PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Fancy Green Cheek Conure

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Fancy Green Cheek Conure

Ideal for children 14 & up Smart & easily trained Can be noisy Lives 20 to 30 years Note: Pet availability is seasonal. State and local regulations may vary. Pricing may vary by store location. PetSmart stores cannot match the price below for this pet. Ask a store associate for details.
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
9 of 9(100%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Fancy Green Cheek Conure
Review 1 for Fancy Green Cheek Conure
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews

Excellent bird, badly clipped

December 15, 2013
by ConureGryphon
fromWindsor, ON
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I got Gryphon about 2 months ago, and he has been great. He was extraordinarily friendly, except when it came to strangers, and he is very quiet (with his chatter).
A problem I have with him was how PetSmart clipped his wings. One wing has around 15 feathers missing, one of them they missed, and he is very moody when we go to lift that wing. The other wing has three feathers clipped. Everybody should know that lopsided clipping isn't good, since it will result in the bird crashing and being unable to fly normally when his feathers do grow back, for a very long time.
For future reference, conures only need about 5-7 feathers clipped on each wing!
Other than that, and the poor quality of the things in his cage at the store, he has been excellent. He loves to cuddle and to chat.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Fancy Green Cheek Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Feathered friend

March 5, 2013
by MommatoCharlie
fromPlainfield, Ohio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
We got charlie a little over a year ago, and I wouldn't change him for the world. You can nearly hold a conversationg with him now and it's cool. Within a month he began to say "love you" "Charlie" "where'd You go?" he loves to cuddle and he likes to groom our cats, who just lay there and let him do it. He just turned a year old last month and I look forward to getting another pet from petsmart
+25points
27of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Fancy Green Cheek Conure
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews

EXPENSIVE

February 2, 2013
by GHEETTHEGIRL
fromChicago
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
To start this review off, when I first got my FGC, Fancy Green Cheek, I looked at the price, and my mouth dropped. I already had one conure, a sun, but my parents had bought me him when I was young. I knew almost everything about conures, and would daily come to the store and play with the bird through the cage. I liked the bird so much, I brought him home, I frogot the price, the bird, the cage, the toys, already had food, just WoW. I loved him so much though. Atfirst, he was really quiet, and most other green cheek conures I have seen at the store have been quiet, but he thought we wanted him to be loud because of the Sunny. He only bit once, but I bled. He is a very nice bird in all, and I would reccommend him to anyone.
+16points
16of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Fancy Green Cheek Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

happy with conure

January 27, 2013
by jimmy1
fromFramingham, MA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
The bird was very well taken care of, healthy and happy. It was extremely social and loved human attention. It was a little expensive but was not too far fetched.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Fancy Green Cheek Conure
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews

I luv Berie-Berie!

August 10, 2012
by sQueaKuP
fromNJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got him at pet smart when we were lookiong for a canary.Then I saw him.I rapped on the glass and he came over and started licking the glass where my thumb was!He was so funny!then he tried to munch on my thumb.he rapped his foot on the glass when i did in a pattern which was super smart and cool.Someone let him on my hand since they said he was way friendly.He was,he sat on my hand and started screaming "Berie-Berie! Berie-Berie!" I found out that it's his favorite word.He was soo cute and neat.I said Hello and he said Hello!I thought he was the smartest guy ever.I named him Berie-Berie since I was sure if it was a word he knew he could learn it faster.Soon he could talk in secentences,"Berie-Berie hungry!" "Berie-Berie want a drink,Berie-Berie want a drink! Squawk!" he can respond to his name and can do tricks.His favorite thing to do,is sit on my sholder and show off when I invite guests.He talks to them,and can do things like sit on their sholder which they love.He loves to eat seeds and fruits.He is allowed to walk around the house (his wings are clipped) and he climbs and talks and can sing,"Somewhere over the rainbow".he learned that one from my uncle,when my uncle does that he sings along.He is just sooo funny and neat.I love him!
+32points
32of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Fancy Green Cheek Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

G-R-E-A-T-!

February 7, 2012
by foreverfutsalfever
fromA place, A continent
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
These birdies are awesome! All six of mine are outstanding.
+5points
10of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Fancy Green Cheek Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

my little monster

August 25, 2010
by riah
fromplacerville,CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
these birds are intelligent & mine will do most anything to stay with me or on my shoulder. they do like to nibble but if they get too enthusiastic they bite. they chew on ears fingers under nails jewelry hair moles & scratches & even ur teeth if u let them. they love their heads & necks to be itched especially around their ears. i take mine outside with me to feed the horses & pull weeds he likes to climb down my shirt & chew on plants. for a first time bird owner they may be a bit much but i love him hes a great companion so long as you keep him in check. im constantly reminding him hes a wee bird & im the big bird hahaha training is a really good idea otherwise their attitudes could get outa hand. only noisy when he wants out or to be held
+22points
22of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Fancy Green Cheek Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

A winner!

June 15, 2010
by BethyBoo
fromHenderson, NV
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got my pretty little yellow-sided green cheek girl from a Las Vegas area store last fall. Wonderful personality, full of surprises, adores her "big brother" sun conure. The vet who checked her said she was "perfect." And she is!
Pros: clean stores, birds are well cared for
+11points
15of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Fancy Green Cheek Conure
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

I really like my Fancy Green Cheek.

June 2, 2010
by birdkeeper2010
fromWaterloo, IA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I purchased a 6 month old Fancy Green Cheek Conure from Petsmart about a month ago. He is the first bird I have ever owned, however, I have cared for a cockatiel and parakeets while the owner was on vacation. This bird is awesome because he isn't freaked out by people. I have let over a dozen people hold him and he has no problem climbing on other people. He even lets other people scratch his neck. If I was around all day the bird would want to spend most of the day climbing around on me. He spends about 2-3 hours climbing on me every day and that keeps him pretty mellow. His wings are clipped so he can go outside with me. I take him with me on walks, let him ride on my shoulder when driving, bring him into stores that allow animals, take him with when I visit family and he even rides on my shoulder while I ride my bike. People are delighted to see my bird and are always comment on his beautiful colors. My bird is the coolest bird I have ever seen.
Pros: the coolest bird i have ever seen, very friendly, likes to go outside with me, hardly ever gets freaked out
Cons: gets in feisty moods and attacks ears, poops on my clothes, only eats certain seeds in his seed mixture, can't take him to work with me
+35points
35of 35voted this as helpful.