PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Nylabone Rhino Bone Flexible Chew Toy for Dogs

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Nylabone Rhino Bone Flexible Chew Toy for Dogs

Made with premium quality natural rubber, the Rhino Bone is puncture-resistant and will satisfy your dog's natural chewing instinct while helping reduce plaque and tartar build-up.
Overall rating:
2.833 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
5 of 12(42%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Nylabone Rhino Bone Flexible Chew Toy for Dogs
Review 1 for Nylabone Rhino Bone Flexible Chew Toy for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Durable so far

June 11, 2011
by Satinarose
fromBurnsville, MN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
I bought this toy for my dog, I actually bought the red one for my lab husky mix who is 55 lbs and a year old. She likes to toss it in the air and chew on it. She usually destroys her toys shortly after she gets them. This one I was not sure but figured I'd give it a try and it has lasted so far two months. It has a slimey feel to it and is odd shaped. When you throw it on the ground it bounces in all different directions. So she will throw it on purpose and chase it herself. Great toy, strong rubber, and I didn't even have to buy the biggest one of these for once because of her chewing.
Pros: durable, Keeps Pet Entertained, easy to wash
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nylabone Rhino Bone Flexible Chew Toy for Dogs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews

Doesn't Last

August 8, 2010
by CavalierMomma
fromIowa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have a 15 pound Cavalier King Charles Spaniel. He loves chew toys and in turn, we've been working hard to find something he can't destroy or at least takes more time to do so. This is NOT it. He took off a huge chunk within days.
Pros: dog loved it
Cons: lasted only a few days
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nylabone Rhino Bone Flexible Chew Toy for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews

Good for chewers

June 10, 2010
by LauraBORA
fromChannahon, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
I work at a PetsHotel and the dogs love these. They'll play tug of war with them or just chew them. Persistent chewers can work small bits of rubber off of these so keep a watchful eye on those dogs that will eat anything =] Overall, they last a very long time before we have to dispose of them.
Pros: good for teeth
Cons: keep an eye on them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nylabone Rhino Bone Flexible Chew Toy for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews

Love nylabone!

March 10, 2010
by bullyaddict
fromHouston, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My 2 yr old Bull Terrier absolutely loves his nylabone. His first one lasted over a year, and the one he currently has (his x-mas present) is in near perfect condition, aside from a few teeth marks. He loves fetching it and playing tug of war. :) I'll definitely be buying another when this one wears out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nylabone Rhino Bone Flexible Chew Toy for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews

just didn't hold up

February 6, 2010
by ssmiley
fromAB
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
My lab had chunks off of it in minutes - NOT for dogs that like to chew...
Pros: smells good dog loves it..
Cons: does not last!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nylabone Rhino Bone Flexible Chew Toy for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews

I can't get no satisfaction

December 6, 2009
by Dave888
fromNorfolk, VA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My 100 pound Labrador Retriever loved this toy. It was the recommend size and quite expensive yet in less than 60 seconds I had to remove it from him for fear he would consume it. If it had taken more time I suppose I would not have worried. The guide lines suggested that a dog should not be able to break off pieces bigger than a grain of rice. My dog managed to get pieces as big as finger tips.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nylabone Rhino Bone Flexible Chew Toy for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews

My dogs love it.

November 13, 2009
by greengrl223
fromForked River, NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
I got this toy because I just thought my dogs would enjoy it and they do. If you have a severe chewer do not get this toy. But overall I am pleased with it and my dogs like to play with it.
Pros: has a nice smell, pretty durable, made of rubber
Cons: can be chewed to pieces
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nylabone Rhino Bone Flexible Chew Toy for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews

Toy quality has deteriorated

October 20, 2009
by goldendogmom
fromPortland, Oregon
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
We had two of these Rhino bones for 10 years - one large black one, and a smaller green one. These both provided countless hours of fun and entertainment to our aggressive-chewer female Golden Retriever, and dozens of foster Goldens and baby-sitter dogs over the years. I thought our two original bones were starting to (very slightly) wear after 10 years, and we recently bought a replacement for our 10 month old Golden. I am very sorry to say the quality of the material has apparently gone way down. We again bought the black version, as it is supposed to be the toughest. However, after just a few hours, he has already done significant damage, and I will have to return it. This is very disappointing, as over the years this has always proven to be the favored toy of all of the dogs - our new guy being no exception. We especially liked it as it was safe on the teeth (like Kong toys) - since it was flexible, but durable. (Our vet has told us not to give our dog hard plastic or real bone bones, as they can cause teeth to fracture.) So, we are apparently sticking with Kong toys for now. I would LOVE to see Nylabone improve this toy back to original specs, so we can welcome it again into our home - and provide for more hours of play for our pup. (Actually, I started to read reviews to just see how anybody could give such a great toy such low marks, and read how they didn't hold up. I decided I had to give my two cents about how great they were. I marched into the other room to borrow the bone from my pup, so I could confirm how great it was holding up - only to discover to my great disappointment, and chagrin, that the bone had numerous puncture wounds and a missing chunk out of the end. I had honestly not paid any attention to it since giving it to our guy three days ago, as I figured it was rock-solid; I am glad to have rea the reviews, and to have checked our own toy for durability. Even if I am saddened...) My boy Chesney will be disappointed to see this toy taken away, too.
Pros: dogs love this toy; too bad it doesn't last!
Cons: does not last!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nylabone Rhino Bone Flexible Chew Toy for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews

Nice chewing fun, but didn't last

April 5, 2009
by Zoesmommy
fromNY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 12 reviews
I got this toy for my Puggle pup who was at the time 8 weeks old and only 4.6lbs. I thought the soft flexible bone this toy provided would be durable and good for her light chewing however within a few days she had managed to chew off pieces on both ends and that ended the fun.
Oddly enough it appears a very durable toy even for moderate chewers, but I like others have found differently. Too bad because my pup really liked this toy although 2 days of fun is not enough for me to recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nylabone Rhino Bone Flexible Chew Toy for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews

Not for Average Chewers

March 21, 2009
by lizzE
fromSacramento, CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews
It looked pretty sturdy and long lasting on the shelf, however within 5-10 minutes of having it, my 7 month old Cockapoo pup (average chewer) had broken few bite size pieces off its side. I decided to return the product right away, not wanting to take further chances with what was left of it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nylabone Rhino Bone Flexible Chew Toy for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 12 reviews

wow

December 14, 2008
by unfoldthetruth
fromWilliamsburg, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 12 reviews
I have a toy american Eskimo, and he is only 8 months old, within 20 minutes of being home he had a side chewed off. I had to take it away because he was eating the peices he got off.
Not a good toy for strong chewers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nylabone Rhino Bone Flexible Chew Toy for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews

Nylabone Rhino Bone Flexible Chew (Regular)

December 5, 2008
by got2dogs
fromsacramento, ca
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 12 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 12 reviews
I bought this for my 2 yr. old beagle/pug mix (29lbs.) and he managed to chew off 4 marble sized pieces within 10 minutes. He's had the bone for about a week now and he loves throwing it in the air and catching it or just chewing it on his bed. The bone is probably 90% intact after a week. Hopefully this chew will last a month or two. I might try the tougher black colored bone next.
Pros: flexible enough to keep my dog's interest.
Cons: not indestructible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.