PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Guinea Pig

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Guinea Pig

Social, but shy at first Ideal for children 8 & up Will enjoy a cage mate Needs a vitamin C supplement Lives 5-8 years Note: Pet availability is seasonal. State and local regulations may vary. Pricing may vary by store location. PetSmart stores cannot match the price below for this pet. Ask a store associate for details.
Overall rating:
4.832 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(423 reviews) 412
412 of 423(97%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Guinea Pig
Review 1 for Guinea Pig
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 423 reviews

In-accurate Information

March 8, 2014
by HappyGuineaPigGirl
fromScottsdale, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
A lot of this info is inaccurate. Guinea pigs don't require vitamin C supplements as long as you feed them a salad with a small slice of red bell pepper in it. It's true that guinea pigs front teeth never stop growing but if you free feed them hay all day, no need for chew toys. I have a chew toy for my guinea pig and he NEVER uses it. Most guinea pigs require a cage mate but some decide that they don't want a friend. Guinea pigs require a lot of space. You need to get them a large cage. Don't get them any running wheels or balls. It's really bad for their back.
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Guinea Pig
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 423 reviews

We love her so

February 20, 2014
by Lasa
fromLawton, OK
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My husband bought Miss Chloe for me to help with my therapy and she is doing a great job. She still has her shy moments but I'm sure in time she will love being apart of the Mitchell family.
+17points
19of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Guinea Pig
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 423 reviews

DO NOT BUY GUINEA PIGS

February 20, 2014
by Yepl
fromnew york ny
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
They stink so much you have to spot clean their cage daily I have no idea why you people think these are good pets.
-75points
2of 79voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Guinea Pig
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 423 reviews

Love my new guinea pig

February 18, 2014
by clasm
fromhouston, tx
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Ive had my new guinea pig, I saw him in petsmart buying fish food and fell in love with him, we have only had him a week and he is still shy wont let me pick him up but when im changing the water and food he will come up and play around and he will take hay out my hand. Im noticing I have to clean his cage every 3 days unless he will start smelling like hay and plus he poops alot so a clean cage is great to me and it only takes 10 minutes out of my day hopefully he will start letting me and my kis play with him more .
+21points
25of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Guinea Pig
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 423 reviews

Best Pets

February 15, 2014
by 5siesta5
fromClifton Park, New York
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Do not listen to the bad reviews. The guinea pigs only smell like hay because that is what they eat. If you do not like the smell, do not get them because you have to feed them lots of hay as their front teeth are constantly growing. They are very social animals. We also love are puppy!!
+16points
19of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Guinea Pig
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 423 reviews

REALLY GREAT!!!!

February 3, 2014
by guineapigcrazy
fromMartinsburg WV
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I just recently bought a female guinea pig, and she is so sweet and loves floor time. We are going to get her a friend today!
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Guinea Pig
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 423 reviews

Absolutely perfect!

January 30, 2014
by ButtonsAndCuddles
frombridgewater, nJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I just got 2 piggies from PetSmart and they are so perfect and adorable! They behave very nicely and are completely healthy. The workers at petsmart knew all the information about the guinea pigs, (where they came from, how they were cared for, when they were born, etc). They let me handle the guinea pigs so i can see if they were perfect for me. There was nothing wrong with them, (no dirt in their eyes, ears, or bum). The cages they stored the guinea pigs in were good because they were a good size, had hay, food, clean water, etc. I am so happy/pleased with the guinea pig. These are great pets, they are so sweet, and i recommend them for any pet lover. **WARNING** they are not hypoallergenic, so if you're allergic to dander, don't get these pets.
+19points
22of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Guinea Pig
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 423 reviews

Great and loving

January 23, 2014
by Olive540
fromGreen Bay, WI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Went out on a whim and bought a Guinea Pig. We weren't really looking to buy anything just picking up some fish food for my fish but I glanced in the guinea pig cages and he just had this look in his eye saying "buy me, take me home" and I just fell in love! Benny is our first little guinea pig and we couldn't be happier! Sill in the learning process but it seems to be more easy day by day!
Also, the women who helped us was very helpful and walked us through the process of what we would need and what not!
+29points
29of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Guinea Pig
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 423 reviews

He's absolutely adorable!

January 19, 2014
by Bettie
fromLong Island, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Bout him about a week ago, and everyone loves him!
-3points
9of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Guinea Pig
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 423 reviews

Great Pet!

January 15, 2014
by JayMig
fromPA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I purchased 2 guinea pigs a week ago from petsmart. The associate who helped me was very knowledgeable about the guinea pigs. The two I purchased are sweet and loving. The purr all of the time. They are sweet loving little guys.
+14points
18of 22voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Guinea Pig
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 423 reviews

Cutest guinea pig in the world!!

January 15, 2014
by Pony64
fromMassachusetts
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I got her a week ago and she is so fun to play with. She runs around and likes to snuggle with everyone. She was shy at first but gets to know you very fast.
+15points
17of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Guinea Pig
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 423 reviews

growing up in an apartment

January 15, 2014
by PaulaJ
fromNewark, DE
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I never was able to have pets. My son loves animals and we are also now in an apartment. Someone we know had 2 guinea pigs, cage and everything to go with them but was allergic to the timothy hay and could not keep them. Initially my son was thrilled - until it got to cage cleaning time. Now I am stuck with that duty as he is willing to donate them to his animal science class at school but never having had pets as a child I have grown very attached to them. I am still afraid to pick them up, and we use a play pen for 'floor time' as I am concerned with having them 'make their mess' all over but I pet them, talk to them, feed them, give them treats, baths etc. I love our little critters (whose names they will not allow but are named for cartoon characters whose both names begin with the letter "B")
+7points
13of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Guinea Pig
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 423 reviews

Awesome Pets

January 14, 2014
by quinsmom
fromSan Diego
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
We recently purchased two guinea pigs, and I have to say they are the best pets we've owned!
Please be sure to research their needs such a food, hay, vitamin C, and especially cage space (the cages sold in pet stores are way too small).
The Human Society website gives good information on a number of pets so you can research different animals and their needs before you buy.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Guinea Pig
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 423 reviews

Amazing

January 9, 2014
by Taliacrazypetlover
fromAurora, CO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
The staff was very helpful as this was my first time buying a guinea pig from Petsmart. They answered all the questions i asked and were polite while doing so. They had a wide selection to choose from and all of them were healthy and well feed. Although when i got my small guinea pig he was dirty and his fur coat was very nasty to feel, after a good bath or swim. He was ready to face to day. He is a great pig, and has a funny personality. Over all if you want to buy a pet i would have to say Petsmart is the place to be.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Guinea Pig
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 423 reviews

Awesome pets, Highly Recommend

January 7, 2014
by GuineaPigLovr82
fromMassachusetts
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I started out with only one guinea pig, but now have 4. I have a pair of females and a pair of males. They are wonderful, sweet little critters who are easy to care for and great apartment pets. Given time and patience you can bond with them and each animal has its own personality, likes and dislikes. Also great is that they aren't purely nocturnal so they aren't very noisy at night.
If you are considering owning a guinea pig, PLEASE get a pair. They get very lonely and eventually this can make them pine away and die sooner than they should. But as I said, I highly recommend them and they may be my favorite pet that I have had in my life.
My older female guinea pig, Fangarang, had a litter of babies in October. This is a picture of them when they were 24 hours old. Seriously, you haven't seen cute until you've seen newborn baby guinea pigs. They're stinking adorable.
+10points
14of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Guinea Pig
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 423 reviews

LOVE THEM!

January 1, 2014
by crazysoftballchick5
fromSan Lorenzo CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I HAVE GUINEA PIGS AND I JUST LOVE THEM THEY ARE GREAT! FOR KIDS! AND ADULT AND YOUNG ADULTS! THEY ARE GREAT FOR EVERYONE!!! THEY WHISTLE IF THEY ARE HAVING FUN! THEY ARE SHY AT FIRST! GORGEOUS!!!!! AND EXCELLENT!!!!
+13points
15of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Guinea Pig
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 423 reviews

I love our guinea pig BooBoo

January 1, 2014
by AngelV
fromHazleton, PA
We bought BooBoo almost two weeks ago. When we bought her, the cage they were in was disgusting - very stinky. But, we brought her home and she is everything you can think of for a companion and friend. Guinea pigs are great pets, companions, and she is great with our 4 year old..
+2points
9of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Guinea Pig
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 423 reviews

Amazing Pets

December 31, 2013
by JustPiggies
fromSomewhere
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Guinea pigs are the perfect pet for people who love animals and are gentle and loving. I don't recommend them to anyone who doesn't have time or has little ones that can get rough with animals.
Guinea pigs are loving pets whom take a while to bond with you. I really recommend this pet to someone who is gentle when handling, has time during the day, has money to feed, water, etc., is patient, and loves to cuddle with an animal.
I was looking for a pet to call my own and cuddle with and Willow was perfect! She loves to snuggle and lay down with me. I highly recommend a guinea pig as a pet.
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Guinea Pig
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 423 reviews

I LOVE HER!!!

December 29, 2013
by JBO12
fromGainesville, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I just got my first guinea pig! Her name is Claire. She loves to be held and she is very social. Every time I walk in the room she runs out of her house to see who is coming in! I highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a small pet that doesn't bite, scratch, or run away from you. She also makes lots of cute noises! She is very entertaining to watch and fun to hold! I love her so much!
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Guinea Pig
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 423 reviews

December 21, 2013
by GUINEAPIGZrule
fromDenver,CO
I love my Guinea pig I bought from Petsmart they really do warm up, mine is super friendly and absolutely LOVES being held and will sit on my lap for hours since i took the time to socialize him when he was young. Some may say they are unhealthy if bought from pet stores but mine has not had any problems. Great value to seeing how their average lifespan is 5-8 years. And sold around 10 weeks old.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 21 next