PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Top Fin(r) Slow Release Vacation Feeding Blocks

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Top Fin(r) Slow Release Vacation Feeding Blocks

Vacation feeders are perfect for keeping your fish healthy while you're away. Choose from a variety of sizes and styles.
Overall rating:
4.05 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
16 of 20(80%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Top Fin(r) Slow Release Vacation Feeding Blocks
Review 1 for Top Fin(r) Slow Release Vacation Feeding Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Great. Use them all the time

March 4, 2014
by Dollmaker
fromBronx, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have large fancy Goldfish who are constantly eating. This helps to feed them and keeps my tank cleaner. It also helps to feed my bottom feeders as the Goldfish sometimes don't let anything reach the bottom.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Top Fin(r) Slow Release Vacation Feeding Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Product met my expectations.

January 4, 2014
by NJReviewer
fromWayne, NJ
On vacation for 10 days. Fish ate the food and survived. Water was clear.
37 gallon freshwater tank. 12 fish.
Prior to leaving, I crumbled some of the block and gave it to the fish during their normal feeding. When I left, I broke the block into several pieces.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Top Fin(r) Slow Release Vacation Feeding Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Works great, but make sure your fish eat it!

January 13, 2013
by Juska
fromBloomsburg, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
People are leaving bad reviews because their fish couldn't figure out that the vacation blocks aren't food. That's not the product's fault, so you're leaving false reviews. Sometimes fish just don't realize that vacation blocks are food.
That being said, my Goldfish likes the 3-day feeders for when I have to go out of town. I bought my Goldfish from PetSmart, and they give the Goldfish extra feeder blocks to make sure all the fish are well-fed, so maybe mine was already well-trained in eating from them, haha.
The fish in my 20 gallon tropical tank don't understand the concept of the feeder block (besides my Dwarf Gourami), so I've opted to have someone come and feed them every other day when I'm gone.
There are also automated feeders out there if your fish don't understand vacation blocks.
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Top Fin(r) Slow Release Vacation Feeding Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Great vacation feeder!

January 9, 2013
by koolcomp
fromWashington, DC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I went on vacation for 3 1/2 weeks. I had someone who cared for the fish for 2 1/2 weeks, but the other week I put half of this feeder into the aquarium. When I got back, all fish were alive and happy, and the water was very clear! I suggest doing a water change however afterwards as the water was a little cloudy, and the block was gone. Great product!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Top Fin(r) Slow Release Vacation Feeding Blocks
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 20 reviews

Fish won't touch it!

November 14, 2012
by Leeloo
fromChicago, IL
Not sure when they changed the design of the product, but I'm SURE they changed the recipe also.
We used to buy the weekend, 7 or 10 day feeders when we expected to be away, and unable to regularly feed the fish ourselves, with no complaints from the fish. Now, however, they won't eat it even after a week. Recently bought 3 in an effort to stock up, and will be returning 2 of them tomorrow.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Top Fin(r) Slow Release Vacation Feeding Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 20 reviews

Pretty Good

September 22, 2012
by ILoveAnimals197
fromTexas,Tx
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
When I first bougth this I got it for free!
Then I bought another for 99 cents (they aet the other one in a week!)
I really recommend it!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Top Fin(r) Slow Release Vacation Feeding Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

I am a satisfied customer

January 3, 2012
by Goldfishowner
fromnashua
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This is probably the best in class feeder. I got 4 goldfishes in my 10 gallons tank, I went to vacation for 6 days and the vacation feeder did its work. I was so happy seeing all my fishes alive. thanks to top-fin. I first purchased 14 days gel based feeder from tetra.. but thats real waste of money. I will never buy that again.
did not cloud water, fishes were happy, less ammonia.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Top Fin(r) Slow Release Vacation Feeding Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Kept my fish alive

December 23, 2011
by cedouglas
fromLyons, CO
I went on a week long trip and put one of these in my 10 gallon. I have 3 tetras, 2 cory catfish, 1 upside down catfish, and a snail in there and everyone was alive and active when I came home. The feeder had not completely dissolved but I scooped it out and threw the rest away. Clearly it did it's job.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Top Fin(r) Slow Release Vacation Feeding Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 20 reviews

Good product

November 26, 2011
by hamsters445
fromSt. Louis,Mo
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this for my 2 fish before i went on vacation it was great.........BUT it dissolved and got into their gravel at the bottom of their tank so it made a mess. But other than that it was pretty good!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Top Fin(r) Slow Release Vacation Feeding Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

No Worry Vacation

July 26, 2011
by Wyvernfire22
fromIN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought the ten day release one with the two three day feeders to try it and see if it worked before I went on a vacation. I have 5 snails, one algae eater, and seven fish. The feeder works great! As it dissolved slowly it released bubbles which attracted the fish so they ate it. My snails liked it too and crawled all over it. Even my algae eater liked it. It didn't make the water cloudy and it looks cute as well. It let me have a worry free vacation and I suggest this to any tank owner who wants a worry free vacation.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Top Fin(r) Slow Release Vacation Feeding Blocks
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 20 reviews

Okay... Here comes the bad news...

July 23, 2011
by Basenji1999
from45 mins. away from Traverse City, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I put one of the 3 day tropical fish feeders in with my platies and wanted to see what happened. My dad was still home, but no one else was, so someone was at least there. That was totally the right thing to do, because the first time my dad went in to check on them (one day into the vacation) the fish had swam to the top of the tank. My dad put in some of the normal food and attacked it. So obviously, the fish had either not liked the feeder, not noticed the feeder, or were simply too dumb to know what it was. I'm not trying to be mean to my fish or anything, but I'm not sure if they understood the meaning of the feeder. My dad had texted me about all that had happened, and said that he would feed the fish himself since they didn't eat the feeder. Then when I got home, the water was completely clouded, and I mean that! I could barely see my fish because of it! I did a 50% water change, and it was still a little cloudy. I change my water every week, so the clouding was gone the next water change. I am willing to give this product another chance, since I have different fish. Maybe these fish will be smarter than the others. So, I'm not exactly understanding why everyone else had an amzing time with this... I guess I'll retry it the next time we leave home. I am still disappointed though...
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Top Fin(r) Slow Release Vacation Feeding Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Perfect!!

February 10, 2011
by Loaches
fromNY
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have many fish, and I go on vacation about 5 times a year. These Vacation feeding blocks work great!! They're perfect for all kinds of fish. Don't forget about your fish when you go on vacation.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Top Fin(r) Slow Release Vacation Feeding Blocks
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 20 reviews

not as advertiesed

November 19, 2010
by Moosette
fromPennellville, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 20 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 20 reviews
I have purchased Top Fin 7 and 10 day fish food feeders and have been very disappointed! Always willing to give a product a 2nd or 3rd try just to be sure. First time used I was gone a full week and they were still alive and water not cloudy so figured it was OK. The 2nd and 3rd time I used the product I came home after 3-4 days and it was GONE! I have a large, well cared for acquairum and 5 average goldfish ~ where did it go! Oh yes, and I used the whole round block and didn't break it in half to use as 2 feeders. Just thought you should know my experiences.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Top Fin(r) Slow Release Vacation Feeding Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

Yum.

October 11, 2010
by Lunatatice
fromNY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
I used the 7 day one for my betta. He did not starve or die so I am assuming it did its job. I'm not sure if the water was cloudy or not, but it works!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Top Fin(r) Slow Release Vacation Feeding Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

October 3, 2010
by bettafreak
fromnew york
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
i had the betta one for my betta fish and tropical fish both loved them and were all alive when i came back wish they floated tho so top fish wouldnt have to come down and sinking ones for bottom fish
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Top Fin(r) Slow Release Vacation Feeding Blocks
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 20 reviews

fish food,

August 28, 2010
by sweetieee
frommi
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 20 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 20 reviews
this blocks of food made my fish tank very cloudy and i used the 10 day one block because i went on vacationn and when i got back my fish tank was VERY cloudy!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Top Fin(r) Slow Release Vacation Feeding Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

awesome product!

July 17, 2010
by ering
fromnorth carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
I was a little hesitant about leaving my betta(I had always taken him with me on vacation, which was difficult!), but this product worked great! I was expecting cloudy water when I came back, especially since i don't have a filter, but it was still clear and my fish was as healthy and happy as before when i left! I would definitely use this product again!
Pros: did not cloud water.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Top Fin(r) Slow Release Vacation Feeding Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 20 reviews

ok! = D

July 6, 2010
by puppypaws123
fromroseville,ca
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 20 reviews
this product is ok but clouds aquarium. i have 6 fancy goldfish and they love it!!!!
Pros: tasty 4 goldfish
Cons: clouds aquarium
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Top Fin(r) Slow Release Vacation Feeding Blocks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 20 reviews

Almost perfect!

March 28, 2010
by cg812
fromSt. Paul, MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
I was very hesitant to buy the product, thinking that my fish will perish without my supervision, but once I came back I couldn't believe my eyes. My fish were happy, healthy, active, and even more colorful than before! I also had some unhealthy fish that were recovering from ick, parasites, and other nasty things that were gone when I returned. I was actually gone for a week for spring break so I didn't use the whole thing. The only issue I have with the product is that if you have less fish than they recommend (I used the 10 day for only 2 fish and not 5+ as they recommended) than it CAN cloud your water. All it did really was put a light snowy coat on everything in my tank and kind of ruined my filter pad so it looked alot cloudier than normal. I would suggest a small water change before putting it in and a large one afterwards to help uncloud the water if it does cloud. Although it can cloud, it keeps your fish nice and plump while you're gone and it is an amazing product! I absolutely LOVE IT!
Pros: fish absolutely love the food!
Cons: can potentially cloud water
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Top Fin(r) Slow Release Vacation Feeding Blocks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews

February 11, 2009
by SolitaryRosez
fromCelina, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 20 reviews
I bought the slow release vacation blocks for my Mollies & Tetras thinking it would cloud my tank days later when I'd get back home & IT DIDN'T. I absolutely love this product. It is a fabulous babysitter for my fish.
Pros: does not cloud tank.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.