PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Dremel Pet Nail Grooming Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Dremel Pet Nail Grooming Kit

The Dremel Pet Nail Grooming kit has a rotary tool that allows you to quickly, easily and safely trim your pet's nails.
Overall rating:
4.391 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 22
20 of 23(87%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Dremel Pet Nail Grooming Kit
Review 1 for Dremel Pet Nail Grooming Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 23 reviews

Tool works fine, batteries have very short life.

March 8, 2014
by GroomMaster
fromJacksons Point, ON
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5 23 reviews
The Dremel tool itself works well. The challenge is the battery life is very short. Additionally, after using it less than 5 times the battery was useless. I followed proper re-chargeable battery guidelines and thought perhaps I had an old battery. I bought a replacement battery and same issue again. Very frustrating. I have worked with dogs, training, showing and grooming for many years, I thought this would be an ideal tool but have been disappointed. I think you will be far better served to buy an ac powered (plug-in) style nail grinder....it will save you money in the long run and is ready to use anytime, no waiting for the battery to recharge.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dremel Pet Nail Grooming Kit
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 23 reviews

Awesome

February 16, 2014
by Daalas
fromHouston, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 23 reviews
I worked at a dog grooming place where we had this exact dremel so I ordered it and I've been using it on my dogs at home. If it's your first time definitely be careful (you don't want to grind past your dogs quick, and it can catch your knuckles or get stuck in your dogs hair if it's too long and in the way) but it's great for smoothing the nails. I also feel it works better once the grinder has worn out a bit, but still a great product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dremel Pet Nail Grooming Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

Great Nail Grinder

February 4, 2014
by Goodpet
fromWashington, DC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
Great product and very easy to use! Powerful and well made...not made of plastic!! Makes a quick job of safely trimming nails.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dremel Pet Nail Grooming Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

GREAT PRODUCT

December 22, 2013
by shamong
fromShamong, New Jersey
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
It took me a couple weeks to get my dog, who is afraid of EVERYTHING, use to it. I started by just leaving it on the table for her to smell, then holding it and turning it on. She wasn't afraid of the sound which surprised me. I then would touch her paws and she was fine with that, I was then able to get her to lay on her bed and do 2 or 3 toes at a time. I stop when I see she has had enough but I am glad I purchased it and would definitely recommend it. My best advise is to take your time, no one ever thought I would get to use it on her, she hates EVERYTHING.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dremel Pet Nail Grooming Kit
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 23 reviews

Love Dremmels, just not this one

June 25, 2013
by Manny1
fromBaton Rouge, LA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5 23 reviews
I have been working at a vet clinic for over a year now and we use the Dremmel tool all the time. It is an AMAZING tool to trim nails with much safer and easier than the old fashioned clippers. But, all the Dremmels I know and love are corded. So, i was tired of bringing my dog to work just to trim her nails; I bought this tool. It worked a total of ONE AMAZING TIME!!!!! I used it once and the second time i went to use it it would only function if I held it upside down on a FULL charge. Third time, didn't work AT ALL. BUY A CORDED ONE!!! This product was horrid.....
+2points
8of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dremel Pet Nail Grooming Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

Definitely worth the investment!

March 15, 2013
by RetrieverKid
fromNew England
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
We have 2 Golden Retrievers and a black Labrador and I can't recommend this Dremel enough. We just bought our second one after the one we've had for the last 5 or 6 years finally started to wear out after using it on our dogs every 1-2 weeks to maintain their very short nails. This tool safely and easily gets their nails MUCH shorter than regular nail clippers and shapes them very nicely. If you have a larger sized dog with thicker nails, this is definitely what you need. It may take your dog(s) some time to get used to, but once they do, it makes doing their nails much easier and faster. The Dremel is what most professional groomers and show dog handlers/owners use. Worth every penny and will last for years with regular use!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dremel Pet Nail Grooming Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

Worth Every Penny

February 3, 2013
by lsg86
fromSouth Carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
I bought this nail grooming kit for our husky. I was a little hesitant at first because of the price, but it was worth every penny! My dog didn't mind this as much as regular nail clippers and I wasn't scared that I was going to hurt him by trimming too much. It worked quickly and I only spent 10 minutes finish the job. It is a god send!
Pros: gentle
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dremel Pet Nail Grooming Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

This product is a GREAT investment

October 20, 2012
by RufmanAndHokie
fromNewport News, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have a large breed dog that has extremely hard nails. For years, i tried to cut his nails and it was such a pain. I got blood blisters on my hands and my dogs nails would split. I bought the dremel tool and it is quick and so effective. I highly recommend this nail trimmer. No complaints whatsoever!
Pros: gentle
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dremel Pet Nail Grooming Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

Easy to use and get used to!

March 24, 2012
by SetterMom
fromLouisville, KY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
This tool is easy to use and works great! After only two weeks (and a few treats) our dog is already used to us Dremeling his nails. The fact that this grinder was cordless is what made me choose it over a corded grinder with more settings that was slightly less expensive. I chose right!
The battery lasts plenty of time (about 5 sessions for us), it's pretty quiet, and the two settings are all you need. Use low for grinding, high for finishing (no, high won't actually grind the nail down faster).
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dremel Pet Nail Grooming Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

Amazing!

January 21, 2012
by totter
fromMichigan
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
Bought this after purchasing a product that promises a pedicure for your pup which is useless. The dremel is great! I have a larger breed dog with thick nails. On high speed I can get all of his paws done in 10 minutes or less! My dog seems completely comfortable with the Dremel. He was used to the sound from the previous product I mentioned, but it can be a little loud. Might take some conditioning for first timers to get used to, but this is great. It sands away the nail nicely. Its perfect size and it allows me to round off the nails if want.
I would recommend this product for medium to large breed dogs, I think it may be a bit much for very small dogs with little nails.
The battery life is great. I got about 4 sittings in on high power before I had to recharge. And I am just now changing the bit after 4 uses as well. This product is worth every penny!
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dremel Pet Nail Grooming Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

Finally

March 6, 2011
by MattnBranz
fromMoline, IL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
We've tried Pedi-paws and other brands like that. They worked on our littlest dog (12 lbs) but did absolutely nothing for our Springer Spaniel and Golden. Worthless and a waste of money.
This worked great for all of our dogs. It had more power than the cheapos. It didn't stop on the nails of the bigger dogs. We trimmed our dogs nails in no time and with great ease. The dual speed helped as one of our dogs didn't like the higher speed, but was quite fine with the lower speed. Being chordless is a huge plus. You can get any angle without tangling around your dog's leg, foot, or you wife. Just sayin'...
Two cons would be the dust (what dremel doesn't create dust...) and the chance to grind your fingers. The dust won't matter if you trim their nails outside. There's no guard to catch the dust, but that would only get in the way. Your fingers may get attacked if you put yourself in a position to hit them. Sometimes a dog moves and zip! Kinda hurts.
Well worth the money.
Pros: gentle
Cons: Fragrance
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dremel Pet Nail Grooming Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

Problem solved... permanently!

July 27, 2010
by Sammers
fromDFW, Texas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My dog is a mini Dachshund who is absolutely terrified of getting his nails trimmed. I have been struggling for 7 years trying to figure out how to stop his stress over the process of going to the vet to get his nails trimmed. He hates is paws handled, he even tries to bite when they have been clipped before, he expresses his "glands" every single time at the vet and invariably comes out of there highly stressed with his hair falling out like crazy.
I wish I had known about this product sooner and I even tried the "knock off" version a few years back (which I had purchased at a non pet store) with terrible results and never knowing there was something even better out there. Then I searched the Petsmart website for nail trim products and found the Dremel so I gave it a shot.
My dog has black nails so you cannot see the quick but if you look at the bottom of each nail you can see where it is and work the Dremel just long enough to file the nail down without hurting him.
Even better - It pays for itself within 3 to 5 uses depending on what you pay for nail trims (my vet charges $17) and this product is absolutely worth every penny and more. The first day I bought it, I charged it then let my dog sniff it and get used to being around it. Second day, I turned it on and got it close to his nails and was able to do a few and gave him treats in between each nail. The third day was even better (with no treats) on the 4th day, my dog just stayed on his back the entire time and I was able to quickly grind ALL of his nails. I followed the instructions and really, it is very easy to handle and you just have to put the nail at the right angle and that's it. No more than 3 seconds per nail and you are done! Wow, I am completely amazed and somewhat upset that I didn't check this out sooner.
This product is well made (it reminds of the "grinder" they use at the nail salons for acrylic nails) and works in the same fashion. It comes with several extra pieces to change as they are used up which easily have about 15 uses maybe more... I will find out as I continue to use it.
Outstanding product and would recommend to anyone who has been looking to save money and have a product that works as promised! I love it and my doggie is done stressing at the vet!!
Pros: easy to use, pays for itself in 3 uses, painless when you follow instructions, no guess work, well made
Cons: none
+27points
27of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dremel Pet Nail Grooming Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

A real money saver

January 29, 2010
by ATP1
fromAllentown, PA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
Used the suggestions contained in the excellent instruction manual and within a few tries my dog now allows me to do his nails. No more forced trips to the groomer or vet just so his nails can get done.
I use on high speed and give treats afterwards. Charges easily. Bought a bunch of extra tips but am still on the same one after twenty or so grinds. I do fronts one day, rear the next, once a week. As my groomer suggested. Takes about five minutes.
Pros: cost effective, easy to use, excellent brand and quality
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Dremel Pet Nail Grooming Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

This thing is AWESOME!

July 7, 2009
by soso
fromSkokie, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
My pup is 17 yrs old, recently blind, and she isn't walking as much as she used to - so her nails are no longer filed down naturally by long walks on the sidewalk. She is pretty easily freaked-out and, as I've never used a grinder or clipped her nails, I was sure it would take forever to get her used to the this grinder... on our first try, she fell asleep and I managed to file all of her nails! Initially, I was feeling a little ambivalent because this product is pricier than I had expected, but I am so thrilled with the results that I'm no longer concerned w/ the price tag...
Pros: quiet and easy to use
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Dremel Pet Nail Grooming Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

WAY better than other products

June 16, 2009
by AnimalChele
fromOklahoma
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
I wasted a lot of money on similar products before purchasing this one. My dogs are all afraid of having their nails trimmed because of past problems, but they handled the Dremel very well. This tool is painless, easy to use, makes it VERY easy for you to see the nail bed as you trim (unlike similar products) and includes a two year warranty. I purchased a product that shows infomercials previously and THAT sanding product broke after ONE use. The Dremel held up! I was able to trim three dogs' VERY overgrown nails in one battery charge and I am simply amazed. Far better than I had hoped!
Pros: easy to use, solid battery life, lightweight and easy to maneuver, company has a very good reputation, two year warranty included in price, relatively quiet
Cons: didn't include little wrench
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Dremel Pet Nail Grooming Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

Awesome Nail Grinder!!

May 20, 2009
by JemmaPuggle
fromWestchester, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Although the product is a little pricey it is way worth it!! I first purchased the Pedipaws and it was horrible, my pup did not like the look, smell, and loudness! This Dremel is totally different it has 2 speed settings, and it fairly quiet. I can use this with no problem, the first time I used it my pup she just sat there, and did not flinch or even try to run. She was so comfortable with this product that it made the whole nail process a breeze!!! Absolutely a great product!!
Pros: sturdy, rechargable battery, great brandname, quiet
Cons: none!!!!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Dremel Pet Nail Grooming Kit
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews

Top quality & rechargeable

March 24, 2009
by Dogscatsandturtle
fromCalifornia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews
I've tried the inexpensive nail grinder, but it was weak and always needed to replace batteries. A breeder friend said she had used a Dremel rotary tool. I happened to be in PetSmart and found a Dremel brand grinder for pet nails.
I LOVE IT. It works very quickly and safely. It has a very quiet motor so it doesn't scare my dogs. With the rechargeable battery it is always ready to go. I actually called the dremel company and they made the tool to specific groomer requirements. You won't regret it!
+17points
17of 17voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Dremel Pet Nail Grooming Kit
Based on the average of (6) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.2 / 5
4.2 / 5 23 reviews
5 out of 6 recommend this product
Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 23 reviews