PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Petmate Orthopedic Kennel Pads with Microban

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Petmate Orthopedic Kennel Pads with Microban

Designed to keep your pet comfortable on the go, this kennel pad is made of a 1.75 inch thick convoluted foam, or "egg crate" style, padding to protect bones and joints. Available in assorted colors. Please allow us to choose.
Overall rating:
3.143 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
10 of 21(48%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Petmate Orthopedic Kennel Pads with Microban
Review 1 for Petmate Orthopedic Kennel Pads with Microban
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

longlasting quality

December 3, 2012
by poodle1234
fromNewburgh, IN
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
We bought 2 of these over 5 years ago! They are still like new, take regular washing of the cover like a dream. Our dogs love them. We have 2 poodles, and they actually know which pad is theirs! The waffle cushion has held up beautifully. I highly recommend. Just wish they weren't so expensive, I'd buy again just to have them for the back seat of our car. Our dogs chew on toys, but have never shown any interest in the zipper.
Pros: comfortable, durable, easy to wash
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Petmate Orthopedic Kennel Pads with Microban
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

So far, so good

October 3, 2012
by TwoShelties
fromMaryland
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews
I was looking for an orthopedic crate pad for my 10 yr old Sheltie, who was developing a sore on her elbow (Presumably from the crate). I needed something soft, but with enough body that she shouldn't squish it all to one side.
I picked one up in the store and it met my needs plus was the right size. After I took it home, I read the zipper reviews.
As the title says, so far so good. She hasn't bothered the zipper and the bed is intact after several weeks.
I came home to a small mess in the crate yesterday and was pleasantly surprised that none had reached the foam itself through the cover. The cover laundered up nicely. I do wish they sold extra covers for this type of occasion.
Overall, I'd recommend it for the right dog. Probably not good for chewers; for them I would get a plain sheepskin mat. For us, I liked it enough to buy a second one for my other dog.
Pros: durable, comfortable
Cons: price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Petmate Orthopedic Kennel Pads with Microban
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews

Won't last due to poor quality!

November 9, 2011
by redgarnet
fromSeminole, FL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
I bought this for my aging 40 pound Shepherd Mix dog. She is terrified of thunder and rain so we need to crate her when these occur. Even though she is on medication to help with her fear, she still has managed to rip off the zipper and shredded the foam to pieces, as well as ripping the entire cover. I don't believe we had use of this pad for more than 3-4 months when it was destroyed. I managed to salvage what I could and made an insert cover to wrap around the foam and slid it back into the ripped original cover, but now she digs into the cover even when no storm is around and is shredding the foam even more. I refuse to buy another one of these pads for the $$ it cost! I am very disappointed in the poor quality of this mat. Save your money and buy something else.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Petmate Orthopedic Kennel Pads with Microban
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 21 reviews

Don't waste your money

October 16, 2011
by TammyH
fromArkansas
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews
I bought this yesterday for my 2 Great Dane puppies. I woke up this morning(not even 24 hrs) and they found the zipper, which in return they ripped up all the foam. The material on the outside is in great condition they just ripped the foam up. There is defiantly a flaw with this product design. Don't waste your money on this product.
Pros: comfortable, easy to wash, durable, stylish
Cons: price, falls apart
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Petmate Orthopedic Kennel Pads with Microban
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews

great purchase

September 18, 2011
by cnote
fromPowder Springs, GA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
my dog tried to tear the pad up the first time. once he chewwed up the loop and the tags, he settled in. my pup is 11 months old, and he has been sleeping on this pad without anymore destruction. plus, my dog loves to destroy anything he can, so the fact that this product is still in tact is a miracle. i positioned the pad so he doesn't even see the zipper side.
Pros: comfortable, durable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Petmate Orthopedic Kennel Pads with Microban
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews

looks good,but doesnt hold up!

August 29, 2011
by LexiesMom
fromVermont
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews
We got this for our puppy's crate... She always slept comfortably on it, but loved to chew on the zipper. After only two wash cycles and a couple of chewing episodes, the zipper was no longer functioning. In the future, I will only buy crate pads that don't have zippers!!!
Pros: easy to wash
Cons: falls apart
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Petmate Orthopedic Kennel Pads with Microban
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 21 reviews

Cheap

April 5, 2011
by variousanimalowner
fromUSA
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews
I got his fo my dog as a puppy. he liked it and seemed comfortable on it, but when we were away, he chewed it to shreds! We came back to find stuffing everywhere!
Pros: comfortable, durable
Cons: falls apart
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Petmate Orthopedic Kennel Pads with Microban
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 21 reviews

Zipper

April 1, 2011
by Scottiesmom
fromColorado
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 21 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 21 reviews
Bought this pad yesterday. It fits the 30x19 wire crate perfectly. The foam inside is not as firm and substantial as I would expect considering the price. The cover is fine except for the zipper, as other reviewers have noted. My 1 1/4 year old Scottie found and removed the zipper pull the first night. The zipper itself is unzipped exposing the foam, which I imagine will be the next to go tonight.
I was forewarned by other reviewers, but my dog is not particularly prone to chewing so felt the other zipper warnings didn't necessarily apply to him. I say purchase at your own risk.
Pros: comfortable, easy to wash
Cons: price, falls apart
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Petmate Orthopedic Kennel Pads with Microban
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews

DO NOT BUY if your dog is not a senior

March 19, 2011
by StrawberryShortcake
fromSan Bernardino County, CA
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews
My two pug mixes loved this pad. They actually slept on it for almost 4 months. It does hold "dog smell". I didn't ever have the chance to try to wash it as they found the zipper yesterday. I came home to white foam all over the kennel and surrounding areas.
I agree with the others that said they need to work on the zipper. Maybe they could find a way to hide it on the underside or something like that.
Total waste of money. We'll be looking for another pad that is fully washable this time. No more zippers....
Pros: comfortable
Cons: falls apart
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Petmate Orthopedic Kennel Pads with Microban
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Wonderful!

March 11, 2011
by PreOre
fromTexas
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
We were looking for a mat for our large dog to sleep on. We wanted something that had a removable, washable cover and be comfortable enough for her. We saw this in the store and thought it would be perfect.
Well, she absolutely LOVES it, and sleeps in longer in the mornings. I can't say that we have a rambunctious dog, like some of the previous reviewers. She hasn't shown any interest in the zipper or ripping it apart, so we haven't had an issue with that. The cover is super soft and apparently very comfortable to her as well. It has held up nicely in the washer and dryer, so no complaints. Great product, would definitely recommend it....maybe better for a more mellow pooch than an ornery puppy.
Pros: comfortable, easy to wash, durable
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Petmate Orthopedic Kennel Pads with Microban
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 21 reviews

Didn't hold up

October 6, 2010
by kanderson
fromCalgary, AB
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 21 reviews
We bought this when we got our kennel for our 8 week old puppy. It only lasted 2 weeks with her. She found the zipper and started to open it, so we turned it around so that the zipper was behind the divider. She then found the other side of the zipper, opened it and destroyed it. Definitely not worth the money.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Petmate Orthopedic Kennel Pads with Microban
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 21 reviews

September 2, 2010
by pendawg
fromcolorado
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 21 reviews
I bought this pad for my two 6 month old yorkies. It made it two days before they discovered the zipper. The entire pad was destroyed within minutes once they found the foam pad inside. The overall apperance and comfort were absolutely perfect (I wanted a cover that could be easily cleaned) but the zipper design definitely needs improvement.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Petmate Orthopedic Kennel Pads with Microban
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5 21 reviews

broken zipper

August 15, 2010
by sunshine2
frompinedale, wyoming
Appearance 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5 21 reviews
i bought this for my new puppy and its made it 4 months and is now in the trash. the zipper broke and i tried improvising but my puppy managed to find the egg crate and started to naw on it. the bed was great though until the zipper broke.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Petmate Orthopedic Kennel Pads with Microban
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

June 18, 2010
by Kahlan
fromAsheville, NC
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
I purchased this so my puppies would be comfy in their crate. My puppies loved this mattress! They showed no intrest in the crate until I added this. The cover is very comfortable and easy to take care of. It has a zipper for easy removal and when my puppies had an accident on it there is another layer of material that prevents urine from getting to the pad part. It can be tossed in the washing machine for easy clean up. My puppies constantly dig at it and I have seen no damages to the product over this. I would recommend this product to anyone.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Petmate Orthopedic Kennel Pads with Microban
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Audrey sleeping comfortably

March 30, 2010
by movingForward
fromNorth Carolina
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?4
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Audrey, a rescued boxer, will be starting heart worm treatments over the next couple of months. We wanted a product to give her the maximum care since she would be spending all day in her crate during these treatments. We have watched Audrey scratch at it and the product withstood. Audrey shows no signs of discomfort. The product has a soft top layer and a vinyl bottom. The size was slightly larger than the crate Audrey is in. The overage is not issue in any way; i.e. getting in and out of the crate, movement inside the crate.
Pros: soft upper cloth vinyl bottom, orthopedic pad
Cons: limited number of colors
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Petmate Orthopedic Kennel Pads with Microban
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 21 reviews

Destroyed the first night

March 10, 2010
by sclevett
fromEdmonton, AB
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
3 / 5
3 / 5 21 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews
Bought one for each of my puppies when we removed the divider panels from their crates. We got this product because of the zip off cover in case of accidents in the crate.
However they zoned in on the zipper the first night they had them and ripped apart the foam. One of the dogs even chewed throught the cover. I tried sewing up the zipper side, but they already knew about the foam and managed to get to it.
The zipper design was a good idea but poorly executed
Cons: weak zipper, over priced
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Petmate Orthopedic Kennel Pads with Microban
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews

Not So Great

February 20, 2010
by Dempsey
fromChicago area
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?1
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews
We were happy to find a product that fit so well in our kennel. Our (at the time) 8 week old boxer/lab mix rested and slept comfortably. The zip-off cover was easy to clean and seemed to be very durable. However after only a 3 weeks of use our puppy managed to rip and chew the zipper apart, which gave him access to the foam padding...which of course he chewed to bits. We wish we could find a replacement cover for the pad and not have to buy an entirely new pad. If we purchase a new pad it wont be this product.
Pros: slim profile, easy to clean cover, durable material
Cons: cheap zipper
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Petmate Orthopedic Kennel Pads with Microban
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 21 reviews

Poor Quality

August 23, 2009
by Luna33
fromWisconsin
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?1
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 21 reviews
This bed, at first glance, looks great. However, after 1 week, it has started falling apart. The top material is thin and got caught on our dog's tooth and ripped. The zipper has fallen off completely. Our dog's nails poke right through the vinyl backing. It's definitely not worth the $ they are charging for it.
Pros: soft
Cons: weak zipper, thin material
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Petmate Orthopedic Kennel Pads with Microban
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

Beds

May 17, 2009
by Reviewingtoys
fromSeal Beach,CA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Weekly
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 21 reviews
My dog finds this bed very comfy. But he was able to locate the zipper and pull out all the stuffing. I f you onn a very adventureous dog don't buy this bed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Petmate Orthopedic Kennel Pads with Microban
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews

GREAT!!

April 14, 2009
by firsttimedogowner
fromNew Jersey
Appearance 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Pet Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 21 reviews
This is a perfect crate liner and it is comfy for my dog! Crate bottoms are often hard and cold, and this made my crate more comfortable and appealing for my small bred puppy! You can easily slip off the outer layer of cloth and put it in the wash if it ever gets dirty. For my small yorktese, it was the right size for her crate bottom, and different dimensions can easily fit on the lower surface of any crate! It can double as an outside bed, though we think it works best inside the crate.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next