PetSmart Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at PetSmart

Customer reviews for Premier Busy Buddy Twist 'n Treat Dog Toy - Medium

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Premier Busy Buddy Twist 'n Treat Dog Toy - Medium

Keep your best buddy busy with the first and only 2-piece adjustable rubber treat dispensing toy.
Overall rating:
4.172 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 28
23 of 29(79%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Premier Busy Buddy Twist 'n Treat Dog Toy - Medium
Review 1 for Premier Busy Buddy Twist 'n Treat Dog Toy - Medium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews

Great Mental Stimulation

October 5, 2010
by Brindle
fromMidland, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
My dog absolutely loves this. I put her kibble in it so she has to "work" for it, and one fill-up will keep her busy and entertained for a good 10 minutes or so on the most difficult setting. It takes even longer if I fill it with peanut butter and freeze it.
A lot of other reviewers complained that their dog chews the toy, but no dog should ever play with a toy unsupervised. If your dog starts to chew the toy itself, correct it. I haven't had any chewing problems.
The size of the treats you put in it are also important. I put in Blue Buffalo puppy food, which is just enough of a challenge for my dog. The flat, triangle pieces will fit through the holes, but she does have to spin it a few times to get them out, especially when there are only a few left.
Check out the video! :)
Pros: easy to use and clean, great mental stimulation, dog loves it
Cons: doesn't hold a lot of treats at one time
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Premier Busy Buddy Twist 'n Treat Dog Toy - Medium
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 29 reviews

poor

November 27, 2011
by ginger321
fromwisconsin
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 29 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 29 reviews
i was looking for something my dog had to think about so i got this i gave it to her with kibble in it and next thing i know there are purple chunks all over my house lasted maybe half hour give it a 3 overall for a good idea just bad hardware used
Cons: easily destroyed
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Premier Busy Buddy Twist 'n Treat Dog Toy - Medium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews

More Than Expected

October 20, 2011
by BarksALot
fromUSA
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews
My dog is a big chewer and has destroyed most toys. This one stands up to being dropped, being stood on top of, and being gnawed on. It holds enough treats to keep him excited and interested in play and puzzle-solving, but not so much that it impacts his meals. I was not sure about this toy when I first saw it in the store, but I can honestly say that I am really impressed with it and how much my dog loves it!
Pros: durable, Keeps Pet Entertained, easy to wash
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Premier Busy Buddy Twist 'n Treat Dog Toy - Medium
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 29 reviews

Great at first

January 15, 2011
by drst
fromCA
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 29 reviews
Got this for our 4 month old puppy (now 8 months old) because he was "inhaling" his food. He figured it out right away and it definitely served the purpose of slowing him down. The only reason we decided to get a Kong Wobbler was because after a few months the two pieces of the busy buddy wouldn't screw on properly. Seems like the rubber softened so the grooves to screw it on wouldn't line up. Considered getting another one, HOWEVER, after getting the kong wobbler, we realized that there are better products out there. The wobbler holds a lot more food (with the busy buddy, we'd have to fill it twice per meal) so it's more convenient. Also much easier to fill and screw on since it's plastic.
Both are great in that they slow our pup down, but I'd choose a wobbler over the busy buddy. Have only had the wobbler for a few weeks. Haven't tried any other food dispensing toys.
Our dog doesn't chew his food dispensing toys, but would've chewed this up in minutes if it were a playing toy.
Pros: slows down feeding
Cons: doesn't last as long as we'd like, doesn't hold much, hard to screw on/fill up
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Premier Busy Buddy Twist 'n Treat Dog Toy - Medium
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 29 reviews

Good Idea, not interesting enough

November 13, 2010
by Brookshire
fromNew York,NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 29 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews
It was made very well very durable and easy to use,but my dogs find it boring. when I put their food in they play with for a while then get bored and don't eat. It holds a little less than 1 cup. O if your dog likes Kongs they will love this.
Pros: very well made
Cons: not interesting enough
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Premier Busy Buddy Twist 'n Treat Dog Toy - Medium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews

Fun for the dog

December 3, 2009
by Lestan
fromIN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 29 reviews
I got this for my golden and she loves pushing it around with her nose and picking up the treats as they fall
Pros: fun, durable, cute
Cons: a few teeth marks
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Premier Busy Buddy Twist 'n Treat Dog Toy - Medium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews

Snoop loves it!

March 1, 2009
by Jennn
fromHollywood, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My dog Snoop is a border collie mix so he loves obstacle courses and other mental stimulation. He absolutely loves his new toy. He figured out the Kong way too quickly and would clean it out within 2 minutes and throw it at me to fill it up again. This toy at least occupies him for a little longer (about 15 minutes!) then he throws it at me to fill up again. I love that you can adjust the difficulty level and so easy to clean! DISHWASHER SAFE!! Here is a pic of Snoop enjoying his new toy on the balcony.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Premier Busy Buddy Twist 'n Treat Dog Toy - Medium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews

Great Toy!!!

January 17, 2009
by aussiegirl1
fromNew York
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I bought this for my 48 pound Australian Shepherd, Lacy. She is very smart and it's hard for us to keep her busy so she won't get into trouble. I got this for her in a size medium and it worked great! It is easy to clean, doesn't roll under things, and is adjustable to entertain a wide range of dogs. This product is definately worth the money.
Pros: dishwasher safe, adjustable, doesn't roll under things
Cons: none
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Premier Busy Buddy Twist 'n Treat Dog Toy - Medium
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 29 reviews

Good toy

October 16, 2011
by animallover1243
fromOhio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 29 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews
I got this for my small dog Brewster it is a good toy and will keep him entertained for a little bit, but not too long. Thats all I have to say......
Pros: Keeps Pet Entertained, easy to wash
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Premier Busy Buddy Twist 'n Treat Dog Toy - Medium
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 29 reviews

Not for serious chewers.

August 13, 2011
by Tianshi214
fromPhoenix, AZ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 29 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 29 reviews
My mom received this in her "doggie care pack" when she adopted a dog from a local shelter. Her dog wouldn't touch it, so she gave it to my dog, an 8 year old dachshund. It took him an hour or so to discover how and where the treats came out, then he proceeded to enlarge the hole to release all the treats. Within a week, it was destroyed.
Pros: easy to wash
Cons: easily destroyed
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Premier Busy Buddy Twist 'n Treat Dog Toy - Medium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews

Awesome Toy

July 6, 2011
by AshDash
fromMadison, SD
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews
My dog loves to suck down his food like a vacuum cleaner so that he can try to get to his sister's food before she's finished. He is kept so busy chasing his food in the toy, that she has a chance to eat. It also slows him down to chew his food. Such a great product that I ordered one for my friend's dog! Amazing product!
Pros: durable, Keeps Pet Entertained, easy to wash
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Premier Busy Buddy Twist 'n Treat Dog Toy - Medium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews

Great Product! Great Company!

June 10, 2011
by demater141
fromPittsburgh, Pa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews
I feed my two dogs their breakfast in these every morning! It is the best. Very durable, washable, and i can adjust how much kibble i want to come out at one time. My beagle did destroy one but I emailed Premier and they had no problem sending me a new one in the mail! I highly recomend this to all my friends with dogs. I've owned mine for a year now and they are still amazing.
Pros: durable, Keeps Pet Entertained, easy to wash
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Premier Busy Buddy Twist 'n Treat Dog Toy - Medium
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 29 reviews

Good way to control quick eaters

April 23, 2011
by Achillesthedestroyer
fromNorman, Oklahoma
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 29 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 29 reviews
I meant to use this as a way to distract our dog and entertain him. But I ended up using it to slow his eating. He is a small dog so we put his cup of food in it and twist the top on. He will push it around and eat his food at a healthier pace. He hasn't destroyed it and whenever I pull it out he gets super excited. The middle of it is a little awkward to clean as any food or snack that gets in the middle will be smashed by the screw mechanism that holds the two parts together. Larger dogs with larger food bits may not appreciate it but smaller dogs won't have a problem
Pros: durable, Keeps Pet Entertained
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Premier Busy Buddy Twist 'n Treat Dog Toy - Medium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews

Whoo-hoo!

January 9, 2011
by PhillyMom
fromPA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 29 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 29 reviews
Well, we may have found the one and only dog toy that can outlast our shepard mix puppy. She has decimated a Kong Wubba, a Tire Toy, a Nylabone, and various others, but this one has her stumped! Some teeth marks, but on the most difficult setting it works like a charm. Thanks!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Premier Busy Buddy Twist 'n Treat Dog Toy - Medium
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 29 reviews

Did the job

November 17, 2010
by PetMommyto5
fromArizona
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 29 reviews
I was looking for an interactive toy for my boxer and min dachshund and liked that I didn't have to buy special treats for this toy. I used some small training treats and they worked great. Since this was the first time giving them this toy I made it pretty easy so it only lasted about 10 min. Funny part is they were still obsessed with it even after the treats ran out. My boxer had a great time carrying it around it her mouth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Premier Busy Buddy Twist 'n Treat Dog Toy - Medium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews

Slows down fast eaters big time

September 1, 2010
by LouiesLady
fromMN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 29 reviews
My mini dachshund was inhaling his food so I used this for awhile to slow him down. It is a little tricky/time consuming filling to ball a few times to give him a whole meal but worth it in the end. Its also good to use for treats once in a while to keep him busy. Construction is good, I put it in the dishwasher and it seems to be holding up well. Only downside is it can roll under tables and cabinets and get stuck which can frustrate the dog.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Premier Busy Buddy Twist 'n Treat Dog Toy - Medium
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 29 reviews

Ah, quiet time

August 2, 2010
by ohShiba
fromVirginia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 29 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews
We have this product and the football by Busy Buddy, and both are great for keeping my puppy's attention. I like how adjustable the twist n treat is, and it tends to "travel" less as he plays with it (we often find the football and other toys underneath furniture). For us, playtime with this toy doesn't last as long as other interactive food toys -- he can empty it within 10 minutes or less. But still fun for delivering his dinner while we eat ours!
Pros: adjustable, easy to clean
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Premier Busy Buddy Twist 'n Treat Dog Toy - Medium
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews

Dog loves it

June 9, 2010
by Ebby
fromAkron, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews
I have a standard poodle puppy who is a heavy chewer, intellegent and wants constant attention. I use standard size kibble and she only obtains 3 pieces per rolling but hasn't attempted to chew it, uses her paw or nose to roll it around. She learned quickly how to use it. I bought it because I didn't need special treats to use it or some toys appear to have very large holes and she can entertain herself for a while and give me some peace.
Pros: entertains dog, adjustable hole size
Cons: none
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Premier Busy Buddy Twist 'n Treat Dog Toy - Medium
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 29 reviews

February 27, 2010
by marhen
fromOshkosh, WI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?First time
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 29 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 29 reviews
I was very disappointed with this toy. It spilled food all over the place even when it was screwed on tight. Our lab pretty much destroyed it in about 5 minutes. I would not recommend it. It was a waste of $10.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Premier Busy Buddy Twist 'n Treat Dog Toy - Medium
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 29 reviews

GONE IN ONE USE

January 24, 2010
by LuvsGoldens91
fromLittle Rock, AR
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 29 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 29 reviews
Our 1 yr old Golden chewed this up immediately after I purchased it. I had to grab it from her so she wouldn't swallow the material. Premier's Squirrel is in PERFECT condition four months later so I recommend it. I DO NOT RECOMMEND PURCHASING the BUSY BUDDY.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next