PetSmart Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at PetSmart

Customer reviews for Whisker City(r) Sisal Kitty Cactus Scratching Post

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Whisker City(r) Sisal Kitty Cactus Scratching Post

Soaring 32 inches high, this carpeted cat scratcher will please even the pickiest of paws. Assorted earth tone colors. Made exclusively for PetSmart.
Overall rating:
4.259 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 25
23 of 27(85%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Whisker City(r) Sisal Kitty Cactus Scratching Post
Review 1 for Whisker City(r) Sisal Kitty Cactus Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

Best scratching post for the money

December 25, 2013
by Duncan8083
fromNorth Carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
We have two very long cats, and it's tough to find a scratcher that is tall enough to interest them, yet isn't insanely expensive. This scratcher is perfect. They love the sisal rope, and it gives them plenty of room to stretch up. We have one in our living room, and they both use it multiple times each day. I'm considering getting another one for the bedroom. My only regret is that I didn't come across this one until after I bought a $60 one that they completely ignore. (Grrr, cats!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Whisker City(r) Sisal Kitty Cactus Scratching Post
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 27 reviews

Tall Scratcher

December 20, 2013
by CatFanatic3
fromHouston, TX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
For sturdiness and durability I think this post is excellent. My 3 cats use it many times every day. They also like to lay at the base of it. My girls like vertical scratchers mostly, but also some horizontal ones. We keep this post up against a wall to keep it from tipping and it works great this way. But it makes it so that only one side is getting used mostly. In order to use the other side, we'd have to move it off the wall and, I guess, shove the base under a couch or chair so that it won't tip over. That's the only thing I don't like about the design. I don't mind the little carpet fibers, they vacuum up easy and you can re-wrap the post in new sisal when the old wears out. That's what we did with another post and it works quite well. Overall, I think it's a great scratching post and I would buy another.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Whisker City(r) Sisal Kitty Cactus Scratching Post
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 27 reviews

A good product that lasts several years.

December 4, 2013
by Sympany
fromN.J.
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
The first one gave out after 3 years but my cat loves it. Once the sisal starts shred you have to toss it cause it is all over the place. I would recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Whisker City(r) Sisal Kitty Cactus Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

Exceeds expectations!

December 2, 2013
by 2catslovethisproduct
fromCherry Hill, NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This product is awesome...much larger and sturdier than you would think based on its picture...base is nice, large square, large enough for big cats to sit on and carpeting at base actually very cushiony...post is fairly tall too...my 2 cats immediately took to it and are happy with it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Whisker City(r) Sisal Kitty Cactus Scratching Post
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 27 reviews

November 29, 2013
by SweetBaboo
fromNashville, TN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I did not care for this product simply because of the carpet areas. I have two cats and they use the post but they also scratch the carpet. It has made a mess. The carpet pieces come off all the time and I am constantly sweeping up because of the mess it makes. If it were all sisal then it would work. NEVER use carpet on scratching posts because it will always make a huge mess. I am going to get rid of this one for that reason.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Whisker City(r) Sisal Kitty Cactus Scratching Post
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 27 reviews

Nice and tall

November 2, 2013
by ErwinEds
fromBellevue, Washington
Great cat stand. The best feature is the height. It is tall enough that when placed next to the side of the sofa, it lets the cats stretch and scratch they way they prefer without going after the sofa.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Whisker City(r) Sisal Kitty Cactus Scratching Post
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 27 reviews

Not designed as well as it should be

April 25, 2013
by suenamee
fromHastings, NE
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
My cat LOVED this post. She LOVES sisal. It was GREAT to start out, but then it wasn't the best in the end for her. It is poorly designed, as they have the post way towards the back of the carpet. I see why, as it gives cats more room, however, when my cat went behind it and scratched it, the post had no balance and she tipped it over and fell backwards with it and when it hit the wall, she let go and ran off. She wouldn't really use it too much after that. Plus the sisal was getting shredded and she had no place to claw. So I had to get her another post that is MUCH better. If it was balanced, it would have gotten 4 or 5 stars.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Whisker City(r) Sisal Kitty Cactus Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

Kitties LOVE it!

March 3, 2013
by Ariesangel
fromindiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I have 2 fairly large cats and one of them is VERY long. This is the only scratch post I have found that is tall enough for Sampson to get a good stretch. We have had it for 2-3 years now and while the sisal is pretty torn up, its still got lots of life left in it.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Whisker City(r) Sisal Kitty Cactus Scratching Post
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 27 reviews

kitten likes to climb it

February 13, 2013
by Jomi80
fromCA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My 13 wk old siberian loves to climb to the very top and climb back down. So far in the last 2 weeks he hasn't scratched it not once, unlike his Kong scratcher that he uses constantly. Not sure if he just doesn't like the sisal or if he just needs more time to learn to use it properly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Whisker City(r) Sisal Kitty Cactus Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

Wonderfull Scratching Post!

January 13, 2013
by Bambi7465
fromVA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I got this item in august when I first got my kitty. Now she is abut 7 month and it still with us till now! She used it every single time she wakes up. or when she need a stretch.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Whisker City(r) Sisal Kitty Cactus Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

EXCELLENT

August 9, 2012
by wildthing
fromParma, Ohio
This scratch post is high quality. It is sturdy, made with high quality rope, & my kitty loves it. The price is right. I got two of them. I highly recommend this product. There is quality carpet on the base & even on top of the post. Your kitty can use the top as a stepping stone to get to another place. I believe you won't find a better product for this price or any price anywhere else.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Whisker City(r) Sisal Kitty Cactus Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

Nice Tall Post

June 13, 2012
by Herkitty
frompenns, Pa
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I adopted a 2 yr old. Maine Coon 2 months ago from the Delco SPCA. I don't think he ever used a scratching post after 2 weeks here he started to scratch the couch so I went out bought this post it was a good size.
Took me 2 weeks to train him on it and WOW never used the furniture again.. What A Guy..
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Whisker City(r) Sisal Kitty Cactus Scratching Post
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 27 reviews

Sturdy - Must place against wall or couch

April 8, 2012
by MaddieCdn
fromCalgary, AB Canada
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
This is a sturdy tall product. My Ragdoll kitten used it immediately but it toppled over on her. I have since placed it against my new couch and it has not toppled since. I'm having difficulty knowing how to rate this one. My Ragdoll kittens do use it but they prefer their other sisal scratching posts. It is very sturdy and will be large enough for them when my kittens grow into large ragdoll cats. It has prevented my kittens from scratching the couch. I find offering them lots of scratching posts prevents the furniture from being clawed.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Whisker City(r) Sisal Kitty Cactus Scratching Post
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 27 reviews

Great scratching post!

November 27, 2011
by Merryweather
fromIllinois
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We have been buying this Whisker City scratching post over and over again for over five years because it is the best scratching post we have found for our medium to larger size cats. It is not small and flimsy. Our present cat uses this post several times a day and our previous cats did also. All of our cats liked to lounge on the carpeted base, so I'm glad the base is big enough for them to do that, but I would not mind if the base was even bigger. Like others have stated, place this post against the wall for more stability otherwise it can topple over. Allow a few weeks or more for your cat to get used to his new post. Also, I would love it if after the front of the post is all worn out from scratching, that there would be a way you could TURN the post one half of a turn to expose the unused side and then be able to tighten it securely again. We could get double the use out of it that way, and it would be better for the environment to not have to throw them out as often. I will continue to buy this scratching post as I am very happy with it.
Pros: sturdy, easy to assemble
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Whisker City(r) Sisal Kitty Cactus Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

Furniture saver

June 21, 2011
by Evie07
fromSeguin, tx
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Cats love to scratch sisal because it frays easily. This post saved the chair my cat had taken to scratching. Put it in a place the cat already likes to scratch and that will help them use it quicker.
Pros: sturdy
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Whisker City(r) Sisal Kitty Cactus Scratching Post
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 27 reviews

Great for larger cats!

May 6, 2011
by Wilde
fromMiddle Georgia
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
My cats when they were kittens would perch themselves on the top of this scratching post, giving us all a good laugh from time to time... and I bought this taller one because one of my cats is very long... and the standard posts just fell over all the time and he'd ignore it... this one he loves... In fact we're on our 3'rd post now as it has become the favorite thing to scratch in the house, Amen.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Whisker City(r) Sisal Kitty Cactus Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

March 13, 2011
by kmoch
fromGrand Rapids, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I tied a toy to the post and that encouraged my kitten to climb the post. Now she does it several times a day. We place the post up against the wall or the couch since it can tip over.
Pros: sturdy, price
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Whisker City(r) Sisal Kitty Cactus Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

Tall post

February 27, 2011
by zoogrl
fromSouth Dakota
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought this post because I wanted to make sure my adult cat had something tall enough to use. I had also read the sisal is a favorite texture for clawing. I've never had a cat with claws before adopting him, and wanted to make everything as "painless" for me as possible. It took a while for him to start using the post. I sprinkled some catnip on it, which he promptly licked off. He preferred to scratch one of my rugs and completely ignored the post otherwise. I had the post set up for about 2 weeks before my boy decided to start using it. He scratches on it several times a day now, and has been for the past week. If a scratching post is new to your cat, I recommend just letting it sit for a while. Eventually they will discover it ;)
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Whisker City(r) Sisal Kitty Cactus Scratching Post
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 27 reviews

Excellent Substitute for the Couch Corners!

December 13, 2010
by lindan8r
fromHuntsville, AL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I bought 2 of these posts when a few of my new foster cats started using my couch corners to scratch on. I debated whether to purchase these because of the cost, but then I decided that it was a small price to pay to save my $800 piece of furniture.
I placed one on each side of the back of the couch, right at the corners. I actually placed the back legs of the couch onto the scratching posts' platforms to keep them in place (I have slippery wood floors). My cats love these posts, use them several times a day, and my couch was saved. Yay!!
Pros: tall, sturdy
Cons: cost
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Whisker City(r) Sisal Kitty Cactus Scratching Post
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 27 reviews

My Cats Didn't Like This

December 9, 2010
by dpcat
fromSterling, VA
I purchased two of these because they seemed well made and sturdy. However, all my cats ignored them. I returned one to the store and kept one. I thought the cats would change their mind. Nope. I even rubbed catnip on it, the same kind I put on their cardboard floor scratchers. They all like the cardboard floor scratchers better. Darn. I was hoping I could stop purchasing those because of all the little cardboard pieces that are left on the floor when the cats finish using them. I'll keep looking for something else for them to use to scratch on.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 next