PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Aqueon 26 Gallon Deluxe Bow Front Aquarium Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Aqueon 26 Gallon Deluxe Bow Front Aquarium Kit

26 gallon capacity Kit includes everything you need to get started Easy to set up and maintain Stand not included Available in limited quantities at select stores. Ask a store associate for details.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 24
25 of 26(96%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Aqueon 26 Gallon Deluxe Bow Front Aquarium Kit
Review 1 for Aqueon 26 Gallon Deluxe Bow Front Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

(Almost) Perfect for a first tank setup

August 28, 2012
by Tankles
fromColumbus, OH
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Coming into the hobby for the first time, this kit is excellent. Sure, some of the accessories are close to useless or cheap, but the important ones aren't, and it includes almost everything you need to get a tank running.
The tank is a 26 gallon bowfront, and is more tall than wide. For beginners, there's no difference between this and a shorter, fatter tank, but it means you can't stock quite as many fish, because of smaller water surface area. Nothing you'd ever notice though. The tank is extremely well put together, and every seal was great. The design is very cool, though does make shopping for accessories like a hood or a stand a bit more difficult because of the shape. You'll need to search to find skinny, tall decorations, otherwise the top half of the tank will be empty.
The accessories that come with the tank are a mixed bag. The Aqueon QuietFlow 30 filter is perfectly adequate for the tank, though you may want to upgrade down the road for more power, bio-surface, and filter media options. It is almost silent, has never caused me any problems, and clears the water nicely. After I upgraded my filter, I'm still using this one in my new, slightly smaller tank.
The lighting system is fine, but for live plants, you'll want to upgrade soon. It comes with an enclosed T8 bulb light fixture. Big and bulky, but worked and fit nicely on notches in the hood.
Heater is a standard 100W heater, fine for the size of the tank. The temperature set dial is nothing more than a gray arrow you spin to the + for more heat and the - for less heat. There are no temperature markings in between, and it's a bit sticky to change the level. Generally the middle setting was running me at 78 degrees or so.
The canopy is basic plastic, and the hinges for the canopy door are small and plastic. The opening is decently sized, but if you reach in the tank and get your arm stuck, the first thing to go will be the plastic hinge(s). You'll want to upgrade the hood, which is one of the weaknesses of this bowfront design - very hard to find a hood that will fit the design. The plastic punchouts in the rear are useful, but do tend to limit where you can place the filter/heater/air-lines. Filter on the back left, heater next to that. Not much on the right side.
To use the included thermometer, simply follow these directions: 1) Remove from box 2) Throw on ground 3) Buy ACTUAL thermometer for a couple bucks at any pet store. Don't even try to use it, once you stick it on, it's pretty stuck.
In conclusion, if you're a serious hobbyist setting up another tank, skip the kit and buy the pieces individually. Over time, I've upgraded the thermometer, heater, filter, canopy, and lighting fixture.
If you're looking to start a tank for the first time, get it. There's tons of vertical swimming room and you don't need to freak out trying to find the right sizes for everything individually.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aqueon 26 Gallon Deluxe Bow Front Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Very nice looking tank

March 8, 2014
by GuppyMan
fromrichmond hill, ontario
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
When we got home we opened the tank and returned because we thought it was cracked on the bottom. We got another one but they quickly found out that it was dried cocking that was not cleaned up. Regardless. The hood is not flimsy. At first I thought it was. The hood was hard to open and then I realized that you have to push the entire hood all the way to the back until it goes right to the end. The hood then opens properly. As for opening the cutouts. I just used a pair of strong Scissors and my a little twisting with my fingers.
Filled the tank with water halfway and tried the filter. I was getting worried as the filter was not making the water flow. I then poured more water in the filter and still did not work. Once the tank was 80% filled the filter finally worked.
Put my fancy guppies and rock shrimp in the tank and they love the space.
I love the bubble front as it gives the tank a different viewing perspective. I can't wait to put a nice background on the tank.
I would recommend this tank to anyone who is a beginner. It is a good sized tank and you really don't have to upgrade your size with a 26 gallon.
You do not have to upgrade the filter. It is sufficient for this size tank. I would recommend bottom feeders - shrimp, catfish, snails, and plants. They complete the fish cycle in the aquarium.
Suggestion: When changing the water monthly, make sure you put a thermometer and try to match the temperature of your tank to the faucet before putting the new water in the tank. Don't forget adding dechlorinizer and bacteria for each water change.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aqueon 26 Gallon Deluxe Bow Front Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

great tank with not so good lid

February 11, 2014
by jlwright
fromKELOWNA,BC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I like the tank cuz of its nice design and the fish like it as well.
the only real complaint is the lid.
the door has very flimsy hinges and as I can see I am not the only one that has broken it being gingerly.
way too light a hinge
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aqueon 26 Gallon Deluxe Bow Front Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews

Great aquarium with flimsy hood

May 22, 2013
by Fisherly
fromNC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
This is a very attractive aquarium. Don't understand why such a substandard hood was included with it. I had already read a review that said to be careful with the hood hinge because it breaks easily. So I was very careful ...and it snapped. ugh It was also a pain to do the cutouts for the heater and filter. Other than the hood its a nice aquarium.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aqueon 26 Gallon Deluxe Bow Front Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Great Little Tank!

May 20, 2013
by KaluahAPBT
fromNova Scotia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My husband and I bought this tank to upgrade from our 5.5 gallon. We bought it as a "Christmas present" for our 2 guppies. It took an hour or so to set up, very simple and easy. Filter that comes with it runs very quiet. We both love it. We've since added an LED bubble wand and our 2 guppies have many more friends! Definitely recommend this tank for anyone starting out.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aqueon 26 Gallon Deluxe Bow Front Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

GREAT TANK GREAT PRICE.

May 17, 2013
by CASHTUCKER
fromFlorida
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this tank as an emergency replacement for one I bought somewhere else that started leaking. I must say I was impressed. Took about two hours to set up and fill everything in my opinion it is great quality I used both the bio filter it came with and my old one from my other tank since it was an established bio filter having the extra cutout on the back gave me enough room to put both filters in the tank. Heater works great and adjusts easily for me. The light is awesome however buy a thermometer the one it comes with is not great luckily I had one from my other tank I had to use the conditioner as I had to add fish sooner than I wanted since the other one sprung a leak. I lost a couple fish but the rest survived due to the other tank. All in All great price great product and the bow front WOW you would to have to own a bow front to understand why I will never buy another square tank.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aqueon 26 Gallon Deluxe Bow Front Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Amazing

May 15, 2013
by JessLuvsPets
fromSC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
This fish tank starter kit is amazing I love it I've had it for about a year and every thing is still in perfect working order it's a good size but you can still hand clean with out a gravel vacume without too much trouble and I love watching my gold fish swim in it 8)
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aqueon 26 Gallon Deluxe Bow Front Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Happy Fish!

April 6, 2013
by FishyHobby
fromCentral Ohio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have had this tank for just over a year now and absolutely have enjoyed it. The overall tank looks great and the height is perfect especially for keeping different fish since some are bottom dwellers, mid-swimmers and top-swimmers. The heater that came with it keeps the water at a nice consistent temperature and fortunately it is still working. The filter I must say is not the greatest. After about a year I decided to get a better filter for the tank and believe me it was worth it! My water quality improved tremendously and much more cost effective seeing how I had to replace them every 2-3 weeks. The light is great for low light plants and some medium light plants. I would recommend that you change the bulb at least every 6 months (I pick up the colormax bulb from petsmart and they make the colors of the plants pop and the plants grow like crazy!) I didn’t replace the bulb and my plants were not growing well, changed the bulb and they have all bounced back! My only real advice is be careful with the hood as it does break easily if the light is not there to catch the flap as it goes back. (Based on experience on the first day) If you plan on keeping more than say 10-15 fish I highly recommend an upgraded filter. (This is all based on freshwater setup only)
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aqueon 26 Gallon Deluxe Bow Front Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews

Really nice but

April 3, 2013
by Anonymous
fromdallas
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Great tank no leaks and love the bowfront 1 problem the stand i got with it leans forward a little bit making me think its going to fall over overall i love this thing and ive had it for 5 months now thanks petsmart.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Aqueon 26 Gallon Deluxe Bow Front Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Great Tank

March 25, 2013
by Amz8
fromFort Wayne, IN
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews
I really like this tank. I think it is great quality and is an excellent purchase for someone who is newer to the fish world. Before I bought this tank, I had a 7 gallon tank and then a 10 gallon tank. I have two fancy goldfish in my tank right now and they are doing great. I do think the price is a bit high and so that is why I bought it during a great sale during the summer. The kit comes with the glass tank, filter, hood, light, heater, and samples. Overall, I would definitely recommend this tank to someone who was looking for a quality tank for their fish.
Pros: sturdy
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Aqueon 26 Gallon Deluxe Bow Front Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews

Good kit, not for plants.

August 18, 2012
by Robnixxo
fromIndependence, MO
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
It's a beautiful tank and everything looks nice in it. The only problem (which is probably my fault since I didn't do the proper research beforehand) is that the light fixture is too weak to properly grow plants. I found out you need a little over 3x the amount of wattage. I fixed this easily by buying a few clamp lights with CFL bulbs to replace the light fixture that came with it.
Everything else works fine and my fish love the tank.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Aqueon 26 Gallon Deluxe Bow Front Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Excellent kit- perfect for starting from scratch

August 9, 2012
by FishGuy42
fromCleveland, OH
Beautiful tank with bowed front. Includes almost everything you need to get started so it's great for those starting from scratch. Great size for simple set-up of freshwater fish. Highly recommend.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Aqueon 26 Gallon Deluxe Bow Front Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Great Beginner Tank

June 9, 2012
by JanetandDom
fromManchester, NH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is a great tank for a beginner. I bought this tank to set up with my 11 yr old. It was easy to set up and he loves it!
The only drawback is the flimsy flip part of the cover and the cheap thermometer. I just bought a glass thermometer and that works much better!
I would def recommend this tank for kids and beginners.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Aqueon 26 Gallon Deluxe Bow Front Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Great Starter Tank

December 27, 2011
by Aqueon26
fromWestern New York
What is your gender?M
After a little research decided on the bow front more for the look than anything else. You do save some $$ going with a kit rather than piecing it together separately. The quality of items included are comparable to items off the shelf. The hood is a bit flimsy so you have to be careful during assembly. The bow front does look larger than it is, the silicone seams are clean not sloppy like ones I've seen on the traditional rectangle tanks. It does come with a strip thermometer, however it wasn't very accurate or easy to read; it's permanent so once you adhere it you can't take it off without damaging it. I purchased an inexpensive glass thermometer to replace it. We purchased the MARINELAND® Heartland Aquarium Stand for it and both look great together. Overall, I am very pleased with the quality and appearance of this tank and with proper cycling and patience we have a healthy community of tropical fish for our kids to enjoy.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Aqueon 26 Gallon Deluxe Bow Front Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

June 23, 2011
by KittyKatt
fromCanada
I have had this aquarium for the past few months. I love the bow front, and the illusion that the fish are bigger and sometimes it looks like they're flying. If you don't have a bow front, you probably don't know what I am talking about, but if you have a bow front....you most definitely know what I'm talking about! This tank is tall though...looks amazing with tall plants in the background and floating plants. Lots of gravel, lower in front, higher in back, looks amazing in this tank too.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Aqueon 26 Gallon Deluxe Bow Front Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 26 reviews

Do Not Buy, Cheep parts

June 14, 2011
by CockerSpanielPerson
fromLinclon, NE
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have had this tank for about 3 to 4 years. When I first got it the filer was noisy and the heater broke after a couple of days. I took the filer and the heater back and they let me exchange part of the kit. So after that I was fine. Well the light just broke on me, tried getting a new bulb and still did not work. So I took the hole light in with me back to Petsmart. Guess what they don't have a light that will fits this. I got one that is close but still not great. So I tried calling the MFG and they don't sell to the public.
The tank itself looks really nice. I love the bow front. But it is a cheep kit and I can't get parts for it.
-12points
8of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Aqueon 26 Gallon Deluxe Bow Front Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews

Good not great

March 6, 2011
by LetcherL
fromAlberta
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I upgraded to this tank from a cheap 10 gallon. What a difference. The tank itself is beautiful, but the accessories aren't so great. I easily broke the glass on the lid trying to cut out the piece for the filter and my lid squeaks hardcore when opened. Will definitely be replacing the lid and filter soon.
But my fish do love it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Aqueon 26 Gallon Deluxe Bow Front Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Easy for a beginner and great value!

October 27, 2010
by Boxersrmylife
fromDaytona Beach, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
My husband and I got this tank as our very first fish tank. We found it very easy to set up and the instructions were easy to understand. I loved that it came with everything we needed to get our tank started (minus fish, water, gravel and decorations). The pump is extremely quiet! Love that! I got this tank for our bedroom because I find fish so peaceful to watch, so a quiet pump was a must! I can't even hear it running which is awesome. I love the bow shape. Allows for plenty of room for top, middle and bottom swimmers. After running the tank for a week, we finally added our first fish tonight. Yes, we bought them at PetsMart! We got some male guppies and they are happily swimming at the top of the tank right now. In a day or two I will add some middle swimmers and finally some bottom swimmers. I would recommend getting a suction thermometer to keep in the tank so you can keep an eye on the temp. I find the heater that came in the kit is working exactly as we need it to. The little thermometer we bought it staying right at 77 degrees. Get some nice tall plants and also there is plenty of room for a wide tree stump or something.
Overall I'm very satisfied with the quality of this product. I would definitely recommend to anyone out there who is not an aquarium pro and would benefit from the simplicity of this kit which includes everything you need to get going.
I have a feeling that I'll be back soon to get an even bigger one for the living room downstairs.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Aqueon 26 Gallon Deluxe Bow Front Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews

Good Quality, Good Value

August 7, 2010
by Javious
fromUpstate, NY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews
The 26 gallon bow front tank is very nice looking, the seams all look good and is almost ready for fish. The kit comes with everything except gravel, water, decorations and fish. The filter is very quiet after start up, it is right next to our couch and I have to try to hear it running. It appears to be an Aqueon Power Filter 20 and takes the large cartridge (one included). Due to the frame design, the filter can only be placed along the back wall of the tank. If you use the knockouts built into the hood you are further limited to one area along the back wall to mount the filter. If you are handy/patient you could use a saw to cut a space in the plastic hood where you wanted to place the filter, but still limited to the back wall of the tank. You may want to give serious consideration to this idea since the knockout is larger than the filter needs and there is open space around it that fish could jump out. The heater is adjustable, but not by temperature. The adjustment has a center point (76-79) and you can turn the knob to either + or -. There is a light on the heater to indicate when it is on and suction cup mounts are included. I don't care for the included thermometer. I do like it's horizontal orientation, but the numbers appear based on the temperature in various colors, like a mood ring. I find this very hard to read. I added another thermometer that has the numbers in white on a black background and the background changes color behind the temperature. I find this much easier to read.
When decorating, this tank is rather tall. It has roughly the same footprint as a 20 gallon and your extra 6 gallons come from the bow and the height. You will need at least 10lbs of gravel to cover the bottom of this tank, 15lbs would probably be better. If you want the top third of the tank to have decorations, use tall thin items to avoid the bottom from being overcrowded.
This tank lends itself well to having top swimmers, middle swimmers and bottom dwellers. The bow front does lead to some interesting optical illusions. The hood is all plastic, but should hold up with minimal caution used when opening, I see the hinge pins as the weak link. The hood light lights up the tank well and has a switch on the back of the housing, although I have it plugged in to a timer (not included) to keep a 12 hour on/off cycle. I did not use the included water conditioner, I prefer to let the power filter cycle the water for at least 24 hours and allow the water temp to stabilize before adding any fish. There is also a small amount of flake food included. There are decent instructions for the tank, heater, power filter and hood included.
Overall this tank looks good in my living room, appears to be well made, is a good value and I would recommend it to a fiend and buy it again if I had the choice.
Pros: value, quality
Cons: thermometer, limited filter location
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Aqueon 26 Gallon Deluxe Bow Front Aquarium Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews

Nice looking, quality tank; some accessories "meh"

August 5, 2010
by Gvilleguy
fromSouth Carolina
What is your gender?M
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
I have been running this tank for over 3 months: 2 months of fishless cycling, and 5 weeks with tropical fish in it.
***************************************************
TANK: the tank itself is FIVE STAR quality, period. It has really nice looking black trim, including black sealant on the tank seams. I like the look. The build was flawless - no imperfections in the glass, etc. I would buy this tank again if I needed another tank.
I also like the BOW FRONT design. As you sit in front of the tank, you notice two things:
1. The distortion of the bow front allows you to easily see down both sides of the tank to the back corners. It's kind of a strange effect, but allows full view of the tank.
2. When you are in front of the tank looking in, and fish swim beyond the theoretical flat front plane of the tank into the bow area, it looks like they are out of the tank swimming in the air. The 3D effect is pretty cool when you first see it happen!
***************************************************
ACCESSORIES: The accessories bundled in the kit are the reason for the four star rating:
1. The FULL HOOD that covers the tank is good. It includes several different cut out options (easy to cut the plastic perfs with a small hand saw) to fit different size accessories on the back on the tank (air lines, filter, cords, etc.). The hood fits the tank perfectly (as it should!).
2. The LIGHT FIXTURE is also very good. A clear plastic shield on the hood prevents any water from getting to your light. The included bulb lights the tank very well: an 18", 8000K 15Watt T8 type.
3. The HINGED LID for feeding the fish is FLIMSY. The lid mounts on the hood across the front of the tank, and has a good opening. The problem is the hinge design: two small, flimsy, plastic tabs are all that keep the lid connected to the hood.
On my 3rd water change I pulled the hood off the tank, started to lose my grip, and had to grab the lid. This immediately snapped both plastic hinges. It did not take much force to snap them. The lid should have stronger hinges! (it still sits on the hood okay, even with broken hinges, so I have not replaced it)
4. The included 100 WATT HEATER maintains a steady temperature throughout the tank. It is the type that you fully submerge in the water. My only complaint there is the temp adjustment knob is difficult to turn, especially if you already have it submerged and need to adjust. It's a two handed deal to turn it (one to hold the heater still, and another to turn the knob), and once you get enough force on the knob to turn it, it usually pops too far. But once you get it set like you want, it's fine.
5. The included hang-on-back Aqueon POWER FILTER was not adequate for my needs. I ran a fishless cycle for four weeks and was not getting good results growing the needed bacteria. I added an external canister type filter under the tank, and pretty quickly got good results. So in my opinion the bio-media ability of the Aqueon filter is not good enough.
6. Aqueon included a paper strip type THERMOMETER, which I quickly threw away. I bought an inexpensive digital thermometer which works great. I feel this kit should have included a better thermometer!
7. The bundled FLAKE FOOD is fine. I have used it 5 weeks, and still have 2/3 of a can left.
**************************************************
FINAL THOUGHTS: If you are a beginner to aquarium keeping, don't expect the cost of this kit to be your only startup cost. The items not included in this kit can add up quickly! (thermometer, air pump, air stones, gravel, decorations, bigger filter) Just keep that in mind.
Overall I think this is a very good aquarium kit, with one star knocked off the reasons I already mentioned. But I would definitely recommend this to other people.
Pros: tank quality, appearance, hood & light
Cons: tank lid, heater adjustment, thermometer, bio-capacity of filter
+31points
31of 31voted this as helpful.
1 2 next