PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Ware Manufacturing Large Flying Saucer Wheel

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Ware Manufacturing Large Flying Saucer Wheel

Place this super silent spinning saucer inside your small pet's cage and let the good times roll!
Overall rating:
3.389 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 17
11 of 18(61%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Ware Manufacturing Large Flying Saucer Wheel
Review 1 for Ware Manufacturing Large Flying Saucer Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

best wheel ever

November 22, 2012
by devlon
fromportland, or
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought one for my hedgehog... she luved it sooo much after 4 years of running and running and washing and running some more she broke it ... but we ordered another and she cant wait to get it so she will not add weight to her self and break the new one in her 8 year life span.... best money I have spent on a pet and/or a wheel. with her short little hedgy legs she cant get into a wheel any taller. also...she was up alllll night while we slept and I never knew she was running!
Pros: durable, easy to wash, price, Keeps Pet Entertained
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ware Manufacturing Large Flying Saucer Wheel
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 18 reviews

August 27, 2012
by ChinChi
fromLincoln, NH
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this wheel for my chinchilla and he had absolutely no clue what to do with it. We tried to teach him but we had no luck. It took too much space in the cage, so we went back to his regular "loud" wheel.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ware Manufacturing Large Flying Saucer Wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews

Hamsters Liked It...

May 8, 2012
by KillerWhaleTrainer
fromSeaWorld, Orlando
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My hamsters had really enjoyed this wheel. It was easy to clean. It turns smoothly and was safe for my hamsters. It was also durable. The only problem was that it squeaked loudly every once in a while. Other than that, I recommend this product.
RIP Gizmo and Donut
Pros: durable, Keeps Pet Entertained, easy to wash
Cons: loud, stains
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ware Manufacturing Large Flying Saucer Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

I'm super happy with this product!

December 26, 2011
by luludoggy
fromTX
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Chelsea, my dwarf hammy, had to have one of these because it's all plastic and she does not chew on plastic. I looked at a couple different Patsmart locations for a medium size but all I could find were super large chinchilla size. That was a disapointment and I found the right size somewhere else.
It's very strong plastic and the color (blue) looks very nice in Chelsea plastci Sterilite "cage." The stand is plastic also and there is a hidden stainless steel spoke that Chelsea will never know of. It seems a little loos when you put it together but it's actually very solid and safe. She runs on it very fast all the time, but she never flies off like in vids on youtube. Chelsea and I both love this wheel. But if you need a size smaller than chinchilla, look elsewhere. Petsmart doesn't have it.
Pros: durable, Keeps Pet Entertained, easy to wash, price
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ware Manufacturing Large Flying Saucer Wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews

Flying Saucer

July 28, 2011
by OrcaTrainer
fromSeaWorld, Orlando
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
I have a small sized bue Flying Saucer for my 2 male Roborovski hamsters. It is easy to clean, but mine squeaks because my hamsters run on it 24/7. It is a nice wheel, and I like to watch my hamsters on it. The box has an opening on the side to see what color the wheel is. The Flying Saucer comes in two pieces- the stand and the wheel part. The two pieces are in seperate plastic bags in the box. Otherwise, I recommend this product.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ware Manufacturing Large Flying Saucer Wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews

ALMOST A STEAL :)

June 22, 2011
by puglover723
fromNiagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this product this morning in-store.... I got the medium 61/2" saucer. This product was priced to clear. It was $2.47 and after tax it was under $3!!! I was so excited... you can hear the pitter patter of paws, but its awesome!!
Pros: price, easy to wash
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ware Manufacturing Large Flying Saucer Wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews

My hedgehogs love these

February 27, 2011
by Deanner03
fromNew York State
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
We use these exercise saucers for our hegehogs. They are VERY quiet, and they LOVE them. The only downside I can see is that they take up a lot of space in the cage.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ware Manufacturing Large Flying Saucer Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Great design

October 17, 2010
by AnnBanana
fromColorado Springs, CO
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this for my chinchillas and they didn't know what to do with it. They would hop on it and sit on the saucer until it stopped rocking, jump off, and do it all over again. It was cute, but I'd rather have a wheel they can exercise on. I bought a super sturdy 15 inch metal wheel that they enjoy after I found out they wouldn't run on this saucer. It's a great design and product, just my chins are picky about using a wheel.
Pros: colorful, sturdy, durable, great for chinchillas that will use it
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ware Manufacturing Large Flying Saucer Wheel
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 18 reviews

wonderful

July 20, 2010
by Chinchilla3
fromDouglassville, PA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
my chinchilla absolutely LOVES this product. his cage is in my bedroom so it is quiet when he runs at night. He also chews on it BUT it never breaks the hard plastic. it just leaves little dents. (which is fine) the only downfall to this product that it always gets knocked over and is kind of top heavy so when hes running fast on it or more toward the top it tips over. other then that. i highly recommend it to others.
Pros: durable, quiet
Cons: top heavy
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ware Manufacturing Large Flying Saucer Wheel
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 18 reviews

Could be happy...BUT...

May 7, 2010
by ElleT
fromTroy, MI
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
We bought the large one for our Chinchilla after she trashed her traditional style hamster wheel. It does take up a lot of room in her cage, but running is her favorite activity, so it's worth it. It's not very loud when it is secured/weighed down. HOWEVER...it is too light and moves all over. We tried weighing it down with rocks, but she pulled them out. Now we are going to drill holes into the base and affix with coated wire to bottom her her cage. Hopefully it will work!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ware Manufacturing Large Flying Saucer Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Love it

December 10, 2009
by TrayaHedgielover
fromnanaimo
I have this wheel for both of my Hedgies they both love it and my male has been using it for over a year.I recommend this wheel to anyone who has a hedgie..it is totally safe as I have watched my hedgehog on it many times. It is large but my hedgehogs have very big cages so it is fine..if it dosnt fit in ur cage ur cage is to small.
Pros: colorful, durable, quiet
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ware Manufacturing Large Flying Saucer Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

Absolutely love it!

July 16, 2009
by Amberf369
fromLeClaire, IA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this for my degu recently and was amazed at how much he loves it. As degus don't like to be in enclosed spaces, they love the saucer because they don't feel trapped. The slant is perfect for him to have fun running all day (and night). It's super quiet compared to a wheel, so I can sleep at night while he runs on this. It was a little pricier than I would have liked to spend on a toy for my degu, but I feel it was definitely worth every penny. The plastic is thick enough that his teeth don't even scratch it and he loves to hide peanuts I give him underneath, which is very comical. The colors are very pretty and make the cage nice and vibrant, which little critters enjoy. This is very easy to put together and no little parts or screws that may come off from a wheel.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ware Manufacturing Large Flying Saucer Wheel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews

Not good for rats or hedgehogs

June 23, 2009
by Anonymous
fromSouth Florida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This product took up a lot of space in my hedgehog cage and even more space in my rat cage. My rat expressed her opinion of this product by turning it into a toilet, then became obsessed with dismantling it and moving the pieces around her house. As for my hedgehog, the wheel was too akward for him to run comfortably. He much prefers his homemade wheel. We will not be buying this product again.
Pros: silent
Cons: comes apart too easily., not suitable for rats or hedgies.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ware Manufacturing Large Flying Saucer Wheel
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 18 reviews

design needs improvement

March 22, 2009
by repose
fromLondon, Ont
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
it needs a smaller design. could not fit well in my rats' cage and they would not go on it. i decided to take it back right away.
my roommate has it for her chins, and she is happy with the absence of noise, but she is constantly putting it back together. however, they are hilarious when they run on it.
Pros: silent
Cons: too big, won't stay together
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ware Manufacturing Large Flying Saucer Wheel
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews

Not a Suitable Toy for Hedgehogs

March 9, 2009
by SeaWorldFan2010
fromDallas, TX
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
The Flying Saucer wheel is horrible for hedgehogs for the following reasons:
1. Its tilt makes it to where a hedgehog needs to cross its legs in order to run on it. This can cause pain and discomfort to the animal.
2. Since it is not a vertical circle like traditional wheels, the inside feet don't move as fast as the outside feet.
Overall, this product is not good for hedgehogs, and probably other animals as well.
Pros: silent
Cons: uncomfortable for animal
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ware Manufacturing Large Flying Saucer Wheel
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 18 reviews

January 31, 2009
by sherfred
fromMilo, IA
What is your gender?F
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
This product is excellent for my chinchilla! She loved it right away and is on the thing all the time. I only wish there was a way to secure it to her cage, when she runs it will move around a bit, but still for the entertainment it is worth it. It is also very quiet, unless it moves and rubs on the side of her cage, but still compared to her last wheel, which she broke in less than 2 months, it is much more quiet and durable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Ware Manufacturing Large Flying Saucer Wheel
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 18 reviews

August 25, 2008
by carringmom
fromkansas
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I purchased this wheel for my rats and all of them ran from the wheel. Not a single one would run on it. It is large and takes up way to much room.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Ware Manufacturing Large Flying Saucer Wheel
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 18 reviews
0 out of 1 recommend this product