PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Petstages Orka Stick Chew Toy

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Petstages Orka Stick Chew Toy

The Orka Stick is sized perfectly for the medium to large dog or puppy that loves to chew.
Overall rating:
2.778 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
7 of 18(39%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Petstages Orka Stick Chew Toy
Review 1 for Petstages Orka Stick Chew Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Im really happy with this toy

January 18, 2013
by chicoandluisa
frommiami fl
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
i bought this toy and my pet loves it. he plays with the toy all day long. hes really happy. I recommend it for medium to big dogs.
Pros: durable, easy to wash, Keeps Pet Entertained
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petstages Orka Stick Chew Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews

Didn't last

July 18, 2012
by AshMI
fromKalamazoo, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this for my lab on my way home from work one night and within a few hours she had the rope torn out of it and one end of the stick destroyed. Glad I wasted my money on that!
Cons: easily destroyed
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petstages Orka Stick Chew Toy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 18 reviews

Lasted less than one day

January 24, 2012
by tsimon22
fromPuyallup, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 18 reviews
I bought this chew toy for my 6 month old boxer-cockerspaniel who LOVES to chew and he figured out how to chew the ropes apart and then chewed large chunks of the rubber off. I bought this toy and had to throw it away the next day. I am very disappointed and so is my puppy.
Pros: Keeps Pet Entertained
Cons: easily destroyed
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petstages Orka Stick Chew Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews

Great Toy

October 25, 2011
by HallieGrace
fromRichland, WA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews
Let's be honest - the ropes are NOT going to stay in. My 8-month-old Aussie had a grand time pulling them out and shredding the ropes. The reason I bought the toy, though, was to use as a throw toy, and for that it's really perfect. It doesn't throw far, but it does bounce on the ends (even better w/out the ropes). We travel often, so it's a nice toy to toss across a hotel room to keep her busy, and doubles as a chew toy. Actually left ours at the Disneyland Kennels and replaced. Highly recommend!
Pros: durable, Keeps Pet Entertained, easy to wash
Cons: easily destroyed
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petstages Orka Stick Chew Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews

Orka Stick

April 20, 2011
by Pitmixowner
fromMt Laural, NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews
My Pitbull mix loves to chew and I love to bring him new toys. I was excited when I saw Orka Stick because it said it was durable for chewing dogs. After a few minutes he had chewed off pieces from one end, then he worked on the other end. now all that is left is a small middle piece and the knotted rope. :( He is sad and so am I.
I plan to return the product and try a different brand.
I rated "Pet Satisfaction" a five because he loved chewing it apart.
Pros: Keeps Pet Entertained
Cons: easily destroyed
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petstages Orka Stick Chew Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 18 reviews

Didn't last long at our house!

February 13, 2011
by Christina1234
fromOverland Park, KS
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We bought this toy because our 9-month old Yellow Lab is a POWER CHEWER!! She loved the toy, but managed to chew through the rubber 'stick' portion in about 10 minutes. It didn't last too long considering what we paid for it. The packaging says the toy is for 'power chewers' and that it 'stands up to tough chewing' but we weren't impressed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petstages Orka Stick Chew Toy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 18 reviews

November 12, 2010
by DuchNDaisy
fromUSA, USA
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews
My Mastiff pup LOVED this toy. Too bad it doesn't hold up. She pulverized the stick on both ends in about an hour and had no problem pulling the ropes out (just because they're knotted on the ends doesn't mean they're going to stay put).
If you don't have a power chewer, this is an awesome toy. My puppy was so entertained even if just for a short while.
Pros: fun and interesting
Cons: not durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petstages Orka Stick Chew Toy
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 18 reviews

October 21, 2010
by Brogan
fromAbbotsford, BC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 18 reviews
I thought my Bulldog mix would love this toy since he has trouble chewing Kongs that are in his weight size. I'd boughten a teething toy by this company and loved it for him and he never destroyed it.
This toy lasted two weeks, he was just chewing it and tossing it around fine. The ropes didn't last after the first night but I figured that would happen with him. I came out of the shower this morning and found the biggest mess from this toy. He had literary decided to SHRED this while I was out of the room for about 15 minutes, he just tore chunks out of it. I wouldn't recommend this toy for a strong chewer at all.
Pros: dog loved it, easy to spot, easy for dog to hold
Cons: not durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petstages Orka Stick Chew Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 18 reviews

Dog Enjoyed but NOT durable

October 12, 2010
by mlh0708
fromSan Diego, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews
I'm not one to usually write a review but I felt it was necssary to share with everyone the experince that my 14 week old German Shorthaired Pointer had with this toy. It was suggested to us from a Petsmart employee that this would be a great toy for our puppy. She is teething and loves to chew.
Our puppy did indeed love this toy however we bought it on a Saturday and by Tuesday our puppy had already managed to pull 2 of the ropes out of the tube. This is NOT a durable toy. I would only reccomend this to buyers who have small puppies not larger puppies.
Pros: puppy enjoyed the toy, colorful, interactive
Cons: not durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petstages Orka Stick Chew Toy
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews

Keeps puppy fairly interested

April 2, 2010
by DogueDeBordeauxLover
fromMustang, OK
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews
My Dogue De Bordeaux puppy enjoys this toy because of the rope that sticks out of both ends- she loves to chew on it- she's not too interested in the rubber material though- pretty durable toy for such a tough chewer!
Pros: durable
Cons: overpriced
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petstages Orka Stick Chew Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 18 reviews

Not as tough as they say

December 3, 2009
by petsRfamily
fromCollege Station, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews
I bought this toy for my dog because it said would stand up to heavy chewing. As others have found, this is not the case. I bought the Jack toy by the same company, and that toy has stood the test of time (several months now and still mostly in tact, minus the ropes). I wasn't sure about this toy because the rubber isn't nearly as thick, but I decided to try it. Within minutes my 45 lb. lab mix had chewed through all the ropes, and within 24 hours she was chewing off pieces of the rubber. I was very disappointed with this product and advise anyone with a powerful chewer to avoid this product and get the Jack toy by the same company instead.
Pros: dogs love it
Cons: doesn't stand up to tough chewing
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petstages Orka Stick Chew Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Forget the ropes, just buy it for the stick!

August 29, 2009
by Yumeji
fromVancouver, BC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Like the Orka Jack with rope, I didn't care much for the ropes but saw potential in the stick itself. Unfortunately, Orka doesn't sell a version without the ropes. I'm sure it would have been $0.50 cheaper if they did.
Nonetheless, like the Jack, this one bounces [not as entertaining as the Jack], floats, and acts as a great fetch toy for my <30 lb guy. He hasn't been able to tear any rubber off, even after going at it for well over an hour.
Pros: stick is durable, bounces, floats, easy to clean, transparent, colour is easy to spot outdoors
Cons: ropes are not durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petstages Orka Stick Chew Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews

Not worth purchasing

April 19, 2009
by MSLAMS
fromMississippi
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews
This product was demolished in one day by 6 month old german sheperd, although the stated fact on the packaging was "Okra material stands up to tough chewing"?? HA!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petstages Orka Stick Chew Toy
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 18 reviews

Better off buying a rubber toy

April 8, 2009
by Volterre
fromMadison, AL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 18 reviews
Our puppy had the rope untied in a matter of minutes. Once a rope is untied, it comes out of the rubber tube and then the other ropes fall out. We ended up throwing the ropes away. However he loves chewing on the rubber tube. My advice would be to buy a rubber toy, skip the rope.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petstages Orka Stick Chew Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Our 9-month old Lab loves this toy

April 5, 2009
by drmalcolm
fromMaryland
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Easy to clean, can go in water, easy to find due to bright colors (if outside), good for power chewers.
We have most of the Orka toys, and our Labrador retriever loves this one the best.
I am sorry to see that others had problems with the toy lasting, as they are not inexpensive. I would say, though, in our experience that our Orkas have lasted well (we've had most of them since our dog was a puppy, and she's 9 months old now) and have been worth the money.
Good luck! Definitely worth trying one and see if it works for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petstages Orka Stick Chew Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews

NOT for power chewers

February 7, 2009
by Sophiedogsmom
fromMississippi
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews
I bought this product because it said 'for your power chewer'. This could not be further from the truth. Within 5 minutes, my dog had one of the rope knots untied and one of the ropes chewed half in two. At that point, I took out the ropes to see if she could just play with the tube. In about 2 more minutes, she had parts of the tube chewed off. She loved it for the 7 whole minutes she got to play with it before I had to take it away from her. It was wasted money on my part.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petstages Orka Stick Chew Toy
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

My puppy loves it!

January 18, 2009
by Momma2Luchini
fromPortland,TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews
My 1 year old Cockapoo loves this toy. He is a very strong chewer and this toy has held up good for a little over a month now. He also loves to play fetch with it. Petstages toys are great quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petstages Orka Stick Chew Toy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews

Poor quality!

December 4, 2008
by porty
fromPA
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews
My Portuguese Water dog chewed this toy in half within 30 minutes. It claims to stand up to tough chewing by a power chewer, but very quickly came apart into little pieces.
Cons: easily chewed apart
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.