PetSmart Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at PetSmart

Customer reviews for Wisdom Panel Insights Dog Breed DNA Test Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Wisdom Panel Insights Dog Breed DNA Test Kit

Uncover the breeds that make your dog special with this easy-to-use DNA test kit.
Overall rating:
3.375 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
6 of 8(75%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Wisdom Panel Insights Dog Breed DNA Test Kit
Review 1 for Wisdom Panel Insights Dog Breed DNA Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

I'm a believer of this product

September 9, 2012
by osang828
fromChicago, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I submitted a review but it was never posted. Maybe because my dog's picture that I posted looked nothing like the cockapoo breed that I claim she is although this was confirmed by the Wisdom Panel DNA test. Or maybe another customer reported it as inappropriate thinking that I was making the story up.
Anyway, I got my cockapoo, Dani, from a cockapoo breeder but she looks nothing like the typical curly-coated, light-shed cockapoo (like my other dog, Ludy, is). Both dogs came from the same breeder. I thought Dani might have come from another breed's litter and the breeder did not disclose this information to me. She looks exactly like an English Springer Spaniel, sheds like one, points and flushes like one during play. I wanted to maximize her instincts if she is indeed an English Springer Spaniel (ESS) mix. I chose the Wisdom Panel test kit over others because it had the ESS in their database and I strongly suspected that she is a mix of this breed. I only had to submit Dani's name and age and my name and e-mail. No picture nor description of Dani were submitted. Two weeks later, I received the report that she is a Cockapoo (cocker spaniel and poodle mix).
I attached a picture of both of my cockapoos, Ludy and Dani.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Wisdom Panel Insights Dog Breed DNA Test Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 8 reviews

AKC Breeds

May 31, 2012
by BRose
fromAtlanta, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My dog is a Redbone Coonhound, an AKC recognized breed, but it is not listed so I would naturally not waste the money.
-44points
4of 52voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Wisdom Panel Insights Dog Breed DNA Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

Very happy I did it!

September 15, 2011
by Bearsmommy
fromNorridge Il
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
We got our dog from a rescue who guessed that he was a Great Pyrenees/Border Collie mix. Other people guessed Lab/Shepherd mix. We were very very curious so we ordered the test which was simple to perform and produced results 2 weeks after the day I mailed it. My dog is half Great Pyrenees crossed with a Shepherd/Boxer mix. Mystery solved.
+21points
23of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Wisdom Panel Insights Dog Breed DNA Test Kit
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 8 reviews

Decent But May Buy Another Product To Confirm

August 10, 2011
by dancri77
fromBristol, CT
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 8 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 8 reviews
Everyone has a different opinion on what types of dogs make up our little mutt. Corgi mix? Lab mix? Chow mix? Spitz mix? This little guy has so many different dogs in him that nailing down something dominant was going to be a long shot. We knew that.
Wisdom Panel gave us two dominant breeds:
(1) Toy Fox Terrier. No. No. No. Not even close. He doesn't have the body structure or the personality of one of these dogs.
(2) Jindo. Huh? It's a type of spitz. The mother was a spitz mix, but these type of dogs are rarely found in the U.S. Does he look like a Jindo-mix? Yes, stubbier, but yes. Does he have a Jindo personality?
-Protective of family, aloof to strangers. Yes. Yes. He will not let a stranger pet him, BUT he can recognize my relatives (ones he has never met before) by scent. He allows them to pet him.
-Highly tuned sense of smell. Yes. See above.
-Highly intelligent but stubborn. Yes. Learns very quick. Picks up words without my teaching him, which makes me have to use new words to get around him. Stubborn as an ox.
-He matches other characteristics, too.
-28points
2of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Wisdom Panel Insights Dog Breed DNA Test Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 8 reviews

Not impressed

June 28, 2011
by doggylady
fromNew Jersey
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 8 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 8 reviews
Our puppy is a rescue and unlike many other rescue dogs we have been able to get quite a bit of reliable information about his parents. We were able to view his entire litter as well. I have been doing rescue work for a number of years myself and am quite familiar with many of the breeds. We were anxious to get the results, but very disappointed with the results. He is an obvious lab mix but the other component of his lineage, dachshund mix appears absurd. There is nothing about our dog, nor his litter mates, nor facts we know about his parents that support him being a dachshund mix. Disappointed... sorry that we spent the money.
-16points
4of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Wisdom Panel Insights Dog Breed DNA Test Kit
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 8 reviews

Results not genetically possible!

June 21, 2011
by ExecMomInDC
fromWashington DC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Wisdom caveats on their webpage that the results may not work with dogs bred outside of the US, or that it may confuse some more modern dog breeds with some of the ancient breeds that the modern ones were derived from. I can only assume that one of these two scenarios applies to my rescue dog. My dog has the black and tan marking most commonly seen on Rottweilers, Dobermans, German Pinschers and Beaucerons. This is an EXTREMELY specific *recessive* gene (a't of the Agouti series). As a recessive gene, this means that for my dog to have this coat pattern then BOTH parents needed to be carrying it (perhaps not manifesting it, but they both had to be carrying it!). The breeds showing up in my dogs lineage were NOT breeds known for carrying this particular genetic series. Chow and Vizsla? Not likely. I checked with Vizsla breeders to see if they ever heard of a black and tan Vizsla and there is no such thing. No one has ever seen a black and tan Chow either. Wisdom also detected some collie on one side of family. Though Collie *can* carry that gene, it is extremely rare. And still, the math doesn't add up because we need two black and tan genes, not one. My dog LOOKS like a Doberman, except for his black tongue and sickle-shaped tail (so I'm willing to believe the Chow part). But something is just not right otherwise. Maybe if my dog comes from Rotties or Dobermans that were originally bred overseas, it was confused with other breeds? Or maybe Doberman is one of those "newer" breeds that they have trouble detecting? Or maybe my sample just got contaminated. I'm going to try another brand of test as a cross-check because it is quite the mystery now. On the upside... it was really easy to use, easy to read the report, seemed pretty fast, and the online access/tracking was great. I'd highly recommend this, if I could get results that seemed at least plausible.
-30points
7of 44voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Wisdom Panel Insights Dog Breed DNA Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

My Purebred with papers wasnt -this test confirmed

January 15, 2011
by Pekelover65
fromMadison WI
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
I recently bought a puppy online (which is risky) It was a purebred and I got the papers (AKA) to prove it...After having two other purebreds i noticed several different characteristics to my new puppy. I called the breeder several times and the reassured me I had a purebred. Finally I bought this kit, did a swab and it confirmed I was right!
I was more interested in getting an ancestery report to develop a wellness and training program. Now that I have this info..I can make sure my puppy gets whats best for her to have a long healthy life!
The test is simple... You simpley swab the dogs cheeks and mail in the sample in the enclosed envelope. All you fill out is a simple form with your dogs name and birthdate. Wisdom does not have a clue what you are sending in as far as your beliefs..they run the test and it come back.. My test was SPOT ON! I am so happy...
OH and I will be much happier when the breeder sends me my money back as she promised! (Time will tell)
If your love your dog as much as I do... and wonder about the ancestery...this is an awesome product
The report that comes back is very simple to understand.
-14points
15of 44voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Wisdom Panel Insights Dog Breed DNA Test Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews

I'm pleased.

July 22, 2010
by LoveMyPup
fromTell City, IN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 8 reviews
I chose Wisdom Panel for their large breed database. Of the North American companies, WP is the only to include Australian Cattle Dog in their database. This was very important to me, as I strongly suspected my dog Zoe was of Australian Cattle Dog descent. I also assumed with more breeds in the database, I would increase my odds of uncovering all recent purebred ancestry in my dogs. Furthermore, some other companies will search for and report "the closest match" if a breed detected in your dog is not included in their database. This can result in false breed reporting. If your dog has American Pit Bull Terrier ancestry, for example, other companies may report breeds as distantly related as Boston Terrier. It's my understanding that WP does not make a practice of this, which I appreciate.
The test was extremely easy to use. I answered a few basic questions (dog's name, my name, my e-mail address, etc.) and swabbed each of my dogs' cheeks with two separate swabs (Annie promptly ate one of her swabs--the company promptly sent two replacements at no extra charge). I let the swabs air dry for 5 minutes, packed them up, and sent them on their way. No pictures or hints as to my dogs' appearance were provided.
About two weeks later, the results were in. Results are sent via e-mail. The e-mail contains a link to a .pdf file. The reports are informative but they aren't terribly detailed. If you want lots of interesting science and detailed explanations of the results, you won't get that from this or any other company at present. What you will get is a chart showing the breeds detected for your dog and the level at which they are detected. WP also provides a page of information on each breed detected.
Zoe (who looks like an obvious Australian Cattle Dog mix)'s results showed Australian Cattle Dog at the intermediate or "grandparent" level. She also showed traces of Siberian Husky. Though the company claims it's unlikely that dogs will resemble breeds detected at the "minor" level, I do see possible hints of Husky ancestry (enough so that I had considered the possibility prior to receiving her results). For example, Zoe has a curled tail, "snow nose," and partial heterochromia (two different colors in the same eye). Though Zoe's results reported only a small portion of her ancestry, I am pleased, much moreso than had I been given a long list of breeds. Her results are extremely believable and indicate a dog who is several generations mixed breed (my favorite kind!) along most lines.
Annie looks like an obvious Beagle mix. In fact, people regularly comment on my "pretty Beagle." Though she looks very Beaglish, she is a bit large and muscular for a Beagle and is mostly white with just a few red spots. According to Wisdom Panel, Annie's most recent purebred ancestor was a Beagle, again at the grandparent level. At the great-grandparent level, WP detected Boxer (which I may see in Annie's facial markings on one side, her slight underbite, and her athletic build and demeanor). WP also reported traces of Old English Sheepdog, which I cannot see at all but I'm willing to consider (after all, I look nothing like my great- or great-great-grandparents!). Again, WP told me I have a well mixed mutt, which I appreciate much more than a long list of marginally related breeds.
I definitely intend to purchase Wisdom Panel Insights again for all of the mystery mutts in my future. :)
Pros: largest breed database, seemingly accurate, easy to use, good customer service
Cons: cannot tell whole story, reports could be more detailed
+49points
53of 57voted this as helpful.