PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Green Cheek Conure

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Green Cheek Conure

Ideal for children 14 & up Smart & easily trained Can be noisy Lives 20 to 30 years Note: Pet availability is seasonal. State and local regulations may vary. Pricing may vary by store location. PetSmart stores cannot match the price below for this pet. Ask a store associate for details.
Overall rating:
4.889 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 26
26 of 27(96%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Green Cheek Conure
Review 1 for Green Cheek Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

amazing companion!

November 28, 2013
by BirdLovers
fromRichland, Wa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I got Ruby a few days ago at my local PerSmart. I was iffy about getting her because 329$ seemed like a lot for a pet. But after meeting her and holding her I fell in love. She hasn't once tried bitting me and LOVES to cuddle. As soon as I put her on my chest she falls asleep and rests on her belly. She hasn't starting making noises because she's still getting used to me. And she isn't stepping up yet but man is she amazing! I never thought a per store bird could be so perfect!!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Green Cheek Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

Ruby

November 4, 2013
by SandraRS
fromCape Cod, MA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I adopted/bought my green cheek, Ruby, at the end of May. Honestly, the first few weeks were rough. I have other birds and knew what to expect but Ruby is a whole different kind of personality compared to my other two.
He was a biter. However, I was warned he hadn't been worked with much at our wonderful Petsmart, and knew he would take some training. So they did the right thing. I just fell in love with a bird who'd take some more work. :)
And I have to say that after a few months of training, Ruby has become the sweetest and silliest bird I have ever had. No more biting either!
He's super smart! Within a week of having him, he started saying "What are you doing?" and months later he now knows over ten phrases and noises.
He'll eat ANYTHING. Vegetables, pellets, seeds, the list goes on and on. Ruby is not picky and loves it all.
Ruby is just an awesome bird. I seriously recommend a green cheek conure to anyone looking for a sweet, talkative, curious, and intelligent animal. They're amazing birds and Petsmart does a good job with them.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Green Cheek Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

A Wonderful New Friend

August 14, 2013
by SuperCupcake
fromFredericksburg, Va
I bought my green-checked conure at our local Petsmart after considering the responsibilities of taking care of a feathered friend. She is wonderful! I've heard that this breed can tend to be nippy at times, but overall my bird is great with people and really friendly! She likes to snuggle and make "quacking sounds" when she is happy and mine is quite vocal (ex. copying laughter of a person on the TV after hearing a few times)I highly recommend purchasing one of these delightful little birds that will brighten your day.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Green Cheek Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

Great Bird

June 25, 2013
by GzLady
fromPueblo, Colorado
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I saw Sugar at our local Petsmart and fell in love with her. I didn't leave with her that day but came back for her after the weekend. I read how smart and affectionate these birds were but I was blown away when I met her. The staff there had been working with her already so she was very friendly and loved to held. Now that we have gotten settled in at home she still loves to be held and loves to be right there with you. These birds make great pets as long as you have the time to spend with them, they require almost as much of a person's time and attention as a child would.
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Green Cheek Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

BEST. BIRD. EVER.

February 10, 2013
by ElaS
fromWestern New York
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
2 years ago I bought my green cheek and he is amazing! He`s perfectly healthy, very sociable, and he has never bites me. Petsmart does an amazing job with their birds. Not only is he very sweet and non-messy, but he also talks! He says "pretty birdie," and he loves to make the kissing noise. Adorable! For anyone who is not comfortable with the price, all I have to say is that these birds are worth every penny! When I bought my conure, I was given his birth certificate so that way I know his hatch date and other info, but also the workers were so nice to let him keep his toys as a going away present! 2 years later, those toys are still his favorite! Best investment of my life <3
+34points
34of 34voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Green Cheek Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

February 1, 2013
by MV123
fromLas Vegas, Nevada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I Love My Green Cheek Conure..! He Is The Best pet i've ever had in my entire life.! My conure is so playful..! i just can't imagine my life without him <3 ! he currently doesnt talk..but im teaching him and hopefully he starts talking soon :D
- If you want to buy one..but you're not completely sure..Just go for it.! you wont regret it..! :D <3
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Green Cheek Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

January 30, 2013
by Poke1253
fromPlantation FL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
These are great and amazing birds to have as a pet! They can be nosiy but there great birds to have
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Green Cheek Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

I LOVE MT BIRD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

December 12, 2012
by Digi
fromWA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I'm 13 and my bird, Yoshi, is wonderful! He's shy and loves to sit on my shoulder and cuddle. He also loves music and he usually squawks along. These birds rely on humans and they always want to be with people. The price might seem a little high, but these birds are definitally worth it!!!!!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Green Cheek Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

November 2, 2012
by Diana1998
fromaz
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I had a female Green Cheek Conure named Marline. I got her for my bday, she was funny, smart, gorgeous and worth the money and time. Sadly some person stole her and I didn't see her since. She adored my mom, we let her fly around in the back yard. Every day as we left for school she flew over houses and land on my mom's shoulder as we walked to school
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Green Cheek Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

they are the best pets in the world

July 10, 2012
by babydude
fromut
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
their are no cons about this bird, I love mine so much. I don't know what i would do without him. he will be my compannion forever.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Green Cheek Conure
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 27 reviews

Very funny, loving, and entertaining bird!

July 8, 2012
by AdamJ
fromMA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have had my Green Cheeked Conure named Zack for over a year now and he is quit entertaining! However, he is our first large bird we have owned and have run through some difficulties that are all settled now so not a bird for beginners!
Zacks story- He was a neglected bird that we bought from a neighbor who moved away so he is very aggressive but I am slowly getting him to trust me more and more everyday!
IMPORTANT INFORMATION: These birds need LOTS of attention and lots of commitment. They need to be held at least like twice a day and a cage with lots of room for them to move around and play with their toys
CONS: Zack like most conures does pluck his feathers. (its not molting) after new feather come in he plucks them out of stress or something. I have tried to get him to stop this habit but its better than it was when we got him so I guess it's making some progress.
Other than that awesome bird and an awesome companion =D
+1point
8of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Green Cheek Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

May 27, 2012
by BestBirthdayPresentEver
fromManchester, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got my green cheek mid day for my birthday and it has been by far the best birthday present ever! I have only had it a couple hours but it has already started dancing for me and sitting on my finger and walking around on my couch! I love it!! Its such a sweet loving bird! And petsmart was very helpful in helping us find what we needed and answering any questions we had! Thank you petsmart!!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Green Cheek Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

What a bird!!

March 18, 2012
by CoopZilla
fromGA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got my bird about mid day, the store had her for 4 months they say and was handled every day, she was calm & sat on my finger or shoulder but no other touch was allowed... As soon as I got in the car I put her back on my shoulder and went home. Before the end of day 1 she knew her name, how to kiss, how to wave, come & go on command, I can touch her back & even have her lift her wings on command!!! I think that this bird is AMAZING! I cant wait to see what she will learn tomorrow! Its a very loving bird and requires a owner that can give it the time & affection it demands from you... IMO 10++ Thank you PetSmart
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Green Cheek Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

great little parrot

March 11, 2012
by jjflamingo
fromwest blocton, AL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
we got our green cheek conure today, and we are already in love! we don't know if it is a male or female, but it doesn't really matter. this is one of the friendliest, most docile birds I have ever seen! I have owned parakeets and cockatiels before, but they were always scared and sometimes stubborn and you'd have to chase them all over the cage to get them out. This little sweetie is very curious,and actually is wanting to come and socialize with us. it is very quiet (at least so far) and seems to have already gotten used to our family. I can't wait to get to know him or her better! we also got one of the large cages on wheels, so the bird has tons of room. the large door makes it easy to reach into the cage, not only to get the bird out, but to change food and water bowls out, etc. we are very pleased with everything we got from petsmart...
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Green Cheek Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

I Love My Bird... A Whole Lot.

February 22, 2012
by NightAnimals27
fromRochester Hills, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have a Green Cheeked, her name is Ruby (yes I am the previous reviewer). She is a beautiful bird. She has a green head with green cheeks, a gray stomach, green and blue wings, a gray beak, and a red tail. She is affectionate and loving. They are ideal birds who do require attention, but they deserve it! They have a tendancy to chirp and tweet and "sing". Ruby mimics me and it is very adorable. She is finger trained and she flies to us from her cage. I love her!
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Green Cheek Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

I love my little guy

February 21, 2012
by amw95
fromNY
He's like a best friend to me, he's definitely a little lover. I knew as soon as I saw him at the pet store rolling on his back and dancing up and down that he had to be mine. He seemed cool in the store, but after we got to know each other better he was more than just a pet. It's like he's a little person. He already says hello, and he says his name. He also mocks a lot of the noises that I make. He just turned a year old. Also, he can always tell my emotions. When I am sad he always finds a way to cheer me up, it's so cute. I could go on and on about my little guy, he's the best thing ever.
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Green Cheek Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

I Love This Bird!

February 20, 2012
by animals2786
fromDetroit, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have this bird at home, she is very loving and affectionate. Her name is Ruby and I happened to get her from a close Pet Smart. She was finger trained and my family and I have been teaching her how to fly to us on command. She is a very smart bird! They do fly pretty freely if you don't clip their wings, so keep windows and doors closed if they aren't clipped. They can tend to be a bit loud at times, but that's just their nature and how they react. They enjoy lots of exercise and playing around. They are hyper, but you can tire them out by having them fly. They can bite, but only if they become aggressive, although Ruby bites us maybe once a week because all birds tend to do so. Overall, the Green Cheeked Conure is my favorite bird I've ever owned! This is a must-get!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Green Cheek Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

I LOVE MY BIRD!

September 5, 2011
by birdgirl123
fromCochranville, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have a green cheek, and I've had him for almost a year. When I first got him, he didn't want to be touched, and he wouldn't even get on your finger without biting you. Now, he's the sweetest bird!!! He calls my father Gampa (grandpa)!! So cute!!! Even though he can be a little disobedient, he's so gorgeous and sweet that it doesn't make a difference in my opinion of him. He an be nippy at times, but not often. I advise prospective buyers to be ready for playing with this bird for at least an hour a day, EVERY DAY! They can be loud, but the sounds are so beautiful. the screeches are pretty screeches. If you're looking to get a bird, GET THIS ONE!!!
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Green Cheek Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

My love, Aspen

June 5, 2011
by Aspen19588
fromOhio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I adopted a green cheek conure from pets mart about a year and a half ago. I don't know if my Aspen is a boy or girl. She is beautiful. She says Aspen I hope she talks more but conures aren't known for there talking. She loves attention and will follow me in her cage until I get her out and then she flies to me. She loves to be around me and snuggle. Conures are nibbly and when she gets mad she'll bight. It's important to do your research before buying any bird because they need a lot of attention and they have some special needs. I fell in love with Aspen at the pet store I would put my finger up to the window and he would try to bite it. I don't know why I loved this so much. And I was a little worried that he would be like that for the rest of his life. But after I worked with him for a few days and trained him he warmed up very quickly.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Green Cheek Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

My Green Cheek Conure

June 2, 2011
by BirdiiLover
fromRiverside,CA
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My bird is super sweet. She cuddles and is learning to mi-mack sounds and words. She's about a year old and the guy who sold her to me was an amazing employee. He even told me the foods and toys she doesn't like. They're diffidently worth the money.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 next