PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for ProCollar Inflatable Elizabethan Collar for Dogs

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

ProCollar Inflatable Elizabethan Collar for Dogs

The ProCollar is an inflatable collar designed to protect your pet from reaching injuries, rashes, or post surgery wounds.
Overall rating:
3.539 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
17 of 26(65%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for ProCollar Inflatable Elizabethan Collar for Dogs
Review 1 for ProCollar Inflatable Elizabethan Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 26 reviews

A bit deflated

July 15, 2010
by NiteRav
fromBuffalo, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Great idea, as our Lhasa Apso, Eppie, HATED the plastic e-collar from the vet. She tolerated this one quite well. However, we found it deflated rather quickly and we had to reinflate it several times a day. Also, the air valve stopper broke after only a couple of days. That being said, we came up with the idea of removing the inflatable insert and stuffing the vinyl outside part with packing peanuts. This worked like a charm and kept it much fuller than the air did!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for ProCollar Inflatable Elizabethan Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 26 reviews

Don't waste your money

July 9, 2010
by jlg7877
fromSt. Louis, MO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this for my mastiff/pitbull mix, and within an hour of putting it on him, the inner straps that attach to the collar broke. Of course it then slid easily over his head, and he literally ripped it to shreds.
This product also does not hold air very well. I was willing to just continue to air it up as needed, but I was appalled at how quickly the inner straps broke.
Pros: seemed comfortable
Cons: poorly made; not durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for ProCollar Inflatable Elizabethan Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 26 reviews

Ineffective for Harvey

June 18, 2010
by KristyR96
fromMansfield, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 26 reviews
My big boy Harvey, he's a large golden retriever, has a boo-boo on his paw and instead of embarrassing him with a large plastic cone around his head I treated him to a hernia pillow around his neck (that is kind of what this contraption looks like); but it didn't prevent him from reaching his paw. He now has a cone around his head, which allows him to knock over the other dogs as well as any small children that might be in his path and it prevents him from licking his boo-boo which is now healing nicely.
Cons: not large enough to prevent reaching paws
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for ProCollar Inflatable Elizabethan Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 26 reviews

didn't work for Biff

June 11, 2010
by ss4catsanddogs
fromLouisiana
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5 26 reviews
My 10 year old Yellow Lab is a blind, diabetic, who chews his back paw. We've treated it for months with various wrappings and finally settled on the E collar as the best solution. When I saw the ProCollar I was hopeful that it would work for Biff. He was more comfortable in it and could not reach some of his body, but the critical rear paw, he reached easily.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for ProCollar Inflatable Elizabethan Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 26 reviews

Terrified of ProCollar!

May 27, 2010
by DillonsMom
fromLynchburg, VA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 26 reviews
I was so looking forward to the ProCollar as the solution to my Border Collie's woes after his neuter srugery. He was a cryptorchid and needed two incisions to complete the operation. He keeps licking the incision on his abdomen. I knew he would not keep an e-collar on and thought sure the ProCollar would be a great alternative. For my Dillon it was not. I had to return the collar to our local PetsMart store. What an inconveniece as we had to take Dillon with us to keep an eye on him while I did the return.
Cons: not all dogs will accept this collar.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for ProCollar Inflatable Elizabethan Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Great Idea! Works Great!!!

May 12, 2010
by Rhiannon
fromFontana, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
I have a 2 year old Boxer who was just neutered. Unlike a normal neuter, he was retained so he has a big long incision. He was sent home with the big cone everyone hates and it just wasn't working out for us. He was afraid of it and would throw himself back and shake. He would do everything he could to get it off. He couldn't even fit in his crate with it on. With him trying to get it off he ended up making is incision bleed and had to go back into surgery. Vet said to look into getting one of these. Very happy with it. At 1st he was unsure about it and still kinda is, but he is not acting like he was with the big cone. He is wearing it right now, sleeping happy in his crate. Glad we got it. Also, we got him a size large and fits great on him. Like others said, If you have a dog with a foot issue, this might not work for you. He can lick his feet easy.
Pros: makes it easy for dogs to see and walk, dog is not afraid of it, able to fit in crates, makes it easy for them to eat and drink
Cons: none for us. love it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for ProCollar Inflatable Elizabethan Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews

Useful

April 27, 2010
by SavageRose
fromLexington, KY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
I bought this for my cat when she had to have her back leg amputated. She had to be prevented from messing with her staples for a prolonged time period. It kept her from turning her head and licking, but she was still able to eat and drink. It worked better than an e-collar because it did not mess with her whiskers. It recomends threading the collar through it but I just put it straight on her neck. Would occasionally slip off it not tight enough or if animal is small.
Pros: easier to see and move around
Cons: can slip off small animals
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for ProCollar Inflatable Elizabethan Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews

so much better than the plastic cone of shame

March 21, 2010
by sagelfn
fromcentral Illinois
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My 9 1/2 month old german shepherd was neutered. We were given a clear plastic e-collar from the vet that Velcro kept together. Not only was it a pain to get on but the edges around the neck were not flush and poked him, it got caught on his crate and he would get stuck, he ran into things, poor guy was not happy at all and would not relax with it on.
The next day I bought this...love it!. its so easy to put on and take off since it is attached by his regular collar. His head isn't trapped and its so much smaller so he isn't getting stuck and running into things. He is even taking a nap in his crate with it on right now..its like a pillow.
He could still easily lick is front feet .. not a concern for us now but if thats your issue i wouldn't buy it
Pros: easier safer and a happier dog
Cons: won't stop licking from all parts of body
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for ProCollar Inflatable Elizabethan Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 26 reviews

NOT for feet or toe injuries

February 19, 2010
by hapsmom
fromFLORIDA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5 26 reviews
This is actually good for all but the legs or feet. My dalmation is 85 lbs and could still lick her paws even with the largest one, I even tried to put a towel behind it for support. I think it would be good for spay or stomach injuries though.
Pros: not a lampshade
Cons: can still lick feet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for ProCollar Inflatable Elizabethan Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

very helpful!

February 13, 2010
by Gramma
fromSan Diego County
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
A few days ago our small dog had knee surgery and the ProCollar is doing its job very well. At first we tried the small, but it did not keep him from the stitiches, but the medium is working very well. I highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for ProCollar Inflatable Elizabethan Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

An Excellent Product

February 12, 2010
by LeelousMommy
fromParsippany, NJ
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My 12 week old kitten ate something undigestable and needed emergency surgery. As if the whole experience wasn't tramatic enough, she was put in one one those big pastic collars for 2 weeks. The fact that she was still so small, this made it extremely difficult for her to walk, eat, sleep and go in her litter. She was miserable. After a little research I found this product and figured I'd give it a try. (she is under 3lbs so I bought the X-small) It made a world of difference. My little Leelou was back to her normal crazy kitten ways in no time. This product helped her see and eat her food so much easier, she had no problem going in her litter box, and she was even able to play. It was much lighter then the plastic collar and even acts almost like a pillow when she was sleeping. She was able to lick her paws and get to her tail, but her incision was on her stomach which she was unable to get to it. I don't know why vet offices dont advertise this product. This made the world of difference in my kittys recovery. Thank you Pro-Collar!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for ProCollar Inflatable Elizabethan Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 26 reviews

German Shepherd

February 7, 2010
by WandaC
fromNorthridge, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
2 / 5
2 / 5 26 reviews
ProCollar is indeed a great ideal, but it didn't work on my German Shepherd. The length of the neck would require that I buy 2 to keep it where it needs to be. This is with it attached to a tight collar. My dog is able to reach his stitches with no effort. This collar would be perfect it it went out a little further and covered more of the neck area to prevent the head movement. Smaller dogs & dogs with short necks will have no problem with this collar. I hope they perfect this for the large breed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for ProCollar Inflatable Elizabethan Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 26 reviews

Does not work...

January 24, 2010
by earlybl
fromAlabama
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 26 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 26 reviews
not effective at all, dog licked right around it, Taking it back to the store tomorrow morning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for ProCollar Inflatable Elizabethan Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 26 reviews

Horrible

January 15, 2010
by BGirl
fromCincinnati, OH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
1 / 5
1 / 5 26 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 26 reviews
My dog had this chewed up within 2 days (and its suppose to be scratch/bite proof).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for ProCollar Inflatable Elizabethan Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews

not for long-necked dogs...

January 6, 2010
by tkaz
fromPhoenix, AZ
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5 26 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Bought this for post-neuter recovery for a Chi-mix pup I adopted at Maricopa County Animal Care & Control. One of my other dogs (who is about 3 years old) gets freaked out by the old-school cone-shaped e-collars.
The ProCollar fits my new pup fine & he doesn't seem to mind it. In fact, it's kinda like a pillow that goes everywhere with him. The only problem is that he has a long neck, so if it slides to just the right spot on his neck, he has full access to lick.
I think I'll keep using the ProCollar while I'm home and have him in my sights, but will have to kick it old-school with a cone whenever I can't be around him.
Pros: pet comfort
Cons: long-necked dogs can still lick
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for ProCollar Inflatable Elizabethan Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Very pleased

December 26, 2009
by DeiCyp
fromBakersfield, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Had to invest in a collar for my dog who had to have a front limb amputated, I could not bear to buy a traditional cone-collar to likely stress him out (jolting him if he ran into things, scraping the floor, etc) and interfere with healing. While this does cost more, it definitely seems worth it especially since he will likely need it on for a good length of time. He can eat, drink, and still nap peacefully with this on though. So far it seems to stay inflated. I did notice he scratches with his hind leg and it seems like it will stand up to his nails, just hoping he does not slip and get the staples in his shoulder (not something the other collar would protect either). We do take it off at night so he can get some air around his neck area.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for ProCollar Inflatable Elizabethan Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 26 reviews

ProCollar Inflatable Elizabethan Collar for Dogs

December 22, 2009
by ejohn
fromRancho Cordova, CA.
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
3 / 5
3 / 5 26 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews
I went with the recommended size & found it to be a little large & allowed too much movement of the collar, but pinned a folded hand towel up behind it & it worked well. My dog had to wear it for over 2 weeks, but in the second week I noticed it started loosing air, think it was something to do with the valve.
Absolutely a great idea, but needs some improvements in the areas I mentioned. When I originally got home from the Vet & put that horrible cone on her, she was absolutely tramatized, just sat there & would not move. After purchasing this collar she was so happy & did not mind it at all.
Pros: does not block vision, was not running into things like the old e. collar
Cons: sizing, lost air into 2nd week.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for ProCollar Inflatable Elizabethan Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews

Great idea

December 22, 2009
by TitansMommy
fromAtlanta, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Effectiveness 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 26 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
My newfie had TERRIBLE hotspots and this inflatable Elizabethan collar really helped us get them under control. We tried the traditional Elizabethan CONE and he kept knocking down everything around the house.
The only problem with the inflatable collar is that the velcro was getting "non-sticky" (but then again my newfie has A LOT of hair). And, it made my little guy snore. haha.
Other than that, it works great. It is easily adjustable; He couldn't reach his back to chew and he doesn't fight me about wearing it.
Pros: easily adjustable, comfortable for pet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for ProCollar Inflatable Elizabethan Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

ProCollar Inflatable Dog Collar

August 18, 2009
by Marwood
fromTampa, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
I own a ProCollar for my Golden Retriever and have used it over and over since he is prone to hot spots. I love this collar. It is so much more comfortable than the hard lampshade collars, especially down here in our Florida heat. He never minds wearing the collar. As a matter of fact, he gets so used to it in the summer when the hot spots are the worst, that if I take it off at night, he whines until I put it back on!
Pros: soft and comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for ProCollar Inflatable Elizabethan Collar for Dogs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews

Life saver!

August 9, 2009
by tget
fromTampa, FL
Effectiveness 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 26 reviews
I really only needed the E Cone for when my pup was in her crate or when I was away. I kept a close eye on her while I'm home. I tried the cone on the vet gave me. It worked while in her crate, but when she woke up in the middle of the night, she forgot it was there and panicked. That was the end of the plastic cone and I started looking for another solution.
That's when I found this. The first time I put it on, it wasn't a fit, she didn't even seem to mind. In fact, each time it goes on she actually seems to enjoy it... tail is wagging. She looks comfortable sleeping. She is happy in her crate. I feel so much better. She cannot reach her stitches. My only regret is I didn't have it the first few days after her surgery. At least it will make the last week of recovery more enjoyable!
Pros: it's a built in pillow!, only 2 inches out so she forgets it's there!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next