PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Oxbow Western Timothy Hay

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Oxbow Western Timothy Hay

Western Timothy Hay provides a long-strand fiber source that improves your small pet's digestive and intestinal functioning by stimulating their digestive system.
Overall rating:
4.294 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 16
14 of 17(82%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Oxbow Western Timothy Hay
Review 1 for Oxbow Western Timothy Hay
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 17 reviews

more like straw than hay

February 25, 2014
by ratlover177
fromNY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I got this for my rabbit and is hard and pokey like straw and my rabbit didn't like it my rabbit likes soft hay better i still recommend oxbow product o-o
Pros: price
Cons: Taste, dusty, smell
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Oxbow Western Timothy Hay
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Always satisfied

February 5, 2014
by TeddyLover14
fromMi
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I just stick the whole bale in the cage and it takes my guinea pig about 3 weeks to finish it off
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Oxbow Western Timothy Hay
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

like it!

December 27, 2013
by petowner739
fromChicago, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My gerbils love this timothy hay!Your pet will love it to. Try it and if your pet dosn't like it just return it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Oxbow Western Timothy Hay
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews

Great quality

March 17, 2013
by Oreoteddyginger3
fromCanada
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I like this product because its always fairly fresh when you buy it and my hamster goes crazy when she finds it in her cage. She immediately builds a nest with it. Though my hamster loves to eat oat hay but I haven't been able to buy some in awhile because every time I go to the store they don't have it. :(
Pros: smell, taste, price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Oxbow Western Timothy Hay
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 17 reviews

Wheeks for Hay!

August 20, 2012
by ErinRJS
fromEdmonton, AB
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I have 4 guinea pig males who just LOVE hay. When one of mine was having digestive issues I started giving him orchard grass hay by oxbow. With in two days I noticed an improvement. Now its all my boys will eat. I used to buy farmers hay from a local farmer and the cost was a fraction of this but its not orchard grass hay. The smell and feel of this hay is amazing which is a good pro but sadly the amount you get for the price makes me give it only 4 stars. PetSmart, please get the bigger bags in (they come in 15oz, 40oz, 25lbs and 50lbs).
Pros: smell, taste
Cons: price
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Oxbow Western Timothy Hay
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 17 reviews

TERRIBLE

June 20, 2012
by cdvsdvwDFdfsd
fromTEXAS
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
my huge floppy rabbit hates this get some other hay
Cons: price, Taste, dusty
-11points
1of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Oxbow Western Timothy Hay
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

GREAT

May 15, 2012
by PiggiePrincess101
fromHollywood,FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
My guinea pigs now wont eat anything else! Along with this hay, Oxbow also makes a variety of different hays to try so you can mix it up but still have that Oxbow high quality! My guinea pigs use Kaytee timothy hay as straw bedding because it is so terrible! Oxbow is nice and soft.
Pros: smell, taste, price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Oxbow Western Timothy Hay
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

October 2, 2011
by animalsrock1230
fromNew York, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
this is a great product for your pet to get it's fiber from :)
Pros: price, smell, taste
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Oxbow Western Timothy Hay
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

BEST HAY EVER!

July 3, 2011
by Anonymous
fromCharleston, WV
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Ive tried all the hays. and this is by far my chinchillas fav Hay. he eats the most of it! Hes eatting it as i type this.
Pros: price, smell, taste
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Oxbow Western Timothy Hay
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 17 reviews

What??

November 14, 2010
by nirette
fromNew york, NY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
I've always thought of Oxbow as the 'high quality' hay producer. So I went off to the store (after finishing off a bag of Kaytee) in hopes of finding a nice green bale-full.
When I saw the bag, it was dusty and old, with pale-green hay which was brittle like ceramic tiles. I'm going to keep on using Kaytee; just because something is more expensive doesn't mean it is better! Kaytee: 1 Oxbow: 0
Pros: good reputation
Cons: brittle like ceramic tiles, dusty, gross, old, use kaytee!
-13points
1of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Oxbow Western Timothy Hay
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Best Hay sold for small pets.

May 19, 2010
by Kiko
fromNY
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
I use this hay for my 2 rabbits Berlin and Sydney.
And I would never use any other brand. Oxbow is the best.
It is pleasant smelling, has no dust, and is cut just right.
My rabbits love it.
Pros: best hay sold.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Oxbow Western Timothy Hay
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

July 4, 2009
by Tanisha
fromChampaign, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I love Oxbow it's the only company that I trust for my guinea pig's hay. My guinea aboslutely loves this hay when ever he hears the the sound that the bag makes when I open it he starts to popcorn!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Oxbow Western Timothy Hay
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Smells great, less debris

June 19, 2009
by Sendra
fromSalt Lake City, Utah
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
All these items I'm about to talk about can be bought at Petsmart. Originally, I start with loose Kaytee timothy hay, which caused me horrid allergies. So I thought I'd try the compressed blocks which were great for awhile, but eventually upset my poor chinchilla's sensitive digestive track as she wasn't getting enough fiber. So I took a chance and bought Oxbow. Boy, I was surprized! This has alot less loose debris in the bottom and it's easy to shake out any that is still in there. Plus, it smelled alot fresher! I simply put a bunch inside an ecotrition snak shak log, which managed it VERY well, and my chinchilla is recovering at a great pace. To summarize: Far better than Kaytee loose and compressed hay.
Pros: less debris, seems fresher, great buy!
Cons: still a bit of debris but just shake it out
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Oxbow Western Timothy Hay
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Amazing

February 25, 2009
by McBeans
fromDiamond Bar, CA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Oxbows products are great! I had never even heard of them and bought the hay based of the way it looked and smelled. It was the freshest I had ever seen in a pet store. My guinea pigs went crazy for it. So the next time I went to petsmart I not only bought a bag of hay but I also looked into their timothy based pellets too. The nutritional value is great! Just what healthy pigs need. I also visited their website I loved what I saw. They specialize in small animal products and have been around for a while. I loved the fact that they seems to be a home grown company who had pictures of their staff on the website. It really shows how proud they are of their products. I’ve decided to switch all my small animal needs to their products even if that means I’ll be doing some online ordering.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Oxbow Western Timothy Hay
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Nothing but the BEST!

January 28, 2009
by lynns2pigs
fromaround & about
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
This is the best quality timothy hay in my opinion. my piggies love this and beg for it and a small bag lasts forever! i would use nothing else but Oxbow for all my guinea pigs nutritional needs!
Pros: little goes a long way, good quality, trusted name brand
Cons: none so buy this!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Oxbow Western Timothy Hay
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews

Awesome

January 18, 2009
by twizzlers
fromPA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
My little guinea pig loves this! She hops around, squeaks, and gets up on her hind legs and begs for this stuff whenever I shake the bag and put some in her cage! It's also very good quality; not at all dusty or anything. Great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Oxbow Western Timothy Hay
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 17 reviews
1 out of 1 recommend this product