PetSmart Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Cherry Heirloom Aquarium Stand

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at PetSmart.

Cherry Heirloom Aquarium Stand

This is a classic aquarium stand for any locale. Features ample storage space and a beautiful cherry heirloom finish.
Overall rating:
3.364 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
7 of 11(64%)customers recommend this product.
Reviews for Cherry Heirloom Aquarium Stand
Review 1 for Cherry Heirloom Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews

Good stand

January 23, 2011
by bettagirl2
fromelyria,oh
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
It's a good stand.You can't leave it wet and it is hard to put together.The stand is nice and can look good anywhere. It has adjustable shelves so you can have them at different heights.
Pros: ajustuble shelfs, looks nice, nice color
Cons: can't leave it wet, hard to put together
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Cherry Heirloom Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5 11 reviews

Cheap pressboard

January 7, 2011
by bman
fromPortland, Oregon
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
The piece is sturdy and holds up the tank, and from a distance looks nice. It didn't cost an arm and a leg, and it wasn't too difficult to put together.
On the other hand, like other reviewers say, it is just cheap particle board with woodgrain printed tape over it. I knew it wasn't going to be fancy, but I was disappointed with it as soon I took it out of the box. The rear is open (which my cat likes). The doors on the front have decorative slats which aren't glued down (which my wife doesn't like). I cut a couple additional shelves out of some spare wood which makes the interior more useful.
The doors have magnetic catches to keep them closed. It seems like a nice feature, but it startles the fish when I open or close the door. Also, I'm worried it's not going to be secure enough to keep my 2-year old out.
Pros: cheap price
Cons: cheap construction
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Cherry Heirloom Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

Cherry Heirloom Aquarium Stand

January 4, 2011
by RichJ
fromNorthern Utah
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I ordered this stand because of the reviews on the Petsmart web site. 4 stars meant it had to be pretty good plus the price was right so I ordered it. I wanted to somewhat match the mission style furniture in our home so it seemed like a good fit. A lot of the reviews mentioned scratched or damaged wood pieces so I was a little concerned with that.
When the box arrived, one corner was crushed. Not Ameriwood's fault but I knew I was in for problems from the start. Two pieces were damaged from the shipping. Three other pieces had scratches in the finished surfaces or edge trim peeling off. Not damage from the shipper but defects form the manufacturer. The very first page of the instructions has a section to order replacement parts. Obviously, they know you're going to recieve damaged parts from the start.
The construction is wood finished tape over particle board. Very much like the cheap furniture found in department stores. Be extemely careful during assembly. Do not over torque any of the fasteners or you'll damage the particle board around those areas.
It's a cheap, bottom of the line stand that you'll have to order twice. Once from the store, then replacement parts from the manufacturer. My advice... Keep looking.
Pros: looks ok
Cons: cheaply built wood finish tape over particle board, expect damaged parts and having to reorder
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Cherry Heirloom Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

I love this stand!

November 11, 2010
by inspiritid
fromMoline, IL
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?3
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearace 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I got the stand for the 29 gallon tank, and it was *definitely* worth the money! It looks great, and it's sturdy and solid. Unlike a lot of aquarium stands, you can open up the doors and easily get to every square inch of the interior (and the removeable shelves allow flexibility in storage). You can't leave water laying on it, as it's only a wood veneer, but for the attractiveness, functionality and low price, I can live with that. I bought the store model, so I didn't have to struggle with putting it together myself. Judging by other people's reviews, I'd say it would be worth paying the modest fee for the store to assemble it for you.
Pros: attractive, sturdy, economical, great storage
Cons: can't leave it wet
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Cherry Heirloom Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Best "DIY" furniture we've built

October 11, 2010
by MBennet
fromTampa, FL
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearace 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Ease of Assembly 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
The cabinet looks great, was relatively easy to assemble, and is very sturdy. We had one scratched piece in the box, so we went to the website in the instruction manual and ordered a replacement for the part no questions asked. It was here in a matter of days in perfect condition. Fantastic customer service, absolutely no complaints.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Cherry Heirloom Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

Do not waste your time or money

July 5, 2010
by jbb1
fromMacon, GA
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
I bought this last week and after putting it together realized that it was not stable enough to hold 300 pounds of aquarium/water. There were gaps in the base, plus the plastic dowels snapped in half when trying to assemble. There were pieces which had become unglued in the shipping and the doors were uneven. Plus, the panels in the doors shifted around if you touched them, and the back is partially open and is entirely unsteady. A few days before I had bought a tv stand and put it together and it was made extremely better (and it was cheaper) than this (and its weight limit was only 65 pounds). I would not trust a tank which will weigh so much to a flimsy stand like this. The store took it back and refunded the money, but don't waste your time and buy something better first.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Cherry Heirloom Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews

Decent Price, Good Product

March 15, 2010
by Namrek
fromNorth Carolina
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearace 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
I bought this the other day and have to say, it was a very nice buy!
The only Problems I had seem to be common with the other reviewers. Scratchs on the parts and the doors taking a long time to line up right. Other than those, it looks very impressive when put together and at first glance, one really does think it is just another peice of furniture! A friend came over after I had put it together and Actually called it a "Very nice cabinet"! Had to show her the box to prove that it is fish tank stand and not just a cabinate! :)
All in all, aside from the packging problems and the doors, its a very nice peice with a very sturdy feel to it and looks Great when fully put together! Definate Recommend Buy!
Pros: sturdy, looks great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Cherry Heirloom Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Very nice; slightly incorrect description

February 16, 2010
by NYConMYmind
fromCharlotte, NC
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearace 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Ease of Assembly 
2 / 5
2 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
Just bought this stand along with their 50g tank/light combo & love it. Desc says it has 2 shelves behind each door, but there's only 1 (so don't call the manuf cuz all you're supposed to get!). Overall it's a great stand. Love that it doesn't look like a typical aquarium stand & more like a piece of furniture; could even pass as a flat screen TV stand! As with most any "DIY" type furniture like this, the instructions are less than overly-helpful, so it'll take some time, and - clearing my throat - you may have to unscrew & turn a few pieces around from unclear directions! Once completed however it's a great piece & really a good price for what you get compared to other pieces. Feels solid once assembled too.
Pros: solid, furniture-like appearance
Cons: poor instructions
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Cherry Heirloom Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews

Better than I expected

June 9, 2009
by thehappycamper
fromFlorida
What is your gender?F
How many pets do you have?5 or more
How often do you shop at PetSmart?Monthly
Appearace 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Ease of Assembly 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
Easy enough to put together if you're used to doing such things. The top piece was scratched when we opened the box, but on the instructions was a website where you could get replacement parts. Within a couple days our new top piece was here, which is way better than expected when it comes to these "assemble it yourself" products. Overall the product is very sturdy and would definitely recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Cherry Heirloom Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews

Not Bad

January 16, 2009
by ace7368
fromShamong, NJ
What is your gender?M
How many pets do you have?2
How often do you shop at PetSmart?A few times a year
Appearace 
5 / 5
5 / 5 11 reviews
Ease of Assembly 
3 / 5
3 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5 11 reviews
I bought this the other day even though the other review was bad, but I was on a budget and this fit into it. Overall, it looks good, and matches my house interior. The assembly was pretty much self explanatory, and wasn't that difficult. It took me about 40 minutes with my 2 year old "helping". The hardest thing is putting on the hinges and aligning the doors. Also, quality control and packaging could be better. There should be a buffer between wood pieces so they don't scratch each other.
Pros: overall looks
Cons: packaging possible acratching, alignment of doors
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Cherry Heirloom Aquarium Stand
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews

Cherry Heirloom Aquarium Stand

December 14, 2008
by finkeeper
fromNorth Carolina
Appearace 
4 / 5
4 / 5 11 reviews
Ease of Assembly 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5 11 reviews
The cabinet was improperly machined...pieces did not line up. Upon assembly the piece was not stable, or level and certainly not adequate to support an aquarium.
A great disappointment and waste of money!
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.