PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Catit Small Drinking Fountain and Accessories for Cats

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Catit Small Drinking Fountain and Accessories for Cats

The veterinarian-recommended Catit Small Drinking Fountain responds to your pet's need for a continuous supply of water.
Overall rating:
4.244 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 36
35 of 41(85%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Catit Small Drinking Fountain and Accessories for Cats
Review 1 for Catit Small Drinking Fountain and Accessories for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 41 reviews

March 13, 2011
by LetcherL
fromAlberta
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My cat's love this fountain. The only thing that I don't like is that it really doesn't really work with the full amount of water in it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Catit Small Drinking Fountain and Accessories for Cats
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 41 reviews

It works great! For a while

February 4, 2011
by Shawna
fromWinona, MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I've had this unit for about 8 months now, and it quit working suddenly. I've always kept it clean and filled, but noticed it wasn't working yesterday, and am unable to get it working again.
That said, this was a great unit while it lasted. My cats loved it, and drank much more water out of this then they used to do with a bowl.
My only gripe with it while it was working is that it really doesn't really work with the full amount of water in it; once it dips down below the top, the motor no longer brings any up, meaning I was refilling this every other day in order to keep it flowing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Catit Small Drinking Fountain and Accessories for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 41 reviews

Nice for the Price

December 24, 2010
by Connie10
fromMontgomery, AL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I bought this yesterday at PetSmart among other items for my cats. Was easy to assemble and I like the red water level gauge on it so you can tell how much water they are drinking. I like the size of it. My 2 cats had to check it out first and was a little skiddish of it at first but then they started drinking. I guess it was different from their other auto water feeder (Petmate). So far I like it!
Pros: no switch to stop working., it's quiet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Catit Small Drinking Fountain and Accessories for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

super product and great price

October 6, 2010
by jcrew
fromPA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
was looking for a filtered pet water fountain and actually was skeptical about this one because of cheap price BUT, asked a staff member and he said he tried ALL of them and they all were junk that he actually had to throw them away, except this one. He suggested I give it a try and if it doesn't work to take it back. Well, i brought it home-easy as pie to set up and my picky prissy Westie, Mini Shnauzer and my himalayan kitten ALL are obsessed with this and LOVE it so much they hit the water up ALL day. My kitten, Mrs. Miagi sits and stares at it in amazement. It constantly circulates and keeps water cool and fresh. The animals must love the taste of the water. It also holds a very large amount of water even though it is a smaller size fountain. I LOVE the price, it is cute and compact and my dogs and kitten really do love it.....hopefully it will last a long time and hopefully the filter will also last a bit. So far, so good. I highly recommend this product and I am very picky about what I buy....I buy only the best and expect what I buy to be of good quality. And I only give my furry friends the best of the best!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Catit Small Drinking Fountain and Accessories for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 41 reviews

Exactly What I'd Wanted

July 23, 2010
by InVermont
fromVermont
How many pets do you have?3
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 41 reviews
I had a Drinkwell Fountain. That model disappointed me. Not only did the motor stop working eight months after purchasing it, I was having to pull it apart and run a bottle brush through the spout part every week because it would clog with hair. We have two Maine Coons, so their hair is incredibly long and gets everywhere even though we brush them daily.
Despite my disappointment, I still wanted a watering system that would appeal to them. I have one who refuses to drink water from a bowl unless you change it every time he goes for a drink. After looking at watering systems, I felt the Catit had the key feature I wanted, no small tube or spout where cat hair could get stuck.
First, the motor is incredibly quiet. It's actually a submersible pump that sits in the water below the filter unit. The water doesn't bubble rapidly, instead it flows slowly over a plate. My cats tried to play with the water flow at first, realized they couldn't and instead started to drink. Ten minutes later, our water fussy cat was still sitting at the waterer watching the bubble of water.
It's been a week now. We don't have issues with the hot plug like others have listed. I am taking it apart and cleaning it weekly. The filter catches all the hair and there's no where it can clog making this is a great find for me!
Filters are $10 for a 3/pack, but as we only use filtered water, I'm going to skip their recommended every 3 week filter change and see if once a month works.
Pros: incredibly quiet, my cats love it, relatively compact, easy to fill and refill, comes apart for easier cleaning
Cons: wish the water bowl was glass and not plastic, can't find anything saying the plastic is bpa free
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Catit Small Drinking Fountain and Accessories for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

Solved a major problem!

July 16, 2010
by KrazyKittiesMom
fromDE
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Unlike all water dishes and most other feeders, the main advantage of the Catit Fountain for us is due to the thin layer of water that rolls over the top, rather than a standing pool of water. One of our three cats has never ever been able to drink from a water dish without having her paws fully immersed. This led to water tracks all over the floor due to soaking wet fur and paw pads--very bad across our wood floor! This also caused the dish to become filled with stray fur, dirt, little, etc. that would come from her paws. While we have caught her, on occasion, standing with her feet in the fountain, her paws barely get wet in comparison. Generally, she drinks from it correctly.
Furthermore, she is unable to do the "scooping" (sloshing large amounts of water onto the floor) like she did with a regular dish or other fountain. The other two cats love the fountain as well and always choose it over a regular water dish.
The product is well-made and the motor is very, very quiet--basically silent. If you let the water level drop, you will hear a slight trickling sound, but I use this as a good reminder mechanism that it needs filling up. I am also highly impressed with the quantity of water that it holds.
Pros: quiet motor, large capacity, keeps water clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Catit Small Drinking Fountain and Accessories for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

Best I've tried

July 2, 2010
by Reiy
fromWauwatosa,WI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
I always liked to try all of the cat fountains to see which ones my cats like best. Of all the fountains I've bought this one is my favorite because it's by far the easiest to clean. I feel like many of the other fountains were frustrating but the shape and limited pieces of this one make it extremely simple to clean. I usually had to use a toothpick/q-tip to clean a lot of the parts of other fountains while on this one I only have to use them mostly when I take apart the motor to clean it. The cats really like the fountain as well and for cats who've had problems wanting to use other fountains this one may work better as it's more of a water dish with recirculating water rather than falling water.
Pros: extremely easy to clean and maintain
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Catit Small Drinking Fountain and Accessories for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 41 reviews

This fountain

June 9, 2010
by CourtC
fromSavannah, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 41 reviews
In my honest opinion, this is a great fountain. I've never had any REAL issue with it. We got our little man last summer when he was barely big enough to even drink from it, and we've still got it! The ONLY complaint I have is that the plug-in for the outlet does get a little hot, but hey, it has electricity running through it almost 24-7. It only makes noise when the water gets low, and cleaning it is simple. Since we've had it from the time he was a baby, he's never had any type of UTI or kidney issues (knock on wood, he is still VERY young). A year after its purchase the fountain itself is fine, but the pump did go out, so that poses a bit of an issue. As far as I'm concerned though, we've MORE than gotten our money's worth :)
Pros: great affordable fountain, easy to assemble, baby boy loves it!
Cons: pump died after a year of use, plug gets a little warm
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Catit Small Drinking Fountain and Accessories for Cats
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 41 reviews

This is not as good as reviews suggest

June 8, 2010
by Jo14
fromFlorida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 41 reviews
... or perhaps I got a lemon.
The set up was easy and fill was easy. Took my kitties a while to get used to it and I really wish there had been more water above the dome. Once they got used to the waterer they liked it and they started to drink a lot more water, which was great.
But, the wall plug started to get really hot after about a week and a half. Neither the, 'bubbler' or the cord got hot.. I took a lot longer to clean it because there are a lot of nooks and crannies around the bubbler and filter plate.
Then it sprung a leak. At first I thought I was over filling it. But we thought it may have been leaking down the cord fitting.
Thank goodness that PetSmart has a great return policy.
Pros: great size
Cons: plug gets hot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Catit Small Drinking Fountain and Accessories for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

May 30, 2010
by Pockbun
fromToronto, Ontario Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 41 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I just got this fountain for my cat three days ago and she loves it. She use to drink out of a decorative chinese fountain so it was easy for her to adjust. Now she drinks alot more water. I was surpised how big the unit was but it fits in nicely with my decor.
Pros: not expsensive and quite running
Cons: putting it together was a bit fiddly...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Catit Small Drinking Fountain and Accessories for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

Curious Cat

April 3, 2010
by ReesesMommies
fromHouston,TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
We recently adopted a 2yrs. old Tortie! I found the Catit Drinking Fountain and decided she had to have it! When we got it home we washed and set it up (which was very easy) she was not as sold on it as we were! She was interested but the very soft humming noise that the pump makes was a little scary. We decided to place a small bowl of water next to the fountain unplugged, then two days later we moved the bowl to sit on top of the fountain, the next day we plugged it back in and she was drinking out of the small bowl on top of the fountain with it running! Victory!!! Who said you can't train a cat! The small bowl is gone and now she can't get enough of the Catit Drinking Fountain!!! We love this fountain and so does Reese!!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Catit Small Drinking Fountain and Accessories for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

Godsend!!!

March 1, 2010
by Sarahphurr
fromGreenville, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
I have a finiky cat who did not like to drink water from his water bowl. He had to over-turn his bowl and spill all of his water before drinking it. His habit led to mopping the floors about 4 times a day. It was running me ragged, so I replaced his bowl with a large heavy pyrex dish that could not be over-turned. He didn't dump it, but he started to "throw" (by making a digging motion) his water everywhere! There was water on the walls, the floor, and the furniture.
I broke down and purchased this product as a last hope. I assembled it with little trouble and plugged it in. While running, it was quieter than my fish tank. My cat seemed very curious about it. I left it, hoping that he would put 2 and 2 together. Thanks to the wonderful red water level indicator, I discovered that he was drinking from it! I have not discovered any further puddles from his drinking water-capades. This product has spared my sanity! Both myself and my kitty love the catit drinking fountain!!!!
Pros: whisper quiet, easy to read water level indicator no over-filling, cheap comparatively
Cons: none that i've found so far
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Catit Small Drinking Fountain and Accessories for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

Great product!

February 2, 2010
by Aliceni
fromNaugatuck, CT
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
We have owned this fountain for about a year, and we absolutely love it! Our youngest cat of 3 used to love to splash water all over the floor, in and under the food dish, etc. We tried mats, towels and anything else to contain the mess. All of the fountains with a large resevoir had the same issue.
But this fountain has been perfect. We would have paid almost anything for the right product, and this, by chance, happens to be extremely affordable.
Our family and our three very satisfied cats highly recommend this product!
Filters: They last much longer than 3 weeks. Much, much longer.
Noise: If you keep the unit filled, the motor is virtually silent. It rests on a platic mat on the hardwood floor and other than the "fountain" noise, we don't hear a thing.
Water: We use filtered tap water to prevent hard water buildup. We fill it daily, and change the water every 3-4 days. This seems sufficient for our cats.
Cleaning: We break it apart and scrub it once a week. Not too many parts, no hard to reach crevices.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Catit Small Drinking Fountain and Accessories for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

FRESH, CLEAN, COLD & HEALTHY!

January 18, 2010
by pakaashake
fromBoston, MA area
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 41 reviews
My two Maine Coon cats are extremely dexterous & use paws like hands & fingers. They are also "water cats" - which meant that EVERY "open bowled" water container ended up mostly on the floor. They LOVE to throw water out of the bowl, over and over -ugh!
Well, WHAT A RELIEF! Now with CAT-IT (this specific one), they are able to drink all the water they want & floor is DRY!
Took cats a few hours to feel comfortable with bubbling & humming. We showed them it WAS water and soon LOVED IT! They drink more water than they did, it's cleaner, colder, and the filter takes out some of our "dirty" tap water.
We put a towel under the CAT IT, since the vibration makes noise, scares cats. Clean it two times a week, IMO. Filter lasts longer than 3 wks. BUY extra filters WHEN buy CAT IT. IF your cats like to chew on cords, use a cord protector, tho cord IS thick.
Make sure enough water in container, or will make loud noise, and MIGHT break, don't know. NOTE: The "red floater" stopped working first day, which shows level of water. The inner pump needs to be "drained" as well (there is a small hole/valve holds water - beware it's there and shake water out over sink!). READ the instructions, really! ;0)
The water does make a water-fountain sound - needs to be away from bedroom. It's a bit disconcerting to begin with, then got used to it.
HIGHLY recommend this product for any animal owners. Color & material could be better, but price is right. Have used for two months, is great! VERY HAPPY!
Pros: cats love it after couple hours afraid., keeps water cold clean in container., filter lasts longer than suggested if clean often., no water on floor!!
Cons: made of plastic be gentle with it., water does make a lot of sound fyi., does "hum" but cats got over it fast.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Catit Small Drinking Fountain and Accessories for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

Perfect for my cats!

November 26, 2009
by nbella
fromMason, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
After reading some of the reviews on here about this overflowing, I was a little skeptical of this product. However I am so glad I tried it out for myself. The water level indicator does get hung up sometimes, but I have never overflowed it or had any issues with it overflowing - it really isn't that complicated. The thing I love most about it is that it does sit up higher then the Petmate so it doesn't collect food and it doesn't have a pool of water to get dirty like the other one did. The cats love the design of this one and use it much more then they ever used the Petmate and I could be happier with how easy it is to clean! Excellent product!
Pros: easy to clean, cats can't put their food in it :), cats love it!!!
Cons: none!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Catit Small Drinking Fountain and Accessories for Cats
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 41 reviews

Caveat Emptor--Too Noisy

November 25, 2009
by Tina12345
fromKinston, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 41 reviews
I usually dont even bother with these reviews, but Ive got to let people know the truth about this product. Fountain is very affordable, and that's the main reason why i bought it. Looks good, sleek design, easy to clean. The problem is, its entirely too noisy. Its so noisy, the cat is scared to drink out of it sometimes. I fill it up every night (I have only one cat), and by the morning, it's humming and vibrating loudly, simply because my cat drank a little bit of water over night. Another faux pas is that there is no reserve tank. I can fill it to the brim, and if the cat drinks out of it twice, its humming noisily again. The humming noise scares the cat, and he wont drink water until i top it off. I hate being a slave to this fountain. SO annoying! The last fountain I owned, had a tank large enough so I could fill it and cat would have enough water for 4-5 days. This Cat-it fountain--I'm not impressed. I dont even think I'll be able to go on vacation, because I dont know anyone who can look in on cat every single day. I plan to replace it as soon as I get some extra money. You get what you pay for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Catit Small Drinking Fountain and Accessories for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

Catit Small Water Fountain

November 19, 2009
by Mjtom
from, Twin Cities. MN
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
I recently purchased this product out of desperation of not being able to get a replacement pump motor (again) for the Dogit I've used for several years for my multible cats.
Wow!
Quiet. Easy to fill. Easy to clean. All the cats, aged 2 to 19, love it.
Did I mention it's really easy to clean and fill.
I bought a second, just to have on hand.
Pros: it's super quiet., it's super easy to clean., it's super easy to fill., it's half the cost of other products i've tried., it has a two year warranty!, just top the water off daily.
Cons: found nothing i don't like so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Catit Small Drinking Fountain and Accessories for Cats
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 41 reviews

Love this product, hate to have to replace it

November 11, 2009
by threecats1dog
fromAtlanta, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 41 reviews
Bought this for my elderly cat and he loved it. He immediately started drinking way more than he had been and became so much healthier - bloodwork proved it. Then we got two kittens. For many months they didn't bother the product - they didn't care much for it but didn't do much with it either.
I noticed the blue top wasn't fitting down tight and there's really no way to make it fit tight. The young cats decided it would be fun to pull the top off, which pulls the entire unit apart and makes a huge mess on the floor. There is no way to prevent them from doing this and no way to clip the top down. I am now looking for a replacement.
This product worked great, was easy to fill, easy to clean and was a great height for my elderly cat to drink from. I really hate that the top doesn't fit tight.
Pros: easy to clean, cost, perfect height
Cons: blue top doesn't fit tightly, sometimes cord gets warm
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Catit Small Drinking Fountain and Accessories for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

Very Nice and Nicely Priced

October 21, 2009
by LizM
fromAtlanta, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
I just purchased this water fountain from the store after being unable to find the Drinkwell system I had bought four years ago. It is half the price of most of the other systems, which led me to purchase it to try it.
Getting it out of the box was easy and putting it together was as easy as following the directions.
The motor on the fountain looks to be about the same size as the Drinkwell motors so I don't think there's too much difference there between the two brands. However, the filter does seem to be a bit poorly made; I don't know if they make better filters for the system or not.
It looks cheap with its simplistic design, but odds are if you're interested in looks for a pet water fountain you're willing to drop the cash for it.
I was afraid of leaking, but as long as it's not overfilled there's no problem. The red tab design helps a lot to tell you when it's overfilled. It says in the manual that it may leak if you overfill it, so that may be what some other customers experienced.
I'd say for the price it is a very good bargain; it does what it was designed to do and all though it is not as fancy as other waterers, I would definitely recommend it.
Pros: quiet, inexpensive, easy to assemble, efficient
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Catit Small Drinking Fountain and Accessories for Cats
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews

Excellent Product

October 21, 2009
by Kurt
fromMyrtle Beach, SC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 41 reviews
Nicely engineered - my cats patiently watched me clean and fill with water for initial use, then immediately proceeded to drink from it.
Pros: nice design
Cons: none
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next