PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for NATURE'S RECIPE® Senior Dog Food

NATURE'S RECIPE® Senior Dog Food

UNKNOWN
Overall rating:
4.947 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 18
17 of 18(94%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for NATURE'S RECIPE® Senior Dog Food
Review 1 for NATURE'S RECIPE® Senior Dog Food
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 19 reviews

Great Food For Senior Dogs Sensitive Stomach

December 4, 2014
by AnnaArtigaCom
fromGermantown Maryland
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My dog who is 16 has always had a sensitive stomach, but a few months ago he was unable to eat anything without having diarrhea. I put him on this food and pro-biotics after online and in store research from experts and it helped to get him back on track. Unfortunately we didn't account for him being so much like a puppy still and it has too low calories for my guy and he lost too much weight on it. Since his doctors appointment we have had him on home made food and treats which he gained a couple pounds and is picking up weight now that he is on Natures Recipe Adult Chicken and Sweet Potatoes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for NATURE'S RECIPE® Senior Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

Natures Recioe

January 12, 2014
by dpr365
fromPittsburgh, PA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews
When we got our current Furry Friend it was very difficult to find a dog food that he liked. Somehow we came upon Natures Recipe and that is what we have been feeding him ever since he was a puppy.
Pros: high quality, digestible, taste
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for NATURE'S RECIPE® Senior Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

Great product!

November 6, 2013
by amm1211
fromChalfont, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I had switched my dog to the senior dog food from the adult dog food and I noticed a difference with him that he enjoyed his food better. He acts much younger and there is much more nutrients in his food for his age.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for NATURE'S RECIPE® Senior Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

She Keeps It Down!

February 5, 2013
by bpgagirl22
fromChesterfield, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
About a year ago, she began to have intestinal problems & UTI's to the point of throwing up all medications. Well, the main problem I discovered was that she cannot digest those hard capsules for most antibiotics! After much trial and error, I finally figured out that she cannot have "all the extra" protein in a lot of regular dog foods. I was beside myself and thought I'd check out the foods at a local pet store & read nearly every label & found this one! She can keep it down, she woofs it down! I also have to mix it with her med powders out of the capsule into the little wet Cesar tray meals to get her meds into her. She is just now getting done with another UTI. She's 12. HOPEFULLY this will take care of it. We'll see on Thursday! But she loves this food plus it has NO RED DYES which I think are too harsh on her intestinal tract. If your dog is doing the same thing, I highly recommend this food! A life saver!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for NATURE'S RECIPE® Senior Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

Great nutritional product

January 27, 2013
by Enid1966
fromLebanon,PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have used this dog food for many,many,years and am pleased beyond words. I have a dog who has crohn's and this food was what saved his life. Having a food that is free of grains,and also has glucosamine and natural meats and vegies in it is just spectacular. The size of the kibble is perfect for digestion,and my dog has no problems digesting this food. I also see less stooling in my dog,which makes for happy and less clean up outside for me:) This company offers dog food for all kinds,shapes,and sizes of dogs. I get compliments on my dogs coat,healthy attitude,and physical condition all the time and I tell everyone I know that its his dog food. I have many friends/family who have started their pets on this food and have reported back to me the wonderful results. I have no children and my dog is my life,so why not treat him as I would my own child and give him only the best!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for NATURE'S RECIPE® Senior Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

The Senior Years

July 6, 2012
by Harlyee94561
fromCA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews
We adopted Harlyee she was four months old. We started her out right away on the leading puppy food, a highly respected science recipe that focused on natural, healthy, pet specific food. Harlyee is now 12.
She began eating Natures Recipe food as an adolescent. Her original "quality" brand got sold and the recipe changed, for the worse. From that moment on she had had no reason to eat any other brand of food. Natures Recipe has kept her from needing any vet care in her life other than shots and foxtails. Good food = Good health.
Pros: high quality
Cons: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for NATURE'S RECIPE® Senior Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

Solved allergy problem.

June 12, 2012
by m10419
fromMaryland
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Our rescue dog (Beagle/Sheppard mix) developed a severe breakout of hives at 4 yrs. We spent many hundreds of dollars at the vet and tried everything we could think of but it kept coming back. One day while surfing the internet I came across and article describing food allergies. Bingo, it was a match.
Dogs are canine, not bovine, in other words thier ancestors did not graze on grains, they ate meat. Grains are what most dog foods are full of as "fillers" and some grains can and do cause allergies in dogs.
We switched to Natures Recipe because the label states "No Corn No, etc." Within three days the hives disappeared and have never returned. She is 8 now.
As a side note, while I respect the veterinary profession, not one of the doctors we saw ever even mentioned that our dog might be suffering from a food allergy.
The price is higher than the grocery store brands but very competative with the high end brands.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for NATURE'S RECIPE® Senior Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

Great Food

February 14, 2012
by Goldenlover2
fromColumbus, OH
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have a 9 yr old golden that has had digestive problems in the past. I switched to this food (from a "premium brand") about six months ago after looking at the ingredient listing and pricing. I am very satisfied!! No more excessive gas or loose bowels with my Golden. Also because of the relatively low caloric content it has helped on her weight control. She loves this food and so do I.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for NATURE'S RECIPE® Senior Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

My Dogs Love It!

May 31, 2011
by RoxyBabyGirl
fromAtlanta, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We purchased this brand of dog food after I realized the ingredients in our previous brand of dog food were not so good. After a little research on Petsmart.com, I stumbled upon Nature's Recipe Senior Formula. The ingredients seemed really good and I liked the fact that it was targeted specifically for "senior" dogs (We have 2 eight year old mix breeds).
We picked some up the next day and it was a hit with our dogs! Most nights with the previous food, they would just nibble at their food and push it around their bowls. But now they clean their bowls almost every night. And even after using this brand for months they still haven't lost interest in it. With previous brands, the new food would only hold thier interest for a couple of weeks before they started acting bored with it.
One of the major improvements I've noticed is that both of my dogs don't seem to have bouts of tummy upset or vomiting like they used to. It was never anything serious so I just assumed that it was just a normal occurance. Now that we've switched to Nature's Recipe, I realized that it was the food we were feeding them before that caused their occasional tummy upset. I've also noticed that their breath seems to be better and their coats look shinier. They also seem to have more energy and now have no trouble keeping up wth our Toy Poodle puppy!
This food may cost a little more than other brands but it is absolutely worth it! And the large bag is big enough to feed both of our dogs, who way around 50 lbs each, for a month. All 3 of our babies are happy and healthy and I credit Nature's Recipe for helping them to stay that way.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for NATURE'S RECIPE® Senior Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

Finally Found the Right Food

February 2, 2011
by 3pooches
fromSan Diego
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
A couple of months back we adopted a senior Jack Russell mix. We tried several brands of high quality food for "sensitive stomach" etc.., that resulted in bad diarrhea. The only thing that seemed to work for her was a homemade bland diet. Five days ago, I (gradually) started her on the Nature's Recipe Senior Lamb & Rice. WOW!!! She is doing fabulous with this food. In just a matter of days, her muscle tone, fur, eyes have really improved. She also seems spunkier. I find it amazing to see the changes so quickly. We're SO happy!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for NATURE'S RECIPE® Senior Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

Awesome Food

December 1, 2010
by TobyMo
fromBellingham WA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I switched my Golden Retriever and Lab to this food when the price of Nutro Natural Choice kept getting more and more expensive. Both of my dogs love this food and their coats are excellent and they have less gas too :)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for NATURE'S RECIPE® Senior Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

Great Alternative for Chicken

November 18, 2010
by Toraneko
fromOhio
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
All the senior foods on the market seem to use chicken as the meat, except this one. My Cocker can't eat chicken, he doesn't digest it well, but he needs a senior food since he is over 10. He loves this stuff. I feed him a cup of this, and a cup of the Venison for his dandruff. My vet is amazed at the turn-around.
My dog was a rescue at 8 years old, and was in pretty bad shape all around. This food has build muscle, improved his coat and teeth, and his overall body odor (Cocker produce an oil for their coats that doesn't always smell nice.)
Pros: all around great food
Cons: none
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for NATURE'S RECIPE® Senior Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

January 26, 2010
by Gingadecorgi
fromLafayette, LA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews
My corgi, Annie, is allergic to beef. I had a prescrip for Purina HV. Switched to Nature's Recipe because it doesn't contain beef. Her coat has improved. It's lustrous and soft. Her tri colors are bright. As well as her sweet eyes. Very happy I switched to Nature's Recipe.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for NATURE'S RECIPE® Senior Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

Excellent Product

February 5, 2008
by Dirtyhalo
fromMarianna, Florida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have a 9 yr old Yorkie with major intestine problems. After trying 4-5 vet recommended products for his condition, I decided to go with Natures Recipe with no preservatives and it worked like a charm. He loves it and so do I. It was hard seeing him suffer with the pain he had from the other food. I would highly recommend this product to anyone.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for NATURE'S RECIPE® Senior Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

Great Product!

October 23, 2007
by swcclt
fromCharlotte, NC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews
My 10 year old yellow lab, Shaun, has really benefited from this food. He has always had a very sensitive stomach and now his stools are much more consistant (no diarreah) and far less than when he ate other products. His coat looks better and his shedding is way less (I combine his food with DermCare at night, which really helps). I'm convinced that this is the right product for life!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for NATURE'S RECIPE® Senior Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

My fussy 12yr old Terrier likes it!

January 15, 2007
by NatureGal73
fromApopka, FL
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews
I wanted to give my old girl a more nutritious food and after a few tries, this is what she likes best. Her coat is softer, she sheds less, and has less stool. I feed a combination of this and Nutro Senior to my old gal and we are both happy about it!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for NATURE'S RECIPE® Senior Dog Food
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews

Great Food for Seniors

November 9, 2006
by Raven
fromColorado
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews
Since switching to Nature's Recipe Senior Lamb and Rice food, our eleven-year-old mixed breed dog has a lot more energy. She is as energetic and playful as she was five years ago! Strangers have started commenting about her beautiful coat. She really likes the food and, despite her very sensitive stomach, has had no problem digesting it.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for NATURE'S RECIPE® Senior Dog Food
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 19 reviews
1 out of 1 recommend this product