromOntario, Canada
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My budgie, Jack, is a blessing! My parents took me out to get him because I wasn't able to see "the day of the doctor" I am delighted to have made the decision to buy jack and I still got to see the movie on TV, so all good. Jack took 4 days to tame but once tamed he is so friendly! He gets along with my diamond dove, crawling on the cage staring inside, in fact, he hesitates to go to his own cage at bedtime because he loves twitter the dove. He makes me super happy and I couldn't ask him to be sweeter!
Below is a picture of jack on the dove cage, and you can see my dove in the cage too
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Blue Parakeet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 97 reviews

love my parakeet

November 16, 2013
by hopwe56
fromwaynesville
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
I love my parakeet he is a boy and soon will have a girl. he likes to chirp and is wonderful in every way imaginable.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Blue Parakeet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 97 reviews

AWESOME PET!

November 4, 2013
by SheikWolfXtm
fromOhio (OH)
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
i got my parakeet on 7/21/13 and he was a cute and funny thing! he would always want out to play and loves to listen to music!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Blue Parakeet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 97 reviews

Budgies are VERY noisy, messy, and cute

October 31, 2013
by Birdbrain770
fromGA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I love my two babies. I've had them for a year now. One is yellow and the other is blue. The blue one is a female and she loves human interaction. The male, not so much. They throw seeds everywhere, take baths in the water dish, chew up the paper in the bottom of the cage, and demand to be let out for flight time at least once a week. All the work of caring for them is worth it! Their song and personality make my day brighter. Just wanted to be honest with anyone considering getting one.
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Blue Parakeet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 97 reviews

Sweet Hearts!

October 30, 2013
by fishyfoo
fromNew York, NY
I bought my blue/white budgie (Her name is Splash) about 2 years ago, and fell in LOVE with her! She is just the cutest thing and is so excited to see me when I get home! She makes really cute noises, and is ALWAYS talking to me. I soon discovered that she was bored all day while I was at school for 6 hours, so I decided to buy her a friend to keep her company. I bought Gia (green parakeet) just recently and so far, Splash and Gia get along with each other OK. They are both very tame, go on my finger, on my shoulder/head, fallow me around the house, fly to me on command, and I even trained them to go up the stairs! Overall, wonderful companions and pets! I am looking forward to spending many more years with my girls!
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Blue Parakeet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 97 reviews

I LOVE JAMES!

October 16, 2013
by thatparakeetbabe
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I got my Budgie, James Sullivan, three years ago. I love him to death and spoil him. He is the best pet ever. I trained him to not make a lot of noise. Please buy a budgie and make your life better!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Blue Parakeet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 97 reviews

My new bird

August 25, 2013
by Tweety13
fromNewnan GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My hubby bought my parakeet on the 8/21/13. I am so happy about having (Tweety). I can't wait until i can find out if i have a girl or boy. Very easy to take care of. Only take once a week cleaning out the cage. They feed thier on self. I talk to tweety daily. You will be very happy with your parakeet. I plan to get another parakeet so tweety want be lonely.
+10points
14of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Blue Parakeet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 97 reviews

August 6, 2013
by Domio
fromIllinois, IL
What is your gender?M
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My parakeet is so cute he sits on my shoulder and eats out of my hand. He loves to play with his toys and enjoys my new female parakeet. Their names are angel and darla. I love my birds!!!
+11points
16of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Blue Parakeet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 97 reviews

Wonderful Pets

July 28, 2013
by Drisanna
fromMaryland
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Budgies have, gram for gram, more personality than almost any bird. They tend to be lively, but not terribly noisy (like conures, which can drive you out of your house in 10 seconds flat when they decide to set up a screech).
Petsmart has a good selection of nice, young birds, so you're almost guaranteed of finding one that is visually appealing to you. And because they are young, they are easily tamed once they have adjusted to their new homes. It isn't possible to tell the gender of these babies, as they are still too young, but that isn't much of an issue, as both the males and females make good pets and can be trained easily.
If you plan on being your birds companion, then you should only initially get a single, so that it will focus on you, rather than on its cage mate(s). Also, do not put a mirror in the cage until you and your new baby are fast friends. If you plan on leaving your pet in it's cage most (or all) of the time, then they are best off with a companion or two, and mirrors are fine. If you do give them a mirror, however, watch to make sure they don't get so fascinated with the bird in the mirror that they forget to eat and drink properly.
Their dietary needs are simple, and they are usually pleased to enjoy the fresh greens and fruit that you share with them. They even enjoy gnawing a chicken or pork chop bone from time to time.
+37points
39of 41voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Blue Parakeet
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 97 reviews

not the best pet

July 15, 2013
by billybob10
fromindana
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
have had tons of parakeets growing up a couple of them where good but most of them bit me all the time and the never lived long like a month then they died and they are that extordernary and cool and the cost a lot 18$ for that little bird 9 or 10 is a reasonably price
-66points
5of 76voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Blue Parakeet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 97 reviews

Interesting

July 9, 2013
by randomstrager
fromEnterprise, AL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got one of these birds when I was 18. A blue one... He was fun to have but the cage was NOT easy to clean. make sure you're up to the task to get one of these birds. If your not very hard-working (Don't lie to yourself), then, I'd just stop right here and look for a goldfish or something... Anyway, the bird was fun but it wasn't easy to train. He used to always bite my fingers all the time and would sing me to sleep at night. :) overall, having the bird was a fun experience and a great way to get some responsibility!!!! (As long as you don't mind getting a little pecked during training.) Good Luck to those who get one!!!! P.S. Sorry for being a little rude earlier.
+5points
14of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Blue Parakeet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 97 reviews

Cutest birds ever!

June 28, 2013
by AllyAS
fromSilver Lake, MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I got Custer and Claudia a couple months ago and they are the cutest birds. They love to sing and show off. I recommend parakeets to anyone who is going to be a first time bird parent. So easy to take care of and fun to play with!
+23points
27of 31voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next