PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Aqueon Quiet Flow 20 Aquarium Power Filters

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Aqueon Quiet Flow 20 Aquarium Power Filters

Keep your water crystal clear with Aqueon's four-stage filtration process that includes mechanical filtration, chemical filtration, biological filtration, and stationary wet/dry filtration. Available in a variety of sizes.
Overall rating:
3.959 / 5
4
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 48
35 of 49(71%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Aqueon Quiet Flow 20 Aquarium Power Filters
Review 1 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 20 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

Works like a charm

March 4, 2014
by RNstanger
fromCA
Had this in a saltwater tank as a secondary filter. Price is great and filter does what it's supposed to. Never had any problems with it and it's pretty quiet. Just bought another one for a freshwater i'm starting up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 20 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 49 reviews

Aqueon Quiet Flow 20 Aquarium Power Filters

February 25, 2014
by RMFord
fromKent, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have had other brands of Aquarium Filters with and without bio wheels in the past, but this is an easy filter to clean but I do use another brand of charcoal filters in it as they are easier to rinse and reuse at least 3 times where this brand filters don't last as long. I just purchased my 4th Aqueon Quiet Flow Power Filter and Heater and have been very pleased with these products.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 20 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

Quiet....

February 4, 2014
by Noelle16
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
This is a really nice filter that does the job. And best of all, it is very quiet! I bought this about a month ago. Still working well!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 20 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 49 reviews

nice

January 15, 2014
by Obeydeegee
fromLongbeach
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Good product picks up a lot of debre and trash and quiet like said
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 20 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

Very quiet and strong!

December 27, 2013
by Dantheman777
fromLas Vegas , NV
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 49 reviews
Ease of Use 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
Works just like the quiet flow 10 but has a much stronger motor that cycle the water more. Fill the water until it is even with the stream of water exiting the filter. This way it is quiet and you don't have to risk it getting to low. If it gets to low an emergency shut off kicks in to save your motor from burning out. Don't listen to the bad reviews. In addition it is very easy to dissemble and clean!
Pros: easy to clean, works great, easy to install
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 20 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

July 9, 2013
by jovan
fromrc
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
good for gold fish
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 20 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 49 reviews

Works like a charm!

January 30, 2013
by Misadventures
fromOntario, Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
When our pump died, we were in a fix and needed to replace it quickly. We found this unit and have been quite happy both with the work it does, as well as the price of replacement filters.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 20 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 49 reviews

Worthless

June 3, 2012
by JZ7171727
fromBradenton, FL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Lousy product, the pump jams constantly stopping the filter. Getting it started again and back on the canister is a constant headache. Had this filter for a couple years now and nothing but headaches from day one.
-6points
3of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 20 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 49 reviews

Don't waste your money!

May 6, 2012
by Anonymity
fromNewport, RI
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I had just bought a 29 gallon tank, and bought an Aqueon QuietFlow 20. I put it in the tank, and it turned on making a ton of noise. An hour later, it stopped working. There was absolutely NOTHING I could do to get it to work again. So I went out and bought an Aqueon QuiteFlow 30, thinking it was just that one was malfunctioning, and this one would work. I put it in again and it make the same obnoxiously loud noise. And an hour later, it turned off. Again, there was absolutely NOTHING I could do to fix it. Don't waste your money on this piece of junk!
-20points
5of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 20 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 49 reviews

Not very quiet, but works well

February 13, 2012
by Toboe
fromSouthern, New Jersey
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought the 20 gallon filter for my 15 gallon tank. I keep the tank in my bedroom, and would not recommend this filter for anyone who doesn't want to lose their mind being in close quarters with it. It produced a very deep humming sound that drove me totally bonkers. It was like a cell phone on vibrate, sitting on the desk. It was terrible, it worked great, but the noise was too much for me. I ended up exchanging it for a Tetra brand filter that was even cheaper (by $5) which is so quiet, they should trade names.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 20 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

February 7, 2012
by britwal
fromDaleville ,IN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This filter works great for my betta. He is in a 10 gallon tank and the filter keeps the tank really clear and clean and he is much more active now that i got the filter.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 20 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 49 reviews

Cheaper aquaclear!

January 30, 2012
by ctang
fromsan leandro
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
When i got this it was a gift from my uncle. It was a ok filter but it does its job. The only problem i had is if u had small fish like baby neon tetras just bought. THEY WILL PROBALLY GET SUCKED UP BY THIS THING. The bright side if you get the smallest size aqua clear inserts it fits perfectly in it :D. So it filter just like the aqua clear, I would by this if you wanted the aqua clear but a cheaper version :3
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 20 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 49 reviews

Aqueon 10

December 5, 2011
by fishadept
fromKankakee,Il
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This filter is indeed whisper silent just like the box says. You even have to check just to see if its turned on. I rated this product a 3(average) because as a serious hobbyist, this product is not very reassuring it whisper silent because of its design but i would like better filtration Ive owned this product for over 2 weeks because my previous filter burned out, this product can have better filtration because my tank is still cloudy and for some unknown reason theres these white cottony particles in my tank that i believe are from there filter pads themselves.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 20 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 49 reviews

November 29, 2011
by mforce20
fromSomewhere, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This filter is one of my favorite filters because it is quiet. It also has a plastic piece that aerates the water as it flows back into the tank. It is not expensive and the only noise it makes is a little trickle of water, Which you have to be next to the filter to notice.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 20 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

Power 20 filter

November 14, 2011
by SuperBoss
fromNY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have a power 20 and 10 and i love them. Quiet good flow rate and lastes!!!!!
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 20 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

October 8, 2011
by pufferfishlove
fromcalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
i got this filter when i bought my 20gallon tank, its a great filter.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 20 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 49 reviews

Very good product

September 30, 2011
by MargotG
fromVirginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
As for its performance, this product has been very good to me in both the 10 and 30 gallon sizes.
My 10 gallon does make a minor buzzing, but it does NOT make a sound that can 'be heard around the house' like I've seen other reviews say here and elsewhere. It is very small, barely audible over the trickle of water, and is only noticed when you have no other sound in the room. When the TV is on, I don't hear it. It's sort of like a running refrigerator.
Don't knock the product. As a filter, it works GREAT!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 20 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

Wow!

September 25, 2011
by SantosM
fromCA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I absolutely love this product. its not only a cheap filter, but a great one. It hardly makes any noise, sure there is that little dribble of water but it isn't as bad as my previous filter, now that thing was a motor.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 20 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

An Excellent Filter, Highly Recommended!

August 19, 2011
by dafishdude
fromBuffalo, NY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Had this for about a month (10 gal. version) to keep the home of my group of goldfish nice and clean, and I must say that I am extremely pleased!
After reading some of the reviews here about this filter, I was skeptical at first, especially with the fact that most people deemed this filter as being too noisy, or failing prematurely.
In actuality, this filter is relatively quiet, thought not as quiet as my old filter that came with my 10 gal. kit. But then again, my old filter didn't seem to do a great job, probably because it wasn't moving a whole lot of water every hour; that's probably why it was more quieter? The box for this Aqueon filter states a lab certified flow rate of 100GPH, so it's obvious and understandable if this filter may seem a tad louder than others, since its gotta move a great deal of water every hour.
I can't comment on the failing prematurely issues reported by others as I've only had mine for a month, but Aqueon does offer a lifetime warranty on their filters, something I have not seen with any other filter manufacturer. Gives you great peace of mind in my honest opinion.
Setup was a breeze, had it up and running in five minutes. The diffuser aspect of this filter is really cool, as it minimizes the noise it makes as it returns the filtered water back into the tank. The only noise that is audible is the hum of the filter's motor and my wall clock in the same room where my tank is; between the two, my wall clock is louder than the filter.
Due to the effectiveness of this filter, I found myself performing water changes at a month and a week intervals, as opposed to monthly intervals. Not that big of a difference, but it's good to know that this filter is doing what it is designed to do: keeping the tank water crystal clear.
Great job Aqueon, keep up the good work!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Aqueon Quiet Flow 20 Aquarium Power Filters
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 49 reviews

Very Quiet!

August 4, 2011
by RStevens
fromWashington
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This filter is awesome! It's so quiet I can sleep in the same room, and sometimes I have to wonder if it's even running because I don't hear it. Only downside of it is that the replacement cartridges are EXPENSIVE.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next