PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for ScoopMaid by LitterMaid Replacement Litter Trays

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

ScoopMaid by LitterMaid Replacement Litter Trays

Compatible with Scoop Free Self-Cleaning Litter box Easy-to-use disposable litter tray w/protective plastic liner Absorbs liquid & dries solid waste Promotes a dust-free environment Contains premium crystal litter for up to 1 month of freshness
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
6 of 25(24%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for ScoopMaid by LitterMaid Replacement Litter Trays
Review 1 for ScoopMaid by LitterMaid Replacement Litter Trays
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 25 reviews

Bad/failed attempt to replace the original product

February 9, 2012
by whiskers48
fromVirginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I purchased the ScoopFree automatic litterbox about two years ago. The original litterbox trays worked well (lasted about 10+ days for my 2 cats) before needing to be changed. The ScoopMaid (SM) trays do not hold up as well--they need to be replaced more often because the magnetic flap is not included on the SM brand. I put down a plexiglass sheet (purchased from the hardware store) under the litterbox, which helps protects the floors. I also put cardstock paper directly under the litterbox, which helps absorb any used litter that gets underneath the litterbox. I'm going back to the original brand (which are available on the ScoopFree website)--it's a better value for the $.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ScoopMaid by LitterMaid Replacement Litter Trays
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 25 reviews

Horrible replacement

January 7, 2012
by Katscatreviews
fromSacramento, Ca
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this in the store and was told that the store would no longer be carrying the ScoopFree brand and would only carry this one. I was disappointed when I opened it to find the catch tray for the waste a quarter of the size as the other and no magnetic strips. The first time I heard my ScoopFree Automatic Litter Box go through the automatic cleaning cycle I could tell it was struggling more. Within a few days, it started to smell. I've now had it for a week and it has several yellow spots. I will be going out this weekend to replace it.
Cons: Doesn't Eliminate Odor, Hard to Sift
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ScoopMaid by LitterMaid Replacement Litter Trays
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 25 reviews

Terrible!

January 1, 2012
by NinjasMommy
fromAlbuquerque, NM
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have an automatic Scoopfree litter box and a manual Scoopfree box for my two cats. This replacement tray says on the package that it will work for Scoopfree, but the tray doesn't fit under the unit! It's too big for the housing to fit snugly over the box. Secondly, the new design doesn't have the magnetic flap covering the front, so litter comes over the front and on to the floor! I have had my Scoopfree for three years, this isn't user error it's bad product design. Terrible! I would not recommend these replacements for Scoopfree users, and since my local pet stores are no longer carrying the older style boxes I may just be tossing the units themselves. To think that I spent almost two hundred dollars on reduced maintenance boxes to have to just go back to the old litter boxes....
Frustrating and definitely not worth the money.
Cons: Doesn't Eliminate Odor, messy, Hard to Sift
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ScoopMaid by LitterMaid Replacement Litter Trays
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 25 reviews

Bring back the old tray!

October 11, 2011
by PetOwner5
fromLos angeles, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My husband and I were very pleased with the scoopmaid system and the old try with the magnet flaps. We have used it for awhile now, we have 3 cats. Now the company has changed the tray and I cant seem to find the old one anywhere. The new tray works awful and we do not want to continue using it unless we can use the old trays that actually work with the box.
These new trays cause a mess and just really doesn't do much!
Might end up at a garage sale if we cant fix the situation.
Cons: messy
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ScoopMaid by LitterMaid Replacement Litter Trays
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 25 reviews

Sccopmaid Replacement Litter Trays

September 1, 2011
by 1VeryNiceCat
fromOttawa, ON
Sccopmaid replacement trays do not work well in a Sccopfree Litter Box because they lack the flap over the "sweepings". The litter lasts only 1 week instead of the Scoopfree product which lasted 3 to 4 weeks. The litter box smells after only a few days and needs to be sifted - what we were trying to avoid.
Cons: Hard to Sift, Doesn't Eliminate Odor
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ScoopMaid by LitterMaid Replacement Litter Trays
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 25 reviews

Time to buy a different brand machine

August 4, 2011
by Den4
fromPA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I have been using the automated machine for 5 years. I loved the product until the trays were changed. I am now considering a different product because the trays just do not work properly since they were "improved" ha ha!!
When the time comes to change the tray, everything falls out when you attempt to remove the tray.
Did it really save them money to remove the 6inch cardboard lid that retained the waste?
I wish i could contact the company to tell them how poor a decision it was to change the tray design.
I do not usually write reviews but i am extremely unhappy with this new tray!!!!!!!
Cons: messy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ScoopMaid by LitterMaid Replacement Litter Trays
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

Finally Something that Works!!

August 3, 2011
by VinnieJ
fromNew Jersey
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Went through at least 5 or 6 Littermaid boxes that constantly clogged, overflowed or just stopped working. This box eliminated odors from two cats and the box lasted almost four weeks. I cleared the feces after a week and a half and replaced some litter. It still had no smell at four weeks but I changed it anyway
Pros: eliminates odor, easy to clean, low dust
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ScoopMaid by LitterMaid Replacement Litter Trays
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 25 reviews

disappointing

July 7, 2011
by atozmom
fromSan Antonio, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Our scoopmaid system, while definitely better than a traditional litter box, was not working like we'd expected it to. So I went on line to make sure we were using it correctly and discovered the poor reviews. Now I know we're not the problem. I'm now afraid that when I lift up the tray I'll discover swollen spots on our laminate floor caused by leaking urine. (We've only had it a week.) I'll be following other reviewers' lead and I'll be buying another tray on-line.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ScoopMaid by LitterMaid Replacement Litter Trays
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 25 reviews

I love it

June 23, 2011
by Patsy21
fromAltamonte springs, Florida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I really like the new version. It lasts longer and is easier to handle than the earlier version. I do find that it helps to clean out the cat feces every 1-2days. If you do that then the box will last 3 weeks or more.
Pros: easy to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ScoopMaid by LitterMaid Replacement Litter Trays
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 25 reviews

Horrible

June 17, 2011
by 0000
fromChesapeake, Va
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I was so happy to see the words new and improved on the trays but to my dismay this product is no way improved it is now worse.. Why would they take the top off the box that is the part that holds everything in.. So now when i change it the litter falls everywhere and as well as the number 2... I wish i could call them up and ask them what they were thinking... They are lucky there is no where to leave a review on the main site because man would i leave a horrible one... This product used to be ok but now its horrible... Crystals everywhere it might as well be the regular littermaid now..... Cheap Cheap Cheap... And also it never last as long as it should.. i have two cats and have to change it every week.. and even that pushes it...........
Cons: messy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ScoopMaid by LitterMaid Replacement Litter Trays
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 25 reviews

Took a good thing and made it terrible

May 18, 2011
by PAKA
fromLouisiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I had finally found a cat litter product that captured the smell and nastiness of the cat box, and loved it and recommended it to everyone and have used it for years successfully.
Then to my dismay one day the product was labeled "new and improved" which means "cheaper to produce" and now a terrible product.
I not only get to smell the cat odor from beginning to end of cycle use i also get to see the mess when I change out the litter refill.
What were you thinking???
Pros: low dust
Cons: messy, Doesn't Eliminate Odor
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ScoopMaid by LitterMaid Replacement Litter Trays
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 25 reviews

Not what it used to be

April 29, 2011
by LAG1941
fromFt. Myers, Fl
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have found that in the last year or so that Littermaid has cheapened this product to the point that I may have to replace with something else. First of all they advertise that each litter box is good for at least a month. I have one cat and if it lasts a week if I'm lucky. Usually it lasts about 5 days. Secondly, they eliminated the cardboard cover that hid all the refuse and this is another reason this litter box doesn't last too long. If you have limited space (as I do) then this may be worth looking into.
Pros: eliminates odor, easy to clean, low dust
Cons: messy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ScoopMaid by LitterMaid Replacement Litter Trays
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 25 reviews

Terrible product

April 19, 2011
by AShawn
fromAustin
Whoever designed this product has obviously never used it and clearly does not have a cat. They deemed the inside flap to be unneeded when in fact that is the ONE aspect keeping excrement and litter in the box. Congratualtions on saving the 5 cents in cardboard and not selling products at the same time. Without the proper product I don't have a need to go to PetSmart.
Pros: eliminates odor
Cons: messy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ScoopMaid by LitterMaid Replacement Litter Trays
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 25 reviews

Love the convenience of this product

March 23, 2011
by funwithpooh72
fromlas vegas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I agree that the old litter was better. I have been using this product for about 5 years now. I had 2 cats and now we have a kitten as well. I have this litter box, plus a regular litter box with clay litter. My oldest cat will only use this box and the other two go in both. I agree that the litter has changed color and it doesnt last as long. My way around this is that I also buy cheap crystals at another store and replace the tray after about 1 month. (I only change out the litter not the tray. i have been able to reuse the same cardboard tray for about 3 months at a time). I have had no problems with leaking but i did place a newspaper underneath, just in case. The box is so convenient that a little problem with this litter is easily solved.
Pros: eliminates odor, easy to clean, low dust
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ScoopMaid by LitterMaid Replacement Litter Trays
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 25 reviews

Poor Quality

January 10, 2011
by Ladybug0727
fromNC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I thought these would be the same as Scoop Free, Boy was I wrong!! These do not last as long as the original ones, plus they leak. The material is cheap, and it falls apart. In the long run I was changing them out more often, and buying more. I only have 1 cat. I have gone back to ordering them from ScoopFree. Sorry Petsmart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ScoopMaid by LitterMaid Replacement Litter Trays
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 25 reviews

quite inferior to ScoopFree trays

October 4, 2010
by nomorechange
fromOhio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
When I first bought the ScoopMaid tray, I assumed it was the same as the ScoopFree trays that I had been using for over a year. BIG SURPRISE!! The tray leaked urine in the first few days. Not comparable, not worth the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ScoopMaid by LitterMaid Replacement Litter Trays
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 25 reviews

Not the original scoop free product

October 2, 2010
by badcookie
fromTexas
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This litter isn't the premium fresh step litter, because this product is made by scoop made. The original one was made by scoop free. I do not know why petsmart quit carrying the original litter by the original manufacturer. This product is much cheaper made and doesn't last near as long. It also leaks before the one month replacement time.
I have one cat, and would avoid this
Pros: none
Cons: cheaper made, doesn't last, leaks, just as expensive as the brand name
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ScoopMaid by LitterMaid Replacement Litter Trays
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 25 reviews

Kinda Gross

August 1, 2010
by Amashley
fromLake Havasu City, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Well I had just got back from a trip and I forgot to pick up a scoopfree litter tray and the stores close to me don't carry it so I went and found this at petsmart. Ive been using it for about 7 days and I have two cats. It looks really gross the front of the box shows the litter being bright blue but the litter is like a light blue almost clear with a blue tint and once the cats use it the litter turns yellow really fast, It looks really gross. It hasn't leaked or anything yet but it's just really gross to look at and I notice I hear alot of noise I figured out that when it cleans the box its scrapes on the bottom of the tray and it squeaks I haven't noticed the scoopfree trays doing that. I stir the litter every few days. These are about the same price as the scoopfree trays and my scoopfree trays last 2 weeks for 2 cats Ive used this for a week now and it looks so gross im ready to throw it out.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ScoopMaid by LitterMaid Replacement Litter Trays
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 25 reviews

littermaid liner tray

April 30, 2010
by mtncats
fromFoothills, Central California
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Far superior to Scoop Free trays despite the U-Tube or whatever ads. No matter how saturated these get, they DON'T LEAK. I have cats with kidney disease and have used both trays. The Littermaid also remains cleaner longer. A little pricey but so's the competition. An easy 5 Star rating from me and the felines who actually use them.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for ScoopMaid by LitterMaid Replacement Litter Trays
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 25 reviews

Great litter box...Horrible Replacement refills!

February 27, 2010
by angmadwil
fromLos Angele, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have been using the ScoopFree system for almost three years and I have LOVED it...until I bought these replacement refills. They ARE NOT the same as the old ScoopFree refills as these push all of the litter into the waste compartment and require your attention every day as your cats will not have any litter left to use if you don't. I am now choosing to purchase the old ScoopFree refills my mail order...
Pros: availabe in store
Cons: do not last, not the same
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next