PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Albino Pacman Frog

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Albino Pacman Frog

Experience level: Intermediate For ages: 14 & up, with adult supervision Pet size: up to 8" (20cm) long Habitat: tropical Note: Pet availability is seasonal. State and local regulations may vary. Pricing may vary by store location. PetSmart stores cannot match the price below for this pet. Ask a store associate for details.
Overall rating:
3.778 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 8
7 of 9(78%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Albino Pacman Frog
Review 1 for Albino Pacman Frog
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

pacman frogs are awesome pets!

December 27, 2010
by Squattledot
fromTexas
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
pacman frogs are so awesome! i will never regret getting 1! why do you guys hate on them! theres nothing wrong with them! i love them and you should too! what was the point of buying them if your gonna hate and not like them!
Pros: everything
Cons: none
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Albino Pacman Frog
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

perfect frog!

September 2, 2010
by kl12111
fromrockford, MN
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
These are great frogs but make sure you do research before you buy one. They are great to have and fun to watch. They are ambush predators so they sit in one spot and wait for food. The fun part is watching them inhale their food, one second its there then gone in a blink of an eye. Be careful that the frog doesn't think your food because they can pack a punch. Also these frogs are very hardy and easy to care for. They don't require a large habitat so they do not take up much space. Overall I would recommend this frog to anyone. Also the reviews that say its not a tree frog... isn't that quite obvious.
Pros: everything, please research before buying
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Albino Pacman Frog
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 9 reviews

August 28, 2010
by rpapp
fromNM
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ok, so while I wrote "yes" for the " would I recommend this product to a friend" anyone should really think twice and do some research before buying these frogs. I bought two on a whim ( one green and one albino). My daughter is very interested in frogs so I just decided one day to buy some for her. Seeing as I had never owned a frog before, I told the woman at the pet store that I wanted an interesting frog that was not difficult to care for, and this was the frog she recommended for me. First of all, they are expensive frogs and can live up to ten years- so they are commitment. Secondly, they are not entertaining. At first, they would hop around their tank to catch the crickets, but the bigger they get the less they move. I've only had mine for about a month now and they're already about two and a half times the size they were when I bought them. Now, they do not even leave their hole. They wait for the crickets to hop by and just eat them without ever moving at all. Lastly, and most importantly, THEY ARE AGGRESSIVE. I once put a cricket in the tank for one of the frogs, and it puffed up to about three times it's size. I was concerned that something was wrong with it ( since it had never done that before), so I lowered down to the frog's level ( on the outside of the tank, of course) and after staring at me for about 30 seconds the frog jumped at me and hit the tank.
Also, people don't seem to have solid information on how to care for them. The place where I bought them told me that the frogs need to eat once every three-five days, while other places say every day. The internet is the same- conflicting, inconsistent information.
Anyway, I know this is long but I wish someone would have told me these things before I bought them. They are cool frogs, but if you want a sweet little frog that hops around frequently then this is NOT the frog for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Albino Pacman Frog
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Great frog!

July 9, 2010
by Mark1561
fromRockford, MN
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I got a green packman frog 6 months ago and he has been a great pet. Frogs are not for people who want to handle their pets alot because they have very sinsitive skin.
Pros: everything
Cons: can not be handled much
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Albino Pacman Frog
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews

Not for everyone.

May 23, 2010
by Mandarin
fromBay Area, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
PLEASE RESEARCH BEFORE YOU PURCHASE THIS FROG! They are definitely NOT for everyone! These frog do not more around very much at all. Most of their day they spend partially buried in their home's substrate, and may only move during the night to reach a watering dish. Although adorable when small, these frog can get up to 5+ inches in length & width! They also have bony teeth-like protrusion in their mouth and they CAN make you bleed if you are bitten! (Though really, they won't bite unless you put your fingers directly in front of them!) The food they eat may bother some (baby mice, adult mice, worms, and LOTS of crickets!) so if you have a weak stomach, don't purchase this frog! THEY WILL EAT ANY OTHER CREATURE IN THE SAME TANK. These frogs need to be housed ALONE. They will eat other frogs, or die while trying to eat too large of prey. -Please read more care sheets than the one Petsmart provides.- These frogs are great for those who are patient and don't mind their care requirements.
Pros: fairly easy to care for, cute
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Albino Pacman Frog
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 9 reviews

Easy pet

March 13, 2010
by Anonymous
fromCT
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This is a moderately large, relatively inactive hardy frog. They just sit there and wait for food. You need to keep them a warm, moist, clean and don't overfeed them. They are easy and fun to watch eat.
They will bite fingers so use tongs if handfeeding.
Pros: easy
Cons: lazy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Albino Pacman Frog
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews

Pacman is NOT a treefrog.

December 27, 2009
by imderanged
fromNew Jersey
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
It's important to reiterate what the first reviewer stated! This is NOT the animal described on the website. It's an large aggressive frog, not suitable to be kept with other animals. It's a cool frog, but NOT for everyone! PROSPECTIVE OWNERS: RESEARCH FURTHER BEFORE MAKING A DECISION!
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Albino Pacman Frog
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 9 reviews

Horrible Information

December 13, 2009
by EssaG12
fromIndependence, MO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I'm glad I did not read this before I got my frog. Pacman frogs are cannibalistic, carnivores, and insectivores. They are strictly solitary creatures!!! If you put anything in there it will attempt to eat it!!!!! It cannot climb very well at all, either. Overall, this information is incredibly false!
Cons: poor information in general, has no actual facts.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Albino Pacman Frog
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 9 reviews
1 out of 1 recommend this product