PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer - 400 Yard

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer - 400 Yard

Ideal for training in the yard, at the park, or on the go. You can train your dog to accompany you anywhere and heed to your wishes--without a leash. Recommended for dogs 40+ lbs.
Overall rating:
4.469 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 48
44 of 49(90%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer - 400 Yard
Review 1 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer - 400 Yard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

Miracle!

January 23, 2012
by NCNana
fromEastern NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Our 2 year old Aussie had attended one and a half training sessions with great results. My husband's health prevented us from completing. The one thing we failed to do was allow her to walk around outside when she was a puppy off leash. As a result, anytime she got free she ran into the woods. The last time it caused a heart attack for my husband so I knew we had to do something. We had the wireless collar for our last Aussie but that is limited to the yard and I like to walk/run for exercise, taking her. My son has used a remote training collar for his lab with great results. However, he paid almost a $1000 for the collar and professional training. My son-in-law came 2 week-ends ago and spent 10 minutes with her with the Petsafe Venture Series Big Dog 1000 yards. From that day forward, we have walked everyday and she has not gotten more than 30 feet away from me! I use the tone only 90% of the time. If I use shock, I have not gone above the 2, and that not more than a few times. Today we went out for the first time with my husband. I forgot to turn the collar on until halfway through the walk and she still followed commands beautifully. Our Jack Russell goes on the walks too and he cannot distract her to get her to run with him. It is an unbelievable product. I only wish I had not been so undecisive for so long. I was trying to decide between the one month boarding training and trying it on my own with the collar. Thanks, Petsafe for an amazing product that is a real value. For us, this was not just about obedience or convienence.
Pros: comfortable, durable, looks great, Easy to ControlDog
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer - 400 Yard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 49 reviews

I have some peace

February 28, 2014
by Rae1
fromAtlanta, GA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 49 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 49 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 49 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My 7 month old Boxer is a counter surfer, sofa foot chewer, jumper on company, leash puller and overall let's play because its fun type of dog. I decided to try this correction collar and I'm quite impressed. For each unwanted behavior, Sebastian received only 2 corrections and he has not exhibited the behavior since.
I will say that the price on the website is about 30 more than it is in the store so I purchased at my local Petsmart. So that's my only con.
I would recommend this product to any one who has a rambunctious but very sweet and well meaning dog that just needs a reminder of what is okay and what's not.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer - 400 Yard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

Wonderful product.

February 20, 2014
by leppylady01
fromCottonwood.CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
This training collar is a great tool. My young kelpie male is responding well to the to collar. It is easy to use.
Pros: Easy to ControlDog
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer - 400 Yard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 49 reviews

did it work? well

February 16, 2014
by rathura
fromindiana
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 49 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 49 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
Yea. I wish I got this before my zone paws away ones. This one obviously lets you administer shocks wherever you are and wherever the dog is (within 1000 yards).
Oh, the product that I got was actually better than what is described. 15 levels of correction +2 (17 total) and 1000 yard range.
I actually have to turn this all the way up to stop my spaz of a dog from jumping when someone comes in, but that's about all I can get her to do and sometimes sit too while she is spazzing. When she isn't going crazy this usually works pretty well when she isn't confused about what you want.
I use the sound to call her to me and shock when she doesn't come, and shock when she does something wrong in general like not listening. It works for the most part but Im not dog whisperer. I don't know the best method of getting her obedient but this works well enough to not be pulling my hair out.
Pros: durable, Easy to ControlDog, looks great
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer - 400 Yard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

Changed my household in 2 days

February 4, 2014
by jp0731
fromLoganville, Ga
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
I have a 6 month old chow/shepherd mix, after trying every training avenue possible I bought this collar. After two days I have a sweet puppy!
Before the collar she:
Wouldn't listen to commands she knows
Attack our 12 year old dog
Push our 12 year old dog out of the way and eat her food
Bark for no reason.
At first I felt really bad when I had to shock her but now all I use is the tone and she stops whatever she is doing and listens. I have a totally different dog on my hands now and its amazing!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer - 400 Yard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

Results within two days!

January 26, 2014
by Kconstable
fromSan Diego, California
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 49 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
I have (had) an out of control 8 month old German Shepherd. He was so bad, it was starting to make me second guess him. I've tried classes, dog trainers... the whole shebang! I finally broke down and bought this, although, I was completely against this at first. (the thought of shocking my puppy was heart breaking) It is now the third day, and if he even hears the warning tone, he already backs away from what he was doing wrong... He's noticeably calmer, he'll actually come lay with you and play nicely. I now have to invest in one for my black lab. I highly recommend this!!!
Pros: durable, Easy to ControlDog, comfortable
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer - 400 Yard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

I LOVE THIS.

January 17, 2014
by Pittiechick
fromJacksonville NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5 49 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
I got this collar to do aversion training with my two dogs. I was planning on waiting a bit to buy it because it is on the expensive side, but unfortunately wound up needing to purchase it earlier than planned and luckily found someone selling it online. I moved into a new house with a 4 foot fence. My American Dingo started to attempt to jump over the fence and came way too close to succeeding one morning. As a quick fix, I went out and got a chain for her, but I could tell she was miserable seeing my other dog walking around the yard freely and that made me miserable. I've only had this product for less than 24 hours but it's a miracle worker. I use the beeping as a warning that she's too close to the fence and if she touches the fence she gets a quick tap of the shock button. She's a very smart dog and I can tell already that she's assimilating the beep with an impending shock if she touches the fence. I love this product because I don't need to worry anymore about her climbing the fence and she isn't assimilating my presence with the shock because I don't need to make a peep and I could be on the other side of the yard and the collar will work. I'm trying to get my dogs to stop playing so incredibly rough too, so when they start wrestling I just hold down the beep button and they stop what they're doing immediately. I LOVE this collar. Even if I needed to buy it full price, it would be well worth the money. I'm even considering buying an additional collar for my dopey pit bull that likes to dig up tree roots and yank them out of the ground.
Pros: durable, Easy to ControlDog, comfortable, looks great
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer - 400 Yard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

I love this product! Highly Recommend!

December 27, 2013
by a1s2h3
fromLancaster, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 49 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
I have been using this collar for years, and I actually purchased this one for my boyfriend's dog. He had a collar, but it was not as good. He constantly had battery problems or it didn't work. So for Christmas, his dog will now match mine with identical collars! Everyone always compliments me how well my dog behaves, and I don't even have to shock her anymore! :) It's great!!!!! It was a hard decision to make, and I felt terrible when I started using it, but I bought it because she was running away! I would rather shock her than have her hit by a car! That's my little princess! :)
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer - 400 Yard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

works great!

November 25, 2013
by sheeva2mom
fromoklahoma
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
Our Doberman puppy was becoming difficult to train. From day one using this product, her behavior and obedience have done a complete 180. It's been two weeks and we rarely have to use the collar. I would recommend this to anyone who has a puppy in need of training. The booklet has great training ideas that work!
Pros: durable, Easy to ControlDog, comfortable, looks great
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer - 400 Yard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

Great device to suppliment our walks

November 24, 2013
by rockfisher
fromEastern Shore, Maryland
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
Our dogs are great, but they become distracted and sometimes roam during our off leash walks. Sometimes our efforts to get them to return are not very successful.
I purchased these collars for my 2 dogs and it was an instant difference. I have the invisible fence device already, so even the training collar let them know there was something different on the walk.
I had a bag of small treats to reinforce their return after the collar signal was sent. They enjoyed the walk and so did I.
It was very effective for me!
Pros: comfortable, durable, looks great, Easy to ControlDog
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer - 400 Yard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

Great item

November 21, 2013
by mferg1977
fromSchertz, tx
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 49 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
Great item, i have a very stubborn dog and this is just enought to grab her attention using the sound or very low stimulation.
Pros: durable
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer - 400 Yard
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 49 reviews

Good Item

November 18, 2013
by LabDude
fromDelaware
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Collar does a great job other than twisting on dog's neck, which is probably a problem with all such products. Unless collar is very tight, receiver moves over to side of neck when dog is active, then can fail to function. Maybe some kind of a harness would work better to hold it in place? Other than that, it holds a charge for a long time and works great overall.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer - 400 Yard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

Woo Hoo! Something that works

November 4, 2013
by Beth24
fromBaltimore, MD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I was a little worried after reading the reviews for this product, but have not had any problems with the product, the battery or the equipment. It really really works. It starts working immediately. Have only been using it for a week but can see the difference in my 68 pound lab/rottweiler puppy. Do not need to use the shock part often. If I do the tone first and do the tone again he stops immediately, only when he doesn't do I have to use the shock part, which has only been 3 times. We are using a 6 and I can see that it does not really hurt him but actually works to distract him from whatever he was doing. Now when I put the collar on when I get home, it is like a different puppy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer - 400 Yard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

Great!

November 4, 2013
by DogMom42
fromOlympia, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This product was so helpful with training our dog not to jump on people as we had tried every other method with no success.
This was also helpful when training to be off-leash since it gave us more peace of mind that if he saw a squirrel and took off running or another similar scenario we would be able to stop him and keep him safe.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer - 400 Yard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

Great Training Aid!

October 15, 2013
by PAChristine
fromPennsylvania
What is your gender?F
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
We purchased this collar for our 10 month old lab. Although we live in a remote area and have a large yard for Duke to run in, he just wouldn't listen to us. In an attempt to set boundaries for him, we spent most of our time yelling or having to chase after him. It was exhausting and really took the joy out of having a puppy. We needed to get a handle on Duke's hung-strung, hyper behavior as soon as possible.
The collar and remote are easy to use. The directions are clearly written. When it arrived, we immediately took it out of the box and charged both the collar and remote for the recommended amount of time. Duke wears the collar for at least 4 hours each day, and we only have to charge it once a week.
It only took 3 days for Duke to understand the association between the warning beep and the zap. We would warn him with the beep, and if he didn't listen, he'd get the zap. I can't even remember the last time we had to zap him. We only have to warn him with the beep. It immediately gets his attention, and he stops whatever it is he's doing and comes to us. He's a completely different dog.
Pros: Easy to ControlDog
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer - 400 Yard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

Effective sound and stimulus.

October 7, 2013
by 4lk4
fromReno, NV
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
The collar fits well and stays in place due to its shape. The range gives me confidence that I can maintain control. My dog responds well to both types of stimulation.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer - 400 Yard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

Happy with results

August 22, 2013
by Happydogpet
fromMayfield, utah
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
Bought one but now have to buy another. My neighbor broke the first one. Works great in training my rescued pup. They said she was trained she was not. She is now and this device works well in stopping her from running off.
Could be a little more durable but still worked great.
Pros: comfortable, Easy to ControlDog
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer - 400 Yard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

Very Impressed!!!

August 1, 2013
by zillrigym007
fromRochester, NY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I was hesitant to use this type of product, but after reading some reviews online and doing some good research, I learned they really do make a difference. I have a 1 year old Boxer, and we were having some trouble letting her off leash in the yard, because she would run off and not listen. She is under full voice command for everything else, but with the "come" command, she seemed to have "selective hearing," which Boxer's are known to have.
After opening the box and setting up the collar and remote, it was obvious the quality was great. This collar has a sleek look, unlike some of the bulky ones I've seen. After a couple hours of charging and reading over all of the manual, we gave it a try.
She was off leash with NO run away tries in 15 minutes. I did set up flags and trained her as you would with an invisible fence. It only took pressing the "correction" button a couple times and she knew!
As far as the "shock" goes... There are 16 levels, and I started with level One. My Boxer did not respond to that level, but did respond to level three. ACCORDING TO HER REACTION, I would say the "shock" is more like a tap on the shoulder at this level. NEVER DID SHE SEEM LIKE SHE WAS BOTHERED OR UNCOMFORTABLE when I pressed the button. What she did do, was pin her ears back and looked right at me when I pressed the button and called her name. She was still the happiest dog in the world (and even happier being off a lead in the backyard)!!!
As far as I am concerned, this is the miracle trainer! It has been four days now and I feel like I only press the buttons on the remote 15% of what I did on day one. My dog knows the boundries of the yard and I have NOT seen any negative side effects of using this training collar.
I would recommend this product to ANYONE!
(FYI - at first I bought the "Big Dog Remote Trainer" - not the elite version - and the quality is FAR FAR better for this elite trainer and the difference in price is very minimal!)
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer - 400 Yard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

Why didn't I buy this sooner?

April 14, 2013
by Shawn39
fromNapoli, NY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 49 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 49 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
I have a 2 & 1/2 yr old female Pit Bull. She is very friendly but due to the amounts of coyotes, bear and cats that we have frequenting our yard she is always on high alert. Needless to say, she always barks and wants to race to the windows at the slightest of noises. It was amazing, the results from just the first time I used it. It's like she's a totally different dog. I originally bought this one because it was fully rechargeable but, I don't think I'm going to need to even. Either way it was well worth the money.
Pros: comfortable, durable, Easy to ControlDog
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for PetSafe Elite Big Dog Remote Trainer - 400 Yard
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews

Worth the money

April 11, 2013
by 01dog
fromDes Moines, IA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 49 reviews
Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5 49 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 49 reviews
We used this collar to walk our dog every day. She did great with it's use. She responded to just the beep and it wasn't very often that we had to use the higher mode. I would just just hit the beep sound when on a trail instead of yelling for her and she would come. We also have the wireless pet containment system. It helps to have that system because the beeps are the same, so it didn't require much training.
The problem with the collar is the fact that it is plastic and it has two systems to get it on and off. There is a clip and there is a buckle. I would use the clip and my husband would use the buckle. It easily would come undone if not adjusted just right. If our lab would roll around outside it would come off. And needless to say it was lost on a walk. So I'm looking at buying another one. It would be nice to just buy the collar or the remote and not have to buy them together. It would also be helpful if the collar was made of collar material and not a plastic to keep it longer.
But I'm going to get another, so that says it's a great system!
Pros: Easy to ControlDog
Cons: fragile
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next