PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for KONG(r) BraidZ Monkey Dog Toys

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

KONG(r) BraidZ Monkey Dog Toys

Made of soft but strong fleece material Tightly braided for strength Minimal stuffing for minimal mess
Overall rating:
3.278 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 17
11 of 18(61%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for KONG(r) BraidZ Monkey Dog Toys
Review 1 for KONG(r) BraidZ Monkey Dog Toys
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 18 reviews

Mediocre

January 31, 2013
by Kaity2012
fromHoopeston, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 18 reviews
I bought this for my 10 month old Boston terrier. Within the first hour or 2 I seen a stitch that popped on one of the legs of the monkey. I wasn't very satisfied at that point so since it was so new i wasn't going to let it go to waste. I sewed the leg up and then i seen another stitch about to pop as I was finishing up the first stitch. So I sewed the second one. After that it's been about 3 weeks and my dog is still playing with it and no other problems have occurred. Hopefully it stays like that for a little longer. So over all I wasn't satisfied at first but now I have came to terms that it's not a p.o.s. It's overall mediocre which isn't really what I paid for considering Kong toys are known for the durability. And since they are supposed to be very durable they are a little more expensive compared to other brands. I'm indifferent about the toy in terms of value and durability but I still like the looks of the toy and the braid in the middle is pretty strong its just the limbs of the monkey that aren't.
Pros: Keeps Pet Entertained
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for KONG(r) BraidZ Monkey Dog Toys
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

it was fantastic my dog loved it

January 13, 2013
by thepetprouduct
fromnew york ny
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
it was fantastic my dog loved it and she is picky very picky it is her favorite toy it is washable and durable
Pros: durable, easy to wash, Keeps Pet Entertained
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for KONG(r) BraidZ Monkey Dog Toys
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

At last - a dog toy that lasts!!

January 7, 2013
by TemplePat
fromTemple, Tx.
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I now have three dogs....they come in small, medium and large :). I have bought so many dog toys over the years before bringing my little shihtzu, Chewy, into the family and they either did not get played with or got torn to shreds in the end.
Now, comes little man, Chewy, who just LOVES to play and he inherited all the toys, BUT I bought him two new Kong Toys. He just LOVES them. He can pull as hard as he wants and nothing has broken or shredded and he CAN pull hard. I can put them all in a pile and he gets the Kong toys every time. He would play with them from dawn to dusk, if I had the energy to play with him. As it is, he grabs it and flings his head all around, growling, as to say, take it if you can...and you rarely can lol. These toys cost a tad bit more to purchase but are WELL worth the price. I will never buy any other toys than those manufactured by Kong. Try them and see if your pooch doesn't love them too!!! NO CONS yet after 6 months!!
Pros: durable, easy to wash, Keeps Pet Entertained
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for KONG(r) BraidZ Monkey Dog Toys
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews

Pretty Good

January 1, 2013
by Vetgirl11
fromUSA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews
My black lab loved this toy as a puppy. I would not recommend this to dogs who chew on everything. As he grew older he shredded the toy. It served it purpose. All in all it is a good toy.
Pros: Keeps Pet Entertained
Cons: easily destroyed
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for KONG(r) BraidZ Monkey Dog Toys
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 18 reviews

August 15, 2012
by zuzu84
fromCentral Valley, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews
My corgi destroyed this toy in minutes. Kong Wubba lasted a bit longer.
Pros: Keeps Pet Entertained
Cons: easily destroyed
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for KONG(r) BraidZ Monkey Dog Toys
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 18 reviews

Very entertaining but did not last long.

March 17, 2012
by AmericanBulldoglover
fromAnderson,IN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We have an american bulldog that is 1 and she loves chew toys so me and my family thought that this monkey kong toy would be great for her. So we brought it home and she fell in love with it and started to chew away. We had it a few days and the monkeys body started to come undone and yes it does make a mess. On the other hand she loves this toy and carries it around with her everywhere she goes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for KONG(r) BraidZ Monkey Dog Toys
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews

Kongo Braidz Monkey Dog Toys

October 11, 2011
by shades1963
fromSlayton, MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews
I bought this toy for my retriever and she had the arm torn off in half an hour. Totally worthless toy.
Cons: easily destroyed
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for KONG(r) BraidZ Monkey Dog Toys
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews

Not worth the money

September 4, 2011
by GlendaW
fromMooresville, Indiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have a pug, about 13lbs, and 6 months old she had the stuffing out the head within 2 days! I gathered the stuffing and sewed it back together, it came apart right at the seam of the head underneath. For the money not a good product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for KONG(r) BraidZ Monkey Dog Toys
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 18 reviews

He loves it but...

July 8, 2011
by GeddysMom
fromTexas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 18 reviews
We have had this toy for about a week and it has a tail and an arm still attached. The head is on but has been unstuffed and the squeeker has been destroyed. Not very durable but he loves to destroy it.
Pros: Keeps Pet Entertained
Cons: easily destroyed
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for KONG(r) BraidZ Monkey Dog Toys
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews

Good play toy

April 16, 2011
by screamingmimi
fromHouston, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews
When we got our German Shepherd puppy at 10 weeks old she started off with monkey. We were making it her primary toy and always brought it with her everywhere. She does not always take to it but she has enjoyed it. She is now 6 months old and with her adult teeth, has now ripped the face. I will mend it since monkey has been with her from the beginning. Otherwise, this is a very durable toy.
Pros: durable, Keeps Pet Entertained
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for KONG(r) BraidZ Monkey Dog Toys
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

My Frenchie's fave animal toy!

February 27, 2011
by mrsbutler
fromBoston, MA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
CeCe was given this toy as a gift and it looked a little too big for her at first. But she took to it right away and it has become a clear favorite. The toy has held up so well and it's good for both playing and snuggling! A total winner.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for KONG(r) BraidZ Monkey Dog Toys
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 18 reviews

Not very durable

November 2, 2010
by Luciferous
fromIL
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews
My puppy has had this toy for a week and has already managed to chew 4 holes in it. I only gave it 2 stars because she does love it.
Pros: my puppy loves it
Cons: not durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for KONG(r) BraidZ Monkey Dog Toys
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Great toy

August 24, 2010
by Shygirl8185
fromMississippi
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
I have been very impressed with this product. It is durable (especially when you consider that it is more or less a plush toy with a squeaker) and entertains my dog for hours. We replaced our original "Monkey" after about 7 months, and would do so again.
Just a note...Our dog is a year old German Shepherd who has chewed through brick, glass, and a metal tiki torch while teething. We have recently added a Lab/Dalmation mix puppy to our family, and both enjoy playing tug of war with this toy. Two months later, our new "Monkey" is is great condition.
Pros: a favorite toy for our german shepherd.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for KONG(r) BraidZ Monkey Dog Toys
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Still going strong..

April 6, 2010
by GRogers
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
I bought this for my dog a few months ago in the medium size and she loves it! This toy is really durable, the arms, legs, and head are all still attached and in great condition. My dog only weighs 8lbs so I don't think she could do much damage if she tried. Someone on here wrote a review saying their dog ripped off the tongue? There is no tongue on this toy, none of those little hairs either, nothing sticking out to make the dog want to rip it off, and thats why I really like this toy.
Pros: durable
Cons: nothing!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for KONG(r) BraidZ Monkey Dog Toys
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Litttle Pal

March 20, 2010
by bulldog4life
fromGermany
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have a 5 month old English bulldog that loves his monkey. He has had it for 3 months and it is still in one piece. He plays with it every day and loves to squick away. My dog is happy with the toy so I am happy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for KONG(r) BraidZ Monkey Dog Toys
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews

Toy is cheap

February 21, 2010
by evvmale69
fromEvansville, IN
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews
I thought Kong was a good brand and was very durable. I bought the frog version of this braidz toy and my miniature pinscher tore its tongue off within the first 5 minutes and then ate the feet off of the toy the next day. He had never destroyed a toy like this before, but I highly recommend not buying these toys. My dog loves his Kong toy, but this does not match up to the others. $10 bucks down the drain........
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for KONG(r) BraidZ Monkey Dog Toys
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews

Lasted less than 5 minutes

December 28, 2009
by Zoesmommy
fromNY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews
I would not recommend this toy unless your dog just sits and watches it. Yes, it's cute. Yes, it looks very durable. Yes, it's made by a good company, but it is quite possible the most fragile toy I have ever purchased. My 1 year old, 25 lb. Puggle was so happy to see it, grabbed it from me and immediately it's arm pulled off. Not such a big deal as the arm came off clean, but within 5 minutes while my dog merely licked and lightly mouthed it the head ripped open and the filling came out. End of toy, end of 5 minute fun at a price tag that was way too much. Really cute toy if your dog will merely lay beside it, but as for any play, not recommended.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for KONG(r) BraidZ Monkey Dog Toys
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
1 out of 1 recommend this product
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews